Dovetail Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Dovetail

With Dovetail, researchers, designers, and product managers can store user research data in one place, analyze qualitative data to discover patterns and insights, and share research findings with the rest of their organization. Featuring a rich text collaborative editor, inline tagging, images and files, insights, sentiment analysis, a great user experience, and world-class support, Dovetail is cloud research software you'll want to use, all for an affordable price. Learn more about Dovetail

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 31 of 31 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 31 of 31 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Laurie D.
Design and Innovation Fellow
Higher Education, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“Wonderful Customer Service, easy to use & very effective!”

OverallOur experience has been wonderful. The customer service is truly amazing. When we upgraded from our free trial we received and email from the CEO & co-founder. He has answered all questions we have had with an very fast response time. He has also asked for feedback, and responded to our suggestions. We have truly felt supported while using Dovetail. Judging from my experience Dovetail will only get better as they continue to grow!
ProsWe are team of researcher that are using Dovetail to tag interviews, and it has worked great for our needs. Dovetails greatest feature is how simply you can tag your content, how you can visualize the tags each project has, and how you can look at each individual tag to see the content you've assigned that tag to. To create a tag you simply highlight text, the tagging box appears, and you can add new tags or select from tags you have previously populated to the project. Tags can be easily imported using excel sheets, or added directly on the app. Tags can be grouped together, and easily organized into those groups, or moved to other groups. You can color code tags using Dovetail's standard colors, or you can add your own using hex codes. If you want to see all content that is tagged with the same thing, you just have to click on that tag and it all populates. This makes reviewing tagged content very easy! The system of tagging they have developed is so user friendly! Dovetail is easier to learn than many of its competitors which we have used in the past. Dovetails interface is uncluttered, allowing for users to easily navigate its features. You will not get bogged down with endless, irrelevant features like many of Dovetails competitors. It is also has a very clear, calming design which may sound trivial, but matters when you spend so much time on a platform.
ConsWe don't really have a con because we have been able to achieve what we set out to achieve when we signed up for Dovetail. However, there are some we wished Dovetail had. While we feel these features will make the Dovetail experience better, not having them has not limited our experience on Dovetail. The features we would like to see added are more like luxuries that we hope Dovetail will add in the future. For example, we would like to see project templates added so if you are tagging the same themes over a number of different projects you can create a template with those tags to use for each project. This will cut down on the time it takes for setting up a new project. That being said, it currently only took about 15 minutes for us to add about 150 tags to a project on Dovetail and get them organized, so the current time is not so bad. Also, we brought this up with their staff, and we know that this feature is on their radar already!

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on September 25, 2018
Wow, thank you Laurie! That's an amazing review. Absolutely made our day. We're so pleased we can support you with your research at Harvard, and we're super excited to make Dovetail even better for you. Thank you so much for taking a bet on a young product, and keep that feedback coming!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018
Benjamin J.
Founder & Principal
Human Resources, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“Godsend for qualitative researchers”

OverallI honestly have more good things to say about this app than I can fit into a Capterra review. It's become a cornerstone of my business, and I'm just a single researcher-can't imagine how much more useful this would be with a larger team at scale.
ProsTried a bunch of other tools for coding and markup of interview transcripts. Nothing came even close to Dovetail's ease of use, robust feature set, and tools for data analysis. Marking up transcripts is super-easy: the tag UI pops up whenever you select some text, tags autocomplete, and you can organize them into themes without leaving the notes UI. The insights UI is like a Google doc linked to your highlights and tags-you can write up your observations, then add quotes to illustrate your points. Reporting is also great, and lets you see both which tags recur across the largest number of interviews, as well as which ones have the highest amount of tagged text. This is really helpful for quickly getting a sense of where the data is leading without getting too deep into the weeds. You can also track tags over time, which is super-helpful if you want to use the automated import and sentiment analysis to pump support emails into this and track customer satisfaction over time.
ConsThe bugfixes come quickly, so anything I add here will be out of date. Most recently, minor hiccups with where highlights are placed in the text when adding them to the middle of an insight.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on March 15, 2019
Thank you so much Benjamin! Really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, and such a great one at that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
Thomas B.
Director of Product Design
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019

“Now to effectively use your qualitative research ”

