FreeCAD Ratings

Overall
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Service
3.9/5

About FreeCAD

Open-source parametric 3D modeler application with modular architecture for designing machine tools and architectural designs in 2D and 3D thereby creating production-ready drawings. Learn more about FreeCAD

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 78 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 78 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
James W.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“CAD software provides a good opportunity for rendering different models of houses and buildings.”

ProsIn comparison with other AutoCad softwares,it is one of the different version software. We can make 3 D drawing through this software at different angles of projection which is is indeed the most fantastic feature. This software is used by everyone whether students or professionals but proved to be helpful to everyone.
ConsSometimes when we are updating modules, at that time some of the modules are not updated. So we feel that they will update in next versions of software. The learning curve of this software is quite difficult for the new users. For this sometimes some users have to take CAD classes in order to have good command on the usage of this particular software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Rahul N.
Student Worker
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2018

“Best 3D editing and visualization tool”

OverallWas able to see the drawings for my Project and edit them and again render them to the 3D images.
ProsDigital drawing has been made very easy with the use of the extensive features of the software. It helps students like me to understand the 3D drawings and their meaning in a very subtle way. One can easily learn the software and could try creating 3D images in the very first week.
ConsThe recent software that I used, requires some minimal hardware configurations to render the images. So, buy a new system or else it is not for you. The snap options sometimes is adamant and won't let you decide what point you may want to take. One of the 3D functions I think is irrelevant.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Food & Beverages, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“Such a nice feeling after the use of it...!”

OverallWork on this software seems to be great..!
ProsA different version of software compared to other softwares such as AutoCAD and its very nice 3D drawing in different angles of projections. I am blessed to see my great work in this software.
Conssome modules isn't it updated and It seems they are going to update in next versions of software updates.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Laura J.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018

“In my experience it's the best 2D/3D CAD software. I use this software to design electrical circuits”

ProsIts very user-friendly and on top of all its free, and also does not use too much system memory. With an average PC you can easily run multiple tasks while working on this software, without worrying about usage of system memory. The program is simple and not too much complicated and has all the great tools, so many people can take advantage and use it with more ease.
ConsThe features of this software are too limited and selection of add-ons can also be improved. But as its for free so one can live with these little flaws. But if new features can be added, it will make this software perfect for work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018
Avatar Image
Faith T.
Digital Content and Community Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“FreeCAD”

OverallNice some extra features that are unique but they should work on its complexity
ProsI like the requirements for using this softwares , not too much they don't over work my PC. Building different models to come up with desired 3D/2D plans with its features is also a plus, cosidering its a free s/w this is great.
ConsHonestly if you don't have prior experience with design s/w this one is not for beginners. Its a bit complex for beginners
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“If you want a free CAD program this is by far the best option. Free and simple it just works.”

OverallThis software has been used to create hundreds of drawings for mocking up ideas.
ProsThis free software does not skimp on features. Everything you could even need it there for you. This software can be used by professionals, hobbiests, and students. With on going development new features are always being added and it easily runs on any system no matter old or new the system.
ConsThe interface can have a bit of a challenging learning curve. This is not the fault of this software but of all CAD software. Often times people take classes to learn CAD. This software can be easily learned but be prepared to invest some time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018
blake s.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Great program for any designer or architect!”

ProsI was skeptical about this program at first but it really grew on me. I had a bit of a learning curve learning the macros and functions, but once you re-program yourself to acclimate to this program it's really a breeze.
ConsOnly con would be that there are other programs that are performing at a little higher rate with a bit more exposure. I had to do some searching for reviews and tutorials on this product to get myself in tune with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Brent B.
Operator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“Awesome product and easy, had to research a few things but there is so much information out there”

OverallWas able to recreate my backyard and modify it and create a new kitchen awesome software would recommend to anyone
ProsLove that I can create a visual for my bosses at work to see using this software, was very impressed how easy it was to pick up and go, lots of videos and help on the internet.
ConsThat not all the tools are that easy to find, but alot of videos and posts out there help me accomplish what I was after
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Natalia B.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018

“I got this software helpful for me and it's really great, The main good thing all about it is free.”

