OpenShot Video Editor Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About OpenShot Video Editor

Trim and animate your video objects with open source video editing solution for Linux, Mac, and Windows. Learn more about OpenShot Video Editor

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 24 of 24 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 24 of 24 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Sean U.
Office Manager
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Free Open-Source Video Editor thats pretty good”

Overallits been nice. Trying to dive in head first without tutorials or learning any tips and tricks was difficult. It's not as intuitive as many editors are but its a free open source software so...it is what it is.
ProsFor someone who doesn't have an unending flow of cash. A free reliable video editor is a tough thing to find. Couple that with the fact that its open source, and ever improving. OpenShot is a great option for those on a strict budget. Other than the fact that its free, it does most everything you'd expect out of a video editor. Also with online tutorials, learning is easy and free as well!
Consobviously not as comprehensive as say Adobe Premiere. But unless you have an extra arm and a leg, that can break the bank easily. Especially with the way children these days are mesmerized by the thought of being a YouTuber, if you're a parent, OpenShot is a great alternative. Not as intuitive either...big turn off for video editing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Debjit B.
Freelancer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“Opensource video editor with cloud and api capability.”

OverallIf you are experimenting and want a completely free/ open-source solution for your video editing solution this software is for you. I just update it to my KVM VPS and I have a cloud editor all by myself. The feature is simple, effects are not that impressive but it workes.
ProsThis is the most awesome piece of software for videos editing. I just install it to a VM and use the app to convert/create/edit video using its api. Just awesome. I have also tried the desktop version with GT710 my entry level card and its output was smooth. Playback for 1080/30fps is just smooth and doesn't take many resources. As it is an Opensource and community-driven software I can use it for free and for anything. Some transactions effects and sound channels. It is still its first stage and evolving rapidly.
ConsAs it is an Open-source software I have to wait if got any problem or find my own solutions for it. The effects are limited due to no team is developing them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Michael T.
Network Administrator II
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Very video editor that doesn't cost an arm and a leg”

OverallI use to use Openshot to edit my drone footage, and I still do from time to time. I have never had any issues with it, and it has always done the job excellently.
ProsOpenshot is a free and open source software. It is maintained by a community of programmers that are very helpful in keeping it working and up to date. It has a wide range of transitions, and even has an add on for Firefox.
ConsAs with a lot of open source software Openshot can be buggy at times, and occasionally some of the features do not work as well as they do in paid software, but if you do run into any issues, there is a huge community of users to assist you with any issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Tyler T.
Youtuber
Entertainment, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2018

“Good free video editor”

OverallI can create videos in several different formats with very complex and intense audio added in. Openshot is perfect for a Youtuber on a budget.
ProsWhile Openshot is a good video editor in general my favorite feature is its powerful audio editing. When I need to create a video with an intense soundtrack Openshot is my go to editor.
ConsWhile Openshot is a good editor it has a tendency to lag and can even get so bad while lagging that it will freeze and crash. This has cause me to move to other video editors, but I still use Openshot for the audio editor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2018
Tajammal H.
Web Owner
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“OpenShot Video Editor - An open source video editor with powerful functions”

OverallI have been edited many videos with OpenShot software very easily. I like it.
ProsOpenShot is a free, easy to use and open source software for video editing. It has a user frinedly interface. The main window lets you access all video editing features, preview your work and access the timeline. It is available for Linux, Windows, and Mac. It also provide free built in effects and animations for your clips to make beautiful. It also have great 3D title generating support.
Cons3D animation generating feature is not a built-in feature. You must have to install "Blender" software to generate 3D animation titles.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018
Jason H.
Writer/developer
Online Media, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 3, 2019

“Open Shot is a fantastic free video editor”

