GIMP Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About GIMP

On-premise graphics manipulation platform that enables graphic designers, photographers and others to create design elements, icons, scripted images and more using various programming languages. Learn more about GIMP

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 1658 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 1658 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Research, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2019

“Take the time to learn, and GIMP is rewarding”

OverallFor me, GIMP was a replacement for Photoshop. That being said, I've been totally impressed by the way GIMP has grown over the years. In its current iteration, GIMP can accomplish any image editing task I've thrown at it -- often, this required me to spend time learning how to best accomplish that task in GIMP, but that time has always been rewarded with high quality outputs. Still, I have probably spent as much time fumbling around in confusing with GIMP as I have actually working.
ProsUnlike a number of other free image manipulation programs, GIMP is both extremely powerful and (relatively) simple to use. Users of Photoshop will not find it to be the most difficult transition. GIMP has just about every feature an average or casual user could want from an image editor. GIMP works well not just for editing photos, but also for digital drawing and graphic design. In most regards for most users, GIMP can do whatever Photoshop or other commercial programs can. That being said, the functionality of GIMP should not be perceived as Photoshop lite. GIMP offers more tools, brushes, presets, etc than an average will ever need, and that's before installing any extensions. My current work requires minimal graphic design work -- largely infographics and visual representations of data -- and GIMP has every tool I could possibly need to produce data visuals / improve those produced by other software.
ConsWhile GIMP has become more user friendly over the years, there are two points new users may find intimidating. First GIMP -- as the full name suggests -- is part of the GNU/Linux lineage and ethos. Users unfamiliar with all this will probably be confused, especially as it relates to saving proprietary formats. Beyond that, amateur image editors will probably find themselves overwhelmed by all of the tools offered by GIMP. Some of these basic tools work in unexpected ways based on prior knowledge of other software -- on its face this isn't problematic, but the different way of operating sometimes isn't logical. New users will likely find themselves bewildered by the breadth of menu options, and the sub-options that go with them. I am certain of this, being that I've been using GIMP for years and I still occasionally find myself confused.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2019
John M.
Content Creator
Entertainment, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“GIMP is where it's at for beginners!”

OverallOverall, I have had nothing short of an enjoyable experience using GIMP over the past few years. It is versatile enough that I can use it for everything from making flyers and posters to making thumbnails and title card art for YouTube and Facebook videos. For someone with a limited budget and even more limited technical knowledge when I began, I could not be happier with GIMP and still use it to this day for ninety percent of my projects.
ProsGIMP offers quite a bit as far as options and competes with some programs out there that can cost sixty dollars or more. When I began using the program, I was brand new to graphic design and generally making artwork and editing visual media on a PC. Through the use of tutorials and other sources that I was able to find on the official forums for GIMP, I was able to learn the program in about half of the time that it has taken me to learn other, lesser programs. Along with great customer support and tutorials, the interface on GIMP is much easier to get the hang of for beginners and the more time that you put into learning the various functions, the more GIMP grows with your skill level and on top of providing various tutorials, the GIMP community is one of the best communities that I have ever interacted with. Amongst the free editing programs that I have used and even amongst ones that I have paid for, GIMP has been by far the easiest and most reliable one. All of the work that I produce with it has a consistent level of quality and a lot of the functions provided by GIMP have been helpful in helping me to understand more about using techniques. All in all, I would say that for the price, GIMP is an amazing program for a beginner or someone on a budget.
ConsThe thing that I like least about GIMP is probably that in a recent update, a few of the features that I had grown to depend on were taken out which resulted in taking the time to figure out how to proceed. It wasn't a deal-breaking feature, just something that I liked to save time but being that I didn't use it outside of one or two occasions months apart, it wasn't anything that I was willing to stop using GIMP over and I found out how to proceed and get what I needed to do accomplished through searching for help amongst the forums that are set up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Carlos C.
Lecturer
Research, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“The image editing software that almost everyone should be using (instead of Photoshop)”

OverallWhereas some people consider GIMP as a toy software, or a cheap (free) Photoshop replacement, it is not. Instead, GIMP has proven to be a capable, professional software that does not want to be a mere Photoshop clone. On the contrary, they do have their own roadmap, own shortcuts and their own user interface, and even some successful plugins and features of its own (such as resynthesizer) have been later integrated in Photoshop. Whereas some consider it as being difficult to learn or not user-friendly, it is in fact a proof that it follows its own path to success. While I admit that from time to time I do miss some of Photoshop features, like non-destructive operations or basic vector operations, I am confident that GIMP fits in the great majority user cases without compromising final results.
ProsI have been using GIMP for many years for my image editing projects (both, pet projects and professional projects) and I have come to realize that it features such an enormous variety of toolboxes, filters, options... that allow any type of image editing, even really complex ones, with impeccable results. Consequently, there is no need to switch to other software like Photoshop or the like. Not to mention that it is a multi-plattform Free/Libre OpenSource Software. Some features I like the most of GIMP - Multi-plattform: available for Linux, Windows, Mac, portable... - FLOSS - Customizable user interface - Selection and manipulation tools (like Unified Transform tool) - Real-time edition - Professional results Additionally, recently GIMP has seen a major improvement on user interface that makes it even easier (and appealing) to use.
Cons- Small development team with small budget: as a result development happens at a slow pace, even though developers do have great ideas and roadmap. - Lacks non-destructive filters/effects like in Photoshop - Lacks some vector operations (only works with bitmaps) - While there is plenty of documentation and tutorials, most image editing tutorials and manuals are addressed to Photoshop only, and whereas in most cases the same techniques can be reproduced/adapted, it requires extra effort that some users do not want to make. - The fact that it is not so broadly used as Photoshop may be a problem if collaborating with others, even though GIMP opens and saves Photoshop's native file format (although, admittedly, some filters/effects may be lost).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Josip L.
Sales Manager
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Great Free alternative for Adobe Photoshop”

OverallWith Gimp I am creating weekly flyers with products from our company. We can save an enormous amount of money by doing this by ourselves and not some external design company.
ProsGimp is an open-source image manipulation program what means it is absolutely free to use. Also, you will receive regular updates which add new features and fixes bugs including security issues. It has all the abilities that for example Adobe Photoshop and other commercial programs have. It can offer even more because it is easily extensible and flexible for every environment with lots of great community plugins and scripts.
ConsThe user interface of Gimp is not the most beautiful one but its function is very good. It has a lot of menus and submenus so for beginners it may be a little harder to achieve some more complex operations such as retouch of a face or double exposure. Also, compatibility with Adobe file formats exists but don't except that it works perfectly. Most of the time it works flawlessly if you are opening the document from older versions of Photoshop because newer version needs some updating and updates occur approximately every 2 months which is still faster than what Adobe is doing with their Photoshop.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Graphic Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Lots of capability for no money at all”

OverallFor business applications, it's hard to recommend GIMP for any serious work. While capable, investing in more user-friendly and functional software would be better overall.
ProsGIMP is an image manipulation program in the same vein as Adobe Photoshop, with many of the same features and tools to allow you to get very similar results to its more professional counterparts. There are many benefits to being free open source software. On top of serving GIMP for free, the code freely available for viewing and modification. Having many decentralized developers means that many improvements such as features and bug-fixes happen quickly. So long as there are people passionate about the project, development will continue. Also, documentation and tutorials are plentiful for GIMP, as the community for this program is very passionate. Simple searches will yield basic start-up tutorials as well as advanced tutorials for more complicated tasks. GIMP development stagnated for a few years, but with more recent development GIMP has made strides to become more modernized and easy to use. In earlier days of GIMP, it wasn't even possible to draw a circle without a significant number of steps, but this and much more has been added to the program!
ConsGIMP is not as intuitive as competitors like Photoshop, requiring scripting and additional steps to accomplish certain functions. If you plan to become a designer or graphics artist and need to do image manipulation professionally, then GIMP will hinder your abilities to do so. Software parity is important in the professional world, and while GIMP can handle .PSD files it would be better to just use the first party application that the rest of the industry is using. GIMP gains a lot of leeway for being free, since there is no development being backed by a major company. The UI is comparatively clunky and features less accessible compared to paid alternatives. Do not think that you'll be getting the same results as easily in GIMP as you would in other programs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Nimanthi R.
Graphic Designing
Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“open-source image editing platform”

