YMS Ratings

Overall
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Service
4.1/5

About YMS

PINC is the #1 selling Yard Management System. Since 2004, companies are partnering with PINC to overcome their yard and supply chain execution challenges. From small facilities to enterprises with multiple locations. According to our customers, the key reasons they have selected PINC's yard management system are proven results, quick deployment, immediate value, easy-of-use, automation, scalability, the ability to easily integrate to other systems, and quick time to benefit. Learn more about YMS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 7 of 7 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 7 of 7 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Christopher L.
IT Project Manager
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2020

“Pioneering a new way to automate”

OverallOverall I am pleased with the experience with utilizing the PINC solution. I marked down the customer service portion, but that is more reflective of accounting issues or engineering delays. Our project manager was\is amazing. He spent the weeks leading up to the rollout on site with us and felt like a member of the staff. He follows up regularly and is the main driver behind the success of our implementation. PINC has become a named portion of our IT landscape.
ProsThe PINC application has made it possible to automate a process that was performed either manually or on home grown applications that were difficult to manage, weren't robust, and were prone to failure. We worked with the engineering team at PINC to develop an automated process where our sequence requirements were generated by us, transmitted to PINC, and then to our over the road carriers and yard drivers. The visibility of the containers in the application has become an integral part of our operation.
ConsThe ability to change the yard configuration or to verify receipt of data can be cumbersome. The engineering team is willing to work with us, but the team appears to be small which means you can get the feeling of being in a "take a number" situation. The turnaround time on changes can often take longer than my management expects, but we are usually asking for significant changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2020
Rick A.
Regional manager for the shuttle department
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018

“ Yard management usage ”

Overall I thought my overall experience starts at the top. The support team at PINC is outstanding. As long as we have been with why YMS I have never experienced a bad experience but call in the Support system . They are always helpful and insightful. I'm sure there is still more to know about the system that would benefit both the support team and the customer. I welcome any opportunity to participate in brainstorming or more feedback. I have enjoyed the system and I believe it's a great value to our customers.
Pros One of the top things that is really good about this system . It is right there inside the cab of the truck . Very visible for the driver driver friendly easy to read and understand. less noise to and from the customer. Easy to keep the yard updated on where assess are. Allows the drivers the opportunity to find equipment a lot faster. It also allows the crew to work better as a team.
Cons One of the things I don't like about the system is the drivers cannot talk back through the system to the inside supervisors. It would be nice if the driver could type a message into the system back to the leads in regards to locating or not being able to locate a trailer. This would give more clarity to the system .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018
Peter S.
Project Management Officer
Logistics and Supply Chain, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2020

“PINC YMS”

OverallThe product has worked well for us. It provided the flexibility of installing the passive RFID tag option for the larger, more complex and high velocity operations, as well as, a lower cost cellular tablet option for the smaller, less complex operations. We were able to lower our overall cost of yard management and greatly improve our yard visibility.
ProsThe ramp-up, installation & training went well on all 5 of the sites we have launched with PINC over the last 9 years.
ConsWorking through the required configuration elements, but, the efforts were necessary and expected.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2020
Jeff G.
Transportation Manager
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2018

“Yard Management or is it Warehouse Management”

OverallContent customer, improved yard moves from what we believe was 6/hour to 9/hour, on average.
ProsYard visibility - both jockeys and assets
ConsFragile system, limited reader distance/scope
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2018
Joe U.
Warehouse Manager
Warehousing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2018

“Would Recommend ”

OverallWarehouse leadership now has visibility on trailer moves in process and moves scheduled to make more accurate decisions throughout the night.
ProsReal time visibility Streamlines communication between warehouse and yard spotters Ability to run reports to track driver performance
ConsLonger learning curve during implementation than expected due to no on-site support
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2018
Jason A.
Transportation Manager
Industrial Automation, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2020

“PINC YMS”

OverallOverall we have been well pleased with the PINC YMS. It is a must have tool on a daily bases now.
ProsThe maps, live views, easy of moving trailer on yard, and the easy of the yard checks
ConsThe guard log. It does not show inbound and outbound. Once an Outbound trailer is marked as OB the inbound information disappears.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2020
LaQuinta J.
Shipping/Outbound Team Support
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018

“PINC has been working excellent! Great way to keep up with every truck that enters our gate.”

ProsIt's easy to navigate to each tab to input data, and to look up information pertaining to gate entries, reports, assets, user id's, or updating important information.
ConsNothing that I can think of at the moment that can make me dislike using this software, or possibly want to change it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018