Jenkins Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Jenkins

Open source automation server that offers a lot of plugins for software building, testing, and deployment. Learn more about Jenkins

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 251 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 251 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Tamseel A.
Full stack JavaScript developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“Jenkins is great open source continuous integration tool for large scale applications.”

OverallI have used Jenkins for few projects with team members, we used it because we needed more flexibility at configuration. It is the only choice when you need more control over integration and testing. It is hard to configure and install but that is the trade-off for control over customization and configuration. Jenkins is free of cost itself although you need to server to host it. We use Jenkins only for projects which require more configuration and security.
ProsCurrently Jenkins is the only CI tool which has the largest set of plugins, it gives you more control over how it should work, like you can customize pipeline of continuous integration and delivery. There are plugins allow you to run Jenkins in kubernetes and docker but we never ran it on containers. Huge number of plugins available for Jenkins which allow you to integrate with other tools and customize it to your needs, plugins are available at Jenkins update center. Great thing about Jenkins is it work on windows, Linux and mac OS. Cost of using Jenkins is free because its open source although you need server to host it, you must maintain and update and that's your responsibility.
ConsJenkins is not easy to use you need to configure it and host it before using unlike tools like travis CI which is ready to be used. Learning curve is steep because it has lot of features and customization which is little bit hard at start. Hosting server is needed to host Jenkins, which means you also need to pay for hosting. Maintenance and updation is user responsibility.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2018

“Great tool for continuous build and integration in software businesses”

OverallWe can solve one of the major problems of the deployments as Jenkins can take of our major continuous build and integration process and it is widely used in all the major and minor enterprise applications and the Jenkins source code is very free and is flexible and can be used in almost all the operating system.
ProsBest of Jenkins is it comes with wide range of the plugin suite and is used as the automation server software that can achieve continuous integration. It supports wide range of the operating system like UNIX,LINUX,Windows,etc. Good thing is it is open source and can we used with wide range of the major tools like CVS,GIT,ANT,Maven etc. Jenkins is easy to use and is very flexible. In jenkins we can integrate large number of the servers as a result team across the world can work continuously integrating the project.Jenkins helps the developers in customizing the tool.In all most all the enterprise applications these Jenkins are used as a main tool for the continuous build and integration tool.
ConsThe least about the software is that there is only the tracking on version control but there is no tracking on jenkins itself which is a major drawback. Cost of the Jenkins is unpredictable and may vary time by time. This Jenkins has another drawback as this does not allow the commit made by one person to be view by another person and tracking the Jenkins build process is bit difficult in large projects
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Sanchita A.
Software Engineer
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2019

“A open source automation for continuous integration and delivery.”

OverallJenkins helps us in doing the deployment for the 500+ clients server in just few hours but before it would take weeks to do the same. Best thing in it the container can be also helpful in case we need the immediate rollback. Orchestration help to achieve the continuous integration and delivery.
ProsJenkins is one of the best automation tool for deployment. It's easy to configure and maintain. The Jenkins implementation don't need large code based enchantment to configure and implement it which makes it easy to opt. The build pipeline is easy to manage with it. Jenkins helps in boosting the agile process with automation which helps in speeding the delivery of the product. Jobs are easy to configure the build and deploy the code on multiple servers at once. Various third party pulgins give the wings to it. The large plugin community and easy plugin development make the process easy.
ConsJenkins jobs configuration wizard should be more enhanced and should come with some more features which help to setup the jobs faster. Jenkins should also increase the documentation on the plugins development. Before updating Jenkins we always need to check its compatibility with the other plugins we are working with, this process should be simple.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2019

“Jenkins - Your best friend for CI/CD.”