OverallGenerally, GIMP is an excellent alternative open-source editing platform for professionals. It's free availability on all operating systems enable users to work seamlessly.
ProsI have been using GIMP for a few years now. Earlier on, my experience with this software was not quite right. Now that I am more advanced in graphics and photo edits, I have come to appreciate this open open-source image editing platform. Believe me, when I say this software is excellent, it is because the results are impeccable. GIMP has it all! Its excellent array of features are so good that they can rival adobe photoshop capabilities. These features allow you to tune photos, images and create an artwork of your own. As a graphic designer, you will be able to seamlessly crop images, make colour adjustments, customises brushes and adjust gradients among others editing. Here are some of the advantages of using Gimp over other image editing software. 1.It has incredible, and quality features making it the best among open -source programs 2.Single-window mode operation which is great for single pc operation. 3.GIMP is 100% free. 4.It supports plenty of image formats such as GIF and PDF. Additionally, GIMP is customizable such that you can add and remove menus or icons on the fly. 5.It is easily extensible to ease image manipulation with the third party. 6.Last but not least, GIMP works efficiently on all major operating systems. Whether you choose Linux or windows, results are always impeccable.
Consthe script-fu is not user-friendly. GIMP lacks intuition on new users and can make their experience pretty cumbersome. Some filters and effects don't explain or guide how the image should be modified. It would be awesome if it would support PSD photoshop images. It does not open some files such a JPEG.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Luis Ignacio C.
Diseñador gráfico
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019

“The most complete emerging program for graphic design.”

OverallOne of the greatest benefits that I have received is having a program that works very well in the main operating systems of the market, which has helped me a lot when meeting requirements in work meetings, in which clients ask me specific improvements in my designs. Another beneficial element for me, and for the companies in which I have been working, is the economic savings, the money is invested in operational improvements, which translates into better service for customers and a better quality of life for workers who can perceive significant improvements.
ProsI like to have a high-quality program completely free, that has helped me a lot to invest in equipment that I need for my work. Similar programs, such as Photoshop, offer the same thing but the issue of licensing restrains any graphic design entrepreneur who seeks to work. Another aspect that I like very much is that I have the support of a large community, that of free software, which gives me a lot of peace of mind when I do not know any steps at the moment of designing. Many do not know but have a training platform that even certifies your participation, which gives you the advantage to improve your curriculum. Also, its constant updating has allowed me to diversify the formats with which I can work, I have not found any aspect that I can not achieve with Gimp, I am very satisfied with everything it offers me.
ConsOver the years improve all applications that are contained, I have not found negative aspects that warrant my opinion. On the contrary, I am very happy to have software that cares about its users and does not limit its use with expensive licenses. With great care and respect, I believe it is one of the best options in the market for graphic design workers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019
Avatar Image
Sébastien L.
Directeur
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“The Best Free Alternative of the past Decade to Any Commercial Image Editing Software”

OverallThe fact that GIMP is freely available on all major operating systems ensures that you can work seamlessly from any computer in the native format provided (XCF) or any other supported format. I have used GIMP many times to edit PDF files, either to add annotations or to conceal confidential information, which is easy to accomplish with a filter such as "Pixelize". For certain programming tasks, it came handy to create paths with the Bezier tool, exporting the information to the SVG format, which can be read with a programming text editor in a breeze. I have also benefited from its great stability, once creating more than a hundred layers on a single image. Since it can handle as many layer groups and layer masks as you wish, it is possible to iterate over one idea over and over again, discarding only specific modifications. There is also a useful "Undo history" tab that takes a visual snapshot of the state of the image at each particular point in time and gives a meaningful name to each step, facilitating the retrieval of a desired state.
ProsGIMP really has it all: apart from being open source (free) to start with, it supports a plethora of image formats, including animated GIF, PDF, PS, RAW, TIFF and even text (TXT). It features a single-window mode, which is convenient when working with only one monitor, while the multi-window mode is incredibly useful to divide any work being done on two different monitors. It offers many filters and third-party extensions to ease some more tedious aspects of image manipulation. If you are into programming, then you can even take advantage of the exposed libraries, which allow you to programmatically modify images with any tool available in GIMP using Python or Scheme as programming languages. It is also customizable to the core: you can add and remove menus and icons on the fly; you can define the exact resource consumption of the application by specifying details for memory usage and even the number of CPU threads to use; you can have completely distinct configurations for normal mode and full-screen mode; you can create brushes or import from existing creations available online, the same being true with textures; you can configure and add keyboard shortcuts for almost any action you may require to perform and configure many settings to correspond to the default behavior you want in most situations.
ConsGIMP wasn't made to work with Photoshop images (PSD). It does support them, but the experience isn't as good as with Photoshop. Some types of filters apply many different steps and can't easily be undone, which is sometimes frustrating. Unless you are an expert, the Script-Fu Console is not intuitive at all for newcomers and makes it hard to guess what you can actually do. Some filters and effects won't have a complete description immediately available explaining how the image is expected to be modified. This can be inconvenient when trying out new things, as a few filters take a long time to run and may cause the system to hang for a while depending on how the system allocates priority to the application. On the same subject of filters, it is also hard to guess how long a specific effect may take to render as many filters apply a number of steps in a row, resetting the progress bar at each step. Some filters may also have corner cases to consider, for instance when working on a very large image resolution: when rendering a pattern, it can show signs of incongruence if the image isn't scaled down a bit first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2019

“Free Photo-shop Alternative ”

OverallIn conclusion, when using Gimp you will learn how to create fantastic site graphics and compelling WEB to graphics. Gimp educational online videos are the best way to learn how to use Gimp.
ProsGIMP is also known as the GNU Image Manipulation Program. It is a great photo editing program that is stress-free to use. It has a lot of things to do with unlimited options on what to do for a picture to make it look cool. The wonderful thing is, it's free! Advantages, As you can expect, GNU Image Manipulation is used to edit images. This program makes photo editing very enjoyable and easy. Sure, there are essential things you should learn before you become an expert, but when you learn these first tips for beginners, you start with the start of stunning photo editing plans. Unlike photo editing, the GNU image manipulation program can also create small videos and animations. Despite the difficulty of creating these images, they are still fascinating and really fun. GNU Image Manipulation is one of the best images editing software available. All you have to do is go to the GIMP site and download it for free. Gimp is always available and updates are often shown with fun things to do and discover them in the program. Another great thing about GNU Image Manipulation is that you can add new things to the program. Unlike waiting for an updated date, you can go ahead and download some plug-ins from their site right away! Also, you can add different fonts and different brushes to the program to make your photo stand out.
ConsGIMP has limited 8-bit depth, making it an unexpected choice for professional use in the first place. Gimp has disadvantages when compared to Photoshop in trivial issues the fact that it lacks the advantage of color management and does not provide control layers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Vernessa T.
Freelance Writer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2018

“GIMP is No Wimp! A Solid Choice for Graphics Work; Robust Toolset Rivals Commercial Counterparts”

