NVivo Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5

About NVivo

Qualitative text data analysis system for use in analyzing clinical trial results, survey responses, and more. Learn more about NVivo

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Ray A.
Research and Cultural Consultant, Editor/writer, interpreter.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018

“Nvivo was the go-to QDA for graduate students for many years. Still a powerhouse. ”

OverallNvivo is robustly designed and can handle very large projects that involve text, video and audio. I believe AtlasTI or MaxQDA offer better feature sets.
ProsNvivo runs on Windows, Mac. This is important for exchanging data on research teams whose members will be using both Windows and Mac computers. Colleagues have often commented on how Nvivo is easy to use for content and thematic analysis. By using Nvivo to define codes and tag documents with the codes as you move through the document. This grounded approach will allow users to build an understanding of the underlying themes in the data. Each coded segment in Nvivo called a "node", can have a set of custom properties that include instance-specific values can be either flat, or hierarchically arranged, each of which has certain advantages. Flat coding prevents imposing a structure on data while hierarchical coding can help researchers find patterns in the document, assists with analysis and building models. Many tutorials can be found online and via the MaxqDA website. The user discussion forum is also a useful place for learning how to use the program and to apply the software to specific research needs. Because good tutorials can be found easily, users will have less trouble learning how to use this powerful program
ConsIt does not offer a portable version that users can use when travelling or in the field on someone else's computer. This is a drawback and restricts use to the user's computer only. The student license, while cheaper than the other major QDA vendors, is only valid for 12 months. If you are doing a PhD (which could take many years), you'll have to purchase a full version of the software which is really rather pricey. Nvivo may not be as good as MaxQDA for helping researchers build interrelationships among the data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018
Avatar Image
Ho Quang T.
Lic. PHD Candidate
Research, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Very good tool for qualitative analysis, MAC version is poorer than WIndows version”

OverallI am using both Mac and Windows versions of NVivo (NVivo 11). As a researcher who conducts empirical research, I often need to analyse interview transcripts/records/videos. In NVivo, I find the functionalities that I've ever needed for such analyses, for example coding and visualising results. It really makes my life as a researcher easier.
Pros- This is a sophisticated Quality Data Analysis program which provide a wide range of functionalities and supports that make researcher's life easier. - NVivo supports many inputs including text, PDF, survey, audio, video and graphical files. - It has a lot of built-in functions for coding, retrieving, analyzing, visualizing and exporting. - Qualitative analysis is not an easy task and sometimes requires team-effort - That's great that QSInternational realized it and provided a good supports for team work.
Cons- The biggest problem with NVivo for our team was incompatibility between NVivo versions. As a team, we used different versions of NVivo on both Windows and Mac, and it turned out that exchanging the data was not so easy (for example, an Nvivo project exported from Windows cannot be properly imported to Mac version and vice versa). - Some functions are not intuitive and therefore take time to learn by reading the manual or by viewing the online tutorials. I understand there is always learning curves to be expected when it comes to using a new tool, but I would expect more build-in example, guideline within NVivo for that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Christen P.
Graduate researcher
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“Clear qualitative management ”

ProsAble to code and color code nodes throughout qualitative work. Able to duplicate code trees in empty projects for validity and multiple people working in the same coding tree. Able to merge similar projects. Also, printing a branch/nodes with all of the relevant excerpts direct from the software - it's a feature I have not found in any other qualitative application
ConsThe only drawback is the cost. For multi-person projects, each person needs to purchase a license. That can add up fast.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“The best software for qualitative data analysis ”

Overall1. saves time of qualitative data analysis and reporting 2. easy to use 3. helps to document interviews in different format 4. helps to document interviews in more organized way (including by thematic topics, respondent characteristics and geography)
Pros1. best for qualitative interview documentation 2. can work with pictures and audio in addition to text 3. uses respondent characteristics (age, gender, employment and others) during the analysis 4. auto coding has minimize time of data coding. I have used the older version of Nvivo when coding was done manually and with auto coding life become easier
Cons1. More expensive for individual users 2. not much user group discussions and documentation 3. expensive training cost and very limited to some countries (USA, EU and south africa)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Ganjar W.
Founder
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“Great Qualitative Data Analysis Tool”

OverallNVIVO is essential in my research as social scientists. With NVIVO, I am able to code interviews and other qualitative data, thus able to draw conjectures from the codes easily.
ProsNVIVO is great to conduct data analysis for qualitative research. It allows users to code the qualitative data, making it easier for users to perform content analysis with the data. NVIVO's interface is very user-friendly and requires minimal time investment to learn the application.
ConsPerpetual license for NVIVO is expensive for early career academics. There should be a price scheme for this category of users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018