OverallI am using Jenkins to implement our CI/CD processes and boost our development team productivity.
Pros* Easy installation, it's really easy to install and configure, in a couple of hours you can have your Jenkins server up and running. * Cross-platform: You can have your Jenkins master on Linux, and your slaves in Linux/Windows. * It has a plug-in for everything. I am using plug-ins to integrate with Git/JIRA/Slack/Maven/Python/etc. * Manage Jenkins is easy and user-friendly. * You can configure your CI/CD pipelines, it's a very flexible tool. * Schedule jobs are easy to set and reliable, you can trust them to run scheduler tasks. * You can have your automation on Jenkins, once deployment pipeline is done, you can trigger your automation testing. It's great because you have everything in one single place and everything is coordinated.
Cons*When Jenkins slave is installed on Windows as service, and your server receives a Java update, sometimes your slave will get broken. I have faced this issue several times, and it's difficult to debug what is happening. The best option is to uninstall the slave has service and re-install.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2019
zaineb b.
Software Quality Assurance and Automation
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Jenkins for test automation”

OverallAs a Software Quality Assurance and Automation, my main job after writing and automating the tests, is being able to run the tests daily. When the test base exceeds ten test cases, it becomes difficult and time consuming to execute test cases daily. That's why I use Jenkins, as it allows me to run my test cases daily, and the best part is that I can run mobile and web test cases, and test cases that combine the two. I created a jenkins job to execute the tests daily, and send me and to my team the execution report by email. The report contains all the passes and fails and screenshots of the failed test cases, the consumed time and the percentage of the passed and failed. I simply couldn't find a better tool to execute automated test cases.
Pros-The execution of the test cases on a daily basis -Executing mobile and web test cases -Recover the automation code from git for the test execution -The high quality reports generated by jenkins, that contain the time exeuction, the passes and fails, screenshots of the failed steps and the exact code line where the test failed -Configuring the email list where the report is sent -The easiness of use when it comes to checking the report -The free Jenkins documentation online On top of all, Jenkins is free :D
Cons-It is very hard to create a Jenkins job for beginners
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Vandana G.
Business Analyst
Management Consulting, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019

“A product for continuous integration and delivery.”

OverallJenkins enhance the product life-cycle with power of automation. Deploying multiple clients servers is a job of few hours now. The Jenkins community or support are the most relevant place to discuss your issues in Jenkins. The job fail notification come with the details of the right place to investigate the issue.
ProsJenkins is a powerful tool for achieving the continuous integration and delivery. Jenkins provide the various plugins to build, test and deploy the code. Implementing the application don't need any major code changes. Large scale infrastructure can be easily managed by the distributed Jenkins architecture to build and deploy the projects in faster way. The rich set of plugins help in setting up the jobs steps. The open source code of Jenkins provide the transparency about each module.
ConsJenkins should provide the recommendation of pipelines as per the product needs. View filters need more enhancement for customization and Throttle build plugins keep stopping in the latest update. There are a limited plugins for snapshot of configuration as I think it should be an in-build feature of Jenkins itself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018

“Flexible and constantly developing software for building robust Continuous Delivery”

OverallWe visualized and streamlined our software release process thanks to Jenkins pipelines.
ProsRich set of functions that allow to schedule different software processes execution. Even more rich choice of plugins an ease to develop own plugin. We use Jenkins to streamline software we develop releases. We have changes signed daily for release and this is where Jenkins pipelines come to the stage. As soon as developer code is ready for review, it goes through automatic code quality checkup before other people start to review it. After review Jenkins takes care of the rest of phases such us preparing and deploying integration build and then safe roll out to our production servers
ConsNot much options available for making backups. We also experienced serious issues when trying to perform major upgrade of Jenkins: the error was that Jenkins can no longer read job configs of older format (while we expected it converts all jobs automatically). As a result we need to perform a piece of manual work to perform an upgrade.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018
Avatar Image
shaik a.
Associate Software Engineer
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2018

“Best tool for building our application in a continuous integration,continuous delivery with plugin's”

ProsThis tool made the business development flow very much easier. Best features include the continious integration with the multiple builds which makes releases easier for better business its installation is also much easier as jenkins is a self-contained Java-based program, ready to run out-of-the-box, with packages for Windows, Mac OS X and other Unix-like operating systems.So we are good with any environment we can use even in console based OS with its hundreds of the plugin the jenkins tool gets continuous integration and continuous delivery tool chain.Jenkins can easily distribute work across multiple machines, helping drive builds, tests and deployments across multiple platforms faster. It also acts one queue to queue TRANSFER tool which help in transfer of the messages from one queue to another based on build parameter that are being configured with it only sorts the messages based on parameter provided and make the messages reach best feature i loved in it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Gurleen K.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“Jenkins - A robust way to automate your jobs.”

