Able2Extract Professional 14 Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Able2Extract Professional 14

Able2Extract Professional 14 is a cross platform PDF tool for Windows, Mac and Linux. It is a PDF converter, creator and editor that lets users create secure PDFs, sign PDFs, edit PDF paragraph text, add images, insert bates numbering, add blank PDF pages, annotate or redact PDFs, and more. Convert PDF data to and from formatted Excel spreadsheets, editable Word documents, PowerPoint, Publisher, Autocad, OpenOffice, and image formats. Learn more about Able2Extract Professional 14

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 29 of 29 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Carl K.
consultant
Political Organization, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018

“I love this software, but it could easily be improved greatly”

OverallIt saves one from having to hand enter data.
ProsEase of use. I can train a worker to use it in well in under two hours. It is also more accurate than any other stand alone OCR software I've experimented with. I've downloaded and used free trials of at least four other OCR software programs, and they don't do as good of a job at converting the fairly hard to convert (very old) images of tables I'm converting to data files.
ConsVersion 12 had just one new feature for converting, and Version 11 the year before had no new features. I was really looking forward to 12, because I was hoping they would add some of the suggestions I've made, but was disappointed. In 12, one has more of an ability to apply the same table structure to non-consecutive pages, but it has a bug and does not work well. My worker actually went back to using 11, she says 12 is bad. Some of the features I keep asking them for: 1) be able to specify that a column is nothing but numbers when manually setting table structures. This seems simple to program. 2) produce uncertainty estimates in cells next to the data table that is produced. This could speed up cleaning the resulting data file a lot. The program knows when it's uncertain, just have it report this. 3) Allow more keyboard shortcuts when setting up tables manually. It is common when setting up table structures to switch between "add column" (i.e., "add a column divider") and "delete column." It's often easier to just go through the entire file one time to add column breaks, and then go back a second time deleting unwanted column dividers. This is inefficient. 4) One should have the ability to specify in advance the number of columns tables will have before having Able2Extract set table structures. This is the first step of manually setting table structures as well as done in automatically converting. It's often faster to just delete all the tables, apply one tab

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on July 13, 2018
Carl, we¿re sorry to hear you aren¿t satisfied with this version. You make a valid point. We only had one new PDF to Excel feature (Named Table Structures) in version 12. We used this version update to focus primarily on improving PDF editing capabilities and there are only so many updates we can realistically implement within each version. However, thank you for your continued input and feedback on Able2Extract¿s PDF to Excel conversion :) We do value your suggestions and have already sent them to our developers. Lastly, if you can connect with our tech support team on what exact bugs you¿re experiencing with the table structures, we can work to help resolve that issue for you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018
Hashan Chandrasekara K.
Asset Manager
Consumer Goods, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“Able2Extract Professional 14”

OverallThis software helps me lot to extract PDF files text into different formats hence saves my time everyday. Moreover value for money is quite high because it is not an expensive tool. I never had to go through any serious training to use this software due to its ease of use.
Pros1. Having shortcut keys to work efficiently 2. Always shows step by step to procedure to extract the required data 3. Retrieved data are often accurate from the sources 4. Enable users to convert the retrieved data to many file types
Cons1. Cannot recognize handwritten words 2. Getting stuck and coming fatal error reports 3. Data not capturing when there are images frequently 4. Imaged text cannot be separated and grant the output

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on October 16, 2019
Thanks for your feedback, Hashan. Glad you're finding Able2Extract handy and intuitive to use! To address a few of the issues you bring up, handwritten words are difficult for OCR engines to pick up overall, so unfortunately the output there and what can be done is rather limited. However, if you're getting error reports and failed output in any other instances, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us. You can send in the file(s) along with any error reports or details to our tech support, and we can take a closer look for you. Cheers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2019

“Drop Dead Conversions from PDF to Excel and Back”

