KeyShot Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About KeyShot

KeyShot is the best at creating fast, accurate and amazing visuals. Featuring a real-time 3D rendering workflow Learn more about KeyShot

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019

“Keyshot is key to get the perfect shot ;)”

OverallOverall, Keyshot is fantastic, and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone. The quality is astounding and can make your product look so good!
ProsI used Keyshot in school, and now in the startup I am working with. I have always found it to be the best rendering program I could get my hands on. It is easy enough to use that even beginners can get really cool renderings. I ended up getting the keyshot pro version because I felt like having the HDRI editor would be important to get more custom lighting environments. After using Keyshot over the last year, some of the features that I have really appreciated using in my workflow is the model sets and studios. As a designer I do a lot of iterations and so being able to make these different model sets and being able to switch between them quickly for comparison has been really valuable. The keyshot viewer software that goes along with that seems really useful for that too, though I haven't used it very much yet.
ConsYou want to make sure you have a pretty powerful computer because it definitely takes a lot. I am running on a windows surface and it works it pretty hard. Sometimes it takes a little while for the renderings to be done, but it works. The only other issue I have had is sometimes when I click to open the render dialogue box, the software will just close/crash and I lose all of my work if I didn't save beforehand. I have lost a couple of projects that way. Of course I should always save often, but I wish they had some kind of recovery method or something.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Fine Art, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2018

“Easy Product Rendering”

OverallI
ProsThe best thing about keyshot is how easy the interface is and how simple it is to find the tools and settings you're looking for. The rendering is rather quick and I love just being able to drop materials on to parts of my CAD model based on how it looks in the side bar, which shows the material rendered onto a round ball. The material then assigns in realtime so you can toggle between choices quickly instead of waiting for a high quality render and comparing that way.
ConsSometimes will not quite understand your 3D geometry but for the most part does well with keeping the entire model structure together.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2018
Avatar Image
Roberto Maurizio P.
Founder & Creative Director
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018

“A very good program for product renderings.”

ProsKeyshot is perhaps one of the most immediate render creation programs. Over the years the quality level has increased considerably, offering the user new and effective features.
ConsSome problems with transparent materials and with the rendering of lights persist.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018
Eric K.
Graphic Designer
Marketing and Advertising, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Fast and Friendly Rendering”

ProsI liked how easy it was to learn and use. There were also many online youtube videos to help with simple tasks.
ConsNot that great with fabrics, not GPU based rendering and better features added to version 8, but I am stuck on version 7 until I can make a use case for the upgrade.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Andreas P.
Manager Technical Design
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019

“Great software to created photorealistic pictures of designed products”

ProsThe possibility to create beautiful pictures for company-folders or other marketing equipment is endless.
ConsYou need a few hours spent with the application to be able to make great pictures!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Aravind Narayanan N.
Animator
Animation, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Keyshot Rendering Review ”

ProsI am a well trained animator come product visualizer.I used Key Shot software since 2015.I like the quality of Rendering and the simple interface of software .I did many product visualizing works using key Shot.and its well co operate with z brush.
ConsRendering time.It Takes much rendering time than other rendering software but.giving us a mind blowing rendering output.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
leopoldo a.
3d modeler
Animation, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Impresive rendering quality easy to use”

OverallI have 8 months using it, and I think will be difficult to replace it because I love the quality of the rendering engine
ProsThis tool can achieve a high quality renderings with in just a short time, has a great material library and very easy to use. Also the lightning and mabckgrounds can be set on real time
Consis not able to model 3d, so the models should be imported, but it accepts a grand variety of formats
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Betre M.
Civil Structural Engineer
Civil Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2019

“Keyshot is the best friend for light rendering”

OverallOverall, Keyshots is great for daily use for checking designs during drafting stages but it is not the ideal tool for large scale projects and Final renders.
ProsKeyshot is the light weight rendering tool that gives nice crisp images to quick renders. It comes with decent material library that creates great looking images for your objects and renders. Its rendering time is very short making it idea to see how things would look during drafting stages. The program is very easy to use, straight forward instructions with cool functionality. Camera edits, HDR inage loading and much more for this simple program. Its not intensive on the graphics card and allows you to have walk through shots as well.
ConsKeyshots doesn't have the final touches needed to make your design look realistic. It has no object library, and the preset environment maps are just bland.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2019
Ruben B.
Proyectista
Mining & Metals, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2019

“Very good for rendering products”

OverallIts a very cool software, with very cool results if making virtual stidio sessions of products is your thing
ProsWhat i like the most, was the intuitive interface that it have, and the parameters that covers
Conswhen i use this, i was a little younger , and i needed tutorials and complementary info to operate the software, but it was a little too hard to find it for me
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2019
Pablo L.
Designer
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019