OverallJenkins make our life easy with removing the risk of manual errors and help in speeding the process. The Jenkins community is the best one stop place where you can discuss the stuff and get the solution. Once you adopt it you will surely feel the difference with the quality and fast delivery of the product.
ProsJenkins is an open source automation server that help in pure automation with continuous integration and help in fast delivery of the product. It is highly recommended with Java language application as it itself writing in it. The numbers of plugins make this tool special. We can also configure the mail notification on different events like build failed and unstable build. The best thing in it is easy to configure with the help of web interface where we can check the errors and other important notifications. The integration of Jenkins help in to deliver the product with CI/CD model.
ConsJenkins should come with the in-build backup option and I always keep missing it and adding the other third party software to keep maintain the backup before deployment. Multiple Jenkins jobs do need to setup in case of multiple language application is used by the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Lawrence S.
Software Developer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019

“CI/CD at the finest”

OverallOverall, my experience with Jenkins has been great! There isn't much negatives that I could say about this software except that it meets our needs as a software company and it allows us to ship stuff out to production quickly and without errors.
ProsWe use this to automate most of our builds from staging to production, we even use it for unique cases where we can run mobile tests on different cloud devices all at once. It saves our team lots of time from having to make the deployments and configuration changes into different environments. Deployments would be a lot more time consuming and tedious if we did not have Jenkins to do it for us.
ConsThe least thing that I liked about the software is the configuration of builds, it can be overwhelming as there are plugins that you can get to build many different project types. But as you use the software more, you end up just copying the build configuration from another working project to use as a base for your builds.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Tércio Y.
System Tester
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“One of the best CI tools”

OverallIt's the best CI tool I have ever used, lightweight, stable and easy to setup. The plugins make Jenkins very flexible so you can achieve different goals on your project, from continuous development to integration, or even both.
ProsJenkins supports lots of plugins which makes it very flexible and powerful. Its user-friendly GUI makes it easy to learn and follow even if you not experienced, nevertheless, if you need support there's a lot of documentation out there or optionally you may count on its extensive community to support you.
ConsDepending on the number of parameters on a job, it takes some time to load, some browsers even present a "This page is taking too long to load". Jenkins is frequently updated but the plugins are not always updating that fast, so you rely on others to get it updated/fixed for the new versions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Ramindu D.
Software Technical Lead
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019

“The best independent solution for continuous delivery ”

OverallJenkins has made configuring and using deployment jobs for my team's applications very simple and straightforward for a very long time.
ProsJenkins is part of the old guard of open-source CI/CD servers that you can deploy on your own wherever you want and run in whichever way you like. It offers a great deal of flexibility through a bunch of amazing plugins, with support for almost all version control systems and build environments. The modern features such as deployment pipelines which can be written in code and the addition of many UI improvements make Jenkins the easiest and most favored free CI/CD tool out there today.
ConsJenkins has a slight disadvantage when compared to cloud-based CI/CD tools as maintaining your own server brings in a component of risk and extra maintenance cost.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2019
Ankur G.
DevOps
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2018

“Jenkins - A must have tool”

OverallBuild and Deployment are handled using Jenkins. Integration with Gitlab. Our daily automation suite run over jenkins.
Pros> Easy to install, easy setup, open source. > Supports lots of operating systems > Supports Maven build, Gradle build, Wrappers. > Can schedule daily jobs to run automatically. > Good set of plugins. > Clone jenkins setup option is there.
Cons> Doesn't support multiple apps to be selected and deploy one after other automatically, have to select and deploy each app individually, explicitly using for loop and delimiter we can make it work like that but if any plugin is there, that would be much helpful. > Sometimes plugin becomes too confusing to use, as with the same name have multiple plugins, should have proper documentation on what does what plugin do.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019

“Best tool for CI / CD”

