Wolfram Mathematica Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Wolfram Mathematica

Technical computing system that provides tools for image processing, geometry, visualization, machine learning, data mining, and more. Learn more about Wolfram Mathematica

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 94 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 94 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019

“Best product for technical academic studies.”

OverallAmazing. The capabilities are honestly mind blowing, especially when using the internal scripting language properly.
ProsI used Mathematica daily for at least 10 years daily while working in sciences and, I have to admit, the power of this package is phenomenal. It is best known for the analytic symbolic computations, but also progressed in the domain of numerical computations. In the past, it couldn't solve PDEs efficiently, but now it can do that so well, that I don't use Matlab anymore.
ConsCan't really say anything here. I used the academic license. If I used my own, it would be the price, probably.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019
Nuwan Chaminda G.
Graduate Teaching Assistant, MSU
Research, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2019

“Very helpful for theorists in their research fields”

OverallAs I am doing my research in the field of Quantum electron transportation calculations, it's very easy to do all my calculations and most important thing is that it helps us a lot to analyze all my results well. As we solve the matrices which are having a higher degree, it doesn't matter since we have Mathematica. It simplifies everything, all electron transportation calculation we have. because other methods, such as the Green Function method and Scattering methods are much more complex!
ProsIt's easy to use as it provides more helpful manuals in the Wolfram site. If you can not understand some code, then you may click on 'help' and very easily you can find the meaning of the respective code. Plus, there are many more functions available to analyze, to do much harder calculations, to draw graphs, etc. It helps a lot in our Quantum Mechanics projects as once we analyzed the Icing Model using Mathematica.
ConsTo be honest, I like almost everything in Wolfram Mathematica. The appearance of the software is great, and the work is very good and there are many more advantages of Mathematica. However, to improve, I think it's better to have some way to simply some of the codes in Mathematica. Anyway, as the users, that's also not a problem. Mathematica, simply one of the most powerful software we are using.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019

“The best symbolic math software, with a learning curve”

ProsMathematica is the go-to software when manipulating mathematical expressions that must be solved, simplified, visualized, modelled, etc. It defines an entire language dedicated to writing expressions precisely, with the option to write them with math symbols (e.g. sum, product, etc) or more similar to other programming language. Particularly useful is the symbolic differentiation feature, which is easy and intuitive to use. Many more advanced and domain-specific features are available, and keep being added at each release (yearly). There is a 'cloud' version of the software which can run Mathematica notebooks in the browser, making it possible to make quick checks without a full installation.
ConsThe Wolfram language's syntax and patterns is unlike any that I've seen, and so becoming proficient with Mathematica isn't just a matter of a few hours. Thankfully, the built-in help (reference manual) and tutorials are of great quality, and come with many practical example. The dedicated StackExchange community is also a great resource. Contributing to the difficulty is the fact that certain expressions will be handled (e.g. simplified or factorized) by Mathematica more easily than others, even though it feels like they should be equivalent. It is sometimes necessary to expand an expression, then simplify and factor it again in order to solve it again. Despite the support for many, many domain-specific features, working with vectors and matrices is still painful. When not part of a university or ineligible for discounts, the price may be high, depending on the intended use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019
Avatar Image
massimo f.
Assistant Professor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2017

“It's the Macintosh of the interpreted software languages, it just works right out of the box! ”

ProsThe most critical feature of Mathematica (and Wolfram products in general) is that everything is seamlessly perfectly integrated. Everything is curated and maintained up to date. Competing platforms like Matlab sure offer a larger set of functionalities, but the integration of the many "packages" is too often very poor. In Mathematica, every package is fully integrated with the rest of the platform like no other software. Maybe you can say that Labview somehow reaches the same level of integration. Mathematica is a very flexible and multi-purpose software language that can be used for programming pretty much anything. New functionality like "Cloud-deploy" allow anybody to run algorithm made in Mathematica from anywhere in the world, from any device, with the only need of having an internet connection and a compatible browser.
ConsSome secondary functionalities like the Presentation notebook are not so well developed, yet. That said, I doubt many will ever use it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2019

“Powerful Computational Software”

