Panoply Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Panoply

Panoply's automated data management platform delivers the industry's fastest time to insights by eliminating the IT development and coding typically associated with transforming, integrating, and managing data, giving you actionable insights in minutes, not days. Thanks to our AI-optimized platform, your queries will run 100 times faster and BI dashboards will load 10 faster, empowering you with lightning fast analytics to help with your time sensitive business decisions. Learn more about Panoply

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Noam P.
Data Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018

“Panoply is a great product that helps in WH management as well as optimization. ”

ProsQuery optimization is great and all behind the scenes. Views automatic materialization is great and enable me to create very complicated views without considering runtime. support representatives are very responsive and usually very helpful. In general, very flexible company that always to get better and answers it's clients needs
ConsWeb platform can be built better Materialization processes have some problem sometimes (downtime) and are not visible properly on the platform
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Adir R.
Co-Founder & CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018

“A great service to connect all your data sources to and analyze them together”

ProsIt's really easy to start and add various data sources. You can then create connections between data sources and start building custom reports that show you insights and valuable data.
ConsThe biggest con I can think about is the lack of built-in visualization tools. At the moment if you want to see your data visually you must use an external software. Hoping they would get around to adding it soon!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018
Verified Reviewer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018

“The power of a data warehouse in minutes”

OverallI managed to setup the data warehouse for a large company (3000+ employees) in just a couple of months (mainly getting accesses and defining which sources to use). Not only we are saving money from other un-managed solutions, but we are also saving from the development and maintenance time required to build an in-house solution.
ProsForget about building and maintaining a data warehouse in-house (with all its ETLs). You can get up and running in just 5 minutes with a lot of pre-built integrations, and amazing customer support. And with it's flexible pricing model, it makes Panoply a no-brainer for both small and large enterprises.
ConsThe web UI/UX needs more work, it can be slow, and there are many features that are only available on request from the backend (history tables, ssh tunnel for connections, etc.). The replication frequency is rather limited (down to 1hr only), and the lack of change log replication is a big cons (e.g. MongoDB chagelog or Postgres replication log).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018
Robert C.
Group Product Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2018

“Great service and response time, queries timeout sometimes.”

OverallETL from Mongo to Redshift, ability to integrate with data from many internal tools (Mixpanel, Twilio, ZenDesk, Asana, etc.), running performance-intensive queries.
ProsI love the service and response time from Alon and crew. They are always on top of it. I also like the materialized views functionality and our custom integration with Twilio.
ConsI don't like that I can't materialize views in Panoply if I'm not the dbadmin. I also have had frustrations with queries timing out in our data visualization tool, although that's improved recently. I'd also like multifactor auth available in the UI in Panoply.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2018
Hugh S.
Founder
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2018

“Never worked for us, management incredibly rude and confrontational”

OverallI would not recommend doing business with their company unless you have a ridiculously simple use case (for example, our use of nosql databases seemed to be outside their typical use case) and you are OK with their management team being rude and unhelpful. (The support team seems friendly enough but struggles to handle complex cases or smaller ACVs from our experience).
ProsIf it worked for our use case I'm sure the product would be great. However our experience was that there was a lot of promises during the sales process but it turned out that we couldn't actually use the product - for reasons on both sides. They insisted that we pay for it for 14 months anyway though.
ConsTheir management team (someone in the C suite) sent some of the rudest emails I have ever received. When we were unable to use the product because it wasn't able to sufficiently support our use case or have adequate protections for our private/secure data, they went from friendly to incredibly rude and confrontational. They were unable to accept that a customer who got zero use or value from the product (which they'd be able to demonstrate with internal metrics) wasn't likely to love the product or recommend it to others.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Rory B.
Performance Marketing Director
Entertainment, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2018

“The best managed AWS solution”

ProsFor our purposes, they worked out cheaper than an out-of-the-box AWS integration, but they offered ELT and excellent customer support as a bonus.
ConsThey don't have as many ELT connectors as companies like Fivetran and Stitch, but what they do have works very effectively.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2018

“Signing on with Panoply is like getting a whole engineering team's worth of output for cheap”

