Aiven PostgreSQL Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Aiven PostgreSQL

Aiven PostgreSQL is a scalable, fully-managed Database-as-a-Service available on all major clouds. We include support for multiple users and databases in our plans, and provide features such as forking and connection pooling. Your data is safe with Aiven because we encrypt it at rest and in transit, and run your services on dedicated virtual machines. Set up in 10 minutes and enjoy peace of mind while focusing on your core business. Start today! Learn more about Aiven PostgreSQL

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 49 of 49 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 49 of 49 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019

“An excellent, full-featured database provider”

ProsThe general ease of operation for: - Spinning up new databases - Scaling up - Scaling down - Migrating to a different region - Restoring backups Is really great. It's amazing how many features you get out of the box. The plans with redundancy are also cool because you get full access to the slave as a read-only replica, this means you can run heavy select queries without putting load on the main database. There is a very significant "it just works" factor to it, which is not something I would imagine myself saying about a database provider so easily.
ConsThey are not the cheapest Monitoring/alerting options were a bit lackluste, but this has improved recently.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019
Mario C.
Sys Admin
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017

“Aiven is very efficent for me, because is very easy use to”

Overallthe serves restores in atumatic in downtime the backup automatic facility to see the performance
Prosgraph of metrics query statics easy admin of users the autimatic backups and restores the upgrades of service plans is a very easy and autimatic the agents of service desk are very efficent and friendly
Conscan't watch logs of befores days aiven dont have a panel to execute querys, i could execute querys without any administrator of postgresql from your platform cant admin sessions, i could close to sessions without pgadmin

Vendor Response

By Aiven on February 20, 2019
Hello Mario, Thank you for your review. We¿re glad to hear you have enjoyed the ease of use of our managed PostgreSQL. First, I wanted to let you know that it is now possible to close connections directly from console. Second, our logs view has been improved; for longer logs retention, we support integration to Elasticsearch, where you can keep logs for unlimited (limited by amount of disk space) time. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017
Johannes K.
CTO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2017

“Excellent, well-designed product. Hard to imagine an easier solution to this problem.”

ProsThe best feature is how easy it is to get up and running. Once you've set up an instance, you literally (in our case) just had to copy-and-paste the database URL into our site's (Django-based) configuration. The fact that scaling the instances is so easy also makes it quite comfortable to just start with a small one and then upgrade it as your needs increase.
ConsWe had one or two cases where the instance was unreachable, even though the dashboard reported that it was up. Considering the price, this is pretty good for over a year of service with no redundancy, though. Also, automatically upgrading the PostgreSQL version is obviously a double-edged sword. An opt-out feature might be helpful. We once started getting some errors when the postgres-server version changed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019

“Aiven is the perfect, no-lock-in DB solution”

ProsAiven makes it trival to move databases between cloud providers. The stickiest thing about any hyperscaler (AWS/Google/Azure) is your data - it's a PAIN to move. Aiven makes changing your cloud provider a literal point and shoot operation, something that could take weeks of planning trying to from RDS to Cloud SQL or the like.
ConsA little more customization in the pricing would be nice (and the ability to run within a VPC instead of having to peer VPCs), but honestly there's very little I don't like about Aiven.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019
Daniel G.
SRE
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Remote replicas to the rescue!”

OverallWe tested and we loved it, the remote replica is a service that takes weight out of our shoulders in a brilliant and simple way.
ProsThe interface is easy to use and intuitive. The remote replica option is saving the company time. In the past, it was hard to manage and configure the remote replicas using tools like Bucardo and PostgreSQL in RDS, which does not support binary replication (at least it didn't back then). The replicas between the remote databases happen almost instantly. Great support for extensions.
ConsThe chat support takes a long time to answer the questions but when they do, the answers are to the point and helpful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Efrain D.
System Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017

“Using Aiven has been a great experience because it has permitted us to deploy faster database server”

OverallDeploying database servers it is now really fast for us.
ProsI like that is possible to deploy PostgreSQL within seconds. I also really like that is possible to upgrade to a minor or major version of PostgreSQL without a noticeable downtime. I like the offering of HA services. I like the great customer support.
ConsThat it is not possible to have customizable PostgreSQL logs. On our dedicated servers we customize this logs to show us querys that last longer than 5 seconds, currently this is not possible with Aiven.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017
Mathias P.
CTO
Oil & Energy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2019