OverallIs widely used in the company and is very stable. maybe complex to manage, but is very good for CI and CD
ProsIs the most used tool of the market, besides the open source to have a very active community.
ConsI believe that only the UI could improve
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Swiss army knife of automation”

ProsI like that it keeps a log of all of your previously made jobs on disk. This makes it so that not only do you keep old builds themselves, but also their outputs right within the ui. This makes debugging why a build failed pretty instant so long as you can get onto your jenkins instance relatively simply.
ConsThe UI itself is disorienting sometimes and the plugin landscape, while vast, has a very high amount of variance when it comes to helpful text. You either know exactly what a particular tool does or you don't. I've found the help text particularly unhelpful for most things I did not know 100% about initially. So basically, sensible defaults for things would help, but this is less on Jenkins core product and more about its community.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Avatar Image
James H.
Delivery Engineer
Internet, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“Jenkins can do anything!”

ProsIf you need to automate it, Jenkins can do it: software builds, test suites, deployments, monitoring, housekeeping and maintenance tasks. The vast ecosystem of plugins extends its functionality in just about any direction you could want. It's an unopinionated tool: Jenkins never tells you how to do something, instead it gives you the means to do whatever you want, however you want.
ConsScripted pipelines still lack a lot of features, requiring the usage of unwieldy Groovy syntax. Beware of constant security vulnerabilities in both Jenkins and its many plugins, not to mention dead plugins. It's best to keep Jenkins relatively isolated on a company intranet and limit its access to other systems.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Miguel H.
programmer analyst ii
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“CICD in minutes”

OverallCI/CD it has help us to deploy our code in a quickly way and we have snapshots of the last 10 days so we can rollback to another snapshot in case the current doesnt work. Also it builds and deploys every one of the artifacts we have automatically when a push is detected.
ProsTo start up building code and deploy it with CICD is a very friendly software. you could create your own pipelines with code or with a gui.
ConsIf you have several jobs running at the same time you should aware of how java is configured, if you set the default setting you may have some headache problems which could lead to a downtime in jenkins.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Avatar Image
João C.
Mobile Developer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019

“Great tool for continuous integration”

OverallSetting one Jenkins system on my own proved to be a bit tricky, as there is no "installer" that makes it ready to use. I have little knowledge on the DevOps side as I'm a mobile developer. But I rely a lot on Jenkins for my apps continuous integration. No Pull Request is merged if Jenkins says no. It really helped me becoming a better programmer, as I tend to review my code a lot before Jenkins runs my tests.
ProsAllow complex flows to be built, and these flows are easily written in just one file.
ConsThe UI could be greatly improved, as it looks super deprecated. Also setup is not very simple for someone that is not from DevOps (like me). Also debugging problems are also not very easy to do. I often rely on someone from DevOps to help me debug something related to the tool (not the tests)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Pavel K.
Test Automation Engineer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Jenkins is an ideal tool for test automation tasks”

OverallI personally don't like or use open source solutions, because of (often) chaotic and unreliable development, with many bugs and illogical UI. Jenkins is one of two exceptions I'm actively using ;)
ProsWhat I like about Jenknins is it's plugin support, modularity and weekly builds, which means Jenkins is constantly developed and improved . There is plenty of plugins available, which make it easy to integrate with various build servers and cloud solutions, different reporting tools and so on. I'm using it for test automation tasks (together with Ranorex) and it's quite reliable solution.
ConsJenkins can be quite hard to setup for a man with previous experience with it. But there are many nice and easy to follow tutorials.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Orkhan M.
Software Developer
Telecommunications, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019

“The best automation tool for the software projects”

OverallFor the product that we are developing I am using this tool and this tool is very great for saving time on the testing and deploying phase on the development of the product.
ProsThis tool is very great for automating the software projects, for the developers adding files to the server deploying and testing them is very annoying job. However with the help of this tool the problem can be solved and you just need to install this tool and specify the rules then everything will be done automatically on you server and you can get all the information from your logs.
ConsIn order to use this application you need to learn a specific scripting language for this tool which not easy to learn. Moreover, installing it and making it full worked is very difficult and it takes to much time, there are a lot of steps you need to complete where it takes a lot of time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Saranga D.
Associate Technical Lead
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019