OverallWith this upgrade and an understanding of its capabilities-especially its very strong OCR engine-I had hoped to set it up as an easy way to process PDFs. If there were an easy way to have the software watch a folder, automatically run OCR and save the results, this program would be worth its weight in gold. But alas, even when coupled with an app like Hazel or Keyboard Maestro, the software doesn't play well with others. It's great software within its narrow use case, but there is so much more possibility there.
ProsAble2Extract Professional is very capable software. If you're looking for a way to automate moving static PDF charts and tables into Excel sheets with minimal errors or fuss, skip Adobe and get this.
ConsAble2Extract could be much more than the sum of its parts if the developer focused on use cases beyond just conversions to MS Office applications.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on April 3, 2019
Thank you for your comments and support! Your feedback about the PDF to Excel and OCR capabilities is great to hear. To address your first comment, we'd like to point out that Able2Extract does convert to other formats beyond MS Office: HTML, AutoCAD, image formats (jpg, bmp, tif, gif, png), OpenOffice, Text, CSV, etc. Hopefully, those options provide enough variety for any need you may have. With regards to the watch folder capability you mention, we do have server products that provide that functionality for automated conversion. Thus, if you're interested in how that works, please don't hesitate to get in touch with our team with any questions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2019
Peter P.
President
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“Indespensible Utility”

OverallVersion 12 is just another great release of a very strong utility. This has been my go-to utility for extracting data from PDFs to load into SQL databases and Excel sheets. I've been a user since 2006 and I can not imagine going back to OCR and manual correction.
ProsThis software is very able to use and for the vast majority of the time, the simple automatic settings work flawlessly. For those other times, the simple interface lets you tweak the settings.
ConsVersion 12 changed the extract to Excel algorithm which added a empty column to one of my financial reports. It didn't change the report other than to have an empty column that must be deleted before I can copy and paste into my financial model. This is not a big deal, just the only con I can think of.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 25, 2018
Thanks for the kind and helpful feedback, Peter! With each new version we try to improve automatic conversion results by expanding the range of different kinds of PDF document tables that would give good results. Our algorithm is constructed to work with as many files as possible, and unfortunately, in some cases, this can have a negative effect on some other specific files. If you¿d like to send us the file you have issues with, we can include that in our testing in an effort to correct the problem. Cheers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018
Eben M.
Financial Manager
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018

“The software does what you want it to do”

ProsIt's fast and saves me a lot of time when converting data to Excel. It has not problems with PDF forms when converting
ConsSometimes the coloumn layout gets warped a bit. The fonts don't always come through as per original document

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on July 19, 2018
Thanks for your input, Eben! With regards to the font conversions, this is most often the case where the font in the PDF file is embedded. Embedded fonts cannot be perfectly extracted since most embedded font formats used in PDF aren't recognized by Excel and also because using such fonts could be considered a copyright issue due to their proprietary nature. As such, Excel (including Word) will try to find the best possible match from the fonts available on your computer, or if it can't, it will default to Times New Roman. So this may be what's going on. The best solution is to allow the conversion to occur and then to select the document text and change the font manually (from the list of fonts in Excel). For the column layout, if you haven¿t, try the Custom PDF to Excel option to correct the layout before you convert. If the issue occured during a custom Excel conversion, feel free to send in the file to techsupport@investintech.com. We might be able to find a solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2018
Greg S.
Technical Services Manager
Computer Hardware, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018

“Able2Extract Professional 12 Review ”

OverallWe respond to a lot of Tenders that include lots of forms and tables. Able2 Extract enables us to extract these into word or excel, saving a lot of time
ProsIt is easy to use and saves a lot of time
ConsSometimes it struggles with scanned documents

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 18, 2018
Hi Greg -- Thanks for sharing your user experience with us. To address your issues with scanned documents, you may want to try forcing the conversion by turning the OCR engine on. Go to the Edit menu > OCR Options> click on the "Perform Image-Based Conversion (OCR)" option. Or if what you have is a scanned PDF with a mixture of both digitally generated and scanned/image elements, you can try turning the OCR off by selecting the "No Image-Based Conversion (OCR)" option. In both cases, this can help improve and return better conversion results. You can find more details on this from our Help topic: https://www.investintech.com/support/helpfiles/desktop/a2epro/html/Edit-OCROptions.htm I hope that helps. If the issue with scanned conversions still continue, though, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at techsupport@investintech.com with your file and we can take a closer look for you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018
Don W.
Owner
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“Able2Extract is an excellent product for converting PDF to Excel, Word, etc. and for editing PDF's.”