“Focus on the productive stuff”

OverallExtremely esay to use and get started with in seconds. Very helpful support if so be needed and a very reliable service.
ProsIt's incredibly easy to spin up a postgreSQL instance and start being productive. Everything from creating a secure password to SSL-certificates are handled automatically. Point in time backups make you confident to use and test without gambling hours of work and for the serious tests and development environments - spin up a replica by forking the database with the press of a button!
ConsIt is a bit expensive if you need more disk space, which isn't unusual when dealing with data and databases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017

“It's great. Everything just works; setup was effortless; customer service is responsive and helpful.”

ProsThe best thing are the no-downtime migrations and upgrades. The setup was quick and easy and since then no maintenance has been required. Customer service is great and pro-active. The dashboard works well.
ConsAs far as I can tell there's no way to set a separate billing email. It would be nice to also see in the dashboard what's taking up most memory and disk space and to be able to set up alerts, such as if there are queries that take too long to execute.

Vendor Response

By Aiven on February 20, 2019
Thanks for the review! Great to hear you have had a good experience so far. Regarding to your comment on setting a separate billing email, field for that has now been made available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017
Bruno G.
Team Lead
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Aiven PostgreSQL review”

ProsPerformance is much higher than Amazon RDS
ConsFailover can take quite a long time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Joseph C.
Senior Software Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019

“Easy to use console and high availability”

ProsThe console was easy to use and intuitive. We were evaluating GCP CloudSQL vs Aiven and really what it came down to is that Aiven has better up time. CloudSQL has maintenance periods of 5-10 minutes that render the service unavailable, which is unacceptable for our uses. We also liked that Aiven could host on any major cloud platform (on GCP in our case).
ConsAt first it wasn't clear to me at first that I needed to connect to the DB and create users and manage the permissions manually through the CLI. Might be nice to have an initial user creation or way to manage the db users in the console.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019
Sugandi -.
Devops Engineer
Entertainment, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“Overall is more far better than Google cloudsql”

OverallGood so far, you guys provide mysql as well?
ProsAvailability and live migration feature is awesome
ConsLast time (couple weeks) it still cannot zoom to specific range of time in metric dashboard or i am wrong remember
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018

“Works well, has cloud datacenters in many regions.”

OverallDon't have to host Linux servers for it myself.
ProsDatacenters in multiple regions, multiple PostgreSQL versions. General high level of availability. Support is helpful and pretty fast (located in my timezone.)
ConsNo real cons actually. Had a problem once (which was related to my PG driver etc), the customer support helped me resolve it fairly quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Márton S.
Senior System Engineer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2018

“So simple and powerfull”

OverallI am very satisfied with Aiven so far.It eliminated the need for in-house solutions for backup, scaling and upgrading a PostgreSQL server.
ProsI have only used the PostgreSQL service so far and I really like how easy it is to start, fork en upgrade the service. A great feature, and a must for us, is that you can choose on which cloud provider and location the service should be deployed. We have been hosting our own PostgreSQL server for years and had to manage upgrades, backup and scaling on our own. And it feels great to finally leave that behind us and start using PostgreSQL as a service. The support is great to. I have been in contact with the support using the chat feature and have been helped every time.
ConsThe official API client was a bit hard to understand at first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017

“Overall good, customer support is good, however pricing is not great compared to AWS, logs not good.”

ProsEase of use, being able to upgrade, downgrade hardware as needed, great customer support, overall decent interface.
ConsHardware versus price is not great, especially compared to AWS, not great logging, seems difficult to customize, no auto scaling.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017
Mags D.
Lead developer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018

“new to cloud db services”

OverallVery happy with service and support
Pros- Australian data centre (no one has these!) - Postgres support - Easy to create an account and a database - Customer support is very good - Documentation and guides are very good - Intergration with Datadog was easy
Cons1. The default db is named 'defaultdb' so i created new dbs for staging/prod so i dont use the default db, i find this a bit confusing 2. On overview page only default db is shown, I would prefer to see all my db's and possibly set favourites 3. When I hit the server the Current Queries tab shows IP address but duration and db fields are blank? 4. Pricing seems a little steep for mid level single app users 5. Would like to see explanations in console graphs to better understand what they mean
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018
Karl-Jørgen M.
Developer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2018

