Alibre Design Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Service
4.4/5

About Alibre Design

Mechanical CAD software with 20 years of development that's easy to learn, precise, extensible, and affordable. Learn more about Alibre Design

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 7 of 7 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 7 of 7 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Public Safety, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019

“Best bang for the buck”

OverallWe took a product that was purely conceptual in nature and created a design and working prototype that was used in obtaining a patent. Alibre was the key software platform we used in doing the work.
ProsThis software is perfect for a small design team or individual use to create products from scratch. We used this software in the design and patenting of a roadside barrier system to reduce injuries and fatalities, especially in cases where motorcyclists were involved. The software was inexpensive and was very easy to learn. Granted, there was some ramp-up to gain proficiency, but it took place very quickly. Also helpful during this process was Alibre's customer support team. They were easy to get hold of, and were able to work with us when we got stuck along the way. I would highly recommend Alibre for design work, especially work that needs to be done in order to get a product or a design patented.
ConsSome features were a little cumbersome, but with customer support a workaround was nearly always available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Machinery, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019

“Simple, does the job, but not for long-term or large-scale use”

OverallAlibre has successfully provided my workplace with a CAD package that allows us to provide suppliers with everything they need to get parts made right, as well as sufficient capability for ongoing design & development work. Software bugs cause a lot of frustration but you get what you pay for here!
ProsEasy to pick up coming from SolidWorks etc. Does all of the simple things you need a CAD package to do.
ConsBugs, crashes, failures, freezes! When working on complex parts/assemblies, Alibre will not do the job reliably. Problems come intermittently at nearly every step of the way. Working full-time on this software is very frustrating and requires workarounds only a competent user can manage.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019
GREGORY B.
Unknown
Business Supplies and Equipment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“Help was there”

OverallUsing the product for years without problems. Then an update arrived and ruined the experience. I wrote to rep was on my case almost immediately. He was as patient as I was frustrated. Saw me thru and fixed the problem. I was considering CAD shopping again, but rep saved the day. Good man.
ProsPrice. Ease of learning-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
ConsUpdates-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Cody S.
Computer hardware/soft ware technician
Consumer Electronics, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2019

“My many years with alibre”

OverallI was able to jump into te 3d designing world at a very reasonable price. I was able to make my customers ideas a reality.
ProsI bought this product years ago before it was sold to geomagic. The customer support was always there when needed, which was no often at all due to the softwares excellent functionality. I loved how easy it was to import cad drawings in comparison to some other cad softwares on the market.
ConsI had no negative in my dealings with alibre.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“Affordable, and very useful”

OverallDesigning vibration control hardware to fit within a tight structure would be very difficult without 3d modeling, and this package costs a small fraction of what we write have paid for other popular purchases Packages.
ProsCreating 3d models of simple shapes is easy to learn. Alibre will create 2d drawings of the designs as well.
ConsRelaxing parts in an assembly didn't always behave as expected, requiring a lot of rebuilding of constraints.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2019

“A mechanical Software”

OverallUsing it as student to solve to some mechanical works or problems.
ProsWhat I like most about these Software it user friendly and front ends are easy to interact with it .
ConsThe least about the software is when their heavy activities carrying out on it , their is probability of hanging which slow down process when working with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Electronics, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2019

“Precision CAD software offering”

OverallUseful to have the free trial
ProsEasy to use variety of tools for mechanical design and documenting
ConsHelp and support by vendor could be improved
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2019