OverallTime savings!
ProsVery easy to use. Generally 99% to 100% accurate with conversions to Microsoft Office products. Version 12 is the most accurate regarding conversion - that said prior versions were very good as well. Editing PDF's is easy as well. Can't wait for the next version!
ConsOccasionally when converting a PDF document and doing a specific selection of the document the conversion does the whole page or additional areas I did not select. I've notice with Version 12 this happens much less.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on June 20, 2018
The selection issue may happen if the page contains images behind the text. Clicking on such an image results in Able2Extract selecting this image and all the text that lays above it. The one solution we have for this is to enter "Editing" mode in Able2Extract (with your PDF open), then delete the underlying image, switch back into "Conversion" mode and try your selection again. However, to be certain, if you can, would you mind sending us a sample PDF where this happens? This way we can investigate and see what's going on there. Thanks!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Mining & Metals, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“Swiss army knife software”

ProsI like the ability create, edit, modify, or convert many different file types. Especially helpful is the ability to convert scanned PDF files to Excel spreadsheets.
ConsI sometimes cannot get the print to PDF function to work. When I go to print a document, it shows up in my list of printers as Able2Extract Professional Printer, however when I select it and print, nothing happens.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on July 19, 2018
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on Able2Extract. We're sorry to hear you're having difficulties with the Printer driver. With the Able2Extract Professional Printer, please try and uninstall Able2Extract from your computer. When that's done, check the Devices and Printers section on your computer to see if the Able2Extract Printer is removed. If not, right click on the printer and select the "Remove device" option. Then delete the Able2Extract folder and all of its contents from your computer's Program Files folder. Finally, reboot the system and re-install the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“I have used this product for years, no need to look for another”

OverallThe time savings on using this to convert files is more then I can calculate.
ProsThis program is awesome. Apart from being able to convert a pdf into an excell sheet, or so many other file format conversions, I recently discovered, you can tak a pdf that does not offer searchable text, or is basically an image that has text in it, and convert it to a complete text file. Making it able to copy and paste, search and much more functionality
ConsI dont really have anything bad to say about this program. The only thing they do a lot of updates and that requires an upgrade, granted at a discounted rate, but honestly the last version works so well, I dont always upgrade as there is no need.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on July 11, 2018
Enabling you to do more with PDF files is one of our main goals :) Thanks for offering up your personal experience with Able2Extract Professional and the Convert to Searchable PDF function.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
james m.
CIO
Textiles, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018

“James Murray”

OverallConverting numerous documents to Excel.
ProsAlmost everything, ease of use, being able to manageage output.
ConsPunctuation, characters, font size, column width could all use improvements but 12 is the best yet.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 18, 2018
Thanks for sharing your comments, James. If you have any specific suggestions on how we can improve the conversion of those textual and formatting elements, please do send them to us via our Request A Feature form: https://www.investintech.com/products/desktop/request/ We always welcome feedback from our users!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018
David W.
CAD/IT Manager
Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“Pays for itself the first time you use it.”

ProsWe mostly use this for converting PDF's to DWG format. The software is intuitive to use and conversion is fast
ConsPDF to CAD could be more accurate with linework. Does not capture the OCR layer in PDF. Does not do well creating text with CAD PDF files.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on July 13, 2018
Thanks for sharing your comments, David! As to your issue, from what you describe, it seems like you¿re dealing with a scanned PDF document. When working with native (electronic) PDFs, Able2Extract is designed to convert text as text and lines as lines (as they are in the source PDF file). However, scanned or image-based PDFs are simply images that have no information embedded in them. So, this is why our application converts "text" from such files into set of lines, instead of a proper text (and this is the issue you¿ve been experiencing, if we understood you correctly). If you can send in a sample file to us at techsupport@investintech.com, we can take a closer look.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Paper & Forest Products, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“Easily transforms PDF reports into Excel spreadsheets!”

