Halcyon Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Halcyon

Halcyon's Funeral Home Management Solution is a robust application to fully manage your funeral home. From custom obituary templates to powerful reporting functions, our comprehensive software gives you the tools you need to make the most of your time and resources. Halcyon's Crematory Management Solution handles trade and/or at need human and pet cremations. From body tracking to partner portals and financial reporting our software lets you run your entire Crematory. Learn more about Halcyon

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 22 of 22 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 22 of 22 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Mel P.
Director
Hospitality, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“Funeral Software -- Personal service at the speed of business”

OverallWe are solving the value proposition of time. The less time we spend at the desk and doing repetitive tasks, the more time we spend with our client families and focusing on our businesses.
ProsThe user interface and web-based software allow our team to easily manage our client families both inside and out of the funeral home. We can now spend more time with our own families and still manage work remotely from anywhere. This software has improved our Customer Relationship Management and cut down on the time we spend printing documents, programs, and other custom forms. Having personal contact with programmers, customer service, and administration is something you won't find with the big software houses. We get detailed support and can influence the direction of the software by having close working relationships with the owners, developers, and designers.
ConsBeing a small shop sometimes means that new iterations come a little slower than the big software firms, but the flexibility and influence on the technical direction are still worth the wait. This is the best software on the market today -- period.

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on June 25, 2019
Thank you Mel for your kind review. We are proud that Pennington Funeral Homes is using Halcyon software to continue to thrive and support families.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Dennis R.
Internal Auditor/
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2017

“Very comprehensive and user friendly. ”

ProsAll of the information that we need, whether it is funeral or financial related, is easy for even the novice, computer savvy employee to navigate. When we enter information into one location it populates to all of the forms and/or reports that it applies too. We are able to have forms, that are specific to our company, uploaded into Halcyon to have them populate as well. Halcyon technical support, has been open to suggestions, when it comes the improving, changing, or modifying most things, to accommodate our needs.
ConsWe have a few of our locations that are producing all of the necessary forms for funeral arrangements, out of Halcyon. There are only a couple of small issues, regarding information for these forms, being in different areas. So, until our Funeral Directors and/or office staff become comfortable with the system, the families may have to wait a little longer for them to be printed for their signatures.

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on December 15, 2017
Thank you Dennis for reviewing Halcyon! In an upcoming newsletter we will highlight how our system's customizing features allow you to hide fields so that those fields needed are more readily available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2017
Carl J.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2018

“Great, We love this program.”

ProsIt is easy to navigate. It is professional looking. It creates professional looking forms, it is easy to train new employees with Halcyon.
ConsWe have to be careful to update often because it will kick you out. When leaving the computer to go to the selection room, upon returning, depending on the family and the time needed to select, updating will loose all the info already keyed from last update. Death certificate total no longer exists when one key in a number selected. We want that feature back.

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on April 30, 2018
Thank you Carl for your kind review and thank you for trusting Halcyon! Although Halcyon is not required to comply with HIPAA regulations we strive to anyway. Login timeout is one of those features that HIPAA requires and it is good security practice too. So we recommend you save often. Related enhancements we are considering include lengthening the timeout and allowing purchasing line items to extend the quantity times price.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2018
Lee B.
Office Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2018

“Using software for 4 years, easy to use and functional”

ProsEasy to use. You can customize for your business needs. Reports to complete monthly tasks are great.
ConsSince you transferred to Firefox, minor issues went away. Can't change check numbers, if someone is using a check for purchases you need to wait for their return to pay bills, etc. I understand this is a security issue and helps you not forget to log in check amount. I will add check with estimate amount to continue working.

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on April 30, 2018
Hi Lee, Thanks for being such a loyal Halcyon user! We never switched to any web browser. Halcyon is intended to work with any browser although Internet Explorer sometimes has problems. When checks are used out of office for an unknown amount it is best practice to enter $0.00 or an estimated amount so you are handling that well. Fortunately persons with admin access can also reset the last check used.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2018
Kyle A.
Owner
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“User Friendly Software ”

OverallAmazing
ProsI love how intuitive the software is and it's affordability!
ConsI have found none at this time and it's been over 1year.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Evan P.
Manager
Hospitality, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018

“Easy to use for a good price.”

OverallEasier to do accounting and accounts receivable, Forms are easier to submit, Records are easily accessible.
ProsWeb-based design that can be accessed from anywhere is a very helpful tool. The MIP export is also very useful.
ConsNot the easiest to use for multiple locations, it would be nice to have a better way to display multiple location information on paperwork and choose different locations for funerals. It would also be helpful to have separate sections for each of the pallbearers that could be exported directly into MIP.

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on May 7, 2018
Evan thank you for the kind review. We were not aware your had multiple locations. Fortunately we have your solution! We will contact you this week and explain how our SuperAdmin feature can help with multi location and talk about the multi-branch feature we now have in the new Platinum version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018
Tammy B.
Life & Legacy Cremation Center Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 10, 2019

“Halcyon software review for Life & Legacy Cremation Center, LLCC”

OverallOur experience has truly been great! They are easily contacted with anything we need and the turn around time is very quick. Like I said earlier, the few things that needed attention, were handled quickly and professionally. Overall I am very pleased.
ProsThere are a lot of things I like about this software, but I really love how easily it can be navigated. It is very user friendly and accommodates so many different aspects of the way we need to use it.
ConsWe are new to this software and have just opened our crematory, so with anything new, there are some quirks that need to be adjusted and tweaked. The monthly billing was not set up in the way we wanted to send statements, and we needed to be able to print a few reports that were not customized or able to be generated by us. But the customer service has been so amazing! As soon as we explain what we need, they are more than willing to go above and beyond to create anything we need and make it happen. The staffs are amazing to work with and help to make an already great software program better to suit our needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 10, 2019
Jason G.
Area Manager
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“This program makes managing funeral homes and crematories easy!!”