“It works nicely”

ProsEasy and fast to start a new service. Easy service overview. Nice pricerange from hobby to business
ConsWe had a service issue some time ago where we had no database for 4 hours. We needed to upgrade to business to have better fallback
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2018
Yoav A.
CTO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2017

“Nice UI. Great support. Great features (for PG, a bit less for redis unfortunately)”

ProsSetup is very intuitive, and it seems to work great. Support was prompt and knowledgeable (which is hugely important). PG features seem solid and the flexibility to choose the cloud hosting, size etc is great.
Conseasy Redis backup/import is still missing unfortunately. We'd love to use Aiven for redis too, but with those limitations we can't yet. I'm still a bit hesitant about how likely Aiven is to stay in business as a company. It's not so well known and hard to know who's behind it and that it's doing well financially to keep going for many years. (btw, I think you guys should be more active on HackerNews and other geek channels where you should market yourselves.)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2017
Avatar Image
James W.
Technical Team Lead
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Great service”

OverallThe implementation of our business!
ProsCan't fault Aiven at all, great service, the exact services we require (postgres and elasticsearch) and always more than willing to help
ConsWhile it is a managed service you do need to have at least a minimum of knowledge to setup and run the services on offer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Alex G.
Software Developer
Banking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018

“Software developer”

Overallexcellent
ProsEasy to deploy and setup replication on any cloud provider we like
ConsWe want to move to our production environment but we need a SOC2. Currently, aiven does not have that. WHEN WILL YOU GET IT?!

Vendor Response

By Aiven on February 20, 2019
Hello Alex, Thanks for the review! We¿re glad your experience has been good so far. Regarding your question, we are aiming for SOC2 report it during 2019. In case you have requested the feature through our support, you will be notified when it¿s available. Meanwhile, I suggest you following our RSS feeds for further updates. To demonstrate our commitment to our customers' information security, we maintain compliance with all major data regulations and are ISO 27001 certified. Thanks again and stay tuned!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018
Mitchell D.
Tech lead
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019

“Very impressed”

ProsThe ability to link to our Google cloud cluster using VPC was very valuable. Features such as PITR and connection pooling makes Avien PostgreSQL in another league entirely when it comes to cloud services. Well done.
ConsIt would be useful to allow a whitelisted IP address into the service even when its configured with VPC
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2018

“Good for quick start, but more features required”

ProsEase of use, quick setup. We easily migrated to cloud and don't have to manage PostgreSQL any more.
ConsNot enough features and settings for PostgreSQL: for example: slow queries logs are missing and we have to monitor by third party tools.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2018
Andy S.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2017

“Great PostgreSQL offering with managed PGBouncher”

Pros- Managed PGBouncher - easy setup and upgrade - quicky offering new technologies (e.g. PostgreSQL 10)
Cons- lack of integration with datadog for metrics. right now we need to get some metrics manually using the Aiven metrics API
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2017
Jason S.
CTO, CFO
Entertainment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019

“Great trial period experience”

OverallUsing Aiven lets us keep our DB from the tight grip of the majors and avoid lockin.
ProsExcellent "managed" db setup, overall. I liked how Aiven seemed to abstract the cloud-company-centric database offerings that each cloud co offers but made it appear "seamless" to me.
ConsCould use a better explanation of pricing w.r.t. what the standard google/amzn/do db setup might cost.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019

“Great affordable product”

OverallOverall, it's been a smooth experience transitioning and migrating over from our previous hosting platform. The support has been absolutely great thus far.
ProsIt's clean, simple-to-use, and best of all, is serviced by very knowledgeable IT staff who can answer the finer details of our technical questions and make nuanced recommendations. The pricing plan is also friendlier than those offered by the bigger platforms.
ConsIt would be great if we can be on the trial plan too, and getting on it was a bit of a hassle, but otherwise not much complaints.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019
Louis B.
CEO
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2018

“We love to use Aiven to spawn PostgreSQL databases, it's easy to use and many features we like”