OverallOverall, GIMP is a fine open source replacement for PhotoShop and some of the other expensive creative suites. For a layperson who occasionally designs a banner or image for their website, GIMP is probably overkill and downright daunting. But for a graphics design artist or someone who likes to dabble, the toolset is robust, with elements to rival its commercial counterparts. I don't mind dabbling and doing my own simple graphics. As an open source proponent, I like using tools that give you the freedom to do with them as you please. For example, I use GIMP on both Windows and Linux platforms. GIMP has been a staple in my toolchest for many years. Its a solid choice for heavier graphics work; I use it alongside simpler tools (like screenshot utilities) and in conjunction with snazzier tools like Canva.
Prospowerful punch: The GNU Image Manipulation Program.) GIMP is software you install on your computer. To my knowledge there is no SaaS (online software-as-a-service) counterpart. As a regular Linux user one huge benefit for me is that GIMP was initially created for the Linux environment. But unlike many Linux programs, GIMP has a true Windows version that is not poorly ported over. It's as elegant on Windows as it is on Linux. There are no penalties for installing GIMP on each and every computer you own and I've never encountered problems when mixing and matching the files from different flavors (i.e., Windows or Linux). It's rock steady; I don't remember a time when GIMP actually crashed. And if you are ready to exit, GIMP always reminds you to save any unsaved changes to your designs. GIMP has a simple uncluttered interface. "Simple interface" is relative; many menu items have dockable windows (like its commercial counterparts) so managing the various docking windows is what will keep it simple and uncluttered. One of the first things I ever used GIMP for was to import and edit some graphics saved in PhotoShop. I'm not a designer so I don't understand what half the tools do; I use only a few of the many features on a regular basis. Primarily I use it for quick web graphics, banners and graphics for blog articles, converting images to different formats, and sometimes to take screenshots (but others screenshot tools are quicker and more intuitive).
ConsIt would be nice to have a few "modes" that hide or reveal tools based on your anticipated usage. For example, a "novice" interface mode would be nice. The help system is decent but is a bit cryptic and designed for the designer (not a layperson). I would love to see better intuitive context-sensitive help. For example, hovering over a tool would give a much more understandable explanation. The screenshot tool could be more accessible (when not working in GIMP).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Aníbal M.
Programador
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2018

“My experience with GIMP has been great, very professional image editing with impeccable results”

OverallGIMP has brought me many benefits in recent years, I have edited in record time images for the websites that I have designed, I have made business cards for professionals, being a web programmer knowing that GIMP has complemented me allows to offer web pages without having to always resort to a professional designer, which reduces the costs of my projects for the end customers, in my work in the company has served me to perform specific tasks when working with web pages. I am very happy with this software that has been very useful for years and has taken me out of trouble. My bosses and clients are happy with my work. Surely I will continue using GIMP for many years.
ProsI have been using this software for many years to edit images and perform work at the request of my clients in my work as an independent professional, retouching images, banners, logos, among many other things that I have been able to do without complications with GIMP, this application is free , I can use it perfectly without cost, this advantage is very important for me, I love that there are versions for Windows and Linux, since it is possible to install it from repositories, it is easy and it does not waste time searching the Internet, it has many options that include the possibility of programming your own filters this option Although it is very advanced for me, it seems excellent for the future. Another thing that I like about this software is light, I have been able to run it without problems on computers with very few resources, this has got me out of trouble on more than one occasion. It is important that there is a good amount of extras, like filters and brushes, that can be downloaded from the Internet completely free, I like that a lot.
ConsWhat I like least about GIMP is that the existing documentation is very little in English and even less in Spanish, most of its users are German or Russian and the information you have is not good for me, the GIMP community is very small . It is difficult to find someone who will really help you if you have a problem or do not know how to do a particular task. The additional components that can be downloaded from the Internet are free, but not many. It is necessary to perform a manual work in other applications are performed automatically. It has functions that are very advanced and not very intuitive, it has cost me to discover some functions on my own. The graphical interface seems a little sloppy, this could improve to make it more attractive for a larger group of people.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2018
Martin C.
Webmaster
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018

“Mr”

OverallFree Photoshop replacement!
ProsGIMP can do just about anything Photoshop can do, plus a few of it's own unique tricks. It easily converts between image formats including SVG files, and can read & write Photoshop PSD files. GIMP can also import Photoshop color pallet files. Some examples of GIMP's advanced features include layer styles (various effects that you can apply including shadows, borders, an emboss effect, and more), content-aware resizing (resize background elements without affecting foreground object), face swap, change object colors, cartoonify your photos, and create animated GIFs. Other useful features include red eye removal, make your own watermark, create custom brushes, and remove colors from some objects (like background). There are many useful plugins you can add to extend GIMP's functionality, for example image compression for web, and batch processing for adding a change to many files automatically. The PSPI plugin the adds the ability to use third party Photoshop plugin filters within GIMP on Windows and Linux. There is also GIMP Portable, a no-install, portable version of GIMP. GIMP Portable can be added to a USB key or hard drive drive, letting you bring the image editor with you. You can keep your favorite plugins and brushes with this package in order to have your entire working suite of image tools with you. GIMP is open source and has a large, active community of developers and users. This means GIMP will continue to evolve but will remain free for all.
ConsAs is the case with a lot of free software, some features feel less polished than their commercial counterparts. Some user interface elements may not appear as pixel-perfect as Photoshop, and some interactive features not as smooth. While the GIMP on a Mac feels more stable, the Windows version can be buggy and prone to crashing when using some plugins. The Windows version can also be very slow to start on older PCs, especially when you have a lot of plugins installed. I think the most common critique I've heard about GIMP is the steep learning curve. In my experience, GIMP wasn't really any harder to learn than Photoshop but a lot of users find Photoshop to be more user friendly. In some ways I agree, for example Photoshop seems to be better at guessing where I want to crop an image, or where I'm trying to position a layer so I spend less time fiddling with these controls. Photoshop also feels faster than GIMP when run on the same Windows PC. Loading images, and launching plugins are noticeably slower, although batch processing is at least as fast as Photoshop.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019

“GIMP Review”

ProsI'm a happy and frequent user of GIMP especially after some experience using photoshop as well. It is important to clarify that GIMP is the kind of software that does not try to compete or overpower Photoshop. The most important aspect is that it is not developed commercially and it's free and open-source, unlike Photoshop. All its updates are also free and you can have it on as many computers as you want. It provides with a bunch of free plugins and I even had the chance to play around with the source code of some. GIMP also has its source code available to compile and that makes it available to wide range of systems that Photoshop might not support. Installation is as easy as it can get and runs smoothly even on older computers. I also enjoy the flexibility on keybindings, it can make the work process much faster. The settings being portable to different workstations makes it even more convenient.
ConsThe interface can be a bit confusing (I never liked so many floating windows) but that's the case with o lot of similar software too. There is a deep learning curve that is accompanied with not the best documentation, but once you get familiar with it, it shouldn't be a problem. In terms of usage from professionals, there are a few limitations so it shouldn't be considered as a strict replacement for Photoshop. It lacks a few features like CMYK, but there are several plugins to overcome those. Some points that mainly come along with the fact that it is a free open-source piece of software include that it can be buggy sometimes as there is no official quality assurance team. The user community is responsible for reporting bugs and updates and fixes can consequentially take sometime. It can also be a bit slow, but at least it is not as resource-hungry as other alternatives.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Ray A.
Research and Cultural Consultant, Editor/writer, interpreter.
Photography, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2018

“GIMP is seriously powerful now and a keystone to open-source photography workflow”

Overall I tried switching to GIMP in Linux back in 2009, but found it awkward to use and wasn't able to achieve the results I wanted easily. Recent versions have been much better and now, with the release of 2.10 which integrates with Darktable, GIMP is a powerful tool indeed. It is open source and free, but please do make donations to support the development of these amazing tools that benefit many users who truly cannot afford to pay for software.
ProsGIMP is cross platform and will run equally well on Linux, Windows and Mac. This is a big advantage for people who use different computers but are collaborating on a project. My favorite feature of GIMP 2.10 right now is its ability to open RAW files using either Darktable or Rawtherapee where the user can make adjustments, and when finished, close Darktable (Rawtherapee) and have the edited image open directly in GIMP for further editing. This is brilliant and offers a greatly improved workflow for photo editing. A new feature in 2.10.6 is vertical text layers, or the ability to write text top to bottom. This is useful for writing vertical-reading text in Chinese, especially for the creation of formal or fancy documents or invitations. It is also useful for creating interesting layouts in English. Much has been written about GIMP's 'healing' features that allow removal of unwanted items in a photo. In GIMP, this can be done using the Resynthsizer plugin, or the Inpainting plugin that is included in the G'MIC plugin set. While both work well, the G'MIC plugin seems to yield somewhat more consistent results.
ConsUntil recent editions, GIMP suffered from a rather unattractive interface and opened the main editing window and toolbars separately. While some users preferred this, I found it awkward to to use and arrange on my limited screen space. A single-window mode was introduced in version 2.8 which I prefer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2018
Simone P.
Office Manager
Hospital & Health Care, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019

“Gimp Review 2019 - The Best Free Alternative To Photoshop”