ProsFreeCAD shows 3D drawing in different angels and projections.The most liking thing is it's being free for user. I fine everything i want to do in this software. I like its all programs which are easy to use.And this is one of the best software which work on every system instead of creating problems like some other softwares in market.
ConsThere are no cons for me but it was a little hard to know about the all programs in it .they took time and it is also obvious for every one to learn a new software after some practice it gets easier then easier..
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018
Avatar Image
ROSA YURAIMA R.
Pipeline Design and Analyst in Oil Industry, Venezuela
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2018

“Modelling in 3D and for free”

ProsThis is a software that I can use it in any computer without restriction and without paying anything, because is free and do many things that do a private software, for me is very useful because I can modeling the pipelines and see them in 3D to know if exist a trouble or mistake with the design, or we just have to implement it.
ConsIt needs to implement a set of tutorials in the official website, because in the beginning was very difficult to me to understand the processes of modeling with this software, but once I manage them everything was very easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2018
Avatar Image
Julio A R.
Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018

“Great CAD software for training”

OverallThe benefit is that you can work with a free license program, train your staff in the CAD environment and improve to a level that allows you to make plans and 3D models in the same way as with the CAD programs of license
ProsWhat I like the most is that it has the ability to recognize the CAD environment and learn the commands. You can make a plan and complete a 3D model, for a better visualization. Additionally, new complements can be adapted, through the programming to generate added value to the works to be delivered
ConsBecause I have several years working with CAD programs, editing the elements of the drawings are not very polished and differentiation of the layers is a must because it can emphasize certain aspects more than others, especially for the plans and final 3D models
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018
Kemal O.
CFO
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“Best Free Software for 3D View”

ProsFreeCAD is very practical and easy to use as a software
ConsNeeds to be improved but currently more than enough for a free software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
William C.
Designer/Owner
Graphic Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019

“Great place to start ”

ProsThat the program was Open Sourced. This is a great program to start with before dishing out hundreds of dollars on one of the BIG major CAD programs. Its compatible with .dwg files along with the Blocks and Symbols packages that are availble for download.
ConsThere are some bugs, but with the open feedback for improvement it's really not a bad program. Adding lots of new features with every update. Don't dismiss this program just because it's free.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Renewables & Environment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“Free!”

ProsIt is an adequate program for those who just need to open the part and look at it, take a few dimensions and take the old versions on top of each other and examine the differences.
ConsThe interface must be seriously reviewed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Cesar A S.
Analista
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“The best free app to model and create in 3D”

ProsIt has a lot of features to manage and modelling, you haveparametric model, modular architecture, drawing sheets, rendering, robot simulation, and so many other features, you can use all or one that fits on your needs, it is very powerful and manage the models with a lot of details and precision.
ConsFor me was difficult to start using the software, because the only manual that I can find was in the main page, I think that the amount of people who works with FreeCAD is very short, and sometimes is difficult to find tutorials of explanation of how to make models.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Ana Gabriela F.
Especialista
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018

“This is the perfect tool for small projects ”

ProsFor small design projects it is a very complete tool that helps you solve problems effectively without having to invest a penny.
ConsIt is evident that being a free software lacks modules that other programs do have, however it seems to me that I have no complaints to make.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018
Avatar Image
Jean Carlos J.
Direccion Tecnica de Proyectos
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Perfect tool for engineering”

ProsThe Path Module is awesome I can see how the mecanichals process of the cars and electricity circuits works and know how I need to add to modify some aspects make them to work betters, this module has tools for dressup, commands and modifications, very useful to modelling with precision all the processes of a machine.
ConsIn the beggining ii ts very difficult to handle, becuase you have so many tools available and you do not know where to start, but with some practice you can manage all the features easily.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Juan Carlos C.
Supervisor de servicios
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Project Management in a CAD, just awesome”

