HacknPlan Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About HacknPlan

HacknPlan brings game design documentation and project management together in a unique game production tool that provides a semantic way of organizing, planning and tracking the progress of your game. Learn more about HacknPlan

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Computer Games, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018

“So nearly great”

OverallWe found this software slow, and clunky to use. Although it's absolutely bespoke to games development and has naming conventions we can all understand and get behind, sadly it's not well enough developed to be a truly reliable and useful system.
ProsFor many years, games developers have had to suffer the wrath of the "project manager", the traditional ways of software development rules and law. Waterfall this, and MS project that. Because games development is such a creative environment, traditional methods of tracking progress simply don't work. Tasks can repeat, tasks can simply disappear because they are no longer relevant, when you start you simply don't know where the end point will be. Nine times out of ten, you're not sure what you're actually doing. This all sounds like chaos? Right? So what you need is a really simple way of tracking the things your team are doing, broken down by discipline, with a centralised way of keeping everyone on the same page with the current ideas and concepts of your magnum opus. Along comes hacknplan, created and used by games developers, that should be perfect right? They've made games before so know "how it is" and will be able to make a software system that is bespoke to games development. They almost get there too, there's a central design repository that is great for keeping your projects latest and greatest documentation in, and then tasks can be easily managed per discipline. Overall it's nearly right, but see my cons section for where it all falls a bit short.
ConsMy biggest problems with Hack N Plan is that the trial / base version of the software is far too lightweight to be useful, and then the gap to the paid tiers, simply is too big. It's expensive for what it does, and we found the website to be slow and unresponsive (at best) without any mobile app integrations. But also, we found it has a problem with "mouse click verbosity" (for want of a better term) - it literally does *nothing* for you automatically on the lower tiers. Want to set a start and end date for a task? that'll be 7 mouse clicks to you kind sir, want to copy a task and rename it? Okay, we'll append the world "CLONE OF original task" to the name of the task and you'll have to manually edit this out every single time. There's so much right with this software, but you can easily tell it's not made by a team of 100 software developers in Southern California. It's made by a small team who aren't implementing features or fixes anywhere near fast enough for professional games development teams to have full confidence in it's platform. It's project reporting tools are also, not good enough for the amount of effort that is required to on-board the entire studio onto the platform. The output is simply not equal to the amount of effort it requires to do even the basics.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Games, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018

“A game developer oriented task manager”

OverallTask management that is Game developer oriented and easy to use, so developers can focus on developing the game.
ProsThis software is focused on game development task management, that means it allows you to track tasks, resources committed to each task, milestones, performance, create custom items type related to specific game dev features/mechanics. It also lets you create specific categories to anchor tasks, but it comes with a base layout that is good enough to start.
ConsIts easy to use but its basic, can work well for small companies/projects and the customization of Design objects is limited to a fixed list of item types.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Judah P.
Software Developer
Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2018

“Great tool for organizing my game project with both tasks and outlining.”

OverallHigher productivity and organization. Highly recommended if you are using Trello and need more.
ProsThe tool for task management with categories, stages, and milestones. I was using Trello before but I was having issues organizing everything on a giant board. With HacknPlan I split the tasks up between the milestones but the the Game Design Model keeps the bigger picture available. Overall, this tool has made me more productive and organized in my game projects.
ConsI'm really hoping for more updates. Everything works for the most part but some features such as dragging and dropping don't work very well in Firefox. And it needs more integrations. It just barely added support for Bitbucket but it has had Github support for much longer. They have a lot in the roadmap so it's not like the they don't know we want more, just it's still a young tool and still growing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2018
Nils S.
Producer and Game Designer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2017

“When use to using those kind of tools, it was easy to get into”

ProsFlexible boards, gantt, milesones, autosave, several assigned to one task, sub-tasks. It is also great that you can integrate several third-party services.
ConsLike it or not, I'm not a big fan on how the game design model is. We don't have our design documentation in hacknplan, but use google docs for convenience and because people that are not part of the dev. also needs to read and review them. Hacknplan seem to be very based around the game design model, but it is a feature that we don't really use. A normal wiki (with the ability to limit some pages to only a few w. access) would be more useful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Games, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 30, 2017

“I love the software and it fits our projects perfectly”

ProsWhat I love the most is the way I can customize the data in the task list making it fit our projects and work style perfectly.
ConsWhat I like the least about the software is the notification system. We have turned it off because if floods email/slack with notification that don't really tell anything. For example if another user adds a comment, then the comment given should be included in the email/slack notification, but I only get a notification that there is a new comment available on a given task. When you get between 10 and 50 of these a day, it get a bit annoying.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 30, 2017
Millan S.
Creative Director/Lead Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2017

“Keeps me organized and focused on sprints. Agile meets game development, and it's awesome.”