Overallcut down my computer time.
ProsWeb based, easy to learn, affordable, provides lots of information in easy to read charts and graphs. Flow through information is very helpful.
Consyou have to email tech support, but they are quick to respond and address the issue with little down time

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on March 13, 2018
Thank you Jason for the kind comments. We love working with you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Michael S.
General manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2018

“This product has brought us into the 21st century and made funeral service more efficient.”

ProsExcellent customer support. I appreciate the fact that I'm able to talk to a live person without going through many many exchanges. Punctual response and a willingness to see you through any challenges.

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on February 1, 2018
Thank you Mr Shaffer for your helpful review! Thank you for trusting Halcyon to help you run your business.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2018
Lori J.
Co-owner
Consumer Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2018

“Owners & staff have worked with Halcyon for many years and are very pleased with the program! ”

ProsEase of use, functionality and quick customer response time! Our funeral home is very pleased with the pricing program as well.
ConsWould like a few more features applicable to our particular usage but they are working on that for us.

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on January 29, 2018
Thank you Lori for continuing to trust Halcyon to run your business!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2018
Patrick M.
Owner
Individual & Family Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019

“Exactly what we were searching”

OverallI am happy to say that we are completely satisfied with the transition and support that we require.
ProsFinally an all inclusive way to economically manage our at need, pre need and crematory cases. We switched from a local software to a cloud based software and can now look up and manage our cases remotely as well as track our crematory cases online.
ConsTransitioning is never easy and the migration of data from another vendor was difficult but Halcyon was able to pull it off. Still working out a few bugs but for the most part they handled it professionally and in a timely manner.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019
Daniel K.
CFO
Hospitality, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018

“It fits our needs well. We're not a large enough firm for one of those enterprise solutions.”

ProsEasy to use, prefilled forms, great customer service, affordable, has pretty much all the features we use on a daily basis.
ConsNot much I can think of, just not as fully featured as an enterprise solution, obviously. But it does have the ones we need the most.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2018
Samuel J.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“Very well thought out user friendly ”

ProsUser friendly great customer support always working priced right cloud based search features admin documents list
ConsCannot choose date format which would keep all client info consistent with other paperwork otherwise very happy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Tom B.
Funeral Director, owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“We have 4 locations in Oregon 2 stand alone funeral homes and 2 cemetery funeral home combinations. ”

ProsWe are please with all aspects of Halcyon. The forms, contracts, updates tutorials and customer support and much more. I would highly recommend Halcyon.

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on March 20, 2018
Thank you Tom for trusting us with your business for so many years!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Reginald G.
General Manager
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 11, 2017

“Our experience has been great and ”

OverallPrepares all the necessary forms we need. If you do not want to use all different aspects of Halcyon, then you have to navigate through all the information to get to only what you want. However, you can hide these fields from your screen.
ProsVery user friendly and adaptable to our needs. Halcyon has created a multi-functional product that takes all the information entered and formats it into different forms, etc.
Cons

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on December 13, 2017
Thanks Reggy. We are glad you are enjoying Halcyon. Thank you for the excellent review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 11, 2017
Lisa M.
Vice President
Consumer Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2018

“Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions Review”

OverallIt's gone have well. Our rep is very responsive if we have any questions and has added features into Halcyon that are helpful for our business
ProsIt is very user friendly. We were all paper before using Halcyon and life is much easier now. Entered information self populates into death certificate as well as an obit. It's great that everyone can have access to information no matter what location they are at or even from home.
ConsIt would be nice if there was a credit card processing option but I have heard that is in the works. Also there are some basic reports options, such as a list a of cases, that are not available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2018
Matt M.
President
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2018

“Great software”

ProsWe went from the stone age to the new age and its working great. Very affordable and a must for any funeral home still working with paper.
ConsIts a work in progress for Platinum users but things are always getting better
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2018
Michelle D.
Administrative assistant
Individual & Family Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2018

“Efficient ”

OverallEasy to navigate the system. Support Halcyon provides is great.
ProsLess paperwork so makes my job more efficient and better for the environment
ConsCan only upload one document at a time into the files tab
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2018
Amanda W.
Office Manager
Consumer Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019

“Best Funeral Software”

ProsIt is very easy to use and customize to your own preferences
ConsSome of the data tags are not available, but the support team quickly fixes any issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019
Frank` G.
Owner
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2018

“Where Have You Been All My Life”

OverallGreat! I could not ask for better. Very helpful and listen to suggestions to make Halcyon greater than it already is.
ProsHalcyon is very easy to use and user friendly. It is very adaptable to our needs and is what I have been looking for in a computer software for years. Staff is friendly and quick to work with you on tech support issues and special projects.
ConsThe forms library is a little lacking in what I am use to, but the staff has been great about adjusting forms to fit what I want.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2018
Amy S.
Co-Owner
Consumer Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“We are very Pleased!”

OverallHalcyon has tied all of our "systems" together (accounting, funeral program and our memorial program). It is now in one easy program.
ProsHalcyon is very easy to use. Has everything we need.
ConsI haven't found anything yet that we do not like.

Vendor Response

By Halcyon Death Care Management Solutions on June 19, 2019
Thank you Amy for the kind words and thank you for trusting your business to Halcyon!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Joseph M.
Funeral Director/Embalmer
Public Safety, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2018

“Best Death Care Management System by far”

ProsEase of Use Customization User Friendly Simplicity (Not a lot of screens to navigate to get where you want to be)
ConsCities, States and Zip Codes not pre-loaded (It would be nice if you could type in a zip code and city and state auto popluate for you)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2018