HideMyAss Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About HideMyAss

VPN software for seamless access to any site that protects your important information even over public WiFi. Learn more about HideMyAss

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 37 of 37 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 37 of 37 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Opeyemi O.
English Teacher
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018

“Hidemyass review”

ProsPrivacy; this is a bit tricky as from my perspective, this part of the vpn is both an advantage and a disadvantage depending on where you are coming from. The intetnet privacy collects some sort of information that will be detailed in the cons but the good thing is, they never track your usage and the websites you visit and that is some sort of privacy you paid for. Speed; depending on whether ypu are using the service on a smartphone or a personal computer, there's never that slugiish feeling that comes with using free vpn trials, your internet connection is as swift as ever, only that now you're shielded from every prying eyes that's interested in what you do on the internet. Simplicity; hma's ease of use can be compared to no other as just about anyone can get around the interface to get to their various needs. Vastness; hma deserves all the accolades when it comes to the available servers presented to you to choose from, there's a lot of vpns out there with promises of a wide selection of servers when you upgrade to their subscription based service, at the end of the day, what you get is not usually what you paid for.
ConsPricing; in all sincerity, to some class of people, the pricing of their services is fair but to others, it's not so fair as there are other alternatives with cheaper subscription fee, the company will do better for themselves to review the pricings. Extended options; there's little to no provision for power users who use vpns for more thsn bypassing restrictions on multimedia websites, some of us use vpn for accessing our funds on online payment systems who are strict on how you access your account, a slight change in your ip address can ruin years of hardwork as cash of many has been stranded cause of this oversight PC user interface; the ux team must be headed by someone who is as lazy as lazy can get as he somehow maneuvered his way to port the smartphone interface on personal computers and it is an eye sore. Privacy; with hma you don't have all the privacy you paid for as some information that might make you uncomfortable is being collected as you surf the net
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Jeramy C.
Psychology and Technology Instructor
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018

“The name says it all”

OverallOverall, I love this tool. In looking for a VPN, I could not help but note the name... it is pretty much what I want to use a VPN for when I am working remotely. I travel a lot and work online, so I need to be able to access company networks and want to ensure that I am safe personally and professionally. HMA has been easy to use and the one issue I had was resolved in short order with an email. I have been a user for about a year and have another year on my subscription, and I anticipate renewing when my subscription is up.
ProsVery easy to use and has apps and software fo all platforms. Setup takes just a couple of minutes, and the tool will turn on when needed and remain off when not. HMA has been very stable and reliable, and I enjoy being able to work from any site remotely without the worry of wondering how is accessing my system or seeing my work projects.
ConsThe one challenge that I have is in regard to the iPhone and Mac software; may be a challenge on all. When accessing the internet in some public locations, such as Starbucks, you must first select the network then agree to the terms to use the wifi. The challenge is that HMA detects and turns on, and then the connection fails a causes some issues in connecting. I have learned that when I access one of these networks, I have to dosconnect from HMA, agree to the terms, then turn on HMA. The same issue occurs on my iPhone, and may happen more often as I access dofferent networks throughout the week. While I have come to know how to resolve, it can be annoying sometimes with delays in access and having to occasionally restart.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Monday A.
Freelancer
Writing and Editing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018

“One of the best VPN I have used ”

OverallHideMyAss is good and for business wise it will be one of the best because of multiple servers and one license can be used on multiple computers and mobile gadget.
ProsHideMyAss is one of the best VPN I have used and really efficient because of the several and multiple servers the have. They have over 10,000 servers and that gives me the choice to select any server location that I wish to use. It is equally cheap compared to other VPN services. I will recommend this VPN service to any person who is looking for a cheap VPN service with multiple location and their customer service is very fast and efficient and always respond to any inquiries.
ConsHideMyAss is good but I discovered that some of their servers are not really good. It is either they are blacklisted or their DNS will be showing that of your country which you resides and that is not suppose to be so. Unless you contact their customer care before they will fix it. They should try and check on their servers before they give it out to the public for use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Desmond N.
Document Controller
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018

“HMA is fast and secure”

OverallMy overall experience with HMA has been good especially in the diversity of its VPN server network.
ProsHMA is very fast and secure and I can say that HideMyAss is about the best VPN out there. It is cost effective compared to a lot of VPN software and services out there. It has servers in almost all the countries of the world and I find this very convenient for my work and its servers are fast. The fact that it has several server options for every country makes it even more attractive. The setup is also easy and seamless. You can use it on different types of devices too. It also has secure OPenVPN encryption and no ip leaks.
ConsThe Windows client interface may be a little confusing for new users especially in selecting servers. I hated that HMA does nt have IPv6 protection and support sometimes cannot answer more technical questions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Gambling & Casinos, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“Good VPN Service”

