Helix Core Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Helix Core

Helix Core is enterprise-class version control that enables faster, more collaborative development among teams independent of size or location without putting your valuable IP at risk. Helix Core boasts lightning-fast workflows, support for all file types and sizes, code review and collaboration, support for Git at scale, and a broad suite of integrations and apps. The world's most innovative brands trust Helix Core, including Pixar, NVIDIA, Scania, EA, Ubisoft, and VMware Learn more about Helix Core

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2019

“best source control software around”

Overalli've been using this product for almost 20 years, and i'm not planning to change any time soon. it does what i want. it's pretty easy to use. it can do just about anything you need it to do. the company stands behind their product, and they support it very well. what more needs to be said.
Prosi have been using this product (both as Helix and Perforce) since 2000, and it's wonderful. it has just about every feature you could want. on those rare occasions when i had to contact their support department, i got answers immediately, and whatever the problem was, it was resolved very quickly. over the years, there was only one thing i wanted that the software couldn't do, but i easily created a workaround that did exactly what i needed.
Consseveral years ago there was a feature called "windows explorer integration". that feature has gone away in the more recent versions, which is too bad, as it was quite useful. there are other ways to do the same thing, but it was a nice feature to have around.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2019
Liang C.
Software Engineer
Computer Hardware, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2017

“Build and Manage Complex Software Across Its Entire Lifecycle”

OverallIt helps me manage all digital content'even large files'in a single repository, and delivers files quickly to large, distributed teams.
ProsIt's amazing to use Helix Visual Client (P4V) on different OS platform with similar user experience, really like perforce's strong notion of a changelist.
ConsIt would be expensive for small & medium scale project. If the data infrastructure is loosely bonded (there is off-line time), svn rocks. You can do a lot even if the server would not be reachable. Perforce essentially requires an always-available server connection.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2017
JAMES A.
Software Engineer
Insurance, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017

“I have grown accustomed to this software.”

OverallPeace of mind for source control. Being able to roll back changes.
ProsI like the Eclipse plugin. Branch history display is fairly intuitive. Merging tool works pretty well.
ConsSometimes something will go wrong with a check-in and your files will get locked. Eclipse requires restart to reconnect to eclipse plugin. Eclipse perforce client does not remember my password. With the upgraded perforce Helix client some of my changelists are now indicating different colors (blue and black) and have become difficult to resolve. The eclipse plugin does not recognize added files.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2017

“Great tool, easy to use but missing some important functions like searching capabilities and sorting”

OverallIt is a good source control program
ProsEasy to use, has most common features intuitive. I like most the revision graph that assists in finding the history of a file.
ConsSearch capabilities are poor. There is not enough filtering capabilities while searching for files, jobs, Change Lists or any other entity. I would also expect the ability of more complex searches to combine filters. e.g. search all jobs/Change lists by a certain user for a specific branch. Such option does not exist.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2017
Avatar Image
Wesley C.
Tool Support Specialist
Computer Games, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“A powerful tool once you learn how to use it”

OverallMy overall experience has been both using it for testing and software development. On on hand, I will occasionally be tasked to look at previous revisions to locate when a bug was introduced in our software. On the other hand, I also upload my own work to our repository, as a part of the project.
ProsWhat I like most is how powerful it is when it comes to moving between revisions. Even in huge projects, it is not difficult to revert back to and older, or newer, version of your project.
ConsWhile this software is powerful, it is also difficult to use. It can take a lot of time and practice, and even some mistakes, before you fully grasp what the software can do.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Shih H.
Embedded Software Engineer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2017

“Helix Core Review”

Prosthe GUI interface with side-by-side compare is very useful. the shelve feature is also something better than git stash
ConsI had a hard time install p4 command line version in Ubuntu 14. https://www.perforce.com/downloads/helix-command-line-client-p4 it downloaded the website index.html, not any installer file it might be better to support apt-get for ubuntu version. Or have the app in the Ubuntu marketplace
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2017
Avatar Image
Ann R.
software engineer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2017

“High quality product with new features being added continually”

ProsExcellent control at file level, easy tracing of history, multi-platform support, good UI interface. We've had hundreds of developers using it for thousands of lines of code in hundreds of branches over many years and been very happy. We've had very good support.
ConsIt is difficult to rename or move files without causing issues for merging. I hear our enterprise license is very expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2017
Thomas M.
QA Manager
Gambling & Casinos, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017

“Fairly easy to use”

OverallWe are transitioning to use test track as our primary management system for releases. It helps keep track of everything with the releases.
ProsRequirements documents have made running through our test cycles must faster. Easy to create test cases off the requirement docs my company creates. I also like the ability to regenerate test runs.
ConsThere is no good way for us to 'only' use Helix for releases. We must rely on other ways to track when releases are started, in development, ready for QA, and ready to be deployed. Right now we use folders for only QA, but it isn't ideal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017
Lars L.
Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“Very good product. Easy to use. Stable.”