OverallAs someone who was used to using Microsoft's Movie Maker, I was initially reluctant to start using a more complex video editor. At first, the interface was overwhelming, but in no time I knew my way around and was editing videos. Now that I know how to use it, I find it to be an excellent, powerful, and feature-rich editor. The fact that it's free is a bonus, and the fact that it runs on Linux and Windows makes it easy for me to switch between my many workstations.
ProsThe interface, while initially daunting, is functional and useful once you know your way around. Everything is laid out in a logical way to make it as easy as possible for new users.
ConsThe version that comes with Linux Mint does not include support for WMA files. A manual upgrade is necessary if you use that format.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 3, 2019
Linos S.
Academic
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Fast, fully customizable, but with a slightly steep learning curve”

OverallI've used OpenShot Video Editor in the past. At first, I preferred simpler applications, but once I had to make a half-hour project from more than 5 hours of audio and multi-cam video footage, I had to go for something more serious. Because I had to customize OpenShot Video Editor to my needs for said project, now I only use this, even for the simplest task.
ProsOpenShot Video Editor is probably the most powerful video editor and exported one can use on Fedora Linux. Anything and everything can be added to it's collection, from basic color correction to fully custom transitions, and there is a big community that shares their own. Rendering can be done in virtually every format and file type. Do not let the zero price fool you; this is a tool for professionals.
ConsAlthough it is really ease to use once its fully customized, customization itself can be somewhat hard. But otherwise, it wouldn't be possible to be that powerful. For a more simple experience, one can use other applications which are made for that purpose, but don't dwell into professional video editing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Joysurjya H.
Content Manager
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“A Free Video Editor Which Beginners Can Start With”

OverallThis was the first the first video editor I ever used when I started work on presentations in college. It was free so really didn't have many options to begin with. The learning curve was almost non-existent hence I really got used to OpenShot for almost till the end of college. Overtime though as I gained knowledge and shifted to better sophisticated software, I started using it less and less. Overall as a starter software for budding video editors and content creators, it is a recommended choice.
Pros1. A very easygoing user interface. The learning curve is not steep at all. 2. For a free tool, handles a variety of features quite well such as trimming, cutting, filters etc. 3. Is not very taxing on the system, so even a machine of decent specs can run this software.
Cons1. A high quality video edit can sometimes crash the software. 2. Adding too many filters also slows down the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Avatar Image
Ana M.
Administrator
Wholesale, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2018

“Easy and efficient video editor for home users and micro/small business”

OverallIt is good enough for our professional and personal youtube channels and simple not so demanding professional video presentations.
ProsOpenShot is free and open source video editor. It has a lot of features and the best one, by my humble opinion, is audio editing and audio options that are available to anyone that is interested to learn and make something more.
ConsIt knows sometimes to lag, or to freeze for few minutes and then just crash. Fortunately, it's not so often.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Jermaine L P.
Business Owner
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019

“Great Video Editing and its Free”

OverallI was working on creating some online business videos and the software is very capable of doing that
ProsI like the variety of effect and transitions that were provided with the software. I have used other programs in the past and they did not nowhere near as many effects and transistions.
ConsI could not read the descriptions at the bottom of the screen, it could be placed better. I could not see the clips button to see the additional features
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019
PHANEENDRA A.
Senior Engineer
Computer Networking, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019

“open source video editor with decent feature set and format support”

ProsOpen shot is completely opensource application available for free. I have used to convert old video files to latest formats and was impressed by the quality of conversion with no loss of quality for reduced file size. There were stability issues in the early releases of the application, which were resolved later using custom developed software libraries.
Consopenshot application is resource hungry while in use. Also since the application is not optimized for different hardware configurations the performance will vary on older and newer systems
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Santhosh R.
Test Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Simple to edit video....”