“No fuzz, quick rendering solution”

ProsBy far, the easiest solution for computer rendering software. No fumbling, setting up lights, position or extra details, just import the software add the textures and render. Regardless of this simplicity it doesnt lack in features or extra customization that may improve your results greatly.
ConsThis tool is more focused on product rendering, so users looking for architectural or interior design solutions may not be happy with this software, although I've personally rendered interior spaces with great results.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Larod T.
Music Composer
Graphic Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2018

“One of the greatest software product for rendering 3D realistic models or objects ”

OverallI tried other products that promise the same level of quality and outlook, but they required a little bit more "Add ons" to give you your desired results. Keyshot made the difference with being able to work a little more exclusively within the program without additional Plugins. The program definitely helped in giving my projects a real world look, and vibe...nothing else comes close at the moment, at least not for me in my opinion.
ProsI like the fact that you can integrate certain files from similar programs, and work within Keyshot without any big issues overall. Also, I love the fact that you can wrap the virtual surroundings in any 360 photo environment, and have it reflect onto the contents the project...the realism is amazing!
ConsHonestly, it meets all my expectations and more but, the only thing that should be giving a boost is the animation options, but besides that, it's worth anyone's investment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2018
rafael eusebio b.
Independent Designer
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“Incredible for rendering fast product options”

OverallI love it, it is a great tool to make fast and great quality renderings for clients to look at options with different materials/finishes.
ProsVery intuitive interface, all the materials (especially chrome, silver, gold, and all glass) are really high quality and rendering gives you photographic quality!
ConsIt is perfect for small objects/products if you have a non-highend computer, rendering times are slow, on an average laptop, but manageable. No need for animation, so far but it would be great to have it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Brian W.
CEO/Designer
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Great for 3D rendering”

OverallIt has been nice for a few work projects, but it was too much to use for me in the long run.
ProsThis is great for 3D product prototyping. It imitates a lot of features like a camera would.
ConsIt costs a good amount to use the software and is not free like other 3D software out there.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Annapaola V.
Visual Designer
Design, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018

“Useful for fast rendering”

OverallKeyshot has been very useful to me when i was a student and needed to quickly create images of my projects.
ProsFast to learn program. It's easy to get quality results in rendering.
ConsWhen you start needing professional level features, you need to look for a more complicated program such as 3ds max
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018
Naman N.
Student
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2018

“Love it! Takes some time to learn.”

ProsIt's a great software that is capable of beautiful renderings! With enough experience you can create photorealistic renderings that would fool anyone.
ConsRender times can be a bit slow depending on your computer but you can adjust settings so it doesn't completely slave your computer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Sam D.
Assistant Professor of Photography
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“Ok software for modeling and handling 3D”

ProsI liked that it didn't take me long to become familiar with the functionality and use of this product.
ConsI am not a poweruser when it comes to 3D and maybe this is a great bit of software but we were using it to handle 3D models of cars coupled with backplate images in a teaching environment for photographers. There exists now other software options that might work better that you might already have on your desktop. Highly likely though that if 3D is your thing this might be a great software solution
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Kamal J.
Engineer
Apparel & Fashion, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“A best rendering software”

OverallDesign model rendering according to real material appear.
ProsKey shot provide better tools to render modeles with variety of materials and can input / out put many formats
ConsKeey shot required more hardware performance to run the software. Rendering takes more time to give output
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Verified Reviewer
CAD supervisor
Automotive, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019

“Rendering master”

ProsAnyone can use to visualize her ör his components like real
ConsRequires too much ram. Probably kist of rendering programmes do
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Textiles, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“Easy to use and gives real visualization of materials”

OverallVery good to use modeling real virtual models before practical applications.
ProsIt is easy to pick and apply materials to each sub assembly parts as we want. Very good material library.
ConsIt is some hard to rendering for general computers. When the model is get more complex, the machine can struct.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Hakeem N.
Lead Mechanical Engineer
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“Can create some serious renderings ”

ProsGreat texture and surface finish options. Able to hide components.
ConsCould add options to add spot lights and manipulate custom lighting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Shelley H.
Artist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2018

“I tried out this program to see it if would be useful for my design purposes.”

ProsI like that the free trial offers all of the features, so you can actually see if the program will be beneficial to you. I really like that it helps give clients a more realistic visual of my work.
ConsI don't like that it takes so much space on your computer, and is pretty slow to download to begin with. It is also way out my price range.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2018