OverallMany of our business reports are output to PDF reports that are password-protected by the software that creates them, and they are not able to be edited. Financial auditors like to receive the data in Excel format so they can easily do calculations on the numbers, and Able2Extract lets us provide them with that format FAST!
ProsIt's just so very easy to use. In less than a minute, I can open up one of our PDF reports, select all, click the Excel button and have the figures I need to work with in a spreadsheet. Character recognition is accurate, and it converts quickly.
ConsSometimes header rows and off-center items can confuse the columns breaks a little bit, and you end up with things that are split, or in the wrong column.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 24, 2018
We're happy to hear Able2Extract is helping you with your work in Excel--exactly what we're aiming to do! With regards to the header and misplaced columns, you can try using the Split Only Between Words option in the Columns section of the Custom PDF to Excel panel to fix those content-splitting column breaks. We've got a blog post with step by step tutorial that will help: https://www.investintech.com/resources/blog/archives/7993-pdf-to-excel-fix-misplaced-column-content.html Please give it a try and let us know if you have any other questions. Cheers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018
GANGA C.
Director Finance, Legal and Property
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2018

“Time saver”

OverallQuick conversion of PDF to Excel.
ProsI like the software for its ease of use. The interface is simple and straightforward. As a person who gets a lot of PDF reports that need to be analysed, Able2Extract allowed me the get the data into Excel sheets.
ConsSome PDF files do not convert to Excel cleanly. Information from two columns are entered in one cell. I then have to correct the data manually. It is not often enough to make me look for something else but can be irksome when I am in a hurry.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on June 20, 2018
With the Custom PDF to Excel feature you can avoid having to correct the data manually. From what you describe in your particular case, you would first set up your table structure (rows and columns) as usual using the Custom PDF to Excel mode. Then select the "Split only between words" option from the drop down list in the Columns section from the right hand panel. You can find a walkthrough here: https://www.investintech.com/resources/blog/archives/7993-pdf-to-excel-fix-misplaced-column-content.html In addition, you can save and load Custom Excel templates (via File menu) to instantly set up the same table structure for conversion if you deal with similarly formatted reports often. We hope that helps! Feel free to get in touch with any questions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Law Practice, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“Ability to access PDF content to create Excel workbooks and Word documents”

OverallWe create Excel workbooks for gain/loss input in tax software and Word documents for deeds and estate planning work
ProsEase of use in creating new documents from PDFs
ConsSometimes the software guesses wrong about words so that review is required and sometimes formatting is off. Having a very clean PDF helps

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 24, 2018
Agreed, having a clean PDF does help. The quality of any PDF conversion relies on what you have in the original document, especially when you¿re dealing with scanned PDFs. However, we¿re always making improvements to the conversion algorithm. So, if you¿re consistently having issues with certain types of content in a PDF (lettering, format, font, etc.), please send in a sample to techsupport@investintech.com. Our developers would be interested in taking a look. Thanks for sharing your experience with Able2Extract.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018
Avatar Image
Tony Z.
Chief Executive Officer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“The best pdf program out there”

Proseasy to convert pdf's to any format and editing and can allow to modify any pdf and create a word document.
Consprogram is hard to read on high resolution displays. So it is ok on a 1920x1080 display , but on a 4k display you need good eyes

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on July 18, 2018
Thanks for sharing, Tony. Regarding the display resolution you mentioned, for ideal vieiwng, Able2Extract is best when on 1366 (Width) x 768 (Height) screens across all platforms. You will need a higher resolution screen on Windows and Linux machines if your OS scaling is more than 100%. On Mac systems, you can also view the software on 1280 (Width) x 800 (Height) non-Retina screen resolution or 2560 (Width) x 1600 (Height) Retina screen resolution. Hopefully the above specs help!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Alex V.
Data analyst
Information Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018