OverallAs our business space grows we are using Dovetail to capture data that is then used to validate ideas about new products or features as well as use our archive to identify insights and painpoints we were not aware of prior.
ProsThe ability to tag data and then synthesise that data with quick and easy functionality is really effective in comparing notes across multiple qualitative research documents.
ConsThe UX around building insights takes a little bit of discovery. Adding tags or highlights into an insight has resulted in me adding, deleting, trying again... a few times.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on June 13, 2019
Thanks for the review Thomas! We're always improving and have more plans to make insights better. If you have any thoughts, don't hesitate to email us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Ioana G.
UX Researcher
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019

“Great tool for getting the entire business involved”

OverallOverall very happy that I can use the same tool for disseminating insights around the entire business as well as analyse our research! Great customer service, they've been quick to help us with anything and their roadmap looks great and they also seem to be pretty quick at turning around new features!
Pros- Very easy to get the hang of by both researchers and non-researchers - Very pleasant to use: Pure Joy UI makes you wanna go in the tool all the time (yeah, I know, UI matters!) - Flexible spaces - you can use it to create templates and this way to bring consistency and also expand good practice research to entire company, outside of the research team - It's good at engaging non-researchers via a "Discover" board where you can see all the latest insights - Flexible notes allowing unlimited videos, images, the data doesn't have to be just plain text
Cons- Still some work being done on automations, and using global tags instead of just project-specific tags, but they have a lot of cool stuff on the roadmap - A little concerned about the inability to back-up / export all data at once (only in parts), but it's also on their roadmap and their customer service have also offered to do it as a one-off for us - Perhaps the ability to quantitatively measure behaviours from user testing (e.g. X users successfully completed the tasks) would be a great addition

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on August 6, 2019
Thank you Ioana! Really appreciate your kind words and all of the feedback you've been sending us over the past few weeks. Keep it coming!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Sophie E.
Director | UX Research and Design
Design, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2018

“Dovetail makes it easy to collate, analyse and store qualitative research.”

ProsI really love working in Dovetail. It is such an easy tool to use and the interface design is intuitive, open and clean making it seem effortless. The real power of Dovetail is that is makes research transparent. All data, observation notes, images and files can be organised in any way that makes sense for the project or your organisation, and can be tagged easily, speeding up analysis, and allowing for insights to be shared quickly and easily. With Dovetail, research data remains accessible long after any research project has finished. This means valuable insights are no longer buried in reports that get forgotten, but can be continuously reviewed and built upon as new data is collected. Dovetail has quickly become an indispensable tool for us.
ConsBeing a relatively new tool, there are some functional limitations but I have no doubt that the Dovetail team will deliver. They continue to seek feedback from users and are transparent with their product roadmap.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on July 9, 2018
Thanks for the amazing review Sophie! It's great to hear you're getting value out of Dovetail. See you in Slack!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2018
Sonja B.
CX Researcher
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018

“Making sense of research data has never been more enjoyable!”

ProsThe team behind Dovetail is a-m-a-z-i-n-g! They are always there to answer questions, ask for feedback and encourage discussions. I have never witnessed such caring attention to customers nor experienced such receptiveness to feedback it's just astounding! The tool is itself designed based on research so it's flexible enough to accommodate different methodologies and workflows but focused enough to support the one you prefer better than anything else. Notes and tags make intuitive sense, and adding files such as images and videos is a breeze. There are also cherries on top such as automatic sentiment analysis, tracking of notes and tags, integrations with many services including email, Evernote and Slack among others. It's also just a joy to look at and use because of the welcoming visual design. It is a huge plus for me and one of the main reasons I decided to work with Dovetail. If one is going to spend a lot of time with a tool, aesthetics shouldn't be ignored.
ConsMany features: cross-project search, insights, admin rights etc. are still in development. However, when they arrive, I am 120% confident that they will be powerful! I'm really excited and looking forward to them.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on July 10, 2018
Thanks Sonja! We really appreciate that amazing review! We're hoping to get our first version of search out in beta soon. Improvements to insights and user permissions are also both on the roadmap for this year.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018
Kai F.
Product Designer
Design, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018

“Dovetail makes analysis of user research and customer interviews effortless”

OverallImproved effiency with our user research and customer interview projects
ProsIt's really easy to import raw user research notes from customer interviews and contextual inquiries. Dovetail lets you synthesis your research and identify themes by highlighting creating tags. You can then visualise your tags in charts or in the board view. A neat feature is the automatic sentiment analysis that can identify whether comments from your notes are positive or negative. We use this feature to categorise customer feedback we collect our products. Before Dovetail we would use Microsoft Excel to identify themes but this was cumbersome and was hard to share with the team.
ConsDovetail could do a better job at storing insights and being a shared knowledgebase or library for research in our team. We've passed on this feedback and the Dovetail tell seem to understand this desire and shared that they have ambitions to move into this area in the future. At the moment Dovetail seems focused on building the best features for research analysis and synthesis.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on July 9, 2018
Thank you Kai! ¿ We are working on better support for the research repository use case, with features like full-text search queries, saved searches, and automation in the pipeline. We also recently released files in beta, so you can now upload images, audio, and video files to Dovetail.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018
Sarah C.
UX Researcher
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“Dovetail makes storing, managing, and sharing our qualitative really easy.”