OverallGimp does not have all of the features that Photoshop does, but is pretty close, and the fact that it is free you can't complain. The software is however open source, so you can make changes to it, and a quick google, and you can normally find a way or a tutorial to achieve what you wanted. I love Gimp and have been using it for years for Art and Graphics design, as well as other personal projects. The software is able to save your work in so many formats, making it easy to use your work across other platforms. A massive thumbs up.
ProsThe overall and best thing about this software is that it is free. This is a great alternative to Adobe Photoshop, and will not disappoint you. The fact that this software is free does not mean that it is lacking in features. Gimp has many ways in which you can retouch your images, has amazing tools for cropping, colour adjustment, noise reduction, gradients, customizable brushes and many other tools that you can use. If you are looking for more advanced features, Gimp also covers this with layer masks, filters, bezier curves and even has an animation package. The customizable brushes are a must for any artist, and adding them is so simple. This makes Graphic Design and artwork very easy to achieve the look and feel that you want.
ConsOccasionally, and I mean very occasionally, Gimp software might have a little glitch. This does not seem to effect my work though, and I haven't lost any, but may result in a action box remaining on the screen after it has finished doing it's thing. This is not really a problem though as I just place my window that I am working on, over the top of it, and it is no longer visible. Gimp does not have all of the features that Photoshop does, but is pretty close, and the fact that it is free you can't complain. The software is however open source, so you can make changes to it, and a quick google, and you can normally
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2019
Sayed M.
http://www.profitnet.tk/
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2018

“The tool has been proven to be a very powerful tool in photo editing and drawing”

ProsGIMP This program is the oldest and most famous program for processing graphics and images is available on the systems of UNIX and GNU / Linux. It has been proven very quickly, very powerful program in the design of digital images and digital features and easy to deal with the tools within the program with beginners or professionals and is characterized as cheap compared to other expensive design programs is a free program main use and improve the appearance of images as well as re-scaled and cut and Adjusting colors, grouping images with each other, removing unwanted objects, and converting between different image formats as well as drawing logos. It can also create GIF animations Jump works on several platforms: most of the platforms of UNIX and its children such as GNU Linux, Macintosh among them, in addition to Microsoft Windows. It is characteristic  The program is light and small size does not exceed 16 MB. Free and free, and you do not have to pay too much to use, you can download and use it for free.  Supports Arabic by default and does not need a special version to support Arabic. Places of coloring  A complete set of painting tools.  Anti-Aliasing (Sub-pixel sampling) technology is available for all tools.  Generating gradients with great magnificence.  Add custom brushes, gradients and patterns. Technical features  Advanced memory management (tile based memory management, sic) makes image size limited only to free space on the hard drive.  Unlimited number of images
ConsSlower in performance but very acceptable   It does not support 16-bit accuracy and this is my opinion the flaw is the good news that this defect will be resolved in the next version according to some sites. Some specifications need to be installed and not the basis of the program It does not contain a photo organizer program like Bridge It does not contain a RAW adapter and this is not necessary because most cameras come with RAW format converter. You will also find a free alternative to RAW format conversion It does not open some file types such as JPEG-2000
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Bruno F.
Photographer/Videomaker/Designer
Photography, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“Professional - AND FREE - software”

OverallI currently use GIMP as my main image editing software. GIMP is in the level of greatest image editing softwares. And I highly recommend it to everyone. GIMP is super complete. With this software and a little creativity, the sky is the limit.
ProsThink of an image editing software with professional features, a huge variety of tools to edit your images, all of this at your fingertips with streamlined visuals, in intuitive, beautiful and very, very useful software on a daily basis. For those who have never heard of this before, the name may surprise, but it's GIMP that I'm talking about. This software basically accepts all sorts of images, has editing by layers, as the main image editors in the world, in addition to various filters, image controls, cutouts, opacity styles... I could spend hours and hours writing down here, if I were to describe everything the GIMP includes, and talking about everything you can do using it. And best of all: This software is FREE. You can do everything you do in a professional software, without having to pay anything for it, without monthly subscriptions, without a headache.
ConsIt takes a while to load when you start the software. But that's something completely justifiable due to the amount of functions and tools (and taking into account that other editing software also takes a while to load). You can open the software and go drink some water in the meantime. No more trouble.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019
Linos S.
Academic
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“Fully and easily customizable”

ProsGIMP supports virtually any file-type of raster graphics one needs to work on. Vector graphics can be imported and exported, but not so easy to create from scratch. Animated GIFs can be edited, but again, not built. But, if one needs to customize GIMP, they have a lot of options. The easiest would be to find a ready-made plugin, which can cover up for almost everything not included in the main application. Two, there is the Py-Fu console, which is a simple way of creating and optimizing plugins. Three, if you have the knowledge, you can go straight to the source code, and make your life easier but also contribute to how other people work with graphics.
ConsGIMP's learning curve was a pain back in the day, when access to internet was not available to everyone 24/7. I believe things are easier today; the learning curve is still steep, but apart from the manual, one can also read and watch tutorials that make it easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Ronald L.
Content Manager
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2018

“It proved to be a very powerful tool and a fantastic OPEN SOURCE competitor in the market.”

OverallSaved me a lot of money and made easy some of the common tasks I have as photographer and web content administrator.
ProsWell, obviously, it's open source! That means it's going to cost you nothing. Even if you compare it to other popular paid software around there, Gimp is not going to let you down. All the basic and mid-range functionalities are available and user friendly as you're probably used to. If I want to mention a specific thing that I love from GIMP, it's that you can Ctrl+Z when you mistakenly add a point with the lasso selection, and also you can combine polygonal selection with free-hand selection. Small details like these make of GIMP a great option at no cost. I started using it professionally after formatting my pc. I've done a lot of photography edits for customers (wedding, birthdays, etc.) and for websites (online stores) and I have never encountered a situation when I had to go back to the software I used to have. Also, every update brings new original features. The creators are not trying to be a copy of another paid software,they are trying to create a very unique tool that stands out by itself.
ConsSlow evolution during its opensource nature: 7 years happened from 2.8 to 2.10, but Gimp 3 is estimated to be out at some point of 2018 so this might be changing due to the success of the last update. Shortcuts: moving to Gimp can take a couple of days of adaptation if you're used to work with other software because the commands are completely different, but as I said, it's just a couple of days. Also, it can get tricky if you want to automatize some parts of the edition. It can be done if you follow the right steps but I think they need to improve that part and make it more user friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“ Ideal for retouching photos”

OverallActually for me personally it has been a great advantage to have Gimp because I can use it on any machine without the need for licenses, and it works a lot for the retouching and editing of photographs that is the main use I have given to it and that I have recommended to my supervised that they use. It's easy, fast, it's light, it's practical and no more expertise is required.
ProsAs an editor of an internal communication medium on a daily basis, and in the absence of private licenses for the installation of software recognized for graphic editing, Gimp became an ally for journalists who had to edit their photographs daily before uploading it to the news portal . The ease of installation, and ease of use for editing and retouching photos in size, color, brightness and resolution is for beginners and there is a lot of information and online tutorials for those who do not know it.
ConsVery little publicity about its existence and the new features that the new version brings; besides, it is not intuitive for other functions that are not simply the retouching of images or photographs; as a competitor of photoshop it's a great alternative, but for quick and easy designs for social networks, there are other more intuitive programs for people who are not specialists in design program management. The official support is not very clear, and you should always resort to tutorials from other users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Avatar Image
I. Adrian A.
Fotógrafo
Sports, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018

“Good performance software but it lacks certain tools”

OverallGimp is a good software for editing photos and images. It allows obtaining quality results for the management of photographs, having multiple formats to obtain the final products. Despite the disadvantages I mentioned above, I would not stop using Gimp, and I recommend it to the entire graphic design community, they will not regret acquiring it.
ProsGimp has very positive characteristics that complement my functions as a photographer. While I use other software to design and edit photographs, Gimp is also part of my repertoire. An excellent layer management to make the images much more colorful and realistic. These layers in turn can be combined in thousands of ways, making the software a creative solution for all graphic designers. Another interesting element of this software is that you can make or edit images that can be supported through scrips to be inserted into web pages. This feature is very important because it allows me to save time in the elaboration and coding of the image for the blogs and web pages that I currently use.
ConsSometimes I have to resort to other image manipulation software by vectors since Gimp does not have this option. I also think that this software lacks certain tools, however, I would not stop using it because I like the quality that Gimp offers for editing and the formats it allows me to work with.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018
Simone P.
Graphic Designer
Graphic Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“GIMP Software Review”