OverallI have been using Mathematica for three years, both in the context of my work and college. I have several applications written purely in Wolfram Language that I still use on a weekly basis. I have used Mathematica for solving differential equations and mechanics problems, building deep learning models and doing image processing. My most recent application is a function which takes as input video, audio or text and returns the key phrases and tags extracted from the speech/text.
ProsThe thing that I like the most about Wolfram Mathematica is that it is incredibly versatile. It handles almost all of the facets of technical computing starting form simple algebraic equations, solving ordinary and partial differential equations to image/ audio processing and machine learning. Moreover, Mathematica also has incredibly powerful graphing and modeling capabilities. The interface is aesthetically pleasing and intuitive. The ability to add hierarchical cells is a big advantage and allows to format notebook in a beautiful way. Regarding the features, Wolfram Mathematica has almost everything you need. Moreover, it's ability to be integrated with C++, Python and other languages, makes it an exceptionally powerful application.
ConsThe only thing that I dislike about Mathematica, is the fact that there is a certain learning curve, as Wolfram is a very vast language and it may take time to learn and use it comfortably. Other than that, there is nothing I dislike about Wolfram Mathematica, as it perfectly suits my needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2019
Francisco M.
Customer Representative
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2018

“I'm a computer science student, can't believe how useful this learning engine is!”

OverallWell my study sessions are way more effective, almost every question is answered by Wolfram. My grades are doing well, can't exclude Wolfram for that, this software has helped me a lot through the University and I'm super satisfied with it.
ProsEverything you need regarding math is in there: derivatives, integrals, closed integrals, matrix and vector operations... The list goes on and on! I really this program has helped me countless times with Calculus study sessions and passing through linear algebra courses. The procedure is printed in a ordered way and it does it step by step.
ConsThe UI and operation input should and could be way better. I've used Symbolab and other apps and they are way better than Wolfram's input system. Please change it! Would really love to see you guys actually improve that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Daniel L.
Asistente ejecutivo superior
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“Wonderful!without wolfram I would not have approved the course of calculus applied in the university”

Proswolfram is a marvel, just transcribe the equation in the software and in a few seconds not only solves it, but also explains step by step the resolution of the exercise and the different ways of doing it. I consider that it is the best ally for the student at any level of academic training. It is useful for students of engineering, economics, business administration, accounting, physics, mathematics.... in wolfram mathematical and physical equations can be solved. no matter the complexity of an integral or a differential equation, wolfram solves it
ConsSometimes it can be somewhat difficult to transcribe an equation in the software. Maybe if the programmers of wolfram add some integrals and predetermined equations, it could help to mount the exercises more easily
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Richard P.
Product Manager
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Wolfram Mathematica makes it easier to develop knowledge in the area of mathematics and programming.”

OverallThe ability to develop equations and to learn step by step how to solve them. Wolfram made my job easier and more practical and helped me save time and to create new projects by using programming.
ProsResolution of equations well explained and organized step by step as well as graphs that are self explanatory and have the possibility to add annotations and to choose the type of graph to be used. It also has the possibility of storing data in the cloud and to access it anywhere. Wolfram Mathematica is great for programming and it gives the possibility of exploring other areas such as language and geography by using mathematics and programming.
ConsTakes a while to learn the basics commands of some areas of the software such as introducing equations into the system or start programming if you are still learning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Bhawin D.
Researcher
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Great platform to calculate, integrate and so on.”

ProsThis is a very useful software in physics and engineering. We can download and install in our computer via our university link. It is very easy to use. Sometimes people from Wolfram come to our university to run a workshop about wolfram mathematica. Besides mathematica, I use wolfram alpha frequently.
ConsSome computational work and big data analysis in Nuclear physics may be difficult using Wolfram Mathematica.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Rodrigo G.
PhD
Research, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018

“The best software for symbolic mathematics”

OverallI have solve a wide variety of problems, from simple calculations to very complicated symbolic analyses. In the faculty is normally favoured for more abstract analyses which don't necessarily involve finite precision arithmetic, but it can obviously be used for that as well.
ProsThis software is extremely well suited for symbolic mathematics. Where MATLAB excels in numerical handling, Mathematica excels in symbolic mathematics. I have used this software for stochastic analysis, namely Markov Chain analysis. It is very useful as well for topology and graph theory and not only helps by solving complex systems but makes beautiful graphs needed in topological analysis. I have also used it in optimization contexts, to draw the feasible regions of complex functions. It is simply an extremely robust and versatile piece of mathematical software.
ConsAt the beginning is not very easy to use because small errors in syntax will render a big function useless; hopefully for simple things it is well integrated with Wolfram Alpha, which can interpret more natural expression the transported to Mathematica.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018
Anil A.
Senior Research Engineer
Chemicals, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019

