A Web Whiteboard

AWW app

4.5 / 5 18 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Teams and freelancers who work remotely or often have remote meetings with clients. Developers who need to visually structure their software architecture. Designers who send mockups for a review.


Average Ratings

18 Reviews
  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $10.00/month/user
  • Pricing Details
    Premium user can invite unlimited # of people-they don't need to be premium
  • Free Version
    Yes
  • Free Trial
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Documentation
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • A Web Whiteboard
  • awwapp.com
  • Founded 2016
  • United States

About AWW app

Touch-friendly online whiteboard for real-time collaboration and brainstorming within your team. Forget about annoying registration forms, just enter awwapp.com and start drawing immediately! Easily create, save and share your boards with your team members or clients by sharing URL link. Your team members don't even have to be registered. It's easy as that. We have your business ideas, concepts and plans safely stored in your dashboard, so you can review it anytime, anywhere.


Spotlight_media_placeholder

AWW app Features

  • Audio / Video Conferencing
  • Brainstorming
  • Chat / Messaging
  • Contact Management
  • Content Management
  • Cooperative Writing
  • Discussion Boards
  • Document Management
  • Group Calendars
  • Project Management
  • Synchronous Editing
  • Task Management
  • Version Control

AWW app Reviews Recently Reviewed!

AwwApp is great for digital note taking in the classroom, especially with ppt annotation. Awesome!

Nov 29, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It provides expandable whiteboard space for students to take note and collaborate in problem solve. The app also comes with many desirable features and functions for stylus user.

Cons: It is somehow difficult for the students to write beautifully in penmanship and to highlight clean. The ppt image gets erase when student was simply erasing their writing marks.

Overall: digital note taking and collaborating tools for classroom use.

Excellent tool for online teaching!

Nov 28, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Great teaching tool: Works great for online one-on-one teaching! My student loves it ;
Simple interface: My student loves to annotate using the colorful drawing tools

Cons: Functionality: It's too easy to move things the wrong way with the selection cursor instead of moving the "view"

A9dc1b8f056ff167b923c580be298896

I have found it extremely useful for teaching students over the last 3 years.

Nov 28, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The software is easy to use and share. It works beautifully for teaching.

Multi colored pens allow you to highlight messages you want to give easily.

You can also assign a pen to an individual so that individual contributions can be noted. It is now possible to save a whiteboard and retrieve as well.

Cons: There are a couple of things that could be improved on.

First of all, the one major irritant is the inability to scroll down in case you require more than one screen's worth of drawing / writing etc.

Secondly, I find that everybody does not seem to have the same coordinates. I have often found a student of mine writing something at the top of his screen but is invisible on mine. I have had to give him some point on his screen below which he should write.

Occasionally (not recently though), the shared board would just stop updating.

Having said all this, it still remains my personal favorite as a teaching tool.

Overall: It is a lovely teaching tool. Far simpler to use than any other whiteboard available on the market. And I have tried quite a few.

Vendor Response

by A Web Whiteboard on November 30, 2017

Hi Sukrit, Thanks for your positive feedback- it means a lot to us. You said you would like to have a scroll feature - and we do have one. It is a hand tool on the right side of the interface. You can scroll in every direction on the board so you can easily find drawings that are not in your screen area. Hope this helps. All best, Dora

Good enough but can be better

Nov 28, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I tried it first for one of my online classes and it was satisfying. I have tried a lot of other ones but this one is the best so far.

Cons: It does not have palm rejection that is a major problem. And customer service is not the best. I asked them a question and they did not answer. They can also add more functions and figures to that.

Overall: It helped me to have online classes from other parts of the world. And it is definitely one of the bests but it can improve.

085bbd18198587b267a130170384ffb6

great teaching tool

Nov 28, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I tutor online and use this app a lot with all my students. 5love the ability to work together on the same board. Whether I explain something or my student solves a problem, we can always go and ask questions about different steps, we can mark what was unclear and it helps with discussion a lot.

Cons: It would help me if I could choose a graph paper background or had and ability use other math tools, such as typing formulas or use a protractor to measure angles.

Overall: I was able to teach with ease without extra steps. I like that I can use any messenger or online classroom available and don't have to switch to use this app.

