DSRAZOR for Windows Ratings

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Service
4.9/5

About DSRAZOR for Windows

Quickly report file and folder NTFS permissions in Manager-ready formats. DSRAZOR provides simple reports that detail the type of access that users and groups have to your files. DSRAZOR reveals effective NTFS permissions, each are provided in a simple easy-to-read report (see our sample screenshots); Detailed reports are ready for ACL documentation, explicit and inherited permissions, blocked inheritance, and orphaned SID trustees; Customize Reports as required and much more. Learn more about DSRAZOR for Windows

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Insurance, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“DSRazor/CPTrax”

OverallAs a Florida domestic P&C provider we have an obligation to our insureds, partners & team members to ensure the confidentiality & integrity of our data. DSRAZOR & CPTRAX help us to achieve that goal by use of comprehensive logging and alerting measures that can record even an ATTEMPT to access or make unauthorized changes.
ProsThe amount of data captured; every aspect of a change, delete or create to any file, folder, GPO or ADUC Object can be recorded.
ConsThe setup could be easier on the end-user. The learning curve isn't too bad, but requires some investment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Deborah T.
Network Administrator
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Carthage Central School District”

OverallOur school district, Carthage Central School District, has been a customer of Visual Click for many years! We originally started out using DSRAZOR for Novell and then moved to DSRAZOR for Microsoft about nine years ago. We are very pleased with the Microsoft helpdesk applet that was built for us. The applet keeps all Active Directory user maintenance in one place for our Helpdesk staff member. The Visual Click's support team is outstanding! When I request a change in our applet, I receive an updated applet usually with in hours. We are never left waiting for a response and are the support staff are eager make sure the applet is working correctly for our district. I would recommend Visual Click to any school district!
Pros-Active Directory user management in one place for our Helpdesk staff member -Active Directory Applet easy to use -Student Import Applet easy to use and saves us so much time! -Applet can be modified quickly by support team -Great Support Team!
Cons- Exchanging token keys each year and updating exe's with new tokens
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Craig T.
Systems Network Analyst
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“DSRazor”

OverallDSRazor has been an excellent tool for us. One example: When a user changes their name, Microsoft's interface was lacking in the process. I had Visual Click create a DSRazor Applet that for me that after I renamed an email address and updated the first/last names in ADUC, it would update the user's samAccountName, update the user's profile path and rename the profile folder on the network share to match their samAccountName. Without this, the profile path and folder would retain the user's previous user name.
ProsThe customer support is excellent. I have had made some difficult requests to support regarding the needs of organization has in order to make my life easier to manage Active Directory. Visual Click always finds a way to help me get my task completed with DSRazor.
ConsThe user interface is very basic and simple which may be a turn off to some users who would prefer a more pleasing look to their GUI.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Russel B.
CIO
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Modular”

OverallWe review group membership a lot as staff are always changing position and roles within the agency and we need to enforce our HIPAA polices and procedures. This tools make that enforcement easier to do without have to learn a lot of the power shell commands
ProsThis product has a lot of report options that come in handy for day to day review of polices within the domain. We use them often to validate group membership, account and more
ConsIn all the years that we have been using this application, I have not found anything that I consider a con.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Michael B.
Manager of Network Services
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“extremely valuable”

OverallWe have fully automated active directory account updating.
ProsI love that support help or does any customization that may be required. Competitor's solutions charges fees for such changes. The Zero-Privilege tools are easy for anyone to learn to use.
Conssetting up zero-privilege tool requires tech support to help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Siva P.
Senior IT Support Analysts
Automotive, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019

“Fit for our purpose ”

OverallVery good
ProsAbility to build almost any type of report
ConsAbility to custermize the Report template is limited
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019
Alan K.
Sr. Network Administrator
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“DSRazor for Windows - easy to use and customize”