ProsOpenShot is an easy way to edit own Videos & with a simple UI. OpenShot is good features like crop, Slow Motion, 3D Animations & Good animation effects for videos
ConsSome time I observed that hanged while editing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Isaac D.
Youtuber
Computer Games, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2019

“Laggy Beyond Use”

OverallI hate this thing so much that I would highly recommend to NEVER use it. Ive wasted way too much of my time on this just for it to come out as crap or don't come out at all.
ProsEasy to use Great for Beginners Fun Better than Others
ConsAwful Compatibility Videos come out with broken audio Videos sometimes don't come out at all, bye bye 1 hour of work. ONLY accepts mp4 nothing else Glitchy as fuck Laggy Beyond Use Crashes 5 times per video
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2019
Brett R.
Specialist Computing Teacher
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2018

“FANTASTIC Free Editor”

OverallIt's free. It does what I need. It's staying installed.
ProsIt does everything I (a not really advanced user) needs
ConsIt did crash a couple of times. I can't comment on the speed of rendering, but seems fair enough to me.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2018
Steve E.
Teacher
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2019

“Feature full & free!”

OverallSince Microsoft is not providing Movie Maker any longer I've had to find a new easy video editor. OpenShot is a great alternative that will probably we even better. I am looking forward to making new YouTube videos and videos for my students.
ProsFree Easy to use Tons of features Thoughtful user interface
ConsHaven't found any yet! The creator has put out several instructional videos that cover most questions a user would have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2018

“A free option for video editing, It works but it is a litle bit unstable.”

OverallI can workmy videos with a low budget
ProsIt is a free and open-source video editor! I was looking for a cheap option of video editing software to work in my house with my laptop.
ConsIt can be laggie from time to time, the in build transitions are a bit amateur but it does the work required.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Games, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Free, does most things, great for quick videos”

ProsGreat for throwing some clips together with transitions. Quick exports and small file sizes. I dig it
ConsI wouldn't recommend this for larger scale projects or movie making or any of that. Keyframes behave oddly at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Michael S.
Caption Writer
Writing and Editing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Excellent software”

ProsYou can upload your videos along with audio and easily edit them with just a few clicks.
ConsIt's very selective on what pictures you upload should you try and create a slideshow with audio and sometimes it can lag.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
Avatar Image
Chandrakant K.
Lead Programmer
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Can be a first video editing software for youtuber”

Prosit has good number of animation effects. You can cut, trim and mix videos very easily. You can even control the output video resolution & framerates.
ConsIts not handy to use for complex video editing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Chad C.
Small Business Owner
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 24, 2018

“Video Editor That Can Stand On Its Own”

ProsIt has user friendly features comparable to other high level video editors at a fraction of the cost.
ConsThe interface does need some work but with some time you get used to everything.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018

“One the best free options for create, edit and share videos”

ProsIt is free and has comprehensive tutorials on the web. I know other editors and when I used the Open Shot video editor, I felt it was extremely easy. It works on almost every platform, the window formats are friendly, and you can do everything you know: use multiple file types, organize, animate, and apply clips and music effects (including 3d effects). In addition, the video can be exported in several formats
ConsI think, for a free software, there are no cons. And for problems, you can find a lot of help in the web community
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018
James F.
Administrator
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Decent, if basic option”

OverallI don't use it that often, but If I did video editing regularly I would probably want something a bit more powerful.
ProsFairly easy workflow when performing simple edits.
ConsLimited functionality in terms of image manipulation, transitions etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Jojo A.
Web Designer/Journalist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018

“OpenShot is the simplest open-source video editor available”

OverallA simple editing workflow, easy to use effects templates, easy video rendering and exporting.
ProsOpenShot is incredibly simple to use. Modeled similar to the default video editor installed on Windows versions previous to Windows 8, the advantage to this program is that it is cross-platform and supports chroma key.
ConsWhile the program is simple, it can also be very buggy. Also, the effects are very limited. They are composed of presents that make a home video look great, but certainly not professional.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Luxury Goods & Jewelry, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“I don't really like it”

ProsIt does cut editing in a simple way . Great for amateur.
ConsIt is not what I call a good editing program. The interace is badly done. Not enough important option. Only 1 video preview. I mean it might be good for amateur editing but that's it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018