“Wolfram Mathematica - A multifunctional computational tool ”

OverallMy overall experience is very positive, Wolfram Mathematica is very capable to help R&D problems.
ProsNumber of functions Integrated text, document, computational language New machine learning features
ConsSteep learning curve for new starters Cost can be high for some organizations It can be hard to share the code
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019
Miguel P.
CEO
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2018

“Simply the best mathematics tool available ”

Overall- The ability to manage symbolic functions - The incredible amount of built-in advanced mathematical functions and operators - The flexibility of importing, exporting and managing data in a variety of formats - The speed of the solver - The help. It contains a huge amount of examples and information
Pros- The ability to manage symbolic functions - The incredible amount of built-in advanced mathematical functions and operators - The flexibility of importing, exporting and managing data in a variety of formats - The speed of the solver - The help. It contains a huge amount of examples and information
Cons- The plots are pretty low-level. Could be improved. - The error messages are almost impossible to understand.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019

“One of the best mathematics tools available for students”

OverallLife-saver for anyone who is struggling with mathematics.
ProsThis software can be an absolute life-saver for any student learning mathematics. The software solves such a large range of math problems ranging from simple to complex in an instant. It demonstrates step-by-step problem solving which facilitates learning. I used this software throughout my undergraduate education and still use it today.
ConsLike any great software, there can be a slight learning curve in order to get the most out of it. For the simple functions, it is click-and-go. For the most advanced functions, it may take some time to learn.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“A great environment for elaboration and validation of algebraic models”

OverallDuring the development of some models of neural networks for massive data processing, it was necessary for us to search for a solution in the cloud capable of supplying our demand for a competitive price due to the lack of funds available. Based on this, and in light of other solutions such as AWS and IBM Watson, Mathematica was the choice that was able to meet our financial criteria and also enabled us to write a very relevant work within the company
ProsThe ability to use the system both online through the cloud infrastructure, as well as offline
ConsThe documentation, although extensive is still not very intuitive for people who are starting their projects
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Shalinee S.
Web UI Developer
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018

“simplest and fastest way possible to obtain mathematical, scientific or statistical information”

OverallBest mathematical computational tool
ProsI think it is the best solution to obtain mathematical/statistical information. The way it interpret the mathematical problem like solving calculas problem with step by step is amazing. Plotting data is very easy that made visualisation much better. Now, it is also providing to use it so that it some other system(app) can be built around this.
ConsThere are not much dislike of this, but there are two that I can think of: 1. Pricing : it is too costly if you want pro version with advance feature 2. it takes time to learn the new mathematica language.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2018

“Useful tool to have around”

ProsI used Mathematica in my undergrad and continue to use it. First of all - it's the best graphing, master, super calculator you could ever have. With Mathematica one can quickly create graphics that are useable in presentations and reports. The graphics are attractive and professional. Wolfram also has a great team. I've recommended their Wolfram Alpha for people struggling with mathematics for years. Mathematica's language take a bit to learn, but with the basics you can hit the ground running with help from their massive support system. Great software overall. Plays well with Linux and Mac.
ConsI have no beefs with Mathematica. I've heard people complain about inability to do what AutoCad can... but then just go use AutoCad for that! I've also heard it's not 'industry/university standard' 'Nobody uses it' but I think it's a shame if that's not the case now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2018
Avatar Image
John D. K.
Founder
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018

“Mathematica was utilized throughout my Calculus I, II, III, and IV course work.”

OverallGreat software for any DBA to utilize.
ProsMathematica has a vast number of tools and resources for anyone seeking to better understand trends, environmental data, forecasting and solve complex multivariable calculus problems for homework.
ConsMathematica saved my 4.0 in college, no cons from me--I hope I get to use Mathematica again in my professional life.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018
Jason J.
Student
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019

“Very Effective Math Tool”

ProsThere are so many things that you can do with Mathematica because of the Wolfram foundation. It's completely free-form, so you can use it in whatever way you like and achieve results: from contour plots to simple arithmetic and anything more simple or more complex. There are built-in functions to help you if you make a mistake in your code or if you need help figuring out what to do to achieve your goal.
ConsThe tough part is learning all the aspects of the software. The way you have to write your functions and expressions are slightly unconventional to regular maths. And there's no way to know you did something wrong until you've messed up and it prompts you on how to fix it. Sometimes having too many functions is detrimental if there isn't enough support to help the users learn how to start.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019
Jefferson T.
Geophysical Engineer
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Maths in your hand”