OverallWe have been using this for years for both Help Desk functions as well as Reporting purposes. It is inexpensive yet highly scalable and customizable for our environment.
Pros- Works in environment right "out of the box" - Highly customizable - applets can be tailored and new applets written - Fast and responsive customer service
ConsWhile customization of applets on your own is possible, it requires a great deal of knowledge. It would be nice if there was a modular interface that you could apply to all applets automatically such as start all browsing in "Domain X, Organizational Unit Y".
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Rick P.
Assistant Technology Director
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Exactly what we need”

OverallThe overall "bang for the buck" is a really good deal. I plan to continue as a customer for the long haul.
ProsWith most software, if there is a feature I need or I need something changed to work better in our environment, I must submit a feature request and then hope it will be addressed, someday. However, anytime I need to do something that DSRAZOR doesn't quite do by default, I just submit a support request. Within a few hours, a freshly modified applet appears in my email, customized to our needs. Even though I have been a customer for years, I continue to be blown away by this amazing service.
ConsThe design tool is rather clunky. However, since DSRAZOR tech support will modify any applet to my specifications, this isn't a huge deal. I really wish the applets could be run off a web server. It is a bit cumbersome to have to distribute executable files to our users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Scott L.
Information Security Officer
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“Excellent Product!”

OverallI would recommend this application to any busy IT administrator, especially those that go through audits and exams for regulatory purposes. There is support is VERY responsive and super quick to help. If you need a report to do x-y-z and it is not in their canned reports, all it takes is an email to their support and they send you the report back pronto. How great is that! I highly recommend this application.
ProsThe software has many features that will allow an IT administrator to pull data from their Active Directory and place into a specified report. The software is easy to install and it has sure saved me a ton of time when needing sorted data fast. Our auditors love this application as we can pull data automatically and not have to rely on human intervention. The cost is really reasonable as well.
ConsCreating specific reports can be a little confusing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Samuel L.
System Analyst III
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019

“DSRAZOR for Windows”

Proseasy to use and timely/knowledgeble support
Consmaintenance kind of confusing for different apps
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2019
Tony R.
IT Systems Supervisor
Government Administration, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019

“Helped with our IT security posture.”

ProsThis software is great, because it allows us to know where our data goes and why. If a user deletes a file, or if a file goes missing, we have the ability to do some forensics to find out exactly what happened.
ConsNone at this time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2019
Sheldon E.
Senior Support Analyst
Investment Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Cost Effective Reporting Tool”

OverallI liked the product for reporting on our File Services ACL. The greatest value I received from DSRAZOR is the support. They can write you a customized report for your specific needs. A great service and time saver!
ProsThe tool was simple to use and it pulls the necessary data required for my job.
ConsThe interface of DSRAZOR I thought could be more intuitive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Han T.
System Administrator III
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Solid product. Remarkable support. Excellent value.”

ProsEase of use. Customizability. And most important of all, the excellent support offered for product. The level of support is remarkable.
ConsDated interface. However, will take rock solid reliability over any improvement in interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Grant B.
Lead Systems Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“DSRAZOR is great”

Prosextremely easy to use, support is a huge value for the price.
Consinterface could be updated to be more modern, but this is a very minor issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Dana B.
Director of IT
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019

“DSRAZOR for Windows Review”

OverallOverall, we are very pleased with the product. It is easy to use and a great benefit in generating reports that are required for auditing purposes. The flexibility to create new reports with those fields we need and want allowed us to setup routine reports to meet our needs.
ProsAll the builtin reports that allow customization. This saves time rather than having to create them from scratch.
ConsLack of training, but once we understood how it worked, it's easy to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2019
Stephen G.
SVP/Chief Technology Officer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Best comprehensive Active Directory reporting tool.”

OverallNow have the ability to report on any aspect of our AD environment.
ProsThis software allows us to develop the reports that our auditors and examiners want to see. Very easy to use. Tech support is awesome about helping you develop reports that you need but might not be included.
ConsCan't really think of any cons. The software is very straight forward.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019