OverallI use Gimp all the time and have done for years. This is my go to platform for any of my Graphic Design work. I also use this software linked up to a Graphic Display Drawing Tablet, and it still works just as good. Saving work is simple due to the software having every file format you could think off. Finding tutorials for Gimp is easy and an online forum with the Gimp Community are always happy to help. This is a great piece of Software, and I can safely say I will be using Gimp for many years to come. I would recommend it to anyone, beginner or advanced.
ProsI have been using Gimp for years now, and would never feel the need to swap to another software. It seems to have all the features to do what I need it to do. The best pro for Gimp has to be the fact that it is a free open source software. Gimp is a great piece of software because it is free, anyone thinking about learning image manipulation, or animation can test the waters without having to have paid lots of money for other software. The second has to be that it competes easily with the top paid software in the same genre. The multi layered editing works great, and the software is easy to learn and use. Gimp supports many formats, meaning work can be saved in different formats depending on your need. It is easy to gain plug-ins for Gimp as well to help customise it to your needs.
ConsIt can seem overwhelming if you are new to this kind of software, but to be honest, this would be the same to anyone who hadn't used image manipulation software before. Sometimes Gimp can have the odd glitch, but the platform is updated regularly so doesn't cause many problems at all, as this always seems to get resolved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Fedra S.
Photographer
Photography, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019

“A free and easy-to-use software”

OverallAs a photographer I like to try different tools to edit my photographs. Gimp is a tool that I used in my student years and I still use it to make small adjustments or correct colors and when I need to work with a software that doesn't use a lot of RAM since it's one of its advantages.
ProsOne of its biggest advantages is that it's free compared to others that are more known but at the same time very expensive. It's an excellent alternative for students or small business owners who can't buy paid software. The tools are easy to use, they have quite precise focus and blur tools and you can create your own brushes and modify them, configuring the levels of appearance, scale and use. It offers a large number of filters that can be configured to give customized finishes and a large color panel. Gimp is compatible with any operating system and it's a light software, you can add pluggins since it's an open software and the official website has many tutorials to learn how to use it.
ConsI would like the interface to look more modern and be a bit more friendly. I also believe that it lacks more tools to be able to compete with the great design programs of the market. Unfortunately, it is not such a well-known software and people are still betting on the payment software; however, being an open source software, it should evolve and improve over time, but the add-ons are outdated and all are spread over the Internet, in addition to the complicated installation. If they could organize the add-ons, keep them updated and look for a friendlier way to install them, they could really outperform other popular design softwares. The text editing tools are pretty basic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Gimp is a great alternative to Photoshop - and Free!”

OverallReally impressive to see how Gimp has grown over they years. I'm an advanced user when it comes to handling image manipulation but I'm not photographer/designer level. There are a lot of features available, like handling RAW and SVG files that I haven't even played with. Overall, a free alternative to Photoshop? That's pretty amazing. And yes, you can open .psd files here in Gimp and work on content very similar to how you would in Photoshop. I haven't had to use their technical support but have found information in their Help area.
ProsI've been using Gimp since the early 2000s and have used Gimp on Windows and Mac. They stay true to what they do, which is offer excellent affordable (free) open source software alternatives. I'm also a Photoshop user. I love that Gimp has grown over the years to really offer a solution that can give Photoshop a run for it's value. You can import your images, and have all the features you'd expect to see from Photoshop (filters, layers, etc etc). Gimp is a stable open source tool. I've never done a deep dive into how Gimp and Photoshop uses resources but I feel like Gimp has a lighter footprint on my Macbook when I'm running other apps.
ConsIf you've never touch photo editing software before you need to get to know the tools offered - this will be overwhelming for someone that doesn't have an interest in graphic arts, or getting to know some cool imaging software. An easier tool if you're looking to do some simple photo handling would be Fotor (also free). If you're familiar with Photoshop then you would need to adapt to Gimp, but it's really less of a learning curve. You're just taking time to see how Gimp presents it's editing tools. The Gimp user interface doesn't look as fancy/smooth as Photoshop - this isn't really a dislike. Because I've been around for so long using the tool, I appreciate what I think is a bit of a retro look for the tool. Anyone new to Gimp, don't let that deter you, because the functionality is really powerful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Avatar Image
Ishanka M.
Chinese Project Specialist
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“The Buzz Around GIMP”

OverallWhether you're just dipping your toes into the editing world, or an advanced designer, GIMP will provide you with the tools you need to succeed. For software that is totally free to use, it knocks the competition out of the park. Regardless of why you might need design software, GIMP will always have your back.
ProsIf you're into graphic design, then you'll definitely want to hear all about the free design software GIMP. GIMP is a graphic design platform that allows users to customize photos, create art from scratch, and utilize photoshop tools in a professional way. Plus, if you're a big supporter of cross-platform software, GIMP will be sure to get the job done for you. So let's dive in, and take a look at what GIMP is all about. GIMP is a great software if you're into photo editing. If you need a template to work with, GIMP will be sure to provide you with the perfect baseline for your image. Plus, if you want to start from scratch, GIMP can handle that for you as well. While most people think that advanced editing software may be hard to use, GIMP provides you with a very simple solution to this problem. If you're new to this type of software, GIMP has plenty of ways to show you exactly how to use their software. If this is not enough to peak your interest, GIMP will also allow you to utilize their own premade designs as a source to build off of. Some great starter tools you'll find on GIMP are: - Photoshop capabilities - Templates - Cropping tools - Cross platform compatibility - Gradient enhancers - Color enhancement with depth - Automatic enhancement tools - Brush options
ConsWhile GIMP is more than proficient in most areas, there are downsides that you should understand before using this software. GIMP may be free to use, but it lacks a certain depth that other common design software can provide you with. All this means is that you might get better pixel editing software with Photoshop, and Photoshop is more of an industry-standard as well. So if you're looking for super-advanced editing, you might find yourself struggling a bit in some areas. While GIMP may not have it all, what more do you need in free design software that provides plenty of great features?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Chamath N.
Chief Technology Officer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 27, 2018

“ Most powerful free and open source photo editor in the world”

OverallI had a good time with GIMP and I worked many times with GIMP every time it works well. As I'm not a professional photo editor I able to get done my tasks very quickly. I had a hard time to learn GIMP there wasn't good tutorials and documentation is not well as I expected but however I used YouTube videos to learn most of it. I can recommend GIMP for non professional photo editors who are looking for a free and alternative for Adobe Photoshop. If you are a professional I think you better to spend some money on Adobe Photoshop
ProsI can say GIMP is the most powerful free and open source photo editor in the world. I'm using GIMP to do small photo banner editing for my web designing projects. I can list down few points that I most love about GIMP -It's free and open source -Regularly updates are fixing available bugs in the software -I can run GIMP on my low end PC very smoothly and fast -Customization enabled and can use plugins, scripts that developed by community -Works with many Operating systems like Windows, Linux, MacOS, etc.
ConsWhen I started to using GIMP I had a bit hard time to learn it documentation and some video tutorials are bit outdated. GIMP is good for non Professional photo editors compared with Photoshop. For the Cons side I only experienced that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Andrés E. B.
Analista sénior
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018

“ A quick solution!”

Overall It's great to have multiplatform tools like this one. He could become the faithful friend of any user who faces the editing of images in his work. I think it's worth trying, it also has a portable version, for me it's very useful.
ProsI'm not sure of his popularity, because I met him using Linux. However, he has been a faithful companion in regard to small editions of images and that kind of thing. I even remember using this light tool in a project of internal communications and the truth was not bad for us. It was the program that we had at hand and it worked. For day-to-day work it works quite well. It has a kind of toolbox with multiple features that can easily get you out of trouble. One of the functions that I like most is to optimize the images automatically, with the opportunity to customize it if one does not obtain the expected appearance.
ConsI think it competes against many similar apps. However, I would not necessarily see it as something against. Another aspect maybe not very positive and I think it's something that I can do with other similar tools, is that for more advanced uses, some type of prior training is necessary to get the most out of this tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018
Frank V.
CTO
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2019

“Professional-grade digital image editing in a free, open source package.”