“Great build platform for no cost”

OverallJenkin provides many features at no cost as it's an open source tool. In initial phase it might take some time and effort to make it configured to run smoothly. But then afterwards, when people are familiar with the tool it requires less.
Pros* Ability to even analyze test cases * Rich set of options for CI/CD operations * Contain different build pipelines (normal projects, parameterized projects, etc...) * Can develop our own plugins as well as various pre-developed plugins are available
Cons* Not easy to setup in some environments (specially in mac)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019
Christian B.
Director of Technology and Integrations
Law Enforcement, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019

“Jenkins makes continuous integration dead simple”

OverallI had to build hundreds of applications and it would have been impossible without Jenkins. Anyone who wants to produce good and consistent software will need to have a build system. Jenkins is so well known and used, you won't find a team without someone who can use it. The web interface is dead simple and the notifications are essential. Did you break the build? Jenkins will keep you informed. It makes coding a much happier and easier experience. Get it!
Pros- Write your own scripts, run on a schedule - Keeps build output - Tracks overall build health - Notify the whole team when a build breaks - Run build agents on any device
Cons- It can be challenging to debug your custom scripts - Not everything can be done from the web interface (command line required)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2018

“Jinkins is tool which helps user to integrate and deploy code on different different server.”

Overallit is over all good experience .
ProsI use Jenkins as a java developer.what I like in jenkins is a user can make a script and can use same script to build your code.You can immediate find if there is any issue with build. It will send notification to whole team regarding build failure so there is no need to directly do changes in Application. by build failure itself you can do your code testing .Most important thing is you can build and deploy code on time basis so automatic it will build at that time.
ConsJenkins has so many plugin so its little bit time taking thing to add plugins and it also does not support micro services. It also take time to build code
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Yasiru G.
DevOps Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019

“Better Continuous Integration with Jenkins”

OverallAs for a company Jenkins has helped a lot and saved lot of time. Now we have automated our build and test processes in our code base and also can monitor the status using Blue Ocean dashboard.
ProsJenkins has a very straight forward set of features which needs for continuous integration in any case That I have come across. And also the support from plugins are very rich in Jenkins which makes the workflows way more sophisticated. And the blue ocean UI gives a very simple and intuitive depiction of what's happening in pipelines we created. Pipeline scripting also very straightforward and simple while giving most of the features we need.
ConsSometimes it takes a lot of time to a job to start executing. If they can optimize and improve on this it will be really great when it comes to executing larger set of jobs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019
Sean S.
Software Engineer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018

“Jenkins is a great tool that allows for automating of your software' s build process”

OverallImmediate feedback on your software's build status can allow developers to quickly debug and fix any build issues that your software has.
ProsJenkins can be set up to automatically run a build of your software every time someone commits code to the repository. This means that if someone commits code that breaks the build, Jenkins will very quickly find out. Jenkins can also be set up to send an email with the latest commit message as well as a stack trace whenever the build breaks. This allows a team to know immediately when a commit breaks the build.
ConsSetting up Jenkins to successfully run your software's build including getting all of your software's dependencies can be difficult sometimes. However, many people use Jenkins so there is a plethora of information available to help with setup.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018
Prabir S.
IA Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Jenkins for test automation”

OverallVery positive, assisted me in setting up big test automation parallel execution on over 20 machines at a time.
ProsI was able to easily set up a reusable parameter driven jobs for running automated tests. Exposing these jobs through the Jenkins API was also easy to use. Plugins for Jenkins was also a huge plus for me since when ever I had some or other need I would likely find a plugin that caters for it.
ConsBetter documentation and support channels would be nice. More plugins should be considered to be added by default or allow for users to create plugin sets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Diego C.
Technical Director
Market Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“On-premises Continuous Integration”

OverallI've used Jenkins in a few different places and I'm very happy with it, but it's an old software system and it's showing his age.
ProsJenkins is one of the oldest CI tools out there and still enjoys large usage and a big community. This means flexibility through a great number of plugins, and constant updates. With Jenkins it's relatively easy to basically automate any part of your development process.
ConsJenkins flexibility comes with the fragmentation and difference in quality of the plugins. Also adding more and more plugins makes things more complicated since not everything has been standardised.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Arpit S.
SDET
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Best tool for CI/CD Integration”