ProsThe module of Assembly Project is perfect for me, because I can make a project from the beggining with all my coworkers and later modelling to know where are the failures and main limitations of our design, I can do many things with this software but this module is just awesome.
ConsThis kind of work requiere a very high level of compromise, you need a team who will be together and focus through out all the project, if the things are not like that you project will not be work well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Xiomara Elena B.
PROFESIONAL 1
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“A free option from rendering my designs”

OverallI found a free option from rendering models of houses and buildings.
ProsAs an architect I always looking for new options to see how my designs come to life, and I found it a free option with FreeCAD, because I can create my model in the software and see how buildings, houses, park and other types of construction come to life, all this with high precision and detail.
ConsIs not as powerful as a private software so the process of rendering are always the same, and the results are always so similar.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Palesa M.
Account Manager
Capital Markets, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“having used this software a few times, i thought it was good value for money and was easy to use”

OverallLearnt how to put together floorplans in a quick and easy way
Prosonce i got into it, it was easy to use. it made making floorplans so much easy to put together, and so quick too.
Consit took a while to get into the software. there were a number of glitches that we needed to get through first, but once sorted, all was good
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Avatar Image
Luis L.
Ingeniero de servicio técnico
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“Great cad software, with a steep learning curve”

OverallOverall it is a great software to have in your business it works wonders and most of all it is free, I absolutely recommend it.
ProsFreeCAD is an amazing free software, it provides excellent tools both for designing and modelling. It's path module is really great, because you can predict the mechanics of cars which is excellent for fixing possible problems beforehand.
ConsAs with most of cad softwares you really need to spend a lot of time in learning how to use this software, it has a really steep learning curve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Mariel Virginia V.
Analista de datos
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“A lot of options for me to desing in 3D”

ProsFreeCAD offers and enormous amount of options to modelling, you can do geometry, architecture, robot simulation, rendering, sketch and path modelling, all this in only one software and for free, it is just awesome because another software for pay offer less more than FreeCAD.
ConsIt is a very specialized software so you have to have previous experience working with CAD and modelling in 3D becuase all the tools are for professionals of this areas.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Terran G.
Research Assistant
Research, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2019

“perfect for working with mesh formats”

OverallIt makes it really easy to modify mesh files so that you can make adjustments to .stl files you found online for 3D printing. For free software, it's amazing!
ProsThis is the best software for working with CAD programs since it is available on all operating systems (even Linux, which is hard to come by). I love all the features it has for a completely free and open environment.
ConsThe controls can be frustrating at times. It's also a bit lacking in the amount of features. (either that, or I cannot find them!)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Raquel A.
Técnico I
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Amazing robot modelling in a software”

ProsI had never think do this in a software but FreeCAD is so complete, because after to made my model I can saw how my instruments and robot come to life it is wonderful and very useful to explain processes and practice with students.
ConsIt is very difficult to do this it takes me a lot of time to create my first Robot Simulation because there are so many details to tu put on it, but the results is amazing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Ines F.
Jubilado
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“I can build geometry in two dimension with this software”

ProsThis software is excellent for me, because it allows to skecth my designs in two dimensions before modelling and rendering, I can build and manage my objects in two dimensions which is better for me, because I can see my models pretty clear.
ConsFor me it is very difficult to do the transition from 2D to 3D because there are a lots of options that I do no manage for work in three dimensions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Greysi N. M.
Profesional de Proyectos de Investigación
Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019

“An excellent option to 3D desing”

ProsI really like the high quality of the software and its philosophy to make accessible useful functionalities to CAD designers, professionals and students.
ConsAlthough free access is one of its great strengths, the software has useful and quite limited tools. However, this does not prevent this software from standing out as one of the best options for simple range designs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018

“Gets the basics covered”

ProsDoes what you expect from a free tool standpoint.
ConsJust covers the basics, could use some easier tools.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018
Avatar Image
Bruno A.
IT Officer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2018

“Satisfying”

