Keygen Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Keygen

Keygen is a cloud-based software licensing and distribution service for desktop apps, server software, and other digital products. Keygen's developer-focused APIs can handle everything from identity management, license keys, machine activations, as well as distribution via download links and auto-updates. With support for licensing models such as: node-locked, floating, timed trials, node-leasing, feature-licenses, and more, Keygen is able to handle licensing for just about any software product. Learn more about Keygen

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Cameron M.
Designer/Developer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018

“Keygen is tremendous, being easy to work with, flexible, and well documented.”

OverallUsing Keygen saved me the trouble of building and maintaining my own licensing server and strategy. It is easy to work with, reliable, and affoardable.
ProsKeygen is one of the rare products that is legitimately satisfying to work with. It's obvious that the creator cares deeply about the quality of the product. From my own experience there are so many things that work well: - the interface is well designed - the API is flexible, logical and easy to work with - the documentation is clear and comprehensive - there are a wide array of well documented implementation examples on GitHub - the product is in active development - support is responsive and unusually helpful I'm the solo designer/developer of a well known design tool. When I decided to switch to subscription pricing, I began building my own licensing server. Part way through the process I learned about Keygen. After reading through the documentation and speaking to support about my goals, I immediately abandoned my own licensing server in favor of cloud functions and Keygen. I have zero regrets.
ConsSince Keygen is billed monthly, it's most viable for services that also have some sort of recurring billing, or that have a reliable revenue stream. Hobbyist developers will probably have a hard time justifying the cost, despite how good the product is. I mention this more as a heads-up to those investigating than as a negative, as I don't think there would be any other way for Keygen to make money that would also be useful for one-time-purchase software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018
Vildan S.
Team Lead Webtestit
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019

“Licensing the way it should be”

OverallIf you're building a new product, the last thing you want to think about is licensing. Especially all the crazy concepts like Node-locked, Floating etc. You're for sure gonna get it wrong in the begin and will have to experiment a lot. Keygen's flexible API and seemingly endless configuration options exactly allowed us to do so. Licensing was planned to make up at least 25% percent of planned dev time for our product so it's awesome to see that we've been able to cut it down to 2.5% with Keygen.
ProsThis product comes with great documentation and an extremely helpful support. As licensing is a highly important topic for a commercial product it's super nice to have somebody available listening to your questions and helping out with good ideas and suggestions. Thanks to the representatives. By far the best part though is that Keygen in the end of the day is nothing else than a Rest service. As such it is possible to integrate it with whatever technology you're using, as long as you can make HTTP requests. Moreover it was the only offering we found to suite our Electron based app.
ConsBeing located in US the server speeds and CDNs for EU and Asia aren't the best but it gets constantly better.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019
ALEX B.
CEO
Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018

“Software licensing made simple, professionally and at a reasonable cost”

OverallWe have a great product for a specific market. We did not want to develop an entire licensing solution from scratch. As we though that thousands of other companies required software licencing too, there had to be a generic solution out there that addresses the problem. So we can invest our time developing our core software, and not the licensing for the product. Keygen resolved this problem beyond our expectations. Allowing us to have even more granularity that originally thought possible.
ProsKeygen has a price point that works for our business model. Flexible thanks to metadata fields for each object that you can use to customize your product features and requirements. Credit card integration to automate sale workflows. Simple to implement, super strong security and multiple licensing models supported. I've never been so happy to find a new product/service since I discovered Amazon!
ConsI spend weeks Googling for software licensing solutions on the cloud. I was only finding very expensive solutions, some of which try to charge you a percentage of the price of your product. Just ridiculous, it's more like a VAT charge proposition than anything else. But finding Keygen was really difficult. Maybe because the word Keygen is too generic for search engines, or maybe because we were not using the proper tags. But we found Keygen on a forum comment, not on Google. First time ever that this happens to us!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Program Development, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018

“Very good documentation & support”

OverallWe have an up & running licensing system for our dekstop application (https://storepilot.com) with minimal work thx to keygen.
ProsDocumentation & support is really nice. Rest api documentation lives up to the newest standards, just like Stripe and WooCommerce. Easy integration with almost any type of software.
ConsReports endpoint is not yet available at this time, but developers said they collected data and would make available later & that was good news for uss. Also the website dashboard could need a better look & feel, but api is most important to uss & works well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2018
Jared D.
Developer
Mining & Metals, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2018

“Keygen has flexible license management options backed by great customer support”

OverallOverall a great product that enables quick license integration with a very easy to use API!
ProsKeygen is enabling us to very quickly get licensing off the ground for a reasonable price and with great customer support to answer any questions. It is easy to use with a well documented API and great examples, particularly for web applications. The documentation is available with examples for multiple programming languages and clearly walks through getting set up. The user control panel is very intuitive to use and manage users and licenses directly!
ConsThere are a few more web application examples than desktop examples. This is not a problem as the documentation is very easy to read for a desktop developer! Do not be afraid to dive into it!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2018
Anthony O.
Director
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018

“Fantastic solution all-round. Highly Recommend it”

OverallSaved time, money and made our customers happy. My staff are able to manage licenses with ease
ProsThe sheer simplicity of it brings to licensing software. We were issuing licensing and validating them in minutes
ConsI can't really say I've experienced an issues with the solution. I would like to see more features like the ability to add metadata though the UI, however it's already on the roadmap!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Abdul Rahman S.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Great Product”

Pros- Ease of use - Ability to integrate it with most important programming languages - Great support - High security
ConsDocumentation can be further enhanced and new programming languages should be added to the documentation (e.g. Python)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Alex H.
CEO
Oil & Energy, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2019

“Finally!”

ProsFor small & fast moving teams, licensing & user management has always been a pain - especially on multiple platforms. I was thrilled to archive our internal license management tools once we discovered and integrated keygen.
ConsWe still need to provide our own web application/interface for our customers to retrieve their license keys. It would be awesome to see Keygen solve this as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2018

“easy to use keygen”

Overalleasy use
Proseasy use of wording to find product serial codes
Consnot known yet waiting to try out the program that is available for trail
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2018
Kanwar J.
Software Developer
Civil Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2019

“Keygen is easy to use, inexpensive, and the support is great”

ProsIt was simple to use, even for someone not from a computer science/programming background. Without it I would not have been able to get trial versions out to potential customers. The pricing structure is also very reasonable especially for our company where we are pre revenue.
ConsI would be great to see some Youtube videos explaining the various terms and setup.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2019