OverallGIMP is an excellent product for our use case scenario; we often have to process digital images in the preparation of technical documentation, which is an important role for which we require professional quality results, but it is not a central, revenue-generating function. The product has a very mature feature set that will allow you to perform very complex manipulations, including compositing of multi-layer images, advanced transformations, and elaborate color management. Overall quality of the tools and filters is very high - comparable with that of top commercial products. This product is best suited for processing images, not documents, although its excellent PDF import and export capabilities can be used to produce professional-looking forms if purpose-specific tools are not available. The product is not difficult to learn and most of the tools, commands and filters are intuitive to use; however, the large features set makes mastering the application a long-term endeavor. 3rd party content useful for training is abundant on the Internet, but is not necessarily well indexed or organized. Overall, this is an excellent choice for people who need more features than are available in entry-level packages, but who cannot justify the expenditure of a top-of-the-line tool. Just be aware that you are trading cost for convenience, mostly in the form of quality of documentation and available training.
Pros- Very complete, robust feature set, comparable to the best commercial products. - Stable code that performs well. This is a mature product. - Support for a very wide range of file formats popular across many industries.
Cons- User interface is "peculiar" and takes some getting used to. - Documentation could be better. It's thorough and all features are covered, but not very deep. - Support. It's an open source product, so your support options are centered around web searches... There is a significant wealth of information available, but if this will be a line-of-business application for you, you may do better by choosing a product with paid commercial support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Nigel Masimba R.
WordPress Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“Free Advanced Image Editing”

OverallI've been using GIMP as my primary raster image editing software for over 3 years. GIMP is a free and open source software (FOSS). I use mostly free and open source software because starting out I could never have afforded the licenses for most premium software. FOSS also generally demands fewer resources from your computer, which is true for GIMP. I use GIMP on a Core i3 laptop with 4 gig RAM running on Linux UBUNTU. I didn't give a customer support rating because strictly speaking there is no customer support for GIMP (as far as I know ). There is a wide range of online resources and forums that are as good as, and in some cases better than most customer support, though.
ProsIt's Free. You can create professional images without paying a cent! Gimp comes with all the basic functionality of an advanced image manipulation program. It's gentle on system resources. You can do professional work on an entry-level laptop
ConsIt's almost always behind premium software available on the market. Because GIMP is open source new features usually come long after premium competitors have released them. No cloud collaboration. I can't work wing projects in a group. Installing plugins can be challenging. Recently I failed to install the plugin that allows me to export to the new WebP format. I also had a hard time installing the batch Processing plugin that allows me to apply batch processes like resizing or compression. Sometimes the plugin repositories are moved, broken or incompatible with the installed version of GIMP, so it takes a bit of extra effort to get new functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Avatar Image
Leon C.
IT Recruiter
Arts and Crafts, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“Powerful, free and highly customizable option for photo-editing and digital painting. ”

OverallMy experience with GIMP is overall positive, it is a reliable free option. Give it a try, it might end up surprising you.
ProsGIMP is currently the most popular freeware option for photo-editing and digital painting, and there are good reasons for it. First of all, it consumes less RAM than many other options in the market, it has a very reliable stability, it rarely crashes and you do not need high-specs for it to work smoothly. It runs in most OS and platforms, including Linux, where it originated and was later ported and optimized for Windows and Mac. The Interface can be customized with a variety of impressive alternatives and plugins that can emulate similar softwares. It is as powerful as the other distinctive apps, being able to cope with the great results achieved by other creative suites. I also must admit that GIMP works transparencies like a champ. But their most possitive asset is their friendly and helpful community, with people enhancing and designing plugins, providing tutorials and help all free of any cost, to the extent that the users are the first providers of customer support.
ConsThe user interface can be somewhat confusing, this might depend on the plugins you are using and the compatibility they have between each other, this is a cost you always run into when using highly customizable applications. It might run slow when working out extremely large files, but on the bright side I never really experienced any crashes. The graphic interface feels outdated. Very limited options when it comes to text editing and pixel manipulation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Wulliams C.
Coordinador de Promoción y Gestión Patrimonial
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018

“Exposing images for a Community Manager is important and Gimp is a great ally for this”

OverallGIMP is one of the first photo editing software I could explore. Working with this software is quite easy has many benefits and benefits for editing that have allowed me to project my career as a Community Manager. A comfortable interface that combines a series of tools that although not complete, has a high range of functions that makes it continue using the software and recommend it to all those who need to edit photographs professionally and creatively.
ProsIn my work as a Community Manager, it is important to manage software that allows editing and resalar images, this, combined with a good coatching, enhances and enhances the accounts, adding more followers and more interaction of that account in Social Networks. GIMP, is an excellent software that gives me what I'm looking for, since it has a comfortable interface that allows you to interact with tools to remove or add light to the images, the management of different layers, which allows you to add more visual elements to the image, add effect to the photos, and, one of the most important reasons why I use GIMP is that it supports different formats like png, jpg, and gift.
ConsI think the GIMP technical team could work on improving the tools they offer to modify the photos, since other software has more powerful tools for image editing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018
Avatar Image
ulises m.
Personal de apoyo
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018

“Retouch image and manipulated giving it the best personal touch”

OverallIn the foundation in which I work one of the activities is participation in social networks and we all know that an image says more than a thousand words is for them that a team is responsible for the editing and manipulation of images and another part of the publication of social networks, when I started working with him I had an incredible potential since I could make great editions and give life to images that were not so attractive. That is why when I found out about this tool, I called myself So much attention.
ProsIt is the most used and popular image editor in my work since it is multiplatform, it also has a very friendly environment and for those people who do not dominate the computer it is very simple, as well as for those who find it easy to get inside of the tools and exploit their potential at the time of mounting images and have an excellent finish, as well as being free software and being able to take the portable with me and install it quickly and easily on any computer.
ConsIt has multiple tools that make the manipulation of the image very simple and with great potential for editing them, besides being very light, but when installed in some operating systems, the toolbars are deconfigured, which makes image manipulation complicated although already having experience configuring it, everything is fixed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Arts and Crafts, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Good for the Image software novice and a quick source for a regular user”

OverallI'll be the first to admit that even though i do Need to do image editing from time to time, i'd rather not. Or if i have to, i'd rather do as little as possible. Reasons why are because, while i'm good with some software, some of the image stuff out there can be confusing as hell. With so many things to choose from sometimes, you really want and easy interface that doesn't require a 40 inch screen to be able to see. Well, i can say, i have 23 inch screen and didn't have to put on my readers to figure what was what. And the more time i use GIMP, the more i'm surprised with what it can do. Even today, i took a photo from a hike last week that i just missed a natural lens flare, was able to add it, and it looks like what i thought it would have. And exported as a PNG image, it is gorgeous. GIMP is definitely one of those software that if you are a novice and need an image helper, you won't be disappointed.
ProsThe Tools are easy to find and identify. The draw/paint options toolbar , when click on, the options automatically open for them so there is no guess as to what the settings are. Just drag a photo into the GIMP and the selection of filters alone are worth the time checking out how each looks. Without reading instructions, it's easy enough to
ConsThe only Con i can find, isn't that bad. At first, yes, but then after reading instructions, no. Once Images are edited, they are saved as GIMP's own images " .xcf " and the only thing that opens that is GIMP. But, the XCF is a Very High Quality Image, so no loss in editing. And, the images can be Exported as a PNG image; which is compatible with most. Depending on your storage situation, this could be an issue. Size example from 1 photo: Original Photo JPG = 3.65 MB GIMP Edited XCF = 33.6 MB GIMP Exported PNG = 15.5 MB
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Mark P.
Student
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019

“The image editor that's always there for you”