ProsDovetail is really user-friendly. We quite often share our data with relevant stakeholders, who have very little difficulty in using it. I am also able to synthesise the qualitative data quickly and easily, which is so important for me because I work under Agile. It saves time, and walls of post-it notes! We also use it as a repository for all of our qualitative data. The ability to add audio and video files, Excel files, and photos to notes is probably my favourite feature -- we no longer have to store it all on the server separately. The customer service is highly responsive, friendly, and supportive. They cannot be faulted!
ConsA lot of useful features are still in production, such as cross-project search. But I'm more than happy to wait, because it will be worth it!

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on July 11, 2018
Thank you for the amazing review Sarah! I'm stoked to hear Dovetail is helping you succeed at HotelsCombined.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Sherif M.
Distinguished Product Manager
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Capturing insights without all the messy paperwork”

ProsI've been involved in software research projects for nearly 10 years. This process is often incredibly messy, tedious and highly intensive (in terms of labor). You're often living in sticky note hell and it's even more challenging to do this as a remote team. The one thing Dovetail does an incredible job at is making it easy to aggregate qualitative research, identify trends and produce reports quickly without all that manual work. Works greatly for distributed teams and helps you scale your research efforts across your org. Key features that I can't live without: * Notes ability - adding all your research and interviews * Tagging - Ability to annotate your notes with keywords your team has aligned on. * Insights - ability to summarize your learnings for stakeholders. What's great is that it's very easy for a stakeholder to know exactly how you concluded a set of insights with the ability to see customer and research quotes for each tag or insight.
ConsCan be a bit hard to get started - getting your head around notes/tags and insights (they all look the same at first!)

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 25, 2018
Thanks for the review Sherif! Keep an eye out for a bunch of great new features releasing over the next few months.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Abhilash P.
Senior UX Researcher
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2018

“I use dovetail for recording all my research related our products at Freshworks. ”

ProsDovetail is very flexible to record track and analyze research findings. And it has been our singular repository for all our primary research. Of late we have also started putting our secondary findings as well so that It is easy for us to quickly identify a problem shared by one or more users and the story around that problem that was shared by our users. Dovetails support is very very responsive which adds to the confidence for using the product.
Cons1. Subgrouping is still a problem. 2. Doesn't yet support copying and pasting screen shorts directly. Can be a major pain sometimes.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on July 10, 2018
Hi Abhilash! Thanks for the great review. Regarding pasting images from the clipboard ¿ that's something we'll add before moving images and files out of beta.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Antonio Cesare I.
Partner
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Hierarchy of Information”

OverallMy experience has been great due to the simplicity of use and the ease of tagging and clustering. I enjoyed the specificity of it, it does that in a very efficient way.
ProsThat you can organize and structure research content and move from qualitative data to tags to insights smoothly
ConsThere are not enough sub-levels in the tab system: for instance If I have a research project that includes three main different research streams or experiments and within these three I have tabs with multiple notes, I don't have all these levels to organize my research. I also wish it was possible to create spreadsheets or diagrams within the notes easely (no through integration with other apps). I also wish the insights section was linkable to the notes and tags.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 25, 2018
Hi Antonio! Thank you for the great review and your feedback on the levels of hierarchy. We really appreciate your thoughts. We're constantly trying to improve Dovetail based on feedback like yours.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Great software for service designers ”

OverallGreat place to gather and structure documents/findings/notes in a project
ProsUser friendly and great functionality for a service designers needs
ConsNot possible to highlight text in the documents

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 25, 2018
Thanks for the great review! Really appreciate it. We're always trying to improve Dovetail based on user feedback like yours, so keep it coming!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Great option for people who struggle with finding all their userdata across different departments”

OverallGreat experience so far. The new pricing modell works better for smaller teams and the feature that have been added make it really competetive and simplify the process of logging user interviews, have all the insight in one searchable place.
ProsI like the search feature most, it is great to have the ability to search in different folders at the same time across different projects. The design is simple, very intuitive and feels solid.
ConsThe editor could have had some extra formatting features.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 25, 2018
Thank you for leaving us a review! We're working on adding more formatting features to the editor. If there's anything specific you'd like, please send us feedback in-app or email us at hello@dovetailapp.com.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Tash K.
UX designer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“Great software for researchers and designers”