ProsThe Perforce diff and merge tool. Very nice way the tool works when merging files, split screen and colors.
ConsInstalling updates or recover the database (we had a server with a defect HDD) is for me a kind of avoiding thing. I have had errors when recovering the P4 server, and in the end skipped the update, waited for the next release, which recovered without errors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Sachin C.
System support
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017

“Really good tool for maintaining documents and code.”

ProsIntegration with C# and Java application - API features. Label feature - to bundle the code Merge and Integrate feature - it is must for teams working in multiple iterations of code. Very easy and intuitive look and feel.
ConsRenaming of folder looses version history. There got to be some easy mechanism to keep a log of operations on the folder (renamed)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017
Avatar Image
Ashish C.
Principal Software Engineer
Computer Networking, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2017

“I love properties of perforce like finding differences, merging, code review capabilities and UI”

ProsFile comparison between different versions. Labeling and branching. Filtering with different user names, dates, and changelists.
ConsMerging should be more intelligent. I get sometimes unwanted changes also merged when automatic merge is on. The merge UI is not so great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2017
Prabhat D.
Hadoop Developer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017

“Its pretty decent version control software and easy to understand and use.”

ProsFile level permissions. Difference against multiple versions of source code. Can work on it while offline. Its centralized to my organization. Very flexible (and partial) checkouts (with customizable workspaces/clients), whereas it only supports full clones
ConsSomehow I feel that is slower than git and also it takes lots of space in disk. I have to keep track of merges in P4v.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017
Boopathi N.
System Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2017

“I have been Perforce Administrator for the last 4 years, the customer service is the best in Perforc”

OverallWe use this for version controlling and to document our artifacts
ProsThe ease of use and simple user interface is very simple to use. We did not need to explain more about the product to the new users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2017
Derek I.
Manager Information Technology
Consumer Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2017

“It just works !!!”

OverallGreat version control, it always seems to work, developers never complain.
ProsEasy to use, developers are familiar with Helix Core and are easily able to check files in and out. Great Version Control.
ConsSometimes there is latency. Getting new users up to speed takes a bit longer the average. We still have to contact support for some of the administrator tasks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2017
Roland M.
SW developer
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2017

“There were no real problems yet, everything is just fine”

OverallOur development process became much cleaner and smoother
ProsEasy to use, everything works as described in manuals and I don't know of any user (20 users) having any complaints
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2017
Dave S.
Owner
Computer & Network Security, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017

“i don't think i would trade this software for anything”

Overallit keeps track of everything. i find the labelling feature particularly useful, so you can retrieve all the files (exactly) that went into a particular release.
Prosi have used other CM systems before Helix. this product has all the features of the others, works on more platforms, and is easier to use.
Conssometimes administration can be a little counter-intuitive. there are certain administrative tasks the force you to go from screen to screen to screen to find what you are looking for. also, the upgrade process requires too many manual steps (at least it used to, perhaps that has changed).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017
srinivasa u.
Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017

“it was awesome and very user friendly”

Prosit was so good very user friendly, especially features like label and conflicts tracking. checkin and checkout features are awesome..
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017
Harsh P.
Design Engineer - 2
Computer Hardware, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017

“Overall good”

OverallGood for editing and submitting code.
ProsFeatures are good. I found it convenient. I don't have much experience with other competitive tools.
ConsSometimes finding a help is difficult online. Would be better if they provide chat session for customer support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017
Zak E.
Quality/Test Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017

“Easy simple and efficient!”

ProsI like that it is easy to understand who has certain documents checked out. The work space is easy to define and use. I enjoy that any file can be put on revision control.
ConsI dislike how when you switch computers it is difficult to keep the documents check out. I got a new computer and I had to contact the admin to release some documents that I had checked out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017
Swarna M.
Senior DevOps Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017

“Very easy to use but hangs often”

ProsEasy to use. Most of command line functionality is available via UI.P4 admin allows easy access to creation and deletion of users.
ConsHangs often especially p4admin. I use mac. It hanged during a demo which made the demo totally useless. Because of this issue getting difficult to work with only solution seem to be is to kill and restart application.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017
Richard L.
IT
Motion Pictures and Film, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017

“Mostly setting up Proxy server and troubleshooting basic tcp connection issue”

OverallPersonnaly nothing just my users that getting the benefits of it :) But for my part minimal maintenance required
ProsDont have much of maintenance to do once the initial installation is in place. But straight forward but once you know about it.
ConsThe installation step on windows are not so clear for first time user(installer). The no GUI interface for the configuration of a proxy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“A great version control product”

ProsWe use P4V( helix visual client) in our organisation for version control. Easy to compare files between current and previous versions. Integrating, labeling,creating changelists is easy. UI is user friendly.
ConsSometimes i get unwanted/extra characters in my files while merging. Also it is very expensive comparatively.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Michael F.
Engineer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“Easy to download and easy to work with.”

OverallEase of use.
ProsAll files are arranged neatly and in order for easier access. I find the information on all files to be up to date and time stamped according to when they were last edited.
ConsI had to manually set up my own workspace folder. Again once this was set up correctly the features seen in the depot folder are available in my workspace.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017