Veeam Agent for Windows Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Veeam Agent for Windows

Windows server backup tool that enables recovery and backup of cloud-based and physical servers through endpoint protection. Learn more about Veeam Agent for Windows

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 33 of 33 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 33 of 33 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Anthony M.
Sr Systems Admin
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Reliable Baremetal Backup and Restore you can trust”

OverallOverall, this product is the greatest bang for the buck when it comes to backing up your vital physical servers.
ProsThe software is very easy to configure and integrate into our full blown solution of centralized backup management for our VMs. We have 2 physical servers that we needed to backup that wasn't a virtual machine. The Veeam Agent allowed us to pull both servers into our backup infrastructure with little configuration. Our two servers are backed up and can be restored to full capacity in as little as a couple of clicks. The logs are tied into our existing backup management panel (Also Veeam), so we are able to be alerted and track backup jobs just as we would with our VMs.
ConsThe client side configuration isn't as plentiful in features or configuration on the server side. Would like to see the ability to configure alternative datastores from the server itself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2019

“Most Versatile Backup Product You Will Ever Use”

OverallOur CSP utilizes VAW on all physical and non-VMware licensed virtual machines, typically to NAS devices. It allows for very quick backups with its (default) forever-incremental settings, although this is customizable to run Fulls at scheduled intervals as well. Restores of File Level, Application Level (SQL, Exchange) or Entire Disk(s) level can be accomplished by various browser applications included with the software. Licensed versions have the capability to configure Cloud Connect (Cloud Service Provider) storage, giving you a secure, off-site backup option.
Pros-Customizable backup targets (Local Storage, Network Storage, CSP). -Allows for ease of migration/restore to new (even dis-similar hardware). -Email Alerts. -Volume Level Backups, with multiple restore options (Volume Level, File Level). -Multiple schedules available in latest version.
ConsTroubleshooting can involve sifting through Debug logs, as errors tend to be generic in nature.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2019
Austin K.
Help Desk Technician
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018

“Veeam Agent for Windows (VAW), A Necessary Backup Solution”

OverallI started using VAW when I started my help desk job. It's been a very rewarding experience. I always knew that keeping good backups was a best practice in IT, but I didn't know how to go about doing it. Veeam Agent allows me to backup my PC to a number of places: local storage, local network storage, and the cloud. It allows me to manage a lot of different options, such as setting full or incremental backup intervals, and whether or not I want status emails sent to me or not. It's very easy to grab log files for submitting to Veeam customer service reps through the VAW console, and the customer support is exceptional. Highly recommend this product to anyone who isn't sure about how to manage their backups, either personal backups or professional backups.
ProsEasy to use, easy to manage backups, completely free
ConsInstallation takes bit of time, log files can be difficult to find if you don't know where to look
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018

“Solid product for individual, small/medium business backup needs.”

OverallI use this software to backup about 20 workstations and 10 servers in different environments. It works well.
ProsFeature rich product that is constantly being updated/ upgraded. Features are still being added. Low cost solution for backing up workstations and servers. Customer support is well organized and will help you reasonably quickly find the solution to your problem.
ConsWhile Veeam is working hard on de-bugging this software, it still has bugs. You need to be technically inclined to use this software to its potential and be able to troubleshoot problems yourself, or contact support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2018
Onur Y.
Systems Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“Best solution for Workstation/Server backing-up”

OverallYou can easly add your Workstation/Servers into your backup plan. You can easly restore your files&folders or entire machine.
ProsOnce you install Veeam Backup&Replication server then you will be able to manage all of your endpoints from ONE console. You can create a protection plan and add your workstation/servers into this plan. That's it !
ConsActually there is nothing. You can easly manage your Workstation/Servers from one console.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018
Jacob C.
Systems Administrator
Law Practice, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018

“Best in Class Small to Mid size business backup software!”

ProsThe interface is super easy to use and JUST WORKS!! Backups go out everyday, I never have to wonder if a backup went through or why it failed, all the information is sent directly to me. Will never go back to another solution!
ConsThere isn't much I don't like about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018
Alex V.
Senior Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018

“Easy free backup tool, better than Windows Server Backup”

ProsThis software is really easy to install, configure and use. It does what it needs to do. Backup your Windows computer or server. Works both physical and virtual. Don't forget to create the recovery ISO, that way you can restore your machine to any other device.
ConsNo application aware backups possible. For instance, not possible to trunk SQL log files. Also no multiple schedules available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018
Stefan C.
Systems Administrator
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018

“ This product has provided our staff with backup solution for individual machines”

