Commvault HyperScale Technology Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Commvault HyperScale Technology

Commvault HyperScale Technology is an add-on for Commvault Complete that delivers an on-premises, cloud-like infrastructure to support scale-out secondary storage. This is available in two form factors: first, as a Commvault-branded integrated appliance; secondly, as a software solution that can be used with a customers preferred hardware provider. Learn more about Commvault HyperScale Technology

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Doug M.
Senior Operating Systems Analyst
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Migrated to Hyperscale and no looking back”

OverallAs the title says "Migrated to Hyperscale and no looking back". We have great sales people and excellent support from Commvault.
ProsThe speed of the backup. Being on a Linux platform, not having to constantly be rebooting MAs because of running out of memory or other issues. It great to come in the morning and have everything done and not spending the morning re-running failed jobs.
ConsBeing the 1st in our state and one of the 1st 50 customers, there were lots of growing pains. Biggest issue is the extra hardware spend for 10 GB switches for the HS network. Also, as mentioned, having to add 3 nodes at a time. Also, spending over 3 months to figure out how to route DASH copies over a different route than configured.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Jos M.
Sr Technical Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“Thumbs up for HyperScale”

OverallEasy implementation which provides a proper HA solution for sites, functions as expected.
ProsIt's not a black box solution. Adjustments to the environment can be made, some with help of Commvault. Gluster functionality, no more rebuilding disks and data is always available!
ConsIt is based on a Linux foundation, sorry not a Linux admin :) Limited in devices which can be connected when using appliance.

Vendor Response

By Commvault on June 4, 2019
Hi Jos - we aim to please! Glad the HyperScale appliance is working so well for you & we'll be sure to keep an eye on your point re Linux too. JCA
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Jim P.
Systems Engineer 3
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Scalability and Performance”

ProsThe density of the solution is amazing, we have almost 1 PB in 6 RU, storage and compute. It scales very easily and management of the platform is just as easy as legacy media agents.
ConsSP13's ISO had a different kernel version than SP14, unfortunately I imaged some with 13 and some with 14 so my kernels are out of sync in two locations. It is fixable with re-imaging however.

Vendor Response

By Commvault on May 31, 2019
Hi Jim. We're so pleased to see you're getting such value from Complete & thanks for sharing your experience with the rest of the world on Capterra! We live for customer input & feedback at Commvault, so keep us updated with the SP13 ISO pointer, if it becomes anything more inconvenient. Thanks Jim! JCA
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Mithila P.
Senior Technical Support Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Commvault HyperScale Technology”

ProsAll in one appliance with complete solution for enterprises and be able to expand as you want.
ConsPrice is too high. So only very high end customers can afford it

Vendor Response

By Commvault on May 31, 2019
Hi Mithila. We're so pleased to hear you're finding the HyperScale appliance & Complete solution such so useful for your business. We're always trying to improve our products & customer service, so if you ever have any Qs or further input for us, just drop us a line! JCA
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Mahesh K.
Sr. Storage Engineer
Retail, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019

“Perfect solution ”

ProsYou could go with CV hyperscale hardware + software or you could also use any reference architecture and buy from other vendors like HP / Cisco etc
ConsNothing about the software, but the hardware.. you have to buy the 3 server config and when scaling up, you have to buy another set of 3 servers.

Vendor Response

By Commvault on June 26, 2019
Hi Mahesh. Thanks for that glowing review - we're stoked that you & the team at Americold Logistics are finding the HyperScale solution so useful! We'll definitely take on board your feedback re the server configuration & pass that on to the wizards in dev & product though, so thanks for that piece of info too. Thanks again Mahesh! JCA
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019
Alexander V.
Team lead
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“HyperScale new vision for backup systems”

OverallGood, reliable, fast
ProsSimple and fast installation. High reliability
Conscostly for some projects, need to plan carefully your backup infrastructure

Vendor Response

By Commvault on June 4, 2019
Hi Alexander - great feedback & intel, so thanks for leaving us this review. We've got another 3*s to earn from you to reach the 10/10 mark, so watch out for our continued advances over the rest of 2019 & do stay in touch! JCA
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Ruwan J.
System Engineer
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 3, 2019

“Commvault HyperScale Technology”

Prosall the feature in one product that need to protect enterprises valuable data
ConsCost is very high. consider about this if you targeting asian countries.

Vendor Response

By Commvault on June 4, 2019
Hi Ruwan. We are glad that HyperScale is working so well for you & the team at South Asian Technologies, and we appreciate you feedback on the price-point in the APAC market too! JCA
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 3, 2019
David Y.
Information Systems Officer
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Another great CommVault product”

ProsThe fact it was created and supported by the great people at CommVault.
ConsThe cost is a little high but well worth it.

Vendor Response

By Commvault on June 4, 2019
Thanks for the glowing HyperScale & team review David! We're glad it's working so well & look forward to bringing you & the folks at Hamlin Bank further technology innovations in the near future. JCA
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019