ProsI love the agile workflow, particularly milestones and time estimation. The integrated time tracker is really nice too.
ConsIt could be a little faster/I'd love a native desktop version. The GDM could use improvements, mostly because it houses high-level aspects of the game which don't really utilize due dates or things of that nature.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2017
Avatar Image
Matthew B.
Owner / Music Director
Entertainment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019

“A very useful workflow tool”

ProsThe learning curve seemed relatively smooth. It's designed with a fairly natural flow, particularly if you've used organizational and workflow software before. Buttons pushed do what you expect, and navigating through certain hierarchies move you to screens you expect.
ConsIt almost seems sometimes there is too much functionality, ie different ways you can navigate to the same thing. Althought I imagine in the game development world these are probably all necessary.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Anh L.
COO & CMO
Entertainment, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2019

“Very promising but the development is always slow and delayed”

ProsThe unique one for game development Game design model
ConsHigh price comparing with current features Slow development
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2019
Anders G.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2018

“Works reliably and help us plan and track our project”

ProsEase of use, fairly easy to add and manage tasks and milestones. It is an easy interface for our developers to use daily.
ConsWe lack the support of having sub-milestones within a longer milestone. Within a 3 month milestone we might want to have 1 demo milestone for 3-5 weeks. with separate sprints.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2017

“Helped us a lot to link what we're doing (through GDD) and what we must do to make it happen”

ProsGDD linkage to tasks, export of GDD, easy and fast task creation, good overview of where we stand in terms of each milestone.
ConsNothing in particular comes to my mind, since drag and drop has been improved it works OK on small screened mobile devices now (this was my only gripe before).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2017
Avatar Image
Esteban G.
Fundador
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2017

“An improvement to our workflow”

OverallImprovement in the workflow and communication in the team.
ProsIts game development focus and kanban implementation has making it very intuitive to use for all members of the team.
ConsThat it doesn't have a public API. This is relevant for us as we work in Unity3D and we would love to have tasks completed from the editor itself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2018

“Perfect for small private game projects”

ProsFast, can access from anywhere, easy to use, streamlined for game development, also includes game design model
ConsPretty basic features locked behind studio license, which I won't get for my single developer purposes
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Marian-Valentin M.
Lead Developer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2017

“Quite amazing”

OverallBetter team management, better and clearer GDD, the GDM is amazing
ProsIt is easy to use , the interface is very intuitive and the GDM makes it a great product for game development compared with the competition
ConsWhen the sidebar is present the loading circle is not aligned with the center of the custom background image, that bothers me quite a lot.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2017
Huy N.
CEO
Computer Games, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2017

“Useful, Easier To Use”

ProsSimple and Clear UI, UX Easy to learn and apply Many Useful features for Game Development Flexible
ConsServer Performance. Sometime, it's hard to connect and work. Beside it, we need more minor features: - Auto set deadline when a task move from Plan to InProgress if the estimate cost was filled. - Summary Report about work loads per man monthly, weekly. - Easier to find someone has no task assigned. - Filter apply for all projects
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 30, 2017

“Initially it meets the requirements for our project, but it's missing key features.”

ProsNice overview and kaban usage. Easy way to organize tasks. A bit expensive, but the customer support is spot on.
ConsNo notifications of overdue tasks! No logical breakdown of hours invested for individuals for shared tasks. There should also be discord integration as HnP is for game dev, and discord is as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 30, 2017
Christopher K.
Art Director
Computer Games, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2018

“It's like a Trello for gamedevs. ”

OverallBetter organization skills, reminders, project management, time management sort of.
ProsEasy to use, easy to look at, easy to manage. I like the fact that it has a log hours option. Free version is nice, not sure if the paid version was worth it mostly because it's hard to keep my coworkers on task with it (however, they're also unpaid at the moment so that's understandable).
ConsInterface takes some time to load, email notifications are okay but text is better. App would've been nice. Integrated calendar that doesn't require tasks to create dates would be nice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2018