OverallI am using it for CI/CD purpose. We have created different stages in pipeline job to install product, update product, uninstall product, re-install product.
ProsOne of the most powerful tools to manage your build and deployment. It has 'n' number of features and advantages which makes a developer life easy. Pipeline jobs, creating multiple jobs, dependent jobs, parameterizing jobs, scheduling jobs, coupling two jobs together and so many more features.
ConsThere are plugins for almost everything, but the plugins are somewhat not safe. It might compromises the security. Not everyone prefers having plugin.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Trabelsi H.
Web developer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Easy CI/CD for free”

OverallJenkins is one of the best CI/CD system it fits for small projects to big enterprise solutions. It leverages development experience and eliminate routine tasks.
ProsJenkins is one of the best choice when you need a CI/CD system. It easy to setup and install and works well for all operating systems. There is a huge number of plugins that you can install to perform specific tasks or to integrate it with a third party tool.
ConsThings start to be more complex especially if you have multiple pipes from different sources.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Azeem A.
DevOps Intern
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Easy to setup a pipeline that meets your need”

OverallSatisfactory
ProsConfiguring deployment to a site is super easy, it is all click and use. Jenkins plugins are available to allow you to extend its feature e.g a SSH Publish plugin and many more. Easy to use I would say.
ConsThe refresh on version 2 could have been made better, it should reload without a user noticing the screen refresh.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Kaleb-John L.
Senior Firmware Engineer
Computer Networking, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019

“Industry Standard For Testing Automation”

OverallIn our business, we are constantly running tests to ensure that our systems are running smoothly. Jenkins is able to handle all of our testing needs and makes it easy for developers and testers to get the results and information they need without taking up too much time.
ProsJenkins makes it easy to manage testing. It can handle multiple pipelines of test suites that can easily be started with the push of a button. It's results reporting and parsing is clear and intuitive, making analysis and debugging a much simpler process.
ConsThe UI design is a bit dated. Would be nice to have a more modern looking interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Nishantha B.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2019

“Jenkins review”

OverallI have used Jenkins for more than 6 months for implementing DevOps culture in our organization to accomplish continuous integrations and continuous delivery for our software developments. It is very easy to use for making software builds. It automatically create build when it trigger code commits.
ProsJenkins is an open source software so you can use it for free of charge. It deploys the code instantly and generate reports. It can be install and configured according to the requirement of continuous integrations and continuous delivery. Jenkins is platform independent so that it can run on windows, linux and mac os and it's very easy to install and configure for DevOps.
ConsCost of the server that need to install jenkins can not be predicted. Because the load can be increased due to number of commits, volume of code and size of other assets. But, with the use of high performance server we can easily prevent from this issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 3, 2019

“Automate and Forget”

OverallWe use Jenkins to build and deploy our in-house developed application for non production environments. It does not require any maintanence.
ProsIt's perfect to start build and deploy tasks. With Jenkins, you can automate and manage a part of DevOps stages. It can trigger any tasks. When you installed and made configuration it, then forget it. Jenkins is very important automation server of the software development process
ConsJenkins has problem for very large application. It can not start deploy tasks when your application has more than million lines of code. Docker support is a big issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospitality, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“Jenins Review”

ProsJenkins is one of the leading software that enables me to automate part of my job, I can creating scripts using Jenkins to creating folder and set config setting in order to update a release version of our application. With Jenkins I am able to set certain parameters to using specific plug-in that work with a configuration setting that i need to do. Moreover, with Jenkins The installations is super easy there is no need to configure my PC to a certain setting for Jenkins, i just install the software and let it do its own thing. The continuous delivery gives me the ability to create extensive projects that can automate part of my job.
ConsNot enough Documentation when I need help with a particular plug-in installation. Jenkins does not provide a clear instructions on functionality of a plug-in and sometimes i get stuck with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Ananya N.
Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2018

“Near perfect automation server”