OverallEasens my work in the field
ProsEasy to use and the fuctionalities are well illustrated. User friendly and not that complex to do your work
ConsIt has some various complex architectural techniques to execute. Some procedures require programming.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Airlines/Aviation, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2019

“Free CAD software”

Proscan be oriented by user script and easy to implement automatic CAD generation.
Conspoor and very complicated user interface. 3D surface generation can not react that you desire.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2019
Sharaz A.
Student
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“The best open source 3D parametric modelling software”

ProsOpen source and freely available with no strings attached!
ConsNothing at all! Everything works wonderfully and the FreeCAD team works tirelessly to deliver such a fantastic piece of software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Andres G.
Director/CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018

“The learning curve is much faster with the Polygonal system.”

Overalleasy and intuitive handling
ProsThe learning curve is much faster with the Polygonal system, since it is to draw in plane and to extrude. This is the main advantage of SketchUp. The use of the mouse to place and modify the polygons and to be able to give the exact measurements by means of a keyboard makes designing with this application incredibly intuitive.
ConsThe problem comes when the pieces are complex and must also be exact. We all know that to place the centers of the circles in SketchUp we must make guides that we will later erase. This begins to diminish us quickly but when we want to place the polygons in different planes and with different inclinations the issue becomes impossible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018
David C.
ceo
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2018

“I used it to design 3D printed tools and some design prototypes”

ProsFree, and for the functionnalities that Freecad offers, it can't be beaten on this ! It's not as complet or stable as other "premium" 3D package, but for mechanical design and simple design it's great.
ConsCurve of learning quite hard, because it's not as logicial as it seems on fisrt impressions, maybe because I'm a user of solidworks and thought it would work the same way.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2018

“Free CAD software that works like a charm.”

OverallIt is an excellent design software and since it is free every engineer should give it a try.
ProsIt is free and comes with great tools for 2D and 3D drawing. Another feature that is great is that is not completely restricted, it can be customized and is open source.
ConsYou need to spend a lot of time getting to know the software to use it or have lots of experience with cad programs. It can crash a lot.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2018
Steve H.
Amateur engineering designer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2018

“Great, Free, but . . .”

ProsIt costs nothing, and provides a good route to 3d CAD work. The work flow is quite different form Autocad or Rhinoceros, but is not difficult to get to grips with and there are some good tutorials on line.
ConsIt isn't complete (e.g. there is no dimensioning readily available), and suffers from ongoing development that results in occasional crashes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2018
Ryan C.
Researcher
Research, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Full of Potential”

ProsEasy to use pickup and use with relatively little experience. I use this to create designs for 3D printing and have not been limited by its features.
ConsThere are multiple interfaces to perform different tasks. It is a little confusing to remember which of the options to select to achieve the particular goal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Kasey B.
Adjunct Professor of Political Science
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“Its great software and its free!!!”

OverallIt's Freeware, and community supported, if that's something you enjoy, then this is the product for you!
Pros...Its free??? Most CAD software costs an arm and a leg. I've played around with this software, and its really outstanding, obviously not as great as the high end software on the market, but who cares. Free beats spending hundreds of dollars and its a user supported community. You should really give this a shot, I had a blast trying to make thing to print on our school's 3D printer, and this gets you started.
ConsObviously, you are not going to be able to have the support and training compared to high end products, but if you are willing to put some effort into teaching yourself how this work, then you are golden.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“It's not Inventor, but its also free.”

OverallGreat value for money (its free) I don't know if I'd use it professionally if my daily work depended on it, but as a hobbyist I love it. Don't bother looking for something else, its the best of the free ones.
ProsThis is a pretty darn intuitive parametric CAD program. I love that its open source and is maintained by a great community. The feature set is pretty robust. Sketching in 3D hasn't let me down on anything so far. The interface takes a bit to get used to, but its not a huge curve by any means. Geometric constraints work great.
ConsIts a bit unrefined and buggy. I save often because on MacOS at least, it crashes occasionally. I've not had a problem restoring my work though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“Powerful and Robust 3D CAD modeler”