“NVivo is user friendly and one of the top softwares available for qualitative analysis. ”

ProsOnce I understood the basics of NVivo, coding transcripts was intuitive and actually fun. I used my mouse to highlight and drop coded sections into the various coding folders or buckets. The feature that allows the user to view all the coded sections is color coded which allows for ease of review.
ConsThere were major issues when working on transcripts between a PC and MacBook. Some transcripts didn't transfer and a significant amount of time was spent trying to figure out how to troubleshoot. Additionally, it was difficult to get in-touch with customer support which prolonged the process. We also experience trouble between different versions of NVivo.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018
Henry O.
Research assistant
Research, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Best qualitative and mixed-methods research tool”

OverallNvivo 10 has been a great tool for me especially in managing qualitative data that is in text format, also it came in handy for the transcription. while loading data can be slow, the rest of the process is smooth except for coding which will probably get worse if there are more than two of you, but that is a people problem. So far so good NVIVO is the go-to software for qualitative and mixed methods analysis.
ProsGood for storing and organizing qualitative data. You can easily share data with SPSS and it has intuitive visualization options. It has good transcription which does most of the work for you if you have good audio.
ConsFeeding data into the system is a little challenging and it is important for you to learn how to use it before you start analyzing your data with it. Also, you will need a set of code, coding can be tedious especially for beginners.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Avatar Image
Taylor T.
Research Consultant
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“NVivo for Qualitative Analysis”

OverallOverall I have found NVivo very useful.
ProsNVivo is a great platform for coding interviews, focus groups, etc. It provides a way to analyze your data in a more user-friendly manner than using another system such as a spreadsheet.
ConsI know NVivo is working on making their software programs compatible between Windows and Mac. This is an issue that has gotten in the way of working with my team as we run off different computers. It also seems as if there are some compatibility issues between different versions of the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019

“Qualitative research tool”

OverallFeatures provided in Mac and Window are different. I hope it can be completed (similar between Mac and Windows)
ProsThis is great software for qualitative research. This software helped me to analyse my data for my PhD research. The features were easy to use and present the best results.
ConsThis software is expensive. This software takes memory (sometimes it makes my computer stuck/hang)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Margot K.
Data Analyst
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018

“The software is so elegant; it is so simple yet complex. NVivo can help with different tasks”

ProsNVivo is an analysis system that my team and I have been using for some time now. The vast possibility of usage of this software exceeds its expectations. It analyses more than mere text data, but also audio amongst others. It is very easy to comprehend. The layout of the system is also pleasing and adaptable. My team has not faced major problems with NVivo.
ConsThe only contrary to the product are the minor bugs that makes the product sometimes glitch, but it rarely appears and is very tolerable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2018

“Good qualitative software.”

ProsI like the ability to organize the data. I have used this software with other researchers (we did interviews), and it allows us to efficiently and effectively organize our date.
ConsI always feel like there could be more features, but there are plenty that help us to be able to create and organize codes. I also wish coding software was cheaper, especially for those who work at smaller institutions with not as many resources as large institutions. Still, I am thankful I have options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2018
Sa F.
Student
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018

“Good for organizing, lacking in analysis”

ProsIt's very easy to code data and then access these categories.
ConsIt is more difficult than I would expect to actually interact with the data to come up with insights once it's coded.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2018
David R.
Professor
Research, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“Product Review”

OverallI use this intermittently on a variety of projects. Recently the application would not open. Despite sending six fault reports and filling in a feedback form I have received no response from QSR. At one time the service was superior. Do I assume that they have been taken over?
ProsIt served me well for two decades or more.
ConsDeterioration in service quality which approaches zero.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Fahd M.
Postgraduate researcher
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“Useful software for analysis of qualitative data”

ProsThe GUI is familiar to Windows users Drag and drop coding The word cloud function is great for illustrations
ConsThere are few options to customise the graphical output, in terms of fonts/colours etc There is a lack of even basic quantitative assessment tools, though that is not the focus of the software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
Mark N.
Manager
Civic & Social Organization, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2019

“Version 9 Review ”

ProsImports data easily for analysis, though the export is less flexible
ConsNot intuitive to use - basic features are easy, but additional can be confusing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2019
Karlyn G.
PhD Student
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“Intuitive and Powerful”

ProsI like how easy it is to figure out as you go
ConsI wish codes showed up in documents as you code them as highlighted sections
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018