Strapi Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Strapi

Strapi is the open-source headless CMS based on Node.js for all your developers content management and API needs. In minutes, you have a working API and can concentrate on developing software without the hassle of CMS complexities. All your data is made available through a 100% customizable API to be a perfect fit for your needs. We take care of the backend for you so you don't have to. Companies of all sizes are already using Strapi in production. Learn more about Strapi

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 31 of 31 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 31 of 31 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Derrick M.
Data Center Operations Technician
Computer Games, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“API Framework / Headless CMS Made easy (and free)”

OverallHonestly this is by far the easiest solution for jumping into the headless CMS world and even better as an API framework to power whatever your needs are; Web, Mobile, Desktop, IOT, and even a smart toaster! The Strapi team is great and works hard to release feature and fix bugs as fast as they can.
ProsStrapi is extremely easy to setup Simple database configuration with many choices (Mongo, Postgres, and MySQL) Simple to modify the backend code Getting up and running from zero to a complete API with data in as little as 10 to 20 minutes
ConsI do think that more time needs to be spent on building a solid foundation (which the Strapi team are working on) More time needs to be spent testing bugs for all usecases (or some automation for the frontend testing needs to be implemented and I believe that is being done right now) While not an issue with the software itself, I do think that services like Heroku need to be put on the backburner and not pushed as heavily as Strapi is a service, Heroku and other "serverless" environments are not built to handle complex applications. At the same time more user involvment with Pull Requests are something that would greatly help development and bug fixing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Arik C.
Software Engineer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019

“The search is over”

OverallI'm very impressed overall with the simplicity and lack of fluff, bloat features. The ui is clean intuitive and doesn't require extensive understanding of the guys to get going super quickly. The core product gives you more than enough to launch your APIs and there is good documentation that explain how to extend it when needed.
ProsI'm building a running related platform that features unique running events around the world. I'm doing this as a part time "gig" because I have full time job. For the front end I settled on react which seems to do the trick. For the backend there were lots of options but my requirements were: easy UI for editors, configurable data model, graphql and an easy way to customize the functionality. In other words, I wanted something that would get me up and running in no time but that I could also fine tune down the road for custom features. After spending a significant amount of time researching hosted, self-hosted, open source and commercial offerings I found strapi. It ticked every one of my requirement boxes and then some. It's even able to run on postgres which is my favorite db. Now I'm working full speed to launch my website and figure out my content instead of spending months trying to build a backend and UI for it from scratch.
ConsWould be nice to have an easy launcher or AMI for AWS. Seems like deployment options could be better documented.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019
Vijayant S.
Backend web developer
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“Save time and money of building a REST API backend for your app”

OverallWe built businesses with this tool by just using it as a simple CMS system. It's content type builder has a great intuitive user interface that helps design schemas really fast.
Pros1. You can get a production ready REST API backend for you super duper hit mobile or web app in mere 20 minutes. 2. Ease with which you can select different database types.
ConsUser management module can have customer role user facing dashboard too.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019
Jean-Philippe D.
Software Developper
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019

“The CMD Front-end Developpers love.”

ProsIt is true. Strapi is very convenient to use and also customize. It works using plugins and makes it really easy to stay organised. No more will you have to re-write boring redundent API codes.
ConsCan't really say anything bad about it right now other than the fact there the learning curve can be slightly big and the lack of videos online when learning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019
Haythem T.
front end dev
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019

“wonderful headless cms”

Overalli was looking for a headless cms and i found strapi fit perfectly with what i need.
Proseasy to use simple to setup and to configure support graphql
Consstill in alpha no many plugins available
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019
Bruno A.
Full Stack JavaScript Developer
Entertainment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019

“The future of Headless CMS for Node”

OverallI have been experimenting with Strapi for the past 6 months and have loved every minute of it. It truly solves the data coupling problem associated with traditional CMS's, and does so in a very intuitive way. Strapi is an amazing product, and I can see it being heavily adopted by Node developers in the future. The fact that it is open-source makes it even better.
Pros- Setting up a new project is extremely simple - Layout is great - Supports many database types - API creation is flexible and very customizable (as advertised)
Cons- Minor annoying bugs (alpha version) - Not many plugins/extensions yet - Internationalization features are missing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Utilities, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2019