OverallFast and easy setup, vast choice of cloud providers and regions.
ProsZero-downtime migrations and plan changes, database forks, nice metrics with iops. Configuration seems to be hand-crafted to the installation, which is nice.
ConsPlans could be more flexible in terms of space. Would be great to be able to choose disk space independently. Even for a small database which is used to store archive data, it gets very expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2018
Quinn W.
Senior DevOps Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“aiven is a great service, very few downsides”

OverallOverall aiven PostgreSQL has been a smooth experience, with smooth upgrades/migrations. We are using it to replace a legacy MongoDB stack.
ProsThe self-service nature of everything, including vpc peering. The existence of a hashicorp terraform provider works perfectly for us :)
ConsChat support isn't great, I'd rather be able to asynchronously create a ticket in response to issues rather than wait for staff to be available via chat. Some postgres options aren't configurable (ie. deadlock_timeout).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Matt D.
Head of Data
Insurance, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“New users but great product so far”

Overalldatabase migration went off without any major issues
ProsEase of setup and peering, account manager was helpful and responsive throughout the evaluation process, ease of upgrading instance, SLA of 100% is very appealing, just takes some of the worries away that we have :)
Conscreateing a read-replica and not being able to select the specific custom vpc from aws.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Mike F.
Software Engineer
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“So far so great”

OverallWe need hosted Postgres that provides read-only replicas in other geographical regions. And when selecting the region for our master, it was important to select a region with good connectivity to mainland China. Aiven's ability to live-migrate a database to another cloud region or cloud provider with only a few clicks made this incredibly simple. We're also using logical replication, which Aiven has support for via the aiven_extras plugin. Support has always been great, with competent and detailed technical answers to all questions I've asked.
ProsThe feature set (cross-regional replication, live migration, logical decoding), and support. Support has been amazing.
ConsNo mainland China support. I understand that's difficult though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Tony K.
Senior Engineer
Commercial Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“Aiven provides reliable and secure services, and support has been super knowledgable.”

OverallWe use Aiven Postgres to deploy new services rapidly. I like how Aiven handles changes to the deployed environment. The support team at Aiven answers questions clearly and are knowledgable.
ProsAiven provides premium security for all accounts, not as an add-on feature.
ConsThe terraform plugin is not up to full feature parity, but covers most of our use cases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Mikko P.
CTO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018

“title”

Overallcool
ConsNot being able to copy from one gb to another easily or automatically

Vendor Response

By Aiven on February 20, 2019
Hi Mikko, Thank you for your comment. You can find more information about copying entire databases from one service another from: https://help.aiven.io/postgresql/getting-started/migrating-your-existing-postgresql-database-to-aiven Hope this helps!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019

“Awesome service”

Overalllove it
ProsIts so easy to set up and get started with, and the blog article that tells you how to set up timescale db (that was the primary reason we needed aiven in the first place). I love it.
ConsNothing to do with the service, but the fact that timescaledb wont let us use the enterprise license in aiven is deeply disappointing. But love aiven, keep up the great work guys
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019
Max W.
System Administrator
Airlines/Aviation, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018

“Works as it should, no useless overhead ”

OverallQuick and easy solution for my need of Database as a service.
ProsAbsolutely easy setup. Just a few clicks and everything is up and running. No overhead configuration or to database specific. I needed a Database as a service, i got a database as a service. Nothing more to say.
ConsI miss a little button to start a database backup by myself. Maybe it is there somewhere, but i am too blind...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018
Jeremy H.
Tech Lead / Senior Software Engineer
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2017

“Painless.”

OverallWe offload backup and high availability operations.
ProsTaking postgres off our production servers makes them basically immutable and much easier to manage. Backup and failover of a single-node database is very important, but not part of our core competency.
ConsIt would be nice to have per-aiven-user postgres admin accounts so that we can audit access via tools like psql.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2017
Djay C.
VP, Platform Engineering
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Excellent cloud managed offering of PostGreSQL with nice extensions”

OverallWe are using it to solve temporal data ingest and queries for IoT use-cases.
ProsEasy cloud based management of all database operational aspects.
ConsLow limits on maximum connections for SaaS use-cases where a large number of connections are required. Do not have root/postgres admin access to install custom extensions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Gary S.
Owner
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2018