ProsThe easy of using this software is stunning, you can use an equation editor and only copy and paste.
Conssome results cannot be displayed in other platforms
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“My favorite calculation software behind excel”

ProsFor complicated algorithms or system design - Mathematica is, hands down, my favorite calculation software. You can make your calculations very presentable and can customize the look of your notebook as much as you want.
ConsWith all of the wonderful things about Mathematica - it has a fairly significant learning curve. There are lots of quick keys that make the software faster, but without it, the time to create calculations can be really slow. It takes a good amount of time to really understand the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Research, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“Beautiful program for coding”

OverallSo far I am really happy to use Mathematica to do some simpel data processing and produce nice plots
ProsThe nice thing with Mathematica is the fact that it is very artistic and very easy to get publication quality plots
ConsEveryone will agree that Mathematica tends to be slower than other programming languages
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Gaurav Y.
Software Developer
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018

“Best computation knowledge engine”

OverallI am using this for more than 2 year. I think you can solve most of the mathematics problem using this with in very less time. Now a days , it is also providing the vision api, speech api etc that are also very helpful.
ProsThe way it resolve the mathematics equation is very much self explainotary. Also, it is easy to plot the graphs in it. Linear algebra and numerical algorithm support makes it more advance. GUI is also very user friendly.
ConsIt require a long learning curve and it's interpretor is also slow. And the major disadvantage is the cost of using this tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2018
Eric U.
Student
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“Overall wolfram is good and a great learning tool. Ithas the best visual aids.”

ProsThe ability to change variables and see how it effects the graph is a lot of help when trying to understand a function and how the vdidderent variables change the graph. Also just seeing a accurate representation of a equation in a graph, whether it's 2 dimension or 3 dimension, makes learning the material much easier.
ConsA moajor con for me was the inability to get wolfram to work properly. Every time I needed to open something on wolfram I would have to manually open it with wolfram instead of just clicking on the display and having wolfram open it automatically. I would do this every time and was very annoying after the first 10 times. I don't know if wolfram doesn't work well with Macs or maybe it's older Macs. Nobody could get it to work properly and I'm still stuck doing it the long way.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Roddys G.
9th semester in Geophysical Engineering
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Wonderful tool for made your live more simple ”

OverallThis program helps me in my study, because when I had any doubt about a graphic, I made the graphic in Wolfram.
ProsWolfram is excellent if you have any doubt about maths, because not only resolve the problems if not it explain as is the process to obtain the correct answer.
Consit's not than simple to use, you have to have knowledge in maths, about symbols and expressions for a better experience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Olga Cecilia G.
Lawyer
Legal Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2019

“A free math tutor”

ProsEveryone can understand mathematics with this app, it helps you with equations, graphics and stats. I really like that they show you how to do the problem, making it easy to understand. As soon as you have master it everything about this app is great
ConsWolfram has a really hard interface, even people who use this app daily has trouble when it comes to using the interface. Wolfram can be really difficult to use for new people
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2019
Alberto G.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2018

“Mathematica is powerful, but you REALLY need to know how to use it to get great value from it.”

ProsThe capabilities and functionalities embedded in Mathematica are almost unbounded. You can create very complex models in every branch of mathematics and statistics with this software and, in addition, Mathematica can display the final results using graphics that can be entirely customized to suit your needs--from very simple plots to very sophisticated graphical animations.
ConsThe amount of effort needed to use Mathematica in all its glory is long and steep. Unfortunately, the logic and naming conventions that make Mathematica a powerful programming language are not intuitive--there are too many rules and obscure naming conventions that are not typically used in other languages. Error messages are not very helpful for new users, and frustration can quickly set in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2018
Simrat J.
Student
Education Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Pros and Cons”

OverallAs a student, Mathematica has been very efficient in analyzing data.
ProsThis software is really useful in manipulating data and providing expressions and equations. As a student, I have used it for chemistry to manipulate the math equations.
ConsSometimes, Mathematica is difficult to cooperate with and does not realize that some expressions are in fact equal to one another. However, the built in help is great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Morteza B.
Student
Research, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“A must-have for engineers”

ProsMathematica is amazing! When you're not sure if an integral has closed form solution or not, then Mathematica can help you in just seconds! It's very powerful and is very handy. It's also very easy to learn! Definitely recommend it.
ConsWhen working with MATLAB, all functions are in small case. But in Mathematica, the first letter of predefined functions are usually in capital case. So it's a bit creepy when working with both simultaneously! It would be more than great if these two helpful software have same syntaxes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Rashmi ..
UI Developer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2019