OverallJenkins is highly recommended from my side. It decreases the risks of manual build and helps in maintaining the code quality.
ProsJenkins is one of the most preferred automation server in the software development world. The ability to schedule jobs on the go for your software build makes it very handy. It's easy integration with Sonar helps you determine your code quality and performance every time you run a job, making it very very useful for developers.
ConsThe only con is the time required to create a job. But once that's done, it's a cake walk from there on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2018

“A great DevOps tool to manage builds”

OverallThe main benefit is build management. But apart from this main functionality, we were able to integrate many third party application and features as well which are quite useful.
ProsThe ease with which we can use this for team builds. The features which can be included is really great and the results are wonderful. We can configure a lot of things with Jenkins and it's really good.
ConsOne of the major negative points of Jenkins is scenarios when the build fails sometimes and the exact reason becomes unknown. We had to trigger build manually again and the build goes fine. So sometimes build issues are there.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2018
Julia D.
QA lead
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“The best tool for automated regression ”

ProsThis is by far the best tool for the automated regression. You can set up all your runs in Jenkins and the only thing left to do would be to analyze the results. I've been using it on three different projects and I'm more than happy with all features it has to offer. It may take some time to get the hang of it, but after that, you will not want to switch to anything else.
ConsSometimes it's unbelievably difficult to troubleshoot some issues with the builds, some errors are uninformative and completely useless.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Daniel B.
QA Engineer
Internet, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“The Best CICD pipeline server”

ProsJenkins new Blue Ocean features are amazing for working with CICD pipelines. In addition, the pipeline declarative syntax that allows you to define the entire build process in a Jenkinsfile within your code case so that you do not have to manually create jobs from the Jenkins UI is amazing.
ConsFrom an administration perspective, sometimes Jenkins can be fickle and difficult to troubleshoot. Luckily there is an enormous community of users so usually a good google search can help get us back on track.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Yasmany C.
Scrum Master And Development Team Lead
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“best open source CI/CD”

OverallFlexibility of configuration and hardware usage as well as in-house keep of code and technologies
ProsJenkins with the big set of plugins allows you to build and customize your CI/CD pipelines specifically for your needs. Its really powerful and flexible at the same time. With the new blueocean interface everything its much clean. Pipelines as its new job definition allows you manage the build as code
ConsThe new blueocean interface needs some work, better usage of spaces and bring back execution queue as the old UI
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Nadeera D.
Associate software engineer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019

“One of the best open source CI/CD tools”

Overallit just need a good UI.I would like to recommend Jenkins for anyone who is wiling to do continuous delivery for their projects. This helps to reduce the workload of the developers.
ProsJenkins is an open source tool that helps developers for the purpose of continuous delivery & integration. I have been using Jenkins for 8 months. This supports windows, Mac OS and Linux. The plugins that comes along with Jenkins help developers to integrate with various version control systems. I am using git as the version control tool and maven as the build tool. Also the there is an active community which helps to encourage the newcomers.
ConsI think the UI of the Jenkins tool could improve. Interface looks like kind of bit dated and sometimes responding slowly. Other than that I have no issues with this tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Medical Devices, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019

“Jenkins”

OverallJenkins is an integral part of our testing environment. Jenkins is the hub that connects our dev code to test machines and devices. It enables us to seamlessly deliver code that automatically triggers build jobs which then trigger test jobs. The number of man hours saved is immeasurable at this point. If you aren't using Jenkins in the testing world, you need to start - even if automated testing is not in your ecosystem yet.
ProsOnce configured, alleviates most of daily monotony of testing
ConsThere is a small curve of learning how to configure jobs and agent machines.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019
Ankush P.
Senior Software Engineer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Absolute go to ci cd tool”

OverallOverall the product does what it does and is widely used all over the industry. In fact utilizing Jenkins is one of the skills recruiters are looking for.
ProsI love the plugins that are available and how Jenkins not only helps to build our code but also how helps us analysis it as well. This has lead to improvement in code quality and build times. Also the pipeline feature is amazing.
ConsNeed to learn Groovy language for implementing pipeline. They could have a pipeline IDE.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Industrial Automation, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019

“Jenkins is a great CI tool that can be fairly easily integrated into a pipeline architecture”