OverallThe ability to manage our data in one central store.
ProsIt does something that is sorely needed in the market -- a way to manage large amounts of data in one central store without needing tons of in-house expertise. Getting set up could not have been easier and working with data in Panoply is easy. I have no regrets about signing up.
ConsRedshift SQL is a little bit annoying, but that has nothing to do with Panoply and their service. It will be interesting to see if they expand to other warehouses in the future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2018
Teja S.
BI Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“Best Value for Money”

OverallWe could gain the insights we are looking from various sources using Panoply
ProsPanoply is the best investment we have made so far. For a company our size(100-200 employees), and a company that cannot invest too much money in BI infrastructure yet, Panoply not only maintains the infrastructure but also provides the best customer support and data architect to gain insights from various sources. I have already recommended panoply to a few of my contacts.
ConsRestriction on the number of admins to 1.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Jacklyn A.
CRM & Digital Strategy Manager
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018

“The easiest way to get started with data management.”

OverallWas able to stop leaking data and made it easily accessible without going into sticker shock.
ProsPanoply is easy to use and doesn't require a lot of work to get started. Without a database manager I was able to connect and save all of my data. Able to use SQL instead of crashing my computer for reports and segmentation.
ConsOrganizing folders can be difficult if you didn't plan ahead because you can't select more than one at a time. Also difficult to search for information and it is slow when going in and out of folders.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019

“Panoply Makes Warehousing Easy for Most Users”

OverallOverall, Panoply is a great option for short-term or non-technical projects, but may not be best for more advanced teams.
ProsPanoply finally offers non-technical users an easy and affordable way to warehouse data, pipe it to the right tools, and not deal with the hassle of new warehouse creation, view generation, or ETL. The interface is intuitive enough to not need support during setup, and data is accurately reflected in the warehouse within hours. Several adaptors to other services are supported out of the box.
ConsPanoply works well for limited warehousing applications, but if you have technical resources available and/or need good long-term storage, other warehousing solutions may be best. Panoply has many native cloud integrations, but several require 3rd party solutions like Stitch, increasing cost and complexity.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2018

“Redshift without the Maintenance”

ProsThis is the perfect solution for those who want to use amazon redshift but don't want to manage a cluster. Panoply automagically creates indexes and optimizes your DB as you add data
ConsThe software is still new, so I occasionally run across a bug or 2. These are typically minor and fixed quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“Great product for jumpstarting your BI infrastructure.”

OverallWe were able to get our BI infrastructure up and running quickly and at a good value.
Pros- Can run Redshift without needing a DBA -- Panoply does it for us. - Access to a data architect for assistance.
Cons- No alerts for if a job fails. - Limited number of connectors. Have to bridge the gap with other software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Alejandro M.
Head Of Information Technology
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2018

“Very easy to set up, connect to our services and consume the data. I love their customer support.”

Pros- Ease of setting up - Simplicity - Customer service is very close every trimester - Integrations to other platforms
ConsAt the begining it was hard to conect to Microsoft Azure and the development of this took time, after this, everything were as expected
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2018
Franklin J.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2018

“It's great but it's sluggish”

ProsI like that it is easy to use. It is incredibly easy to navigate around. It allows you essentially to browse without using strict SQL queries. As we are trying to integrate the product for use with our non technical team, this is incredibly important. They are not particularly well versed in tech or code or any of the sort, but they can understand panoply. Trying to grapple with SQL data directly would be fairly impossible. Panoply allows us to level to playing field and bring this over to all users and simplify the entire process as well as not provide us with the ability to not expose the direct data that customers are using directly.
ConsI have not used the product in a couple weeks, but at the time panoply was incredibly slow. Whenever I attempted to use the product in any way shape or form, it took an incredibly long time for it to deliver any data that I was looking for. It was actually surprising how long it would take and I actually spent some time troubleshooting my local network as a result (which I've found not to be the issue). My colleague has since informed me that this is no longer the case, so I'm definitely willing to give it another go, but my impression at the moment unfortunately still stands at this present time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2019

“Great for non-engineers”

ProsPanoply has a LOT of connectors to third-party tools
ConsDoes not support common formats like Parquet, making it clear that this was built for non-engineers
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2019