“Powerful yet easy to use”

ProsThe simplicity of upgrading databases. The virtualization (to the customer) of cloud provider choices. The ability to control all aspects of the database and users.
ConsLog file management. Uncertainty of the company (the same as with all startups). Performance of the low-end option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2018
Andrey S.
Senior Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2017

“Easy yet powerful”

ProsI enjoyed using the Aiven console a lot. It is very straightforward to use, well-organized and documented.
ConsNot much to complain about. Probably Services overview page could provide connection details straight away, so the user doesn't have to click on the service name to find the host and port.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018

“Ideal setup for Postgres + TimescaleDB”

Pros- Good Terraform support - TimescaleDB support (plus other addons) - Very responsive sales and engineering department - Supports all major cloud providers including Azure
Cons- Pricing is more expensive than Azures own Postgres (but that doesn't TimescaleDB)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018
Justin K.
Infrastructure Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“PG Review”

ProsTerraform compatibility, Easy to deploy, fast and scalable
ConsPotential Slow support due to the chat saying that "turn around time is 3 -5 hours".
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Sylvain L.
Senior Developer
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2019

“Very good service, easy to use”

ProsAiven services on PostgresSQL is the easier I ever met. the admin UI is user friendly, and the whole thing is secured.
ConsThe time of start and stop is quiet long, but it's really nothing so far.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2019
Antonio P.
Software Engineer
Consumer Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2018

“Thought”

ProsNo brainer provider that supports multiple cloud providers. Very easy to use and configure and customer support very helpful when needed.
ConsI haven't encountered any downside so far.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2018
Kenneth G.
Developer
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018

“Great versatile PostgreSQL”

ProsEasy to use and manage. The features are as expected, and just works.
ConsAt the moment i don't have anything negative to a say.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018
Piotr S.
Senior software engineer
Music, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019

“Very good SaaS database”

ProsEasy deployment Multi cloud replication Performance
ConsA little costly Everything else is great :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019
Jean-Francois L.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019

“Postgresql for Timescaledb ”

ProsTimescaledb is available natively within your service.
ConsStorage is expensive and not flexible compared to AWS RDS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019
Jose G.
Software Developer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018

“Nice experience”

ProsIs too fast and easy get a postgrees sql instance. The biggest pro is to forget about having to manage the server and focus on the development of the application
ConsThe Free trial was too short, it would be better if free trial limit were storage as 500MB of free storage i miss a small instance to make tests.

Vendor Response

By Aiven on February 20, 2019
Thanks for the feedback Jose! To provide a more comprehensive trial of our platform, we changed the trial structure to a free 30 day trial period.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019

“My Review”

OverallIt has allowed us to effectively step stone our progression to Citus DB by starting off with Timescale. However, we most likely will leave it later once we reach > $1000/month in DB spending just because the pricing is high and Citus seems to provide more flexibility and performance for a lower price point. We strongly dislike the lack of super-user access for the DB, as it messes up our tooling. We found while the support & interface, as well as the performance in GCP cloud, were great - we ran into various edge case/bugs, particularly with the hobbyist plan. I would not recommend the platform for anything but Postgres or Redis.
ProsThe ability to use the TimescaleDB Postgres Extension.
ConsThe Lack of Super-User/Postgres Account access.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019
Mathieu S.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“Aiven positive feedback :)”

OverallVery positive, I don't have much to add
ProsEasy to get started with, support is reactive, overall it is a great experience for newcomers.
ConsIt is not much but some details about the settings of postgresql are not easy to access.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Fatma A.
Project Development Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 29, 2018

“Easy to setup and get running”

ProsEase of use, great customer service. Super easy to configure and find the DB details you're looking for when dev-ing
ConsSome confusions around the console, configurations, but can be figured out easily enough through documentation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 29, 2018
Andrei T.
Fullstack developer
Gambling & Casinos, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2019

“Aiven is great!”

ProsI really like UI/UX. It is clean enough!
ConsNot enough options. Like, need filter metrics by specific dates (not only by d/w/m/y). Or sort current queries by time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2018

“Reliable, good UI and simple concept of management.”

ProsIt's way better, than hosting PostgreSQL by ourself, compliance with EU data protections laws, good support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 3, 2018