Vendor Response

by A Web Whiteboard on November 29, 2017

Hi Marina, Thanks for your positive feedback. We are planning to add graph paper background and I'll be happy to let you know once we do. If you have any further suggestions, please let me know. All best,

I use this for tutoring and overall it works well.

Nov 28, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Easy to use and very accessible especially for students who do not have an ipad. I like that I can import images as well.

Cons: The abyss of a window can be difficult for my students to find where I am on the board. I wish there was an app on the ipad.

Vendor Response

by A Web Whiteboard on November 29, 2017

Hi Lynn, Thanks for your positive feedback. Our engineers are already working on the feature that will let your students know where you are on the board. I hope it will be soon out. All best,

I use AWW app for online tutoring

Nov 17, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I use the free application, which works perfectly for my needs. I'm able to share the whiteboard with the student I'm working with and we can both write on the screen. It's almost as if we are sitting right next to each other.

Cons: Sometimes the screen will not load immediately or it will not recognize my stylus. This may be because we're using the free version.

Overall: Having this software allows me to conduct online tutoring easily from my home or office.

useful and great!

Nov 17, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: the colors and the ability to drag pictures. Drawing straight lines. I also like the dots so that I can see it's somewhat like a graph.

Cons: It glitches and i cannot see the bottom left of the page (i cannot add text). I have to always move my screen in order to drag pictures into the page.

Vendor Response

by A Web Whiteboard on November 20, 2017

Hi Marian, Thanks for writing us feedback. It means a lot to us. Regarding your issue witht the bottom left corner - can you send us a screenshot of it? Our technical team would like to take a look at it and see how can they help you. All best,

A760764f3d3722d93ff87a07f2f937bf

AWW is a simple-to-use web-based collaborative whiteboard space.

Nov 17, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The whiteboard is easy to use. It has lots of tools and functionality. You can select from different colors and pen styles to make your drawings easier to understand. You can also add in shapes like rectangles and circles to make your drawings a little cleaner to read. Text boxes and Post-Its also make for a clean yet versatile whiteboard environment. You can also upload images, multi-page PDFs, and PPTs so you can discuss images or documents that have been created in advance.

The boards are easy to use. I find it helpful for collaborating with people outside of my company/organization because they don't have to have an account. AWW offers a Premium tier, but you don't have to have one in order to use the software. They also have a VOIP feature in case you are trying to hold a conference call with voice audio.

Cons: Some other competitors have templates so that you can quickly get an outline developed (like a timeline or another form of visual planning). Navigation in the board can be a little counter-intuitive at times. I believe it was intended to be used with touchscreens like tablets and "smart boards". I have a background in engineering and drafting so I naturally try to pan using the middle button, but doing so does nothing in the whiteboard. In order to pan, you either have to zoom in/out to get where you are going, or you have to click the hand in the top right and then you can move around.

Overall: A web-based collaborative space. I can easily (and quickly) communicate with people outside of my company. As an engineer, I often have to communicate with drawings and sketches. This whiteboard is like having a meeting in person in a conference room with whiteboard, except that we don't have to travel miles and miles to get to one another. And after the meeting, you can save a PDF so you don't lose all of the information you worked on.

it would have been better if there has been an option to type on the board instead or both

Nov 17, 2017
4/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The option to share and the counter party to write which is not in other boards. It's good in that sense.

Cons: I explained it in the first answer. But the scrolling part is not very comfortable. It sometimes is fine at my end but enlarged at the other end.

Vendor Response

by A Web Whiteboard on November 20, 2017

Hi Divya, Thanks for your review, it means a lot to us. I would like to know more about the things you didn't like. You said you would like to have a typing option. We do have a typing option on board. It is the tool with the letters Aa. Also can you explain a bit more what did you mean by scrolling part? Did you mean moving on board or zooming in and out? Both moving and zooming on board is not synced with other board members. They can zoom and move their boards as they like, not affecting your board, and vice versa. I would much appreciate your answers - they would help us build better AWW for you. All best,

Used to be quite limited but tried again recently and working excellently.

Nov 17, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Zoom and drag with large pages facilitates dynamic lessons excellently. Good choice of pens and colours.

