Semaphore Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Semaphore

The fastest CI/CD solution there is. Easily automate the process of software testing in the cloud and deploy more often in a unified workflow. Automate any continuous delivery pipeline. Get complete control with customizable stages, parallel execution, control flow switches, secrets and dependency management. Autoscale and pay only what you use. Learn more about Semaphore

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 14 of 14 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 14 of 14 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Semaphore 2.0 - What a blast of speed”

OverallWe've gone from full, congested CI pipelines, with our machines positively clogged with teams waiting for slow or large test suites to finish consuming all the available slots on deploy day... Then having machines sit idle for hours on end during the rest of the week. This particular scheduling nightmare has since disappeared, and even test suites which can be optimised no further have benefited from a massive boost in speed.
ProsThe speed. Good heavens, the speed. We have a number of projects, some of which involve some rather extensive database manipulations involving using schema. Unfortunately, this precludes parallelising our test suite, which has led to a steadily growing issue with slow specs. Whilst we optimised the specs as much as we can, reaching the point where a test run takes in excess of an hour and a half is still a very dour prospect. Enter Semaphore - we tried it out as an experiment, and have quickly moved some of our bulkiest projects over. The hardware is a massive improvement, test run times have been halved, and in some cases do even better than that. Better still, their support staff and engineering team are... Frankly, stunning. Support queries, even involving challenging and unusual setups are rapidly responded to, and often get passed to engineers and similar who are able to help you - unlike certain other CI providers who leave you hanging out with Bill from customer service, a nice enough bloke, but lacking the technical competence to actually solve issues. Whilst there are still some features that they are missing (auto-cancellation of specs, for example), they're rapidly building them out at an impressive pace - I have no doubts that they'll have every reasonably conceivable feature and then some in the near future. Finally, bare-metal hardware and the bare-bones linux vms with their helpful array of docker images for services are fast, easy and simple to use.
ConsSemaphore 2.0 is still fairly new, so some of the Semaphore 1 features have yet to make the jump. In addition, there are some nice to have features they didn't have when we signed up - but they took the feedback to heart and kept us up to date on their progress building them o

Vendor Response

By Rendered Text on February 5, 2019
Thank you very much for the review. We really appreciate it!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Sebastian S.
Founding Team Member
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018

“Incredible Speed, Simple UI, Best-in-class Customer Support”

OverallIf you are picking a CI tool, pick Semaphore. If you are considering moving from an existing CI tool, or even if you aren't, strongly consider Semaphore. Our experience has been nothing but positive, and the support alone sets it apart from the pack.
Pros- Builds are FAST. The bare-bones Linux container used has plenty of power and our builds are completing 2-3x or more faster than TravisCI, JenkinsCI, and equivalents. - Building in 'Secrets' (config files, SSH keys, environment variables etc) is straightforward and really powerful - UI is simple and intuitive - Customer Support has got to the best I have encountered with a cloud provider of any kind. Seriously, we have seen 2 hour response times on a basic support plan, including custom gists being written for us for specific use cases turned around in that time. I am so impressed at the speed and quality of support and I cannot imagine competitors are even close in this regard.
Cons- Docker image caching on a dedicated disk would speed up our Docker builds substantially, but other than that I have no complaints or suggestions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018
Wender F.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“Simple and functional solution”

OverallSemaphore solves our complete CI/CD problems from development to staging.
ProsThe simplicity of configuration and the flexibility to customize pipeline runners, It uses to take us just a few minutes to have a pipeline running on Semaphore for a new project.
ConsWe have two different versions of Semaphore for different teams 1 and 2.0, the interface of V2 does not seem to be straightforward like the previous one.

Vendor Response

By Rendered Text on July 1, 2019
Thank you for the feedback! We're constantly working on making Semaphore 2.0 even more intuitive - stay tuned.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Grant N.
PM
Internet, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018

“Great”

OverallWe use Semaphore for our CI / CD pipeline. It allows us to ensure everyone is contributing code quickly and with the confidence that things aren't breaking.
ProsSemaphore is very easy to integrate, offers exactly the UI feedback I want, and shows what's going on in a remarkably simple way. It's clear they spend a lot of hours working on making sure the product is both high quality and easy to use. One of the best parts is how little I need to intervene, which is exactly the mark of a well-run CI product.
ConsI have little to no complaints. Any issue I've had I've never had more than once - if one user finds a problem they fix it for all users very quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Media Production, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2018

“Great CI/CD tool”

OverallSemaphore are a great company to work with. Always responsive and helpful.
Pros- Simple and very quick to set up. We had our first deployments working to stage and production environments within a couple of hours. - Easy to use. We have over 70 projects in Semaphore which are deployed to our staging and production environments. - Very flexible configurations. We use it to deploy to AWS Lambdas, AWS Ops Works, and Serverless SPAs to S3. - Helpful support team. They are knowledgable about the product, and offered extra capacity free of charge when we were setting up all our projects.
Cons- Limited implementation of deployment pipelines. - The Project UI can sometimes be confusing to see what has been deployed to each environment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2018
Terry S.
Managing Partner
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Brilliant Safety Net and Deployment Tool”

