JDA Space Planning Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About JDA Space Planning

Planogram production and category management software for retailers. Learn more about JDA Space Planning

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 17 of 17 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Dan C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 17, 2013

OverallCanadian Tire Retail is a $7B mass retailer with 490 stores across Canada. What makes us unique compared to other mass retailers is that we operate under a franchise model, so all of the inventory is owned and pulled by our franchise stores. A significant part of our consumer sales and store shipments are driven by the weekly circular, which is generated 52 weeks a year. Additionally, we source over 40% of our goods from Asia which provides cost advantages, but presents more logistical challenges due to the elongated timelines and distance from our DCs and stores. Before the JDA solutions for Demand and Fulfillment, our replenishment analysts used simple reorder logic that was reactive and based on inventory levels dropping below a reorder point for a product. This generated thousands of weekly requisitions that had to be reviewed one by one by the analysts who then had to generate a manual purchase order. There were no forecasts used by the business at the time. We are currently using v7.7 of JDA Demand, Fulfillment, Demand Classification, Order Optimization, Inventory Optimization and V7.6 of JDA Transport. We purchased Demand, Fulfillment and Transport in 1995 and the other modules mentioned in 2010. We have gone through two significant upgrades since the original implementation. As our upgrades are infrequent, they were more like re-implementations as the functionality and technology changes and improvements were significant. The JDA Professional Services teams were top notch and knew the products well. We largely used our own staff for the project, and complemented this with the JDA team for their expertise with new functionality and some of the technology architecture. The software isn't difficult to use, and the team was able to get up and running within a few weeks following training. The software is very stable so we have relatively few support calls each year. When we do have to make a call we can get our issues resolved quickly. There are two main benefits streams from using this software. First would be related to inventory turns. The business has grown significantly since the acquisition of the software, but the inventory hasn't grown as quickly. This has resulted in carrying cost savings and also has allowed us to defer the expansion of our distribution capacity for a number of years deferring millions of dollars in capital expenditures over the past decade. Secondly, the forward looking visibility of utilizing 26 weeks of forecasts combined with the associated replenishment stream has allowed us to obtain better service levels and shorter lead times from not only our merchandise suppliers, but also our supply chain service providers who also view our forecasts so they can plan their operations well in advance when it is easier and less costly to make changes.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 17, 2013
Schalk G.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2013

OverallThe name of my organization is PEP. We are a clothing, footwear, and home wear retailer operating in 5 countries in Southern Africa. They are South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Lesotho, and Swaziland. Our customers are mainly from the middle to lower income groups. We are followers and not leaders of fashion, a high percentage of our products are replenishment products. We are a planning and replenishment driven company and decided about 12 years ago to change from planning on Excel to planning on a formal Planning Tool. About 5 years ago we also out grew our home grown Replenishment solution and opted to get a more modern specialized tool. We turned to JDA for both our Planning (Previously Arthur and now Enterprise Planning) and Replenishment (Demand and Fulfillment) solutions. We are currently using version 7.7 of both JDA Enterprise Planning and JDA Demand and Fulfillment. We have a very knowledgeable and capable IT Department, as well as a strong in-house team of Business/Systems Analyst. Together, with the JDA Technical and Business Consultants, implemented both EP and Demand and Fulfillment, and our long standing relationship with JDA contributed to making both the projects very successful. With our go live, we spend a lot of effort in training our users, especially on the Enterprise Planning solution. Our planners use this solution on a daily basis and are very capable with the use of the tools functionality. Demand and Fulfillment is more complicated, and in our organization we decided to keep a lot of the functionality with a central Replenishment team. These team members are the experts on the tool and will work together with the Planners to produce and execute the strategic product plan. Whenever we experience any problems that cannot be addressed within our own support structure, we would log the call with JDA support via their web portal. We have always received the help and assistance from the JDA support team, when they cannot assist they would get the JDA product development team to assist. Through the years, the JDA solutions have assisted us to implement a leading practice process in Planning and Replenishment. The tools assisted us to improve planning accuracy, maintain a high level of in-store availability, reduce stock outs and contributed towards a very positive annual sales growth.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2013
Barry H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2013

OverallMy organization is a leading manufacturer of plumbing hardware distributing products to big box retailers across the country. Demand for the product is both functionally and fashion driven, so planogramming each retail set effectively is critical to the customer to maximize sales. Planogramming had previously been undertaken by hand writing in SKU's into an excel sheet. The process was very time intensive, and did not allow for the growth of mix types in various markets around the country. Additionally, the distribution of POG's to almost 2000 stores across the country was a real issue. Implementation of an accelerated launch schedule in the category, demanded a uniform solution for updating and publishing all planograms every 60 days. The decision to use JDA Spaceplanning was made by the retailer and I currently use version 7.7. The retail customer also selected the Interactix data base which provides a means to upload, organize and distribute several hundred planogram updates over this timeline. I attended formal training to learn the software and how to use the upload/ distribution portal. I found this training effective and I was up and running within 60 days. The implementation of the software and the distribution portal took two launch cycles (4 months). Spaceplanning was easy to adopt as soon as the naming conventions were determined and setup for each POG. The database and access portal took more effort to get up and running. After nearly three years, the process of developing, finalizing and publishing POG's to all 2000 retail location has been very efficient and finely tuned. The software gives the customer the ability to fine tune SKU mixes on a store by store basis, and react to market changes driven by consumer demand, building codes and federal/ state legislation.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2013
connor i.
analyst
Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 15, 2018