Cons: No emoticons, smiley faces etc. Useful for teaching young students. Can get slow when lots of writing on screen, difficult to move sections of text to include some in middle

Overall: Free, useful whiteboard aid for my tutoring classes. Communication with colleagues. Fun activity for children.

C40f12aa602116f172d7e85fac0dedf6

Aww was a good whiteboard, we needed something a little more malleable and robust

Nov 17, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The product was affordable with nice pricing structures (isntead of per minute etc which is the norm), It was easy to integrate and had lots of features we required

Cons: We struggled with the audio. It wasn't reliable enough when we had two users using it and because there was no camera we found users would struggle with the audio and give up. Furthermore it was difficult to customise.

Overall: I have recommended this product to individuals, but not yet organisations. I think it works well when there is already a relationship established between the two users.

Vendor Response

by A Web Whiteboard on November 20, 2017

Hi Matthew, Thanks for you feedback - it means a lot to us, We are aware of the issues we're still having with audio. It works fine on the majority of devices and browsers, but it doesn't work on Safari and iPads. However, we'll keep on striving to improve the overall quality of the product. If you have any other suggestions or feedback, I'll be happy to hear it. All best,

Efficient

Nov 17, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I like that I can share it with my students. That way they can interact with me and share what they have to share. Its fun and entertaining too.

Cons: It loads slow sometimes. It doesn't connect to the shared party. They can't see what I'm drawing sometimes.

Vendor Response

by A Web Whiteboard on November 20, 2017

Hi Sarah, Thanks for your review - it means a lot to us. I would like to know more about the issues you have experienced with syncing board content with the other party. Is the problem still happening? Do you have a link to the board I can share with my technical team so they check it out? All best

Easy to use and good for online collaboration.

Nov 16, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality

Pros: It has just the right amount of features and tools to be simple to use and share with others easily.

Cons: I once had a stranger access and "vandalize" the board I was using with a student. (I was using the free version.)

Cddee0dfddd7a7c36efe3f5672ff32e5

It's just wonderful. It's both tutor and student friendly and interactive. Easy to use and helpful.

Nov 16, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Uploading pictures, drawing lines and shapes, different pen size and colour options. Changing size of the image has become easier and also overall control of the board include features like saving the board.

Cons: Eraser size cannot be changed. No underline options for text. At times the student writing is not simultaneously visible to the tutor.

Overall: I use it daily to provide online maths tutoring to my students with utmost ease and satisfaction. It's very nice.

Vendor Response

by A Web Whiteboard on November 17, 2017

Thanks Sayantan We really appreciate your your positive feedback. We'll keep on striving to make your experience even better. All best, AWW team.

0a98a7bb26daaafdab116b5976619625

Great, but with a few glitches

Nov 16, 2017
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like the ability to post images. The system makes it easy because it allows users to drag and drop images directly onto the whiteboard. I also like the ability to save the whiteboard for future reference.

Cons: Sometimes, there's a lag between the time images are posted and when the images actually appears. Also, what other users write or do on the whiteboard may not always appear unless they manually refresh the page.

Overall: I've been using it to tutor students and I've had great feedback so far, especially when it works without glitches.

Overall the collaboration piece is great. Like that there is inking, text, etc...

Nov 16, 2017
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: All the features that students can use. The students love that they can use different ways to get across their message. They love collaborating together in Aww App.

Cons: People can easily delete others work. They get frustrated when other students delete what they put on the Aww board that was created. Should be a way to not let other students delete others work in the collaborative space.

Vendor Response

by A Web Whiteboard on November 17, 2017

Hi Michael, Thanks for your positive feedback, we really appreciate it. We're building a new feature that will enable you to lock elements to the background. That will help you avoid erasing elements you don't want to be erased. The thing you can do right now is to choose in the manage participants section whether you want your students to draw or just watch. Hope this helps. All best,

Fun, intuitive; my students have an easy time mastering the whiteboard after one or two sessions.

Nov 16, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Doesn't overwhelm you with obscure, unnecessary tools or features. Pretty easy to share and host large group sessions.

Cons: The amount you can "zoom in" is a bit excessive; sometimes I accidentally zoom in too much and find myself lost in terms of my place on the board. However, this is merely a minor annoyance.