Canvas Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Canvas

The Canvas CMS Platform is the ultimate professionally supported digital marketing platform. The Canvas CMS Platform is developed to power both responsive websites designed for conversion and digital marketing campaigns. Within Canvas you can create dynamic landing pages, launch digital campaigns, monitor analytics, manage contacts within the CRM, send email campaigns and much more! Learn more about Canvas

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Melissa M.
Senior Assistant Director, Indiana Recruitment and Outreach
Higher Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019

“User friendly course management option”

OverallI have used Canvas successfully both as a course management system for my class (I am a college professor) and also for training modules for professional positions. I have found Canvas to be a simplified way to organize information that is easy to update.
ProsThis software makes course management easy. I have used Canvas both for academic course offerings as a college professor and also for training modules within a professional position. Canvas allows you to easily organize content, upload files, video and videos and link to external content. It's easy to create quizzes and exams and many custom options area available. It's easy to set due dates and to track who is logging in and how long they are spending on material. You can also conduct discussions and peer reviews. Due dates and easy to set and the gradebook is easy to utilize.
ConsIt can be hard to create things that are visually appealing if you aren't a course designer with code knowledge. Setting up a course or training module takes considerable time (but that is to be expected). You have to use the product for a while to truly understand the functionality and how to make it work bestfor you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019
Karen L.
Student
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“Well Organized for student use”

ProsCanvas has the most useful feature for students because the app shows the most recent courses, to-do assignment lists, notification of assignment due date and inbox tab which allows the student to send email to both instructor and classmates.
ConsAlthough Canvas has all the well organized feature, the app would not automatically show the current quarter/ semester courses when the courses were registered. The app would only show the most recent courses if the courses had been selected. It's a bit inconvenient because students would need to make this change at the beginning of each quarter/ semester.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019

“Canvas Use at Small Private College”

ProsCanvas has a variety of features which aid in teaching, grading, and attendance. The ability to create test questions is very intuitive, not to mention it will grade objective questions for you! This saved me hours of grading on tests. For papers you can restrict the file types that are submitted which reduces the headache of trying to open various file types which may not be compatible with your word processor.
ConsThere is a bit of a learning curve for some of the more advanced features, but that is to be expected for any software. For grading papers, I wish that the program worked more like the review function for MS Word. It is not as intuitive and in my experience did not allow for as much editing as I would have liked.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019
Lauren C.
Mental health therapist
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“Good but needs improvement”

OverallI like the comments feature on some assignments. I like the way you can see your current grade easily. I don't like the challenge of using rubrics on Canvas and don't like once you turn in an assignment you cannot see the previous versions of the assignment you've turned in. I like using canvas but I think some parts of it can be improved.
ProsI like the comments feature on some assignments. I like the way you can see your current grade easily.
ConsI don't like the challenge of using rubrics on Canvas and don't like once you turn in an assignment you cannot see the previous versions of the assignment you've turned in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Christopher P.
Assistant Professor
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Canvas is Excellent!”

OverallCanvas is fantastic and very flexible--though this often puts pressure on me, as a professor, to put extra time into designing the site (often time I don't have).
ProsCanvas is far easier to use than its competitors. It is fairly intuitive and attractive. I don't teach remote courses at present, but its format works very well as a supplement to classroom work.
ConsIt can be draining to set up assignments in Canvas, especially when one is (as I am) teaching multiple iterations of the same class. While it is possible to import assignments from one class to another, this is often a draining and confusing process and I ordinarily opt for simply re-creating the same assignment two or three times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
MIRANDA K.
Student
E-Learning, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“Great Dashboard and App”

OverallOverall, I think that canvas performs exceptionally well As an e-learning sweet. I have had many courses where all of the materials are loaded and organized into canvas, and cross-referenced across the course. It is simple, effective, and user-friendly.
ProsI am a full time online student and work a full-time job, and I could not have asked for a better eLearning suite. My professors use the discussion board and calendar tools to help make modules interactive and ensure deadlines are met. As a busy multitasking remote learner, I credit Canvas and its ease of use and student-friendly features with making my transition back to school seamless and stress-free.
ConsOverall, 10 best is easy to use and the app itself is wonderful. I have been able to submit assignments and study in line at concerts, waiting for my kids, Orwell shopping. However, the platform is not really great off of Wi-Fi, so the app cannot reliably be used for time-sensitive or secure tasks like quizzes. For those, you really have to be in front of the computer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019
Alyson G.
Student
Law Enforcement, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Canvas is very helpful to students ”

ProsI have used canvas through my school for a long time. It is very easily accessible and also has many widgets for the screen on androids. I personally use the to-do widget because it is a really easy way to see what is coming up to do. I do not have to open the app just to see what is due.
ConsThere is nothing I can think of that I dislike.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Amy T.
Office Manager
Veterinary, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“Overall experience has bee very good, response times from staff are good with great follow through.”