OverallIt is a relatively good product - been on the market for a number of years which adds credibility and trust. However since this didn't work 100% of the time I stopped using the service.
ProsYou're able to select from 280 locations in terms of IP to use. This gives enough flexibility and ability to access almost any website on the internet.
ConsThe service still doesn't work with all platforms online, so I wouldn't say this is the only service you need to watch "anything" online.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Phil H.
Senior Lecturer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2018

“Worked brilliantly for me for a couple of years but struggled to keep up with blockers”

ProsHMA was very easy to set up and use and I used it happily for a number of years. Always found their support very responsive, patient and helpful. Used across devices successfully.
ConsAs HULU and Netflix and others got better at blocking VPNs, I found that HMA struggled to keep up and ahead. I eventually found another VPN that was able to immediately respond and changed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2018
Victor W.
Customer Representative
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2018

“Browsing anonymously ”

ProsI love the logo ,it reeks personality .The selection if IPs is rich ,which is very good when you need to change them regularly .
ConsHowever one of the reasons for needing to change regularly is that a lot of the IPs are slow or dead as a whole. There is definitely room for improvement there .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“Straightforward easy to use, handy and gets the job done for me”

ProsFast and efficient while still remaining anonymous. Although not as versatile or as powerful as other softwares in this same industry, this gets the job done and has a long standing reputation.
ConsIt could be alittle more feature rich with functionality, and it can be clunky sometimes I have experienced when loading it up initially, but overall it is a great proxy software to use that I recommend.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Okikiola B.
Business Owner
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“For good connection and anonymous surfing”

OverallI was able to bypass some country restrictions.
ProsI purchased a subscription for 1 year and i've been enjoying it so far. I can connect up to 5 devices at once. I love this specially because they provide server in all states in USA. They have a fast live customer chat too.
Cons I believe their fee is a bit high. I was able to purchase mine because i was given a promo code. Also, this VPN connects wronglt to another location sometimes. I may choose to connect to New York but HMA will give me CZECH REPUBLIC IP Address. They should work more on this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Tara S.
owner
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018

“Excellent VPN for the price”

Prosprice, functionality, ease of use, user interface and customer service. Masks your internet signatures really well
Consauto renewal, there is free VPN's out there that save you money
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018
Irena M.
Sales Agent
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018

“It does indeed hideyourass ”

ProsThere is a fairly rich selection of https VPNs ,which are normally quick .Works as advertised
ConsThere are cheaper options with a richer selection .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018
Dragi P.
Programmer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018

“Easy and safe to use”

ProsI really like this app it's great for safe browsing the internet, I really like because its so fast in connecting in other servers, and really lightweight application.
ConsThere is not much that is bad on this software, but when i use it on my Android device sometimes when i open it the app crashes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018
Caleb T.
Wireless Consultant
Wireless, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018

“Decent VPN for whatever your needs may be.”

ProsDefinitely good for remaining anonymous on the web from snooping eyes. It also can help you get around blocked websites blocked by many orgabizations. Always connects and not many issues.
ConsI use The free version, which you don't get to choose your server. You usually get a foreign one which can mess with search results. If you're on a paid an you do get to choose US locations, which are faster and localized. Guess it comes down to whether youbwanna pay or not.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2018
Dennis N.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018

“Am using it while developing an application that is only availlable in some countries.”

ProsI like the most that it's pretty simple to use and fast, also the search bar makes my life complete because sometimes i need to connect to a specifc city and i dont have to search in that huge dropdown.
ConsI don't like that the window is very small and i feel like they could go for a bigger one and show more information in one screen only, then it could be possible to operate this app without many clicks and navigations through the screens.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Kate L.
Branch Manager
Staffing and Recruiting, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“An great VPN tool with convenient and efficient features. ”

ProsThis tool is a great VPN service. We can buy subscription packages at quite low rates. Their service is quite efficient and we can access any country and their respective divisions with this tool . We can also favorite our servers and keeps them using again and again. It allows secure browsing with protection from hackers and location trackers. Customer service is also very helpful which helps and guides in a very productive manner.Overall, a great service.
Cons Been using this tool for a while and haven't faced any issues at all. I'm very much happy with the service and the tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Marco Antonio P.
Director de operaciones
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018