“Wolfram mathematica”

ProsWolfram is very good as mathematical computation engine. When it comes to solves the difficult mathematical problem, it is the very much needed solution for all kind of problem. You can solve whole of Calculas of mathematics with this tool. Also, along with that it offers a lot of other thing for image processing, machine learning and more.
ConsWith great power and usability it comes with a few negatives as well. It is not easy to use this as you have to learn it's own scripting language and secondly for other purpose like using it's api, it is a bit costly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2019
Avatar Image
SK J.
BUSINESS PARTNER
Information Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2018

“ Helping scientists, artists, business houses implement advanced mathematical models into their work”

ProsOne of the oldest mathematics software (first version 1988) that has helped many scientists, artists, business houses implement advanced mathematical models into their work.
ConsThey need to work in a team and stop giving an impression that the world of programming is the world of Wolfram. Little reference or appreciation for other programming languages and habit of self-praising by its founder belittles his own real accomplishments.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018

“Mathematica Review”

ProsMathematica is a useful tool for solving equations numerically. After spening sometime getting accustomed to the software it is rather easy to do many different mathematical operations which can be used to help with many areas of science and math.
ConsThe software can be rather confusing so there is an entry curve before you can use mathematica to work on more complex topics. Be prepared to look at outside resources as Mathematica's examples are very trivial and rather hard to get to work for what you are doing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018
James B.
Senior Software Engineer
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Good mathematical / scientific prototyping software.”

OverallGood mathematical / scientific computing framework, let down by the fact that there are free alternatives.
ProsVery simple to use language / environment for mathematical and scientific computing. If you don't have a programming background, the syntax is simple and very close to how you would write and equation.
ConsI think the only issue has to be cost. You can the same functionality (and possibly more) from free tools such as Octave.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Zeynel A.
student
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019

“Very flexible and multi-purpose software for solving many kind of problem”

OverallIt is very helpful in solving simple or complex differential equations that are commonly used in engineering problems.
Pros+ The feature of "Cloud-deploy" allows user to reach their previous algorithm from any device that is connected to internet. + It shows the process of solution, step by step. And that enable students not only to solve the problem but also to learn how to solve it. + It can handle symbolic functions + It offers varieties of mathematical functions and operators. + You can import or export data in different formats. + Sample solutions in help menu is really helpful and informative
Cons- It is not good at dealing with vectors and matrices. - Plots could be better - It might be expensive for private use. - Instructions as to why the error occurs, generally is not helpful enough.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019

“Student Experience”

OverallUtilized for multiple math classes. Was impressed with the capabilities, but trying to learn the both complicated interactions in the software and learn the course subjects was difficult. If you enjoy computer programming and understand the language, well worth it.
ProsThe 3D capabilities of this software are great visuals! The input was fairly easy, and the calculus based operations were helpful in understanding the concepts.
ConsIf you do not understand computer programming, you will not understand the language needed to input the functions and calculations. If there was an error attempting to graph functions, it was difficult to undo and ended up starting over several times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Research, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019

“Must Have mathematics package”

OverallComplex algebraic expressions manipulations 2d/3d data and functions plotting and also numerical work. It is just great !
ProsIt does almost everything related to algebra / numerics. For professional and beginners this is the right platform to practice maths.
ConsIt should be more affordable or have limited but with features free version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019
Jose F. Q.
Military
Military, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“ASVAB”

OverallI love it makes life easier
ProsVery accurate app that helps math problems
ConsThe app Doesn't offer a pc version for fee
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Research, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“Powerful Tool for Symbolic Computations and More”

OverallThis software has helped me a lot through the University. I have even used it for my undergraduate thesis, mostly for visualizing data and processing large datasets.
ProsInvaluable tool for someone studying/working in Computer Science, Machine Learning, Image Processing or similar fields. Everything you need regarding those facets of computational sciences is there! Mathematica has the ability to seamlessly compute, analyze and produce complicated data by using its rich set of built-in functions.
ConsSteep learning curve. Even though tutorials and documentation are readily available online, the syntax can be a little bit difficult to grapple with at first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Anna C.
Technician
Biotechnology, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Very powerful software”

OverallLove this software! Very powerful once you learn the language. I've used this software for years and I don't that changing anytime soon.
ProsVery powerful software. It's very versitile when you know how to use it.
ConsIt can be quite a learning curve to use the software especially if you don't have experience with similar software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Tyler W.
Student
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Great Tool”

OverallGreat software and has great results. Always gets the job done.
ProsWolfram is a great way to solve pretty much any kind of equation. It's really easy to use and produces great results with a lot of information with the results.
ConsI really don't have any complaints. It is really a great program and has never really given trouble.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2019

“The ultimate tool for math modelling.”