OverallIndividuality and a team that can consistently help with issues, planning, managing and designing our site and posts.
ProsThe individuality of it, the ability to constantly change, adapt and upgrade our site. The pop up box calling out a special or event on the home page.
ConsSomethings that I would like to be able to change/update myself on certain pages seem complicated even after viewing the "help" on them and I am worried that I will mess that page of the site up and not be able to undo it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Racquel P.
Executive Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2019

“Helped me get through college”

OverallOverall I loved using it in college, so I now use it with my staff!
ProsMy first experience using Canvas was in college, it was the chosen software of the University. Easy and organized way to keep up with assignments and interact with classmates group or individual work. It saves assignment and anything donr for years! Interacting with my professors was SUPER easy as well!
ConsI couldn't figure out how to get alerts other than in my email about assignments and messsges. I got myself in a habot to chevk daily, but easy to set alerts would have been awesome!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018

“A solid platform for online student education”

ProsThe UI is fairly simple and easy to understand. There is also a lot of customization available to instructors.
ConsWhile there is lots of customization available to instructors, it also means that there can be a lack of standardization...so it may be easy to find things for one class but not for another
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2019

“Canvas for online students”

ProsI used Canvas as an online student. It was fairly simple to access and use. Intuitive and allowed sufficient space to write and upload documents.
ConsI don't have much to say here. Hard to know if it was the software or nuances of the professor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 15, 2019
Matt G.
Practice Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“Canvas looks great and has a lot of different options and features”

ProsOptions and features- there are a lot of customizable options available to make the look and feel inline with what is needed. Things can be changes out quickly and easily.
ConsTrying to make changes on our own to the backend can be cumbersome at times, but I've dealt with platforms that are much more cumbersome. Administrators help a lot with any changes needed or requested
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Nick A.
District Staff Development Coordinator
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018

“Effective LMS for Teaching”

OverallThis is a great LMS , with a great design/layout, a variety of features, and truly capitalizes on the collaborative aspect. This is truly geared toward k-12 education and is an effective choice to schools.
ProsThe customization features. Canvas does a nice job allowing users various options in order to customize their classes to their needs. You can pretty much arrange your course and materials any way you want. I like that small group feature to build collaboration and open dialogue. This is great when doing socratic seminars, online discussions in modules, jig saw or fishbowl activities in the classroom, etc. Plus, it affords you an opportunity to send materials discreetly to specific groups of students. Great for personalizing instruction. Canvas also allows for embedding of various third party applications. Great way to tie everything into one place.
ConsI love the ability to gamify learning modules for students or integrate self-paced learning. This is missing with Canvas. The ability to set completion settings or award badges who add another element to the platform. that is missing currently.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Nicolas H.
Distance Education Instructional Coordinator
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018

“User Friendly ”

ProsI've used canvas both as a student and instructor , I like that is user friendly , very straight forward in creating lessons and assessment. The ability to import content from other LMS such as Blackboard and Moodle is a big advantage . I think it would be a smooth transfer for those who want to switch .
ConsAs in every technology, errors and technical difficulties emerge , so it is advisable to have an IT skilled available to resolve and technical issue with CANVAS
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018
Lacey B.
Director of Marketing
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2018

“Easy to use ”

ProsProvided to us by our website designers - not involved in the decision to use User friendly Easy to add pictures
ConsProvided to us by our website designers - not involved in the decision to use Slow to publish updates Blocks not easy to maniupalte
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2018
casey p.
instructor
Education Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“Canvas was a tough go”

OverallWell, it enables me to teach on line. My school uses it. And, maybe it was instructor, who said early on that the beauty of online education was the student could teach themselves...and that's how it was here. I was basically left to figure everything out on Canvas myself...and there's an enormous amount to figure out. I kept having to go to the Canvas online support site...and never found anything there to help me. Could either not find anything at all related to what I was looking for, or found the wrong thing. YouTube was a lot more help that Canvas itself.
ProsIt's ability to lay out everything for students
ConsDifficulty in use. Impossiblity to find help on line from the canvas help sight
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018