“Great potential”

OverallCustomer support shines in my experience.
ProsI do not exclusively use Able2Extract for OCR and it was not the first software I used for this purpose. As can be expected the learning curve of learning a new programme from scratch was steep, but manageable. Where I think this offering excels compared to others is the ability split data between spaces intuitively. This is a feature lacking elsewhere. I am also very impressed with the quality of the conversion.
ConsI would like to have more control of the output before the conversion gets exported to excel as an example like an edit function. This software does not allow me to alter unclear scanned copies or edit or delete blemishes.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 25, 2018
Hi Alex-- We're happy to hear that you've decided to give Able2Extract a try. Please note that when converting a scanned document, numerous filtering and enhancing techniques are applied in the background before it¿s sent to the OCR engine, including the removal of blemishes. However, the conversion is dependent upon the content and quality of the original document, and hence, if there are blemishes, the algorithm will sometimes see those marks as textual content. We do have the options to edit documents manually though. You can try using Edit > Add shape. Choose the white color for the background/outline and then draw over the content you¿d like to hide. Give that try and let us know if you have any questions. Thanks!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018
Dede W.
Owner/Sole Proprietor
Architecture & Planning, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“Super helpful program. ”

OverallSaves me time and aggravation in dealing with PDF's from banks and credit card companies.
ProsI couldn't imagine doing my tax preparation without this great tool. I simply download my bank statements and credit card year end summaries in pdf form, extract the data to excel, do a little sorting and sifting and voila! data is ready for my accountant.
ConsThere's not much I DON'T like about Able to Extract. In fact I can't think of a thing. It just works!

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on July 11, 2018
PDF statements are never fun to deal with, especially during tax season! We're glad to hear Able2Extract Professional is making things a lot easier for you. Thanks for sharing your user-experience, Dede!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
Victor S.
Owner
Construction, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018

“Vrs”

OverallMakes my work with AutoCAD easier
ProsVery easy to work with.the fact that I need it to
ConsThe fact that I needed to uninstall 11 before I could use 12

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 25, 2018
Thanks for sharing your perspective as an AutoCAD user! To address the installation issue you described, this is closely tied in with the license you purchase. Moreover, having only one clean installation of the latest version ensures that the software works properly on your machine. Also, if you¿re referring to manually uninstalling the software rather than having the process automated, we can certainly pass that idea on to our developers to consider. Thanks again, Victor!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018
Andrew C.
Director
Security and Investigations, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018

“Able2Extract - The only thing that IS Able to Extract what you need from a PDF”

OverallI have been using Able2Extract for many years now and it consistently performs the job of PDF > Word extraction for indexing and research.
ProsAble2Extract 12 is easy to use, straight-forward to access and just works.
ConsTable handling could be a little better at times - but it's still lightyears ahead of the competition.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 19, 2018
Thanks for the comments, Andrew. If you have any specific comments on where we can clean up the table handling a bit, please do let us know via our Request A Feature form: https://www.investintech.com/products/desktop/request/ We'd be interested in hearing your thoughts on that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018
Zoran N.
Analytics
Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Quite useful tool”

OverallAll in all its good and not so expensive
ProsIt has OCR, and its easy to use. Extracting useful info from pdf and making tables got easy
ConsSometimes does not align table rows properly, i have to use manual selection of tables.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on June 16, 2019
Thanks for the comments, Zoran! Yes, the table selection in the custom Excel conversion feature will always give you the opportunity to fix those misalignments, so you don't have to re-convert and clean the rows post-conversion. We're glad you'r finding the software helpful. Cheers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Malcolm L.
Owner
Chemicals, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2018

“Top quality software to handle PDFs”

ProsProduct works smoothly and quickly in loading long PDF documents and allows user to select portions or all of document for conversion
ConsLike many other software offering translation of pdf documents, it does handle subscript or superscript when converting to Excel. Also does not recognise 'headers' in tables in documents resulting in need to manually adjust format

