Avanan Ratings

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Avanan

Avanan catches the advanced attacks that evade default and advanced security tools. Its invisible, multi-layer security enables full-suite protection for cloud collaboration solutions such as Office 365, G-Suite, and Slack. The platform deploys in one click via API to prevent Business Email Compromise and block phishing, malware, data leakage, account takeover, and shadow IT across the enterprise. Learn more about Avanan

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Like It!”

ProsEase of use and the availability to use a variety of best-in-class security vendors.
ConsA little slow on response via any browser.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Omar S.
IT Technician
Plastics, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019

“Avanan: Best in Class Customer Service, Products, and Features”

OverallBefore Avanan, we had no additional security for our Office 365 environment. Avanan was an option that was easily implemented and immediately started producing results with phishing and malware hits. The amount of stuff that Avanan has caught for us makes me wonder how much stuff was getting through before with the standard O365 protection and ATP. The major benefit to us as a company was protecting us from phishing, malware, or ransomware threats. This allows us to keep our business continuity without interruption. I recommend looking at Avanan in consideration for your Office 365 platform. It is an understatement to say the program is easy to use, and it powerful and useful. I have had a near perfect level of accuracy when it comes to hits on malicious emails. I will absolutely be using them again if I were to ever move to a different job or company.
ProsThe program installed pretty much instantly with zero interference to our Office 365 Environment. The program itself is very robust and has a lot of cool features and they continue to add more as each update comes out. It has a very clean and intuitive user interface and it very easy to pick up on everything after your initial training session. There is also a level of customization to the menus and to the interfaces. When creating custom queries there are hundreds of options and it will take time and practice to learn them all. However, you can submit any question to the customer support team, and they will answer anything you throw at them and help you understand. I also like that it is API based. It works in conjunction with the standard office 365 security features, instead of replacing them and rendering them useless, like the other popular solutions on the market. This makes for a faster and more efficient experience in my opinion and from what I have seen.
ConsI honestly can't think of any major dislikes or complaints. Any time I have had any issues or questions, I have been able to get it resolved or I have been able to get an answer form the support team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019
george z.
Sr Virtualization Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019

“Avanan Highly Recommended”

OverallWe've had great success using Avanan as one of our security layers for email. The fact that Avanan sits infront of Microsoft ATP filter is great as it gives us capabilities that other security solutions can't offer. We've also found that ATP, Proofpoint, and Mimecast don't capture everything, and it's great to increase our security posture by layering different solutions to work in tadem, and Avanan is a great addition
ProsThe modular "a la carte" design and ability to choose between multiple security vendors to suit the organization's needs while providing an effective security layer to one of the largest attack vectors today - email.
ConsThe web gui is not very intuitive and can be a little tricky to drill into at times
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019
JACOB S.
Information Security Analyst
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2019

“Email Security that works”

ProsAvanan catches most spam before the end user gets a chance to see it. The whitelist and blacklist rules are fast and easy to set up on the fly.
ConsQuerying for emails can be clunky. Certain times it simply won't produce results though I'm sure I have the correct flags set.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2019
Bill D.
Enterprise Systems Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2019

“Simple to setup and Easy to use”

OverallIncreased inbox security and improved user awareness with minimal impact to the admin staff. A win for Staff and for IT!
ProsThe trial setup was simple and took only minutes to integrate into our environment. Since implementing in production, which was just as quick and painless, we've seen a dramatic decrease in the amount of malicious mail making it to end users mailbox. Warnings and notifications sent to end users are easy to understand. This has driven user trust and adoption. On the rare occasions when false positives occur, clear and simple notices aid users in mitigating them. One of the simplest implementation processes in years with huge positive impact for our staff.
ConsTwo are I;d like to see imroved: 1- threats are reported but no action can be taken. I'd like to see more actionable tools/features added for all threats. 2- when items are acted on or mitigated, the history of who did what and when is not always readily available. I'd like to see simpler and more complete audit logging, visibility and control.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2019
Andy T.
Helpdesk & Systems Tech
Media Production, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019

“Excellent service for reducing spam, phishing, and malware via email”

OverallWe spent a lot of time trying to find a platform that would help reduce the number of phishing and otherwise malicious emails that were coming to our users. We also wanted to find additional ways to prevent DLP. We even contracted a Security firm to help us find a solution. However, we ended up finding and trialing Avanan on our own, and it was very easy to setup, had great support when needed, and has worked very effectively.
ProsIt was easy to setup and has drastically decreased the number of phishing and other malicious emails that have reached our users.
ConsI think some of their whitelisting and blacklisting features could be a little more robust. There are also some options for sorting mail in our system that has been reviewed by Avanan that could stand to be a little simpler.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019
Victor K.
IT Support
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019

“The interface experience is fantastic. ”

OverallWe have a clear portal to see where our users are logging in. This makes finding suspicious activity very easy. Drilling down phishing attacks is the most important part of our security. As well as finding where are users are logging in and seeing suspicious activity.
ProsThe interface functions are fantastic. This makes drilling down issues a breeze. The map function is incredibly useful. Overall a perfect portal.This makes finding suspicious activity very easy. I love that we can make the phishing attacks come up as a whole and drill down to why we are being targeted. We can then take action before we get to a place of harm for our systems.
ConsThere is really not much I dislike. Everything works just as I could imagine. The quarantine function would be helpful but that is not a part of our portal at the moment. When we get to the place for integration we will then make that happen but for now everything is fantastic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019
Larry S.
CIO
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2019

“Avanan”

ProsAvanan has reduced the flow of spam phishing emails to our campus greatly. At the high point we were getting hundreds hourly. Now we see very few get through. I love the reporting they offer also. It helps us the review our security.
ConsWe have no issues with the product. It more than meets our needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2019
Ed G.
Systems Engineer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019

“Avanan is Awesome”

OverallOur end-users are extremely happy not receiving as much spam. As well as we train them, this has made our jobs so much easier.
ProsThe simplicity to configure and implement was amazing. We have 100% adoption without having to force people into using the product.
ConsThe additional captcha I need to re-enter on a weekly basis. Annoying, but well worth it using the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019
Sergio L.
Systems Administrator
Market Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019

“Easy to set up, and seamless to use. ”

ProsIt was very easy to set up and it got rid of all spam and phishing attempts to my company.
ConsIt takes a bit of time manually quarantine emails.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019
DANNY D.
IT Specialist
Machinery, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Better than ProofPoint”

ProsThe best thing about this software is that there is no need to configure Office 365. Unlike ProofPoint, AVANAN does not disable Office 365 email security, instead it adds another layer of security. Plus it does not prevent users from sending emails like Proofpoint tends to do.
ConsThe only con about the software is that is a little bit expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Brandon B.
IT Support Specialist
Architecture & Planning, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019

“Great visiblity and extra security ”

ProsIt's an extra security blanket that has allowed us to see affected users and pin points areas of security that needs to be beefed up.
ConsOverall a great product, could ease the use of search queries and tracing threats.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2019