ProsClear analysis, ease of use, tagging is fantastic. Saves hours of the qualitative research process.
ConsThe team is adding new features all of the time, I'm looking forward to user permissions. Nothing negative to say about it.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on July 12, 2018
Thank you Tash! We're excited about user permissions as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018
Irina M.
UX Designer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2019

“Dovetail is good for collecting and analyzing the data”

OverallI use Dovetail to store and analyze data collected during different types of UX researches. Dovetail gives you an opportunity to easily find anything anytime in the immense amount of data, and to process it into an easy readable and sharable insight.
ProsIt's easy to use, and it really saves your time. It suits different types of qualitative research. The interface of this service is cute and easy to use. Support is more than helpful.
ConsSometimes the bugs might be found. The Dovetail team fixes them very quickly though.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on May 14, 2019
Thank you for your kind words Irina! We really appreciate the feedback. We're also trying to improve our reliability so you run into less bugs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2019
Lucy B.
Team Lead
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018

“Really easy to use and helps me process feedback faster”

ProsDovetail is super easy to use - I understood how to add notes and tags right away. I've used it to sort through feedback so I can share it back with the rest of my team - lasts longer than the post it walls I used before!
ConsIt doesn't have search at the moment. They've said it's coming soon though so hopefully this gets resolved.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on July 9, 2018
Thank you Lucy! Appreciate it. We are working on full-text search queries and saved searches right now, and hope to have something released in the next few weeks. Stay tuned!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018
mitch h.
UX Principal
Research, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018

“Helpful synth tool”

OverallPretty good - i like the program but really need those cons fixed to make the workflow good
ProsTag clicking into collection of related data Easy upload of transcript
ConsNo being able to duplicate the tagsets created from one project to another or export/import into other project. I manually had to replicate them by hand which is painful Limited text length for 1 project which meant i needed to have multiple notes for 1 interview

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 30, 2018
Hey Mitch, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate it. We're working on quality of life improvements like copy / move between projects. We're also looking at increasing the text limit for notes beyond 100,000 characters. Stay tuned!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Dovetail is exceptional”

ProsSimple to use, simple to learn, quick to code, quick to understand your data
ConsOnly one small thing I love to do and that is tag/code everything based on a search query. Most other software can't do this so no big deal. Would like to be able to load in demographic data as well to see my data segmented by that more easily.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 25, 2018
Thanks for the review! We really appreciate you taking the time. Bulk edit on search results is on our roadmap, so stay tuned!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Great add to your user research toolbox”

OverallThis has some features that are better over Reframer. I would love the option to incorporate audio recording or transcripts from tools like otter.ai, descript, rex to tag and add to analysis.
ProsEasy way to capture and tag notes from research sessions, stakeholder meetings, workshops, conferences. web based tool Easy to use analysis tool
ConsThere is certainly room for growth. payment model for a single project at a time is unrealistic. I would be ok to pay for an option that allows me to have at least 3-5 project live and 5 archived.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 25, 2018
Thank you for the review and your feedback! We really appreciate it. We're always trying to improve based on user feedback like yours.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Kristen S.
Product Designer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Lots of potential”

OverallCustomer service is awesome and very fast on responding. I know they are a small and fairly new company so I'm sure there's lots more to come.
ProsI love the general idea of having all feedback and insights in one organized environment. The ability to tag certain highlights and search for them easily is such a great way to identify patterns.
ConsUnfortunately, there is no auto-tagging and so a lot of time is wasted manually going in having to search. This becomes a lot of work when you are dealing with many surveys or long interviews. It would also be great to have some analytics and reporting on tags/insights.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 30, 2018
Hi Kristen! Thanks for leaving us a review. We're definitely interested in speeding the process of analysis up with some automation, so stay tuned!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Daniel K.
Senior Product Designer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2018

“Effective research repository tool”

ProsIncredily intuitive tool that makes it simple to capture and later analyse pieces of user research (in order to share back with the wider product team). It is suitable for both longform unstructured interviews or individually received shortform feedback with meta data. Quickly triaging and tagging qualitative research in this way is simpler easier in Dovetail than other tools I have used.
ConsI would like more computer-assisted automation during the analysis phase and this is an area that I would be excited to see how the team behind Dovetail tackles