“Good Product overall, outdated interface”

ProsI like the functionality of JDA's product, and the fact that it's mobile-friendly. Our associates are able to view their timecsrds and request time off from the mobile app.
ConsOnly con is the interface, and I'm nit-picking with this. The UI is very basic/simple, which isn't always a bad thing, but doesn't catch the eye in terms of aesthetics.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Fernando G.
Category Management Manager Latin America
Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“JDA - Setting the standard in plannograming software”

ProsBusiness standard - Used by most retailers, so talking the same language is easy Easy to set up and assemble libraries to start working Easy to use even when other file formats (Nielsen Spaceman, etc) are being used by customers
ConsTraining is expensive, there is not much on the part of a manual or user documentation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019
Lucia F.
Retail
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 13, 2017

“Company Boosts”

OverallThis software is wonderful to use for store creations, planogram layouts, visual merchandising placements for brick and mortar locations. Easy to learn programming with step by step help and tutorials. Trusted software used by Tier 1 University's to help benefit undergraduates that are stepping into the wave of the future industries.
ProsBright colors, easy step by step tutorials. User friendly programming and seamless navigation features and shortcuts add ons.
ConsCost of product can take a good chunk out of pocket book for a startup company.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 13, 2017
Michael O.
IT Solutions Manager BTO
Automotive, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 5, 2015

“BTO used by Automotive Supplier”

ProsUsing BTO: Flexibel in configuration, fast to implement in case business requirements are clear defined. Covering mostly all needs of Automotive Supplier industrie in case of Build to Order Processes and Sequencing
ConsSome parts in configuration (by key user) seems to be somewhat complicate.
Recommendations to other buyersHave detailed business requirements present before starting configuration
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 5, 2015
Gautam K.
Principal Consutant
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 15, 2017

“Good product for Supply Chain”

ProsUser friendly and intuitive UI, allows configurations. The vanilla version does support a lot of out of the box functionality
ConsWork flows are cumbersome and less help available. Should have less number of screens to setup data and authorize transactions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 15, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Easy to use and customizable ”

OverallI build planograms for a chain of convenience stores and love how quickly I was able to learn JDA and how nice it is to have easy access to my works in progress. Sometimes it can be a little clunky but overall it's great for the job I do.
ProsI like that this connects all of the specialists in our company and allows us to collaborate on projects.
ConsThis software isn't the most intuitive, however, once you play around a few times it becomes very easy to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“Versatile software for POG building and analysis”

ProsI used JDA for building plannograms and analyzing their performance. Enjoyed how flexible it was and the ability to make my own rules for features, reports and visualization.
ConsSteep learning curve. Too many drop down arrows on the screen
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Kristin R.
Principle BA
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 15, 2018

“JDA Awesomeness”

ProsThis product has helped increase time and revenue for our company at many RDC's and therefor positively impacting our brick and mortar stores.
ConsThe process to get it installed and working with other dependent software was a bit more difficult than originally anticipated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 15, 2018
Bharath Kumar C.
Archtiect
Furniture, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 13, 2016

“JDA WMS”

OverallThis is a very good product for all our warehouse management operations. we have migrated from legacy software to JDA WMS and it gave a lot of additional features with a smooth install.
ProsReporting Data visibility Fast Labor Management
ConsCustomisation
Recommendations to other buyersExcellent Product for large and small scale industries.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 13, 2016
Venkat R.
Systems Analyst
Furniture, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 24, 2017

“Excellent product”

OverallHave been using this for 2 years now. Love it! I have worked on the inventory management, shipping, and receiving.
ProsLike the flexibility of inventory management
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 24, 2017
Shaya S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2017

“Poor design but good functionality”

OverallDesign is outdated and clunky. Slow and inefficiently developed but serves the purpose. Tough training and poor and costly support. Would like to see web version with updated design parameters.
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2017
Troy S.
Partner
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 6, 2018

“JDA - leader in supply chain ”

OverallGreat company to work with
ProsGreat software has the breadth and depth aligned with the lastest technology platform . Great resources that brings in high value consulting
ConsSaaS still needs to be the focus coupled with AI. Integration and automation is another focus area that needs to be embraced
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 6, 2018
Daniel C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017

“JDA WMS Functionallity”

OverallJDA 8.2 is fairly simple to use. There is allot of functionallity for multiple industries. I would suggest JDA WMS.
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017
Sri Krishna T.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017

“Excellent routing software”

OverallThe best and most configurable routing software available for the grocery industry. Super fast routing turnaround.
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2017