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 25, 2018
Malcolm--You make some great points on two issues (superscripts/subscripts and table headers) that have been on our radar for some time and which our developers are working on for future versions. That being said, please feel free to send our tech support team any samples you¿d like us to take a look at. We'd be interested in seeing the exact scenarios you're dealing with. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2018
Peter J.
Estimator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“Very useful”

ProsIntuitive and very user friendly for all sorts of requirements. The product has continually become more versatile.
ConsOn Occassion it is difficult to put the lines through information to form an excel spreadsheet with data

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on June 27, 2018
Can you send in the files and details on how and where you experienced the problem with the line placements? We can investigate the issue and see if we can provide a workaround for you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
Matt B.
Director of Production
Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“Great for converting PDF to Excel”

OverallThis has saved about 2 hours a day for me at work. Well worth the price.
ProsI receive POs from a vendor and they always come in PDFs. Able2Extract is so easy to use to convert these to excel. It is extremely fast too. I've had it for about a month and it has made my life so much easier. I would recommend to anyone looking for a converter.
ConsI haven't found anything yet that I don't like.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on October 22, 2018
Thanks for sharing that with us, Matt! Thrilled to hear your experience with Able2Extract is going so great! If you have questions about any of its features, don't hesitate to reach out. Cheers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
Nancy N.
Accounting Associate
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2018

“Able2Extract...a timesaver”

ProsThe ease of use and it is very quick to convert just about any document I need. Once my co-workers found out I have this program they started sending me their documents to convert for them. I just love it.
ConsNone to speak of. I mostly use this to convert documents into Word and Excel spreadsheets.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 19, 2018
Thanks for sharing your experience, Nancy! Great to hear you're loving Able2Extract. Also, we do have volume pricing available. So if your company is interested in equipping the rest of your co-workers with the tool, just email in to cs@investintech.com with any questions you may have. Cheers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2018
Anderson Y.
Researcher/lecturer
Research, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“easy to use and constantly improving”

OverallIt save my time
ProsI use often use this app for papers in biblical and religious studies. These papers frequently use more than one language, sometimes the doesn't convert these different languages accurately. But the main problem seems to be the biblical languages. Another minor problem is formatting, which not always correspond with the PDF
ConsLike any software, the upgrades are very frequently and I don't have the budget to follow all the upgrades, as I also need to upgrades many other softwares that are vital for my work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Jon S.
Treasurer
Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018

“extracting information from PDFs”

ProsThis software is superb, exporting to many useful formats, very easy and highly accurate
ConsNothing so far, other PDF extractors have failed too often

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 18, 2018
Thanks, Jon!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018
Adrian P.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“Reliable and consistent OCR with a simple interface and good ability to batch process”

OverallEase of getting an impression of what the document did
ProsGiven a good PDF, the ability to be consistent about how it is treated rather than picking up minor inconsistencies
ConsInability to be trained or learn. I would like to see more intelligent interactive pre-OCR which allows you to select the elements you want

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on July 11, 2018
Thanks for the suggestion and comments, Adrian. We'll pass that OCR feedback on to our developers. They'd be interested in hearing that. Cheers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
DAVE S.
Office Manager
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“I have used two previous version, each one gets better”

OverallI can use pdf reports and easily change to Excel
ProsI use the convert from pdf to excel the most. This newest version works extremely well. the software launches easily
ConsSometimes i have to adjust the vertical lines that separate the pdf into columns but its very good after that

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on July 17, 2018
Thanks for sharing, Dave! If you ever have any questions about making adjustments to your table structures and vertical lines, feel free to get in touch with us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Building Materials, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018

“Excellent Extraction Tool”

OverallI get reports in PDF and extract them to excel so I can slice and dice the data.
ProsThe ability to customize what and how you extract from PDF's
ConsSometimes columns are combined that shouldn't be.

Vendor Response

By Investintech.com on September 20, 2018
Thanks! We'll pass this feedback over to our developers. If you have table samples on which that column merging consistently occurs, please send that to techsupport@investintech.com and they can take a look.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018