OverallProvides a point solution for non-VM machines and to individual machines in our staff population that need backup protection.
ProsThe integration with out overall backup process that supports our server infrastructure. The setup is easy and can be completed self serve by our staff
ConsLimited flexibility in type of backups. Unlike the VM backups which can perform incrementals this product only supports full backups.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Andrigo F.
Support Analist
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019

“An excelent backup software”

OverallVery good experience. For free software (I used the free version), it is full of features and can satisfy the needs of a personal user doing desktop backups to a large industry using many servers. Very reliable solution!
ProsI've tested Veeam when it had the "Free version" with limited features, and i liked it, but it don't satisfied my needs at the time. Now, they recently launched that "Comunity Edition" that has all features like the Standard version. I've tested again and i became very impressed with it. It's functional, easy to use, now it supports incremental and scheduled backups, for free! I think it's the first solution that offers all that features for free. Very good initiative from Veeam.
ConsSadly, it's not easy to implement rotating medias with the free version of the product. You can do this doing some trickery things but it would be better if was supported natively by the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019

“Dependable backup option”

OverallThe value of the software is apparent though there are more feature-rich options available.
ProsVeeam provided a very dependable backup solution for our Windows 2012 R2 servers. It ran consistently and was easy to configure.
ConsWe found that the backup process consumed resources in an inconsistent manner on select servers. We were unable to diagnose the cause of the resource usage several times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“User Friendly Backups for your Physical Servers”

OverallCurrently using the agent for a hypervisor and domain controller.
ProsEasy to deploy Straight forward setup with B&R
ConsNo real cons to this software. It does what it says, nothing more nothing less.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Jeremy H.
IT Manager
Food Production, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“Easy to use with my Veeam Backup and Replication Server”

OverallI really like this software. I was pretty glad when they changed it from a free unsupported option to a paid supported option as I use it to back up my physical windows servers.
ProsI like that this software installs easily and is configured to store data in my Veeam repository.
ConsI don't like that I have to configure this software on the host rather than in the Veeam B&R console.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Brian B.
Information Technology
Food Production, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018

“Great Product at an even better price!”

OverallPiece of Mind! Easy to backup and restore. Minimal interface makes for easier configuration.
ProsInstallation, ease of use and overall functionality. Quick resotres of full systems or files only. Support has been great each time i've used them.
ConsHonestly, nothing! I've used the product to restore systems or files several times and it has not failed me yet!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2018
Jean-Charles D.
Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2018

“Backups are extremly important, and VAW is your best help!”

OverallThis tool saved my day many times by allowing me to recover files or the entire system quickly after a failed update, a application crash or a virus attack. My best pal!
ProsThe software is easy to use, and manage, and allows seamless protection of your computer or server.
ConsThe software comes in a free and paid edition, and it is not easy to mix licenses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2018
Dan J.
IT Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018

“Absolutely the best free backup software available, and the paid version has reasonable pricing.”

Pros*Free version is perfect for small customers with standalone servers and important workstations. *Centralized management *Ability to backup physical failover clusters
ConsI don't like that you can not set the from and to addresses in the email notification. This would be ideal when managing multiple standalone machines. For example you can only set to/from to backup@example.com and if you have a strict SPF/DMARC policy, you're in trouble if you want to collect the logs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018
Jasmina L.
Financial Specialist
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019

“Great Backup Program”

OverallAllows users to not be as stressed if their computer backed up correctly
ProsSuper simple to use and is very reliable for a free backup program. Easy to tell if it backed up or not
ConsWhen the backup freezes, it slows down your computer and never seems to just cancel the backup
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“You should be using this for your windows backup”

OverallBest backup software for local backups. It's more flexible and reliable that Windows native backup utility and it allows for file level backups from an image backup.
ProsI love the fact that I can do a file level restore from an image level backup with Veeam. It's reliable and so easy to setup. Incremental backups also help cut down on size.
ConsI didn't like the fact that I would receive a sales phone call the morning after downloading the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Aaron L.
IT Manager
Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018

“Great Backup Solution”

OverallHave been able to better backup users computers.
ProsVery simple to setup and manage. Recovery process is super simple and quick
ConsNothing. It works very well and would deploy it anywhere
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018
James B.
Network engineer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2019

“Excellent endpoint backup solution”

OverallWe have used this in our organization as well as recommending it to our clients.
ProsWe have used this backup solution as the free solution, as well as some levels of the paid. The features in the free edition are quite sufficient for workstations.
ConsI have found nothing to discount this software. It does what I need it to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2019
Matthew F.
Systems Administrator
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018

“Clean. Simple. Will backup your stuff.”