“Using Strapi to Unlock GIS data”

OverallWe needed to expose GIS data stored in a proprietary database to users via the browser. Strapi allowed me to quickly write the backend code that had authorization and a REST API built in. I connected one end to the GIS and the other to a React-based front-end, using GeoJSON. This allowed the business to unlock GIS data without having to rely on proprietary GIS clients.
ProsStrapi is easy to use and the included GUI allows setting up data, performing admin tasks and creating endpoints intuitive and simple. I also like the hooks that allow me to add standard functionality.
ConsSo far I haven't found anything not to like. I used to have to write custom code, now Strapi has eliminated much of this code.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2019
Avatar Image
Luiz B.
Desenvolvedor Front-end
Internet, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“One of the best Headless CMS i've used.”

OverallI use it to provide a API for my Nuxt.js Applications. As it is simple to use, create apis for my applications its not hard to me anymore, since i've been start to use Strapi API.
ProsThe simplicity of use. It's very easy to use and have so much options to make simple to create a api that my web applications needed.
ConsIts not simple to deploy it on production servers, especially on AWS and Heroku. I have so much issues before have success to deploy it on theses servers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
William B.
Full-Stack Developer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2019

“The Best Open Source Headless CMS”

OverallIt is amazing. The amount of flexibility and the fact that it is free is great. I have used a few other Headless CMS and this one is by far the best. Highly recommend!
ProsThe flexibility that allows the developer to really customize the data schema when building the entities and relationships.
ConsThe CLI was not working the best when creating a startup project. The easy install has you type in which db to use, but mine was defaulting to others. I just explicitly called all the parameters in the install command and it worked that way. Not a big deal, but could be a major road block for a new developer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2019
THANSEEM N.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“Awesome Product”

OverallI have built a media centre for my project
Pros1.Flexibility 2.MultiLanguage support 3.Customization
Cons1.I have used umbraco cms.As of now there is no cons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Javier R.
Sr Front end developer
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Great software”

ProsIt is easy to use and implementvery intuitive
Cons Currently I have not seen consI think it's an excellent option
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Rubén F.
Head of Engineering
Sports, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“Awesome for agile startups”

ProsHighly customizable, beautiful and intuitive interface and the large amount of databases avaliable to use with.
ConsIt is on an Alpha state, so it is dangerous to rely on it for production. The ecosystem of plugins is on its infancy, so you would writing some common tasks (and potentially critical, like verifying payments)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Mattias B.
Junior Software Engineer
Information Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“Simple but still very functional! With endless posibilities (and customisation). ”

OverallI use Strapi as a node backend, this is usefull in combination with my node frontend webapp.
ProsThe way to setup a api quickly without much coding, but still understanding te basics.
ConsThe problems with windows, this slowed down my start. But vm's offered a solution and after a good development setup I was very well on my way.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
Rafael H.
Analista de sistemas
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019

“Really good open source project”

OverallI'm solving our back end API getting really fast the project.
ProsStrapi is ease to use, totally functional and extensible with your needs. Already support graphQL and is using koa framework so is totally updated with news technology.
ConsI missed some languages translations only.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019
Bernardo b.
Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“Very easy to user for beginners”

OverallI'm loving It
ProsVery user friendly and easy to use , for a beginner who want's to start developing api's this is by far one of my favorites
ConsSo far nothing nothing made me dislike this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019

“Creating your own API is really easy ”

OverallI wanted to develop a personal program and a friend of mine told me about strapi : you don't really care about the backend ? So go to use Strapi and indeed, Strapi helped me a lot and I earn so much time with it!
ProsThe easy and really quick way to create content type and data and access to it with Postman.
ConsThe little bug about default value for enumerated type.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019
Anton B.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019

“REST-api-first CMS for MongoDB with modern features and active developer community”