OverallOverall, GIMP has been invaluable to me whenever I need to do quick image edits for school, work, and side projects. There is definitely room for improvement in terms of usability and ease-of-use, but you'd be hard-pressed to find another well-respected image editing solution that you can use on any machine.
ProsTo me, the biggest thing GIMP has going for it is its ubiquity. It's a fully-featured image manipulation software that you can run on Windows, Mac, or Linux with minimum hassle. As someone who switches between Windows and Linux on a daily basis, I greatly appreciate having just one image editing UI to work with. Another thing that adds to GIMP's usefulness is its age and tenure. GIMP is one of the oldest image editors on the market, and as such it has built up a sizable repertoire of community-provided tutorials and guides. Search up any question that you might have about GIMP's UI, and you're guaranteed to find a handful of instructions from experienced users.
ConsThe big thing that turns people off of GIMP is its look-and-feel, and I'm inclined to agree with those complaints. The UI isn't as fresh and professional in appearance as Photoshop, and the controls, menus, and shortcuts can be confusing or even overwhelming for a first-time user. Paint.NET, another free image editor, has a much more appealing and user-friendly UI. If it weren't for the fact that it was Windows-only, it likely would have overtaken GIMP by now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019
Karan V.
Productivity Consultant
Management Consulting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Good design software if you have time to learn about the features”

OverallI wanted to design graphics for my website and social media channels. GIMP is great for creating unique designs for free.
ProsI was looking for a free alternative to Photoshop and GIMP was recommended to me. Maybe it is because I have no design experience but I found it took quite a while to get familiar with all the features. It's easy to work with the basics like resizing, cropping etc. However, working with layers can be challenging. There are helpful videos on Youtube but most people appear to have a different method of doing the same thing, which makes it confusing. All in all I have been able to produce and edit graphics in GIMP but I think that you would need to use it every day for a while to become proficient. I really like the feature you can use to make even the most complex images transparent. I edited all the images for my website and blog using GIMP. I can't compare it to Photoshop as I've never used it. I recommend GIMP if you have the time to learn how to use the different features. Another feature I really like is that when I download fonts on my P.C it goes straight into GIMP, so I can use new fonts on the graphics I design straight away. There are so many features for free that you would normally have to pay for with design software like Canva and PicMonkey.
ConsI don't think it's very user friendly. It can be difficult to get all the icons to display, even though I followed the instructions on YouTube (it could be that the person was using a different version). I think the design could be more intuitive but it does what it is meant to and for open source and free software, can't really complain. I also think that GIMP is geared towards the more advanced designer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Anne C.
Owner
Apparel & Fashion, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2018

“Powerful Photo-Editing Program to Satisfy Advanced Needs”

OverallI've been using Gimp for years for advanced photo editing. I use other programs for simple editing, but when I need more detailed and/or targeted editing, Gimp is great. You can create PNG images with transparent backgrounds; delete and replace backgrounds; selectively edit colors; use a multitude of special effects; etc. You can orient a text box to match the orientation of an item you're adding text to (which my simpler programs don't do). I find Gimp to be as powerful and easier than PhotoShop. I don't work in layers, so can't speak to the ease, or lack thereof, of doing that. Advanced functions aren't intuitive; looking up how to do things is a must. Also, Gimp can be glitchy. In particular, I've found the clone tool to be very good, but even when accessed properly, it sometimes doesn't work. This seems to be a common complaint. Sometimes the problem is that you're not in the right layer. But even in a single-layer image, I often have trouble, especially in the new version, v. 2.10.4. But there are also some improvements in this upgrade. I'm not a professional designer, so my knowledge and ability are limited. However, I've recommended the program to many people, and an advanced PhotoShop user recently told me he thinks Gimp is just as good. Overall, for me, Gimp is a perfect solution when my basic photo-editing programs won't do the trick. I highly recommend it.
ProsIt's free and is an outstanding alternative to PhotoShop, with all the functions most people, including professional graphic designers, will need.
ConsSome functions can be glitchy, and even accessing the help function doesn't always help. But there are a multitude of online resources to help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2018
Sean U.
Office Manager
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“Very powerful and free alternative to expensive software”

OverallIt has been wonderful. I create graphics for banners, flyers and newsletters at my work. On the side I create graphics, animations and overlays for Twitch streamers. As someone who does not have the money to waste on expensive programs like Adobe Photoshop, GIMP is an amazingly powerful tool for artists and the like.
Pros- It's FREE! - It can do just about anything Adobe Photoshop can do - Does not require a high-end machine to run. - Once you get use to the UI things flow very nicely. - I've never had to deal with support because there is an overabundance of tutorials online.
Cons- It's not very intuitive. It's difficult to just pick up and go, but watching a simple basic tutorial solves that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Katarzyna K.
Senior Account Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019

“GIMP - My favorite graphics editor ”

OverallGIMP enabled me to edit images and photos quickly using the BIMP extension. Also, I designed a few graphics and created some simple animations (GAP) for my website.
ProsGIMP is an excellent raster graphics editor, that could be used to retouch photos professionally as well as design web graphics. The software is equipped with a number of tools, that enable both elementary and complex operations. The interface is transparent and uncluttered, as the icons are minimalistic and the windows dockable so that you can fully customize the editor to meet your needs. Converting between different image format is seamless, so you are able to import and edit files saved in Photoshop format. GIMP is open-source software, so it's developed continuously, and there are many powerful plugins available. Personally, the Gimp Animation Package is an exceptional solution to create GIFs. Moreover, the tool is completely free of charge.
ConsIt's difficult to discover some advanced on your own, as the majority of the community is German or Russian. For that reason, if you encounter a complex issue, it might be challenging to find someone, who knows the solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019
Huong T.
Digital Developer
Entertainment, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“First step to become a design expert!”

OverallDesign software CAN be straightforward and CAN be for everyone and GIMP has proved me so. Very easy to use as I didn't have a ton of time to learn tech and software when I first started, but GIMP was at ease to use and didn't take me 120 hours to learn and start. GIMP is very portable and I love it that I could have it on any of my machines without having to worry about "how many licenses do I have left." GIMP is just awesome!
ProsOpen source, light, powerful but free! Gimp was my first design software when I first started to learn to create graphic on a computer and I still use it every now and then whenever I need a quick change on a design but didn't have time to wait a year for photoshop to pop up. The functions GIMP offers is more than anything one could imagine in a free software, it's almost everything you need from photoshop AND illustrator, from filtering and tweaking image, to drawing your own image. The effects GIMP provides are still everything I needed in my career. It can be similar to photoshop in some way, so it will be super helpful to start using GIMP for someone who didn't understand the complexity of Photoshop (like me my very first few months, then switching to Photoshop'd be a breeze)There are also free online tutorials everywhere on the internet, so it's really for EVERYONE and everyone (plus every kind of computer and OS-- i had a Linux before using macOS).
ConsGIMP offered me more than anything I would expect and need from a free software. If I do miss anything it's the cloud storage and sharing like adobe has, but again, this is a free product so there's really nothing I hate about. Sorry photoshop but 80% of the time GIMP is still my go-to and fav when it comes to small and quick artwork! :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Reynaldo U.
Coordinador logistico
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2018

“A incorporation that I did on my own in my work, bringing excellent results”

ProsI have always been an enthusiast in the imageological projection of the activities that we develop in the Foundation, this with the purpose of visually enriching our task, and also to project it, either in social networks or in projections to the community that follows us, or to the sponsor who invest in our ideas and projects. That's why I introduced and presented to my bosses this software that has allowed us to edit images with a high quality, introducing modifiable layers, elimination of shadow or light depending on the visual result we look for, change the format of the photo either in jpg, png and even raw, doing quality works to expose them in a better way. GIMP is a high value tool for our Foundation and we carry out permanent training so that our operators also use it when publishing photographs of different community activities.
ConsAlthough, at the beginning it is a little complex to use since it is a program for editing images by vectors, only using them routinely makes you learn quickly how to handle all your tools.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2018
Christian N.
Owner/Instructor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“I've used GIMP for years, and have found it perfect for creating graphics for websites and logos”