OverallI use it everyday and so does the engineering department. If you are starting off new check out some other CI tools before you decide right away. However, if you are on a budget and are conscious about costs then Jenkins is likely the CI tool for you.
Pros- It's Free - It's fairly easy to setup - It has a decent amount of plugins - It's open source - It has true pipeline capabilities
Cons- It's limited to integrations with certain tools - It can be a pain to maintain - It can break often
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019
Fadi H.
Software Senior Engineer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019

“We use Jenkins for continuous integration against a dozen of releases”

ProsExtremely easy to integrate into our code bases. Helps us ease up tedious tasks. For instance, we've set up a job that'll allow certain people to ask Jenkins to cherry pick one or a list of Git commits from one release into another. Jenkins will cleanly apply the task and run all the required test cases prior to merging into master.
ConsMostly issues with the website. It sometimes locks me out for no reason or mistreat my permissions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Hemant N.
Sr. Software Engineer L4
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018

“Benefits of Jenkins”

OverallI am pretty much happy to work with it.
Pros1. It's a most powerful CI tool used now a day's. 2. We can execute our development and automation jobs very smoothly and can share reports among the team member. 3. It's a good quality product used by developer, automation engineer and devops team members.
Cons1. It's a bit complex for a naive user to understand console error. 2. We should have few prior technical knowledge to understand job configuration part.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2018
Avatar Image
María Laura G.
IT Project Manager
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“Good continuous engineering tool with poor documentation”

OverallDaily automated tasks no longer take up much time. Just review the results and see what happened.
ProsIt has good integration with just about every DevOps tool I've known. It's easy to set up and configure. The logs and system reviews are extremely thorough.
ConsSince most plugins are community-created, the support between versions and documentation of them is sketchy. I've broken the server several times after updating either plugins or the server itself (compatibility issues?)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019

“The best tool ever to manage CI”

OverallI have been using the Jenkins product more than 2 years, I really like and use the tool for my daily purposes in order to check the quality of my code.
ProsI have been using the Jenkins product as a It specialist more than 2 years. What I really like among the features of the tool is you can manage the continues integration of the software development cycle. Moreover it is free and open source, isn't it awesome?
ConsIt is really hard to say I dislike the thing on this tool , however it is hard to manage the service overload, it is need to have the person who always checks the service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2019
Jay A.
Senior Principal Software Test Engineer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019

“Best build automation and continous delivery software on the planet!”

ProsTons of features and community support. I almost have to ask myself what can I not do with Jenkins when it comes to supporting delivering software. Every problem I have faced so far in constructing a continuous delivery process, Jenkins has been able to meet it.
ConsFeatures can be almost overwhelming and some of the plugins have not caught up to the new pipeline model of delivery.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2019
Bill L.
Software engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018

“Jenkins is our tool for doing continuous integration for our software”

ProsIt is extremely simple to setup. Press a button and it builds! It builds our software and runs all unit tests and regression tests so that we know if a production executable works before we deploy it live.
ConsSometimes, our builds get stuck, and Jenkins wastes a few hours doing nothing and blocking future builds from happening. Basically, it doesn't know the difference between stuck and slow builds.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018
Dharmesh V.
Senior Software Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2018

“Jenkins is easy and configurable CI server/tool for Continue integration and Continues development. ”

OverallContinue integration and development. No worries about manual build, unit test case run, distributes on QA and production environment. it providing notification facility for fail and success both so any wrong commit respective person got notify and take appropriate action
ProsIt is very simple and straightforward, provides built in help for error checks. proper guideline and steps for step by step configuration . Support rich set of plugins likes 1).Job configuration history plugin which allow you to keep history or previous build. 2)Post build task which help to perform a task after the build. 3)Github pull request builders this is the best plugin which provide support for automatic code review. It is able to distributes work across multiple device, test and deployment
ConsConfiguration guide line is base on command line argument so it difficult to understand. It taking too long time to build when your project contain number of forms and test cases. in our product it is taking more than 1 hrs. It is open source you not getting proper support. Sometime its not taking latest committed changes need to run 2 or 3 times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2018