OverallGreat tool that can be used for myriad use cases.
ProsLove the Wolfram design mindset in integrated functionality across disparate subject matter areas.
ConsExpensive licenses, not much else, aside from sometimes the newer features need more testing done before being released.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Airlines/Aviation, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Superb software for calculations”

OverallIt is excellent software for mathematical calculations and even for research (in mathematics, physics, technology...).
ProsYou can do various calculations. The built-in functions are optimised for even smoother calculations. It is also quite easy to define your own functions. The number of definitions is growing with every version of the software. You can plot various types of graphs.
ConsIt is a bit heavy calibre, and the loading of the programme take some time. So for simple calculations like additions or multiplication, I usually prefer simple Calc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Complex math demands Mathematica”

ProsMathematica is one of the best softwares available for dealing with complex math. It is truly a time saver.
ConsThe license cost is prohibitive to some of the people who could most benefit from using Mathematica.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Incredibly powerful”

ProsI cannot even describe how powerful this tool is as I only use it for data visualization. Though to my understanding, it can help in pretty much any industry. From medical imaging, to financial modeling, this tools list of features are seemingly endless.
ConsNone to report! I think some may say that it can be tough to learn at first but I found it to be pretty intuitive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Logistics and Supply Chain, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018

“Powerful tools for math researches”

OverallI used Mathematica for my undergraduate thesis when I needed to compute equilibrium point in a competitive market.
ProsIt is awesome regarding symbolic manipulation. I use this software to compute complex integral and differential equations. It produces nice graph output for you to present your result. There are a lot of resources for you to learn how to use it, if you are new.
ConsYou can have difficulty learning this software in the beginning. It has a large number of functions, and its syntax is different from those of other languages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018

“Basic Computational Software in Mathematics”

ProsMathematica provides me quick references of graphs and solutions of mathematical functions. The best thing about this software is easy to use. Students/begineers can refer behavior of equations just by typing equations on the software and select "Evaluate Cell". People with advanced needs can do advanced mathematical tasks on Mathematica by learning Wolfram language.
ConsI am familiar with C++ and python languages, and some syntaxes on Mathematica are hard to get used to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018
Avatar Image
Fabian M.
Polymath. Engineering, R&D; student w/ encouraging projects.
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“Good tool for students/professors at sciences and engineering”

OverallIt was helping me out with my learning and check if I did well an exercise or if the result is similar, how it did get there.
ProsÏt's offline. It tells the way to solve some exercises and share its result, save it as capture image and so. It is not heavy for our device. A bit quicker and easier to use than another calculator with its features like solving integrals and derivations. Not programming knowledge needed.
ConsIYou must be cautious with what and how you write your equations because of syntax and priority solving by the mathematics and the program itself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Airlines/Aviation, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Great tool!”

ProsThere is no better tool to quickly solve any kind of equation.
ConsBit of a learning curve, but there is a lot of online help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019

“Nice software for calculation and coding”

OverallI recommend it to everyone dealing with Mathematical Equations.
ProsI have used this software for one of my courses related to Mathematics. It is awesome. It has a pretty capability of creating mathematical animation curves. It is easy to use, and it is powerful in computing integrals and derivatives.
ConsSoftware is nice. I have not faced any problem while using it. The way it shows the figures is great. The environment is pretty as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Cannot Reccomend This Enough”

OverallAny time I have a complicated equation I turn to Wolfram. It's better than any calculator I've ever owned as it understands exactly what I type AND breaks it down and shows me each step. I reccomend Wolfram to anyone in a technical field.
ProsCan solve any equation, shows step by step breakdowns so it is easy to see if a mistake was made in my equation, is fast and easy to use.
ConsSometimes I have to look up how to type out equations as I do not have access to certain symbols on a keyboard.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
ANTONIOS F.
Science Teacher
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“make mathematrics simply ”

ProsIts very easy to make mathematics calculations
ConsThere is no one visual simulatoin package
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019