“Hide My Ass it's a expensive VPN with a powerful Secure OpenVPN encryption”

OverallHide My Ass allows me to browse anonymously on the internet and it prevents anyone lurking on my local network from monitoring or intercepting my network activity.
ProsIt has a huge number of fast servers, it allows five simultaneous connections, with a great in Android app, it's come with a powerful Secure OpenVPN encryption.
ConsRelies heavily on virtual server locations, it has a poor customer service, it's expensive, and does not have a ad blocking protection.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018
carolyn y.
owner
Arts and Crafts, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Great for finding proxy servers”

ProsSo ok, I will admit it... I use this software for gaming. I use it to vote for myself in a game so I can get greater rewards... cheating? yes... I know it... But to review the software, its great! It gives you many choices of proxy servers to hide behind, and they are seamless. theres no lag when on a proxy, and it works wonderfully. Definitely recommend.
ConsNot as many American proxys as I'd like to see.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019

“Great for checking geo restricted campaigns”

ProsWe often have to check tracking of campaigns that are geo restricted, thus we need a way to make it appear that we are accessing the URL from another location. This is where HideMyAss comes in. The interface is easy to use and makes it quick to access the desired IP location.
ConsSpeed hasn't always been blazing, but that it's not a problem for our purposes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019
Avatar Image
Sudeep A.
Language Analyst
Publishing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2019

“Popular but maybe not the best now”

ProsIt is still quite fast. It unblocks even Netflix! There are many servers all over, so works well even when I'm travelling. I can use it on Mac as well as Windows computers, and the interface is easy! The choices of modes is also convenient.
ConsIt stores the IPs. Not reliable in China.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2019
Luke S.
CEO
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2018

“Great VPN at Great Price”

ProsWe have been using Hide my Ass for years and the price to value rating is unbeatable
ConsThey could add some more cities to the current ones.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2018
Avatar Image
Iyanu V.
Founder
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“Fast & Good VPN but can also be deceptional”

ProsHMA has plenty of IPs available for almost all countries in the World and keeps no logs of any of them, it is totally secure and very fast. It has all the feature a standard VPN should have including kill switch, Cross-Platform Support, one-click connect and disconnect, and so on.
ConsOnly a few locations in the USA, Canada, and the UK work perfectly, selecting a city in the USA might end up with you having the IP of Czech Republic and this is the same with some of the P2P enabled locations. It is best to verify the IP and Country for each location so as to be sure.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018

“Works better in some countries than others, but great customer service”

OverallNot good for bypassing the firewall in China, but otherwise it's worth considering.
ProsStraightforward to install and use. It has a free trial, which is better than some other VPNs which only offer a one-month money back guarantee. When it didn't work for me, the customer service was prompt to reply my refund request and I got my money back in 2 day.
ConsGot HideMyAss to access my email and other blocked sites on my work trip to Mainland China, but it was so slow it was barely usable. Works fine in Hong Kong but unfortunately I didn't need it there. Many VPNs that works well elsewhere doesn't work in China so it wasn't too surprising.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018
Steven H.
Customer Representative
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018

“Ace VPN provider .”

ProsHideMyAss has a rich choice of VPNs .Most of the time they work great and the connection is fast .It helps keep your browsing private ,which becomes more and more necessary .
ConsThey previously had free options ,which are no longer available .As for recently I have also noticed an increase of IPs that cannot access https sites ,causing inconvenience .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018
Kaloyan Z.
Customer Sales Representative
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2018

“Good way to stay protected online”

ProsI really like their branding , the service is very smart in how they present themselves . It is a good VPN service and their premium IPs are reliable and do the job.
ConsThey originally had free IPs ,of admittedly lower quality .The feature is no longer available and it was a good way got get your feet wet in the VPN world .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2018
Andrew M.
Hypnotist
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“A good VPN, but with some flaws.”

OverallIt seemed good, but definitely not a good price, although not the highest far. The app works fine on my device. But if there is an issue I never had any luck with customer service. I just gave up. If they sorted out the privacy issues (which surely is the main reason for using VPN), I would consider them in the future.
ProsThis was easy to use and seemed to do a good job. They have worldwide servers and the speeds seemed good and steady.
ConsI could not get Netflix. Reports and reviews showed security issues, and they have to give up certain information to government agencies This seems to defeat the purpose. Can only use 2 devices with an account. That seems too limiting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Publishing, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018

“In cognito browsing.”