ProsAs a technologically inclined creative person, this software is amazing. There is ample support in the way of forums and videos on the internet to get most anyone up and running with GIMP fairly shortly. My favorite elements of GIMP are its robust image layering abilities. While it might lack some of the glitz and glamor of Adobe's Photoshop, it is able to completely keep up with the functionality - at least on a basic level. I've found GIMP completely able to meet and exceed my logo deign, web graphics, and photo editing needs. While professional photographers might want Adobe's subscription products, GIMPs download-and-use platform is a fantastic discovery for those who want robust image editing for free, and are willing to put the leg work into the small learning curve.
ConsThe things I like least involve minor User Interface elements that I keep accidentally running into. The only example that really sticks out is I accidentally keep undocking some controls, and almost never remember how to redock them. It happens very infrequently, so I'm often in the position of researching how to redock them before I get back to work. It's honestly the only thing I can think of that would be a con for this software, and even then, that's in the user-error category.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Jeff R.
Business Owner
Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Total package for graphics editing at an affordable price of $0.00”

OverallI am a huge fan of all open source software packages but this is one of the most polished of the bunch. It has a huge active community which makes searching for and finding answers and tips/tricks very easy. It works, not 90% of the time but 100% of the time.
ProsI love gimp and have been a user for years. Gimp gets the job done, simple as that. It is not filled with fluff and features you will never use. Easy to open, edit and close. Runs on Windows and Linux with no issues.
ConsThat said there is a small learning curve, documentation is not the best and of course being it is open source software the support is all on you. Outside of those very minor issues this is the best graphics editing software on the planet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Avatar Image
KHALED A.
Blogger
Writing and Editing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“The Best Choice For Image Editing”

OverallAn open source option to Photoshop? I didn't trust it should be possible until I gave GIMP and attempt and I haven't thought back yet. I use GIMP essentially for website composition and found that truly every device I depended on was available. From picture cleaning up pictures to structuring pennants and logos, GIMP has turned into my go-to instrument. It's scripting and module support likewise enables me to build my profitability via robotizing normal assignments and running them as bunches. On the off chance that content doesn't exist, it's shockingly simple to compose your own because of the huge biological system of aides and instructional exercises.
Pros A free and highlight rich option to Photoshop. GIMP likewise has an enormous after with numerous incredible instructional exercises accessible for new clients to learn with. Scripting a module backing is a major in addition to and rebelliously worth your opportunity to learn.
ConsThe UI isn't as refined as Photoshop and may set aside a short effort to become accustomed to. This may make GIMP be less easy to use to new clients. On Windows, I have observed GIMP be moderate on startup as it loads text styles and different assets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Kyle G.
CAD/CAM DESIGNER
Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2018

“A rock solid choice for image editing.”

OverallA open source alternative to Photoshop? I didn't believe it could be done until I gave GIMP and try and I haven't looked back yet. I use GIMP mainly for web design and found that literally every tool I relied on was present. From image touching up images to designing banners and logos, GIMP has become my go to tool. It's scripting and plugin support also allows me to increase my productivity by automating common tasks and running them as batches. If a script doesn't exist, its surprisingly easy to write your own due to the large ecosystem of guides and tutorials.
ProsA free and feature rich alternative to Photoshop. GIMP also has a large following with many great tutorials available for new users to learn with. Scripting a plugin support is a big plus and defiantly worth your time to learn.
ConsThe UI is not as refined as Photoshop and may take a short time to get used to. This may cause GIMP to be less user friendly to new users. On Windows, I have found GIMP to be slow on startup as it loads fonts and other resources.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2018
Erik M.
Graphic Designer
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“GIMP: The Best Free Alternative for Photoshop”

OverallGIMP is hands-down the best free alternative to Photoshop. It is very useful for users working with me who may not have access to Photoshop due to their costly subscription model but can still open and edit my .PSD files and other file types within the Adobe suite and comparable programs.
ProsYou can import any file types compatible with Adobe products including .AI files from Illustrator and work on them in GIMP. I can run GIMP all day and not have it crash randomly (as I do frequently in Adobe applications which have a much higher price tag). I have never run into any issues with lag or difficulties saving or editing documents in GIMP. It is a very robust, inclusive program with features very similar to Photoshop but FOR FREE! I use this product on Windows and Max with no issues and recommend it to anyone wanting to delve into digital art without having to purchase an expensive license for a similar piece of software.
ConsGIMP's updates leave a bit to be desired. When Adobe updates a program, you can really appreciate the new features and subtle changes they have made whereas GIMP has stayed relatively the same. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing since I love GIMP., but it would be nice to see them compete on a higher level with more well-known products.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
John H.
Information operator
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Extremely powerful, extremely complex”

OverallOverall, I come back to Gimp time and again. It is my desktop graphics package of choice. However, unlike with more user-friendly, albeit less functional, applications I have had to spend a lot of time learning from online tutorials before actually getting things done. It's not very intuitive.
ProsThe advanced graphical functions are phenomenal. As I've developed (slowly), I've found that there is nothing that this application cannot do in producing incredible graphics. Specifically, if you think it doesn't have a function / effect that you want then there's almost endless plugins to choose from! If somehow even they don't provide, you can write your own plugins! I like that there are versions of this for Android too, meaning that I can work on my graphics across my platforms.
ConsWith great functionality comes great complexity. I personally find Gimp to be extremely complex, especially on initial presentation if you're new to it. 3 separate boxes initially, which can rapidly grow, jumble the screen up. The vast array of buttons make clicking the wrong thing too easy, especially if you are trying to work at pace. While working across platforms is possible, as I mention above, the different versions are not especially well developed, especially the Android version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Sherry G.
Owner
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Using Gimp Has Saved Me Money”

OverallVery good experience with Gimp. It is easy to use, consistent, and works well for my use. I'm not a graphic designer, but I am a web developer and online marketer, so I need to be able to have a program I can use to pull up images and resize them, remove background, and so on. Every once in a while I make up a logo for a business I'm working with if I don't outsource it and Gimp works great for me.
ProsThe greatest thing about this software is that it was free. I had been using PhotoShop for years and then a colleague recommended Gimp. I studied it before downloading it and it took me a short while to figure out how to use it. There are lots of videos on YouTube to help you get started and there are lots of video tutorials for the various functions. Easy peasy to learn to use, never crashes, never a problem.
ConsNothing. I have been happy with Gimp from the day I downloaded it and have used it almost daily. It is a good software program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Adriana V.
Business owner
Retail, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2019

“Great tool for my design needs ”

OverallCreating logos, marketing images, editing pdf files, removing background from pictures of my products to sell them on Amazon. They all have profesional quality.
ProsI use Linux Ubuntu and I love gimp. Free, great documentation and very easy to use. I'm a business owner and because I recently started I don't have the money yet to pay a graphic designer, so I use gimp to create my logo and marketing images. I also install new fonts all the time and it's super easy. The option of saving the images with many extensions have made my life very easy.
ConsI wish it could open and save AI files because all the printer companies I have worked with require I send them the AI file.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Michael B.
Graphic Designer and Animator
Graphic Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2019

“Great value for the money”

OverallI use this program on a daily basis. I use it for my own personal graphics, logos, banners, and designs. I also use it for my own video edits, and animations as well. I also use it for a lot of work I do for clients. I use GIMP for all my photo editing and creating needs from a simple photo red-eye edit all the way up to creating entire graphic set for a webpage.
ProsWhen I started learning about graphic design I had no money to buy the big fancy expensive programs. GIMP made learning graphic design very affordable and easy. The interface works very well. It is very easy to find the tools I need to complete an art project. There many different filters, and scripts to use to enhance my art as well.
ConsThere are some features that are included in big name brand art software. Some of these features such as brush strokes, and simple shading and lighting effects. You have to take a lot of extra steps to recreate these features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2019
Avatar Image
Casey W.
Broadcaster
Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019

“Best free editing software on the market”

OverallGIMP has been a great addition to my library. I use it anytime I need something designed or edited. Haven't used another tool since I discovered it.
ProsFor starters, it's free. It's a very powerful program comparatively and even more so when you consider that you are not paying for it. I explain in the cons that I had trouble finding certain features at first, but as I got more familiar with GIMP, this was less of an issue. It has everything you could need for picture editing.
ConsAt first, the UI is a bit clunky. Well, I said "at first" but it never really gets better. It is fully customizable however and I recommend doing so. Adding onto the UI, it is a bit hard to find some of the features. Maybe this is due to my overall inexperience with editing but on more than one occasion I had trouble finding a feature that I was looking for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019