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on July 9, 2018
Thanks, Daniel! Computer-assisted automation is something we're definitely going to work on with plans for more NLP features, custom rules, and auto-categorization for large datasets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2018
Filza M.
Product Designer
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Dovetail for UX Research”

ProsI like that this software allowed my team to easily aggregate feedback and share it.
ConsMore functions would be helpful for ease of use. For example, for my use case integrations with Intercom would be helpful to organize customer feedback and link research together.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 23, 2018
Hi Filza, thank you for leaving us a review! We're constantly reviewing the features on our roadmap based on user feedback like yours. We'd love to build more first party integrations at some point, and Intercom would be high on our priority list. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Easy to Use but Needs more Features”

ProsI like the tagging system and the insights feature. It makes it easier and faster to analyze qualitative data. I also like the site's clean and minimal interface coz it allows me to focus on my work
ConsI hate that there's only a bar graph for viewing the results. I would really want more variety on the types of charts, and maybe also add more analysis tools

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 23, 2018
Thanks for the review! We base our roadmap on user feedback like yours, so we'll take this into consideration.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Jithesh R.
Product Designer
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“A good tool to collect, synthesise and showcase your research findings”

OverallBeen good, the team is quite proactive in providing assistance and support
Pros- Tagging notes and categorising - Ability to present insights in an elegant way - Non-obtrusive editor for working on notes and insights, the writing experience is very nice
Cons- User to price model, cant get less than 5 seats. - Trial period is too short to get buy in from stakeholders - Not very easy to showcase the findings in Confluence (Maybe an integration to insert a insights page in Confluence would help)

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on September 16, 2019
Thanks Jithesh! Appreciate it!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Aaditya T.
UX Researcher
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Dovetail-features”

ProsIt is very easy to navigate. It does the job which we wanted.
ConsThe design is good, but looks a bit clumsy when you have multiple boards.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 23, 2018
Thank you Aaditya! We're always improving Dovetail based on feedback like yours, so keep it coming.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Lorena B.
Redactor web
Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018

“Dovetail easy qualitative analysis for all”

Pros*Helps transparent research *I love that the data remains accessible long after the research project has finished *The support team answer all your questions *Tagging is great
Cons*The features that are still under development *I think the search is missing *I would like to be able to copy and paste screen images

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on August 29, 2018
Hi Lorena! Thanks for leaving us a review! We launched search a few weeks ago. Click the magnifying glass near the top left of the screen to start a search. You can learn more on our blog at https://dovetail.blog. Regarding copy and paste images ¿ that's something we're adding soon! Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018
Tom L.
User researcher
Information Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018

“first easy to use qualitative data analysis tool”

Overallanalyzing qualitative data quickly and easily
Proseasy of use.
Conshad to go through the entire 'sample' to get a good understanding.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 26, 2018
Hi Tom! Thank you for leaving us a review. Great to hear you find Dovetail easy to use. That's one of our main goals. We're always improving based on feedback like yours, so keep it coming!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018
Canice A.
Project Coordinater
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018

“Modern, easy to use, platform”

OverallGood experience, as advertised software.
ProsVery easy to add content/feedback and tag. Then visually being able to easily explore the tagged qualitative research is a game changer.
ConsStill feels new, a lot of features and avenues to take the product, hope it maintains the ease of use

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 30, 2018
Hey Canice! Thank you for leaving us a review. We really appreciate it. You're right, we are new! But we have a lot planned for the future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018
jamie i.
Director, Engagement Marketing
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Great for Collaboration”

ProsIt was super easy to collaborate with other members of my team
ConsIt doesn't feel super original, and it could be overwhelming if some members add too much

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 26, 2018
Thanks Jamie! We're all about easy. Stay tuned for big new features coming in the next few months which will hopefully make Dovetail slightly more `original¿ for you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Cass S.
Experience Designer
Civic & Social Organization, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018

“Wonderful Software for UX Research ”

ProsWonderful capacity to tag per word, sentence and paragraphs. Wonderful way to organise insights and share it with the team
ConsIt is sometimes a bit difficult to move between different interviews. Also it is a bit on the expensive side.

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on December 27, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Cass! We appreciate the kind words. Stay tuned for everything we have planned in 2019!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Great experience so far!”

Pros- Very ease to learn - Solves a clear pain point for UX Researchers doing qualitative research - Enjoy the propensity to collaborate with other researchers on the team through this tool
Cons- There are some missing features like easily importing transcripts from Google or other services

Vendor Response

By Dovetail Research on October 25, 2018
Hello! Thank you for leaving us a review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018