“A great tool for class grades and communication management”

OverallVery pleasant upgrade from the previous online class management software.
ProsIts very cross platform friendly. I could easily enter grades and communicate on both my phone and tablet.
ConsPoor excel integration. The software cannot import data from excel into its database effectively.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018
Naima H.
Math Specialist
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Good product ”

OverallI use this as a teacher to post information useful to stidents.
ProsThis is a useful software for us teachers, I use it to access my students rosters. It also allows me to put things on the site for students to see.
ConsI can't complain about this product. The design can use little upgrade though. I will recommend this to teachers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
elliott o.
owner
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“The experience so far has been quite remarkable. The ease of working with the company pressure free”

OverallIt helps us market ourselves in an efficient and professional manner.
ProsWhat I most like about the software is its navigability. I want any prospective patient to work easily with our company.
ConsThere is nothing at all that is not likable. If I had to choose one thin it might be the fact that there is nobody physically in our area. That has not been a problem however.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Amylyn O.
College Professor
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2019

“Canvas”

OverallI love how you can respond to students directly with a email notification.
ProsMade online learning a lot easier for the students than the portal jenzabar system we had previously.
ConsApp for Canvas does not work a lot of the time. At times there are glitches in the system and publishing looks as if it catches some glitches.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2019
Fernando S.
Support Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Excellent solution for online distance learning”

ProsCanvas is a great to for distance learning students. It presents a beautiful interface, interesting features for students and a friendly usability.
ConsIt takes some time to get used to the location of the features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Edward A.
Business Development Representative
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019

“Useful service to manage courses”

ProsCanvas makes easy to manage course and provides an easy way to have an overview of grades
ConsThe mobile app is a bit confusing, it cold have a cleaner design
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2019
Lene B.
Office mgr
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“Like the website as done overall”

Overallweb presence
ProsIt produced a nice website it produced a nice website it produced a nice website
ConsI haven't been able to do ANYTHING myself. I have to contact THEM to even add a photo. Cannot find a decent tutorial even.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Scott M.
Chief Marketing Officer
Hospitality, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019

“Canvas Review ”

ProsI found quite useful to manage activities and courses with Canvas
ConsI didn't find an easy way to set up open discussion for courses - could be a nice add on
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Entertainment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“Great app and software ”

OverallI liked the software overall. I didn't have to learn much to use it so it's very user friendly and fast.
ProsI think canvas because it as easy to use as any collage app and a small professional as photoshop. I used to have to take 2 hours out of my day to create a simple but creative flyer for my events, but with canvas I create flyers fast and effective. The easy Drag and Drop function helps soooo much. They easy to use layout/template can be customized and best of all its free if you don't require upgrades. I use it once or twice a month so the free option is within my budget.
ConsI suppose my only con is the upgraded part. But this software really works well. It's effective and useful. I couldn't t find the undo function but maybe that's in upgrade.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Michael G.
Practice Manager
Veterinary, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Mostly easy for me to make changes, support is great if I need assistance!”

OverallA website that is attractive and relatively easy to update.
ProsEase of use - for most of what I want to do on the site, I'm able to accomplish in a fairly efficient manner. Technical support has been great for when I'm not able to be successful on my own.
ConsI feel that the interface could be slightly more intuitive. I'm fairly computer savvy, but some of the flow to update to our website seems awkward.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Stergios C.
Student At University
Graphic Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2019

“One of the Best free software for Design”

ProsCanva have saved me a lot of times when i needed to work for my designs in social media and general. It is free and have a good amount of free options that are very useful.
ConsSome of the extra's are quiet expensive for my opinion but you can do your job without them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2019
Angie B.
Vet Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“I'm pretty new to Canvas, but so far so good!”

ProsAfter a brief tutorial, seems pretty easy to use. I love how I am able to edit photos right in the software!
ConsIt did take a brief tutorial to learn how to upload files/pictures and how to edit photos. Not quite as easy as just playing around with the software to learn it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Kristina L.
Practice Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2018

“Easy to access and use”

ProsI like the ease of use and access most about the product. I also like being able to review the page prior to publishing.
ConsI do not have any issues with the software. I believe that it is easy to use and helpful for us to access our website.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2018