OverallWe use Semaphore to check our work before it auto-deploys our latest builds to clients' systems. Tests that would otherwise tie up developers' time running on their machines now run quickly online in Semaphore and we are notified of any issues automatically so we can action them before code goes anywhere near a live server
ProsEasy to setup and use. Once set up, it's reliable and quick, and has saved our bacon a few times!
ConsSemaphore Classic sometimes took a while to get results, as jobs would be queued according to the resources available. Semaphore 2 (latest version at time of writing) removes that obstacle

Vendor Response

By Rendered Text on May 15, 2019
Thank you for the review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Carlos Z.
Software Developer
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018

“Integration is Effortless”

OverallSemaphore is my favorite CI service. I have also integrated it with my personal projects because it's really easy to use.
ProsSemaphore is a very nice CI service that has helped my team over the years. As a long time user, I can say that Semaphore has made my life a lot easier by providing effortless integration, a user friendly UI, and awesome customer support.
ConsThere was a time when my team considered removing our semaphore integration because it can be costly for multiple projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018
Rauan M.
CTO
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2019

“Best tool for your CI/CD needs”

OverallI'd be just as happy with Semaphore Classic if it provided a way to keep the workflow in config files. But seeing how well the workflow is streamlined in Semaphore 2.0, I couldn't be more happier. Really, I've enjoyed the schematic display of the pipelines and especially appreciated the ease with which I could do introspections by jumping into jobs over SSH, and with good cli tooling no less. Also, per-second pricing came as huge surprise. It's a big deal for me as I always end up paying for something I enjoy but don't use as much to justify the spending. (it's important for bootstrapping companies)
Prospipelines visualization, easy debug, per-second pricing, great tooling
Conscouldn't find any, not considering it as cons, but as a suggestion - would be nice to have a one-click way to configure notifications in project settings, not from cli.

Vendor Response

By Rendered Text on February 13, 2019
Thank you for the review and the feedback. Happy building!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Christoph E.
IT Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018

“Great service that helps the development team”

OverallWith Semaphore you can make continuous deployment a reality.
ProsWe tried a few different CI services and Semaphore was by far the easiest to setup. When the tests worked in development, they worked on Semaphore. With other services this was not always the case. Another great feature is that you can spread out your testing suite over a few different servers that carry out the test suite in parallel, saving time. Wonderful is also the auto-deploy feature that deploys green builds to AWS.
ConsWhen choosing a lot of parallel boxes to run your tests it can get quiet costly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019

“Robust CI platform”

Pros* Ease of use * Simple configuration * Rich REST API that we use for analyzing build logs (performance, inconsistencies, etc.) * Boosters
Cons* Boosters - although they've really increased our throughput and have reduced build inconsistencies the Box pricing gets expensive, quickly.

Vendor Response

By Rendered Text on June 14, 2019
Thank you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019
Mark R.
CTO
Fund-Raising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018

“Semaphore is good for those that want bang for the buck”

OverallWe moved onto Semaphore over a year ago and have been happy with the service. Customer service has been responsive and we have seen an effort to improve the service as a whole.
ProsSemaphore is easy to set up and flexible. Setting up CI/CD pipeline is simple to set up and works well.
ConsNo incremental pricing options. On the yearly subscription plan it would be nice to have the option to pay for more servers for one month without having to bump up to the next subscription level.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2019

“Great software for maintaining websites”

OverallOverall, it was a very easy-to-use system that did its job well.
ProsIt has almost no clutter even though it's a pretty complicated system. Settings are easy to change, and the whole software is very informative.
ConsSince the software is so simple, at times, as a user who didn't set up the whole system, I had to learn certain things about the software from google. There were no walk-throughs of the site in the beginning.

Vendor Response

By Rendered Text on August 27, 2019
Thank you for the review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2019
JOSE H.
Backend Senior Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2018

“Great CI Service”

ProsIt's really simple yet powerfull and configurable.
ConsAPI missing statistics about boxes performance. Still it's a very nice and complete API
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“A great tool for CI / CD”

OverallI run tests for my OSS projects, mainly https://github.com/okiba-gang/okiba, to ensure consistency through PRs. I hooked it up with a few other tools in such a way that the results of the test run get propagated through my toolchain. That's how we can achieve (and maintain) 100% test coverage and A level maintainability.
ProsWith semaphore you aren't required to have a config file in your project repository, all the settings are online. Its free tier for OSS projects lets you build, test and deploy automatically, with just a little configuration effort at no cost. The UX is pretty good and it's easy to integrate with third-party tools, such as CodeClimate
ConsThe settings panel could use a UI upgrade, as it isn't always straightforward to navigate it.

Vendor Response

By Rendered Text on June 4, 2019
Thank you for the review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019