OverallSecure backups at a low cost. Eliminates worrying about losing any of my data by giving me peace of mind.
ProsIt was easy to setup. Easy to configure. Runs automatically. Has special features that disconnects the backup drive so that your backups are safe from harm even when you're not sitting at your computer.
ConsI guess the interface could use some improvements. There is not much that I dislike about this software though. Could also use some more features, but I don't have anything specific in mind.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2018

“What a fantastic product”

ProsA lot of Veeam users were elated when they released an agent for physical Windows machines, myself included. And best of all its FREE! I use it on every workstation I get my hands on. It works amazingly.
ConsI honestly can't find anything bad to say about it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2018
David S.
IS/IT
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018

“Veeam Agent for Windows”

OverallFunctions as described. Does a bare metal backup perfectly.
ProsEase of installation, setup and configuration.
ConsDirections of usage could be better. nneds a bit more clarification.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Veeam Agent for Windows is a simple and easy to use back-up tool”

OverallThis product excels at the workstation backup market. I recommended it to clients all the time.
ProsI had a workstation hard drive die on me and Veeam made it fast and easy to recover from the drive failure. I also like variety of back up targets offered by Veeam.
ConsI really don't have any issues with this software. It does it's job well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“is a good solution to backup and secure the physical systems with windows system”

Prosis integrated into a single administration It is very easy to use and intuitive, it helps us maintain the integrity and availability of the data
Consalthough there are free and paid versions, to get the support and the best way to integrate it as a solution is not so cheap, something that is not good is that it does not work for OVM
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Building Materials, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“When It's Not a VM, Use Veeam Agent”

OverallSimple backup on non-virtualized machines, typically in remote locations
ProsStill super simple to set up, just a few clicks and you're up and running with your backup. Highly customizable to avoid or include USB drives, etc.
ConsHave to remember that "agent policy jobs" are scheduled by the local time to the server where the agent is installed, instead of local time to the Veeam server
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Manuel P.
Sr. System Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“lightweight easy to use application that allows us to easily backup our physical infrastructure.”

ProsThe agent is very light weight on resources and is easily managed and installed remotely from other veeam products. Creates quick and easy backups to allow for bare metal restorations of servers.
ConsThe only thing is lacks is the ability to create incremental backups automatically. It only appears to have ad-hoc incremental abilities natively
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
David B.
Computer systems administor
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“Restore from back up in minutes”

Overallsafely backup and restore your computer
ProsEasy to back up and restore you server in minutes. Creates a iso for recovery if anything happens. easy to administrate
ConsNot a lot of bells and whistles but its free and does what is meant to and does it well and keeps your back up safe
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Mario N.
Network Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“Veeam Agent for windows”

ProsI liked how easy it wass to implement.You just install it,select what to backup and choose backup location.You choose when to perform backup ant thats it.
ConsI have no complaints on any features or perrformance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Eric T.
I.T. Supervisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018

“Veeam is a good solution for bare metal back ups and restoring to other hardware as well. Rock solid”

ProsIt's been very reliable in the businesses I have implemented it. The bare metals do a good job and I've found it to be relatively easy to implement and administrate.
ConsIt can have a slight learning curve for those who aren't familiar with backup solutions or concepts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018
Avatar Image
Daniel M.
Administrador de sistemas y Desarollo de Software
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019

“Easy way to backup a Windows Server.”

Prosthis is a excelent standalone product to back up critical workstations to an external HDD.
ConsThe schedule is a little complex the firsts backup, you have to tune a little.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Dennis S.
Quality Management Representative
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019

“A great assistant to full windows backup”

Overallthe turn around time for restoration of failed or lost endpoint is greatly reduced
ProsBacking up windows to an external drive with this agent makes recovery and replication easy especially when one opts onto a replication plan, the file is cloud ready!
ConsThere hasn't been any issues encountered with the solution yet. The software is progressively growing steadily
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019
Matthew G.
IT Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Veeam Windows Client has made everything so much easier!”

ProsVeeam Windows Client is what prompted our company to move from a different backup software we have used for years to Veeam. The client works very well, is easy to install, has a small footprint on the OS and you cannot go wrong for the price.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Andre F.
Director of IT
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2018

“Great backup system ”

ProsIt is a really cool system for backup. I used when backing up vms. It's easy to easy setup and install.
ConsThe version I used didn't have rev controls for backups. I do believe they have a version that allows multiple backups of the same vm for restore purposes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2018