OverallWe use this tool for our 3D modeling needs especially in product design department.
ProsRobot Simulation, Sketcher features are quite good. If you know python, its python in-built interpreter allows you to explore lot of things.
ConsInterface could be improved a bit. Apart from that, its good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“My FreeCAD review”

OverallI mostly use it for my file conversion needs. It detects some important (not much) type of file extensions in the 3d industry. Since all major paid softwares have a kind of free usage option, FreeCAD has a limited user ecosystem rather than others.
ProsFreeCAD is a free software you can design everything in 3D. This is a lightweight (not consumes PC's cappacity so much) software you can use in your projects.
ConsThe software has not sculpting feature. Besides, it has a poor interface design.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Licex D.
Especialista en Recursos Humanos
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“A perfect drawing module”

ProsAll the things I need for draw are in the drawing module of FreeCAD, I can add symbols, insert draft, add annotations, create and edit new sheets and so on, is perfect for me because all my experience of design has been made in 2D modelling and the software fits perfect for me.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Piotr G.
Software Developer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018

“Free cad is really free”

OverallThis software help me to create cover for my product.
ProsMultiple views allow to create complicated shapes and elements.
ConsIt's really free, also for commercial projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Stephany V.
Diseñador
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“Its learning curve is very linear and this makes the use of the software easier to learn, intuitive!”

ProsIt is totally multiplatform, it runs without problems with the same appearance and the same functionality on all platforms.
ConsThe software is in BETA with problems in common options such as "do not undo", and has a problem with the action of the word.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Elbert A.
Purchasing Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018

“cool programm”

Overallfree program whit a lot of functions
Proscool free program for modeling 3D objects. have a lot of opportunities such as saving files in a lot of file extensions
Conscouldn`t find any weak points, tried to open different file extensions and it works with them. really cool
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2018

“Very good opensource and free program”

OverallFree and open sourced.
ProsAlways updating to improve and simplify the usage. Easy to use for beginners. Can easily use what is the workbench to upload it.
ConsThere is no load analysis in it. There is no motion analysis . some workbenches is tooo heavy to work in the device.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“Great alternative to AutoCAD”

Prosi can do virtually anything i want, and it is easier to use then AutoCAD.
Consevery once in a while it does strange things. however, this is no worse than other, higher priced, commercial software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Seth C.
Project Manager
Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“Great Free CAD Software”

OverallUser-friendly, simple to use.
ProsAlthough this product does not contain as many features as the CAD products you buy, it's still very good.
ConsIt's missing a lot of features, but that is to be expected.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Avatar Image
michiel m.
Animation and VFX
Animation, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“Quick Fix ”

ProsWe use maya and blender at our office, we needed to convert cad files to .obj files so that we can easily run it on our computers and Free Cad Worked like a charm.
ConsFor us it was a bit time consuming to figure out how the program worked and there a only a few tutorials online to help with that but after a while we got the hang of it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Teddy H.
Analista de Organización y Sistemas
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Modelling in 3D with this free software”

ProsI can do models with a very high level of detail and using complex processes like brep and nurb curves, which allows to do specific forms in a model with high precision and detail. and you can apply this processes to any geometric form to the best model for your work.
ConsIt is very difficult to get used to the terms and specifications of the software, because you have to know a lot about of design to use the tools that the software uses properly, because this is a very specilizaed one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Nasir I.
Cost/Project Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2018

“Can't complain when it's Free!!!”

ProsBeing a community-based free software, it's still seeing lots of improvements. Constant feedback is allowing it to better improve functionality and integration across disciplines.
ConsIt is not as powerful as the higher-end programs that cost several hundreds of dollars, but you can't complain when it's free.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2018
Sabastian W.
CEO
Entertainment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2018

“Used on a monthly basis and no issues at all thus far”

OverallAllows us to easily edit, adjust and print our entrance designs.
ProsWe use this program to design our entrance for the wrestling events. Much easier than other programs with similar features
ConsSo far, nothing negative to report. We've used the program several times to set-up several fundrasier event layouts and we've had zero issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2018