ProsIt helps keep my risky browsing habits private from hackers, roommates, and employers. It's easy to set up, and the customer service is awesome!
ConsAt times, load times can extend beyond normal length. The software's instability leads to crashes and lag.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018
Peter V.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“A good VPN provider ,but definitely not the best”

ProsA fairly rich and varied selection of addresses ,most of which are quick to load .
ConsI began with the free addresses they posted on their sites and gradually moved to premium when they removed that . Since then there has been a constant drop in the quality of service and VPNs you get ,eventually leaving me to switch .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Ama D.
CEO
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2018

“It just works!”

OverallI have had a flawless experience so far using it.
ProsHidemyass was easy to install. It is also very easy to use as you just select the country that you want to 'appear' to be working in and you're connected. Disconnecting or choosing another location is as easy as pie. This takes away from the apprehension I initially had about it possibly taking a lot technically to set up.
ConsNone. It puts this kind of service in the hands of the ordinary PC user as opposed to being some super technical hacker to make it happen.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2018
Sirma A.
Customer Sales Representative
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2018

“Easy ,good VPN provider ”

ProsI like that HideMyAss makes my web browsing for both work and personal stuff more secure and fairly anonymous .They do the job they set out to do .
ConsThe pricing range should be reevaluated if they want to remain competitive .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Donald R.
Substance Abuse Counselor
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2019

“Best name ever”

ProsStart with the name, its the BEST. It delivers as advertised, was able to safely and securely browse confidential sites with confidence
ConsThere are no cons for this software, I was pleasantly surprised and will continue past trial
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Raul V.
Presidente
Music, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2018

“Recommendaded”

OverallIts a good service and very safe but I used it for a short time and preferred to use a cheaper one and I can connect more devices.
ProsIn general is a very good service, has many servers and the connection is fast, reliable and without problems. It is also very easy to upload heavy files.
ConsIt can connect to 2 devices simultaneously, it does not have a free version and analyzing its price with other VPN's is more expansive, also takes time to configure and install it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2018
Daniel S.
Student
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2018

“Easy to use, but not reliable”

ProsThis VPN software gets the task done easily and is pretty easy to setup. The learning curve of use is low.
ConsSometimes this VPN would not work correctly or my connection would become slow. I do not trust this software as much as other VPNs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“Great product, does its job well”

OverallSlightly confusing interface, but very functional and useful. Everyone should have a good VPN!
ProsThis is one of the most functional VPNs I've found. It does it's job well, and offers a few nice features like being able to pick a very wide variety of locations and access it easily from the menu bar at the top of the computer. Good value for the service!
ConsThe interface is confusing when you first start, but once you learn the processes it's easily repeatable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019
Claire D.
Customer Sales Representative
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018

“Serviceable VPN ”

ProsHideMyAss has a rich variety of addresses ,from almost any imaginable location .This enables you to circumvent any potential location restrictions and also helps you stay protected online .
ConsNot as many https options as I would like and also fairly pricey ,compared to similar products.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018
Usamedin N.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018

“Used it to work remotely for a software company that had the software available only in some country”

ProsI like the most that is extremely easy to use, the selection of country and connecting to it its pretty straight forward, i also like that it has most of the countries in the world and of course the last thing is that its color design are very pleasing
ConsI don't like that its not stable sometimes it says that am connected but really its not, second thing is that if i leave my laptop on standby for half an hour ( am using macOS) when i turn it on again the connection to internet its lost and i have to restart.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Broadcast Media, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019

“Disappointing Experience ”

OverallThis is the first time using HideMyAss. I have used other VPN services in the past. It was simple to install but it was all downhill after that. I didn't bother with the trial. I signed up and paid for a month to month subscription right off the bat. My main issues, it took almost 5 minutes to connect to a server. Then it kept dropping the connection after that. I installed it on my Windows PC, Chromebook and Android phone. It hasn't work on any of them. The biggest issue is it doesn't connect period. It just sits their saying connecting...but then never does. Very disappointed and I have already canceled my subscription.
ProsIt was simple to install and had no issues as far as that's concerned.
ConsPoor consistency with connections. It just hasn't worked for me at all.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019
Ryan K.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“Effective VPN but better VPN's are out there”

ProsServers are globally diversified which is great; purpose-based server selection which is great; friendly user-interface; good speed!
ConsThis VPN is overly reliant on virtual servers, which is disturbing; also logs more user info than most VPN's; expensive VPN; lacks certain advanced VPN features
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018