ProsStrapi is actively being developed and extended to fit the needs of the growing user base. The community around Strapi including the Slack channel have been very helpful. We were able to start prototypingimmediately with Strapi and built a mobile client and a web user panel on top of it (got to love REST+Oauth)!
ConsWhile active development means that popular features are implemented as they are requested by the community, some less popular features may take longer to realize.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019
Justin S.
Web Developer
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“Fantastic Headless Alternative”

ProsThe simplicity of getting Strapi up and running and connected to your frontend is key. Building content types is a great experiance and very fluid. I love the environment switching in the backend, this really solves a pain point in traditional cms workflows. I also really appreciate the separation of concerns, in other words not creating another "everything but the kitchen sink" cms.
ConsIt needs more extensions. However, I'm sure this will come with time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
Sebastian J.
Front End Engineer
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Ridiculously Simple”

OverallOften times smaller projects are not profitable enough. With Strapi they are. It is so easy to spin up a simple api + backend so that i can focus on providing an awesome frontend. love it already!
Pros_simplicity of building simple backends or apis for my customers _superfast protoyping or production ready apis / backends _highly customizable _plugin system
Cons_there are only a few plugins (which will change soon afaik -> roadmap)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Renan Henrique F.
CTO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2019

“Easy of use, fast and reliable API creator / CMS Headless ”

ProsFast and easy to learn and deploy. Concise code and reliable. Nice way to introduct my team to JS API.
ConsShould have a "front-end" view with examples os all created APIs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“Dmitry Barabash -> Review for Strapi”

OverallStart work with Strapi on the per project
ProsUser interface, usabillity, speed, js stack
ConsFirst installation was with problem. Will be good if you'll add guide when user first login
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
Samantha T.
Systems developer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2019

“Focus on the front end”

ProsEasy, quick solution to build back end api.
ConsData has no version control, cannot revert back.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2019
Bruno V.
Web Developer
Online Media, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“What else?”

OverallStrapi to the Moon !
ProsSimple as it. You will.. you get ! No need deeply knowledge of anykind of language. First try and adopted..
ConsNeed more features for a real Headless production CMS.. But in a few months, Strapi will be my best friend forever :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“It's a great product”

ProsHaving zero knowledge about node I was able to quickly jump in and make an API for an iOS app, once I got stuck I was able to dig into the code and even managed to fix an issue with one of the DB drivers.
ConsIt's changing too fast, but that was expected given that is an alpha.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
Robert C.
Developer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019

“Just started, but appears fantastic”

ProsThe admin system looks fantastic and the ease with which you can expose endpoints for the API is great.
ConsNone so far. I will build something over the coming weekend. But so far, everything looks good :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019
Justin H.
Web Developer
Telecommunications, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019

“Simple and Easy Start up”

OverallJust amazing
ProsHow easy and simple it is to get up and running. The Documentation is well laid out as well.
ConsNone at the current time. No problems really.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“strapi get the job done”

OverallSo far so good. I am still new to it but I'm enjoying it nonetheless.
ProsI loved the nice admin dashboard, the simple setup and the addition of authentication
ConsI don't have any serious concern yet. I will give more information later
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Julian D.
Inhaber / Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Ease of use”

Proswell, the ease of use is unique CRUD API in minutes runnable inside Docker
Consthe alpha still has some bugs - but thats not really a con (its alpha)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Umut K.
Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Awesome Headless CMS”

ProsRest and graphql Builtin admin panel Fast and easy setup
ConsSupport only 3 db Not powerfull as feathersjs
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Omar A.
Software engineer
Computer Networking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“One of the best framework/CMS i ever used”

Overall100/100
ProsIts easy to do what ever you want plus its free
ConsNothing, For now I dont have any cons ..
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
Nurettin Ç.
Full stack developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Easy Development Process”

ProsBasically, you can create your Restful API in a couple of minutes. Besides, you can create your content types with comprehensive relationships and you can manage all the rules of API access easily.
ConsProvide user access to the management panel with a limited authorization that can manage only CRUD operations on the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019