Altium Designer Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Altium Designer

Altium Designer provides easy to use PCB engineering design tools that helps to design any complex project more effectively. Learn more about Altium Designer

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Stuart S.
Electronic Design Engineer
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019

“Great all-round circuit and PCB design package”

OverallAs part of an electronic design team, Altium is an invaluable tool for cooperatively developing our designs. The robust library and project management features mean it is easy to have multiple engineers working on a design, and have everyone contributing to the company's library of components and templates. We can easily export 3D models of the PCBs for the mechanical team to check against physical constraints and the wide range of design file export formats keeps board houses happy. The ability to import designs and libraries from almost any other PCB package has been very useful and is worth mentioning.
ProsCreating and editing library components is straightforward and mostly works without error. The library and project management features are very powerful and suited to working in a corporate environment with large libraries. PCB layout editor is excellent with intelligent and relatively intuitive controls and behaviour. The view of the PCB layers can easily be customised to provide the clearest image of the user's desired section of the design. The 3D PCB view is great for easily visualising the board being worked on and can be used for basic fit-checking for enclosure and housings. If the company regularly designs PCBs for a certain enclosure or package space, a custom project template can be created, meaning when a new design is started the board area and any keep-outs and other restrictions are already loaded, saving time and mistakes.
ConsAs a relatively heavyweight piece of software, startup times are slow and file access can be sluggish, especially if working on a network. Many of the default settings are not helpful, for example the connection matrix which determines which combinations of IC pin types on a net will cause an error. The default settings generate dozens of spurious warnings for a moderate-size schematic. The Bill of Materials feature, while useful, can be painful to use as it takes several minutes to generate the component table for a moderately complex design. This must be repeated if a mistake is found and a change must be made to the schematic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 27, 2018

“Altium Designed: Simply the best at this price point”

ProsThe 3D CAD integration has been an absolutely killer feature for my company. Several projects literally could not have gone to market without it. The competitive edge that it gives my company to design clever, compact designs has effectively paid for the Altium license several times over. As a product, Altium Designer is unbeatable without paying 3-10x as much. Possibly much more, I didn't explore that market extensively once it became clear the wealth of features that Altium Designer offered.
ConsAltium, as a company makes me wonder about Altium Designer's long term prospects. The company has made several questionable market decisions in the past 5 years that makes me uncertain if their upper management really understands how their users use their product. Ah, well. They're not the first company to have this problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“PCB layout made less difficult”

OverallI use Altium to layout (not simulate) PCB for both prototyping and production. The software does a great job simplifying line and via placement, including it's push features. The rule system is robust if often frustrating and can be very useful helping to catch various board requirements (think differential pair lengths). Overall I find Altium to be very useful and infinitely better than old school layout methods, but it can also be very frustrating with various features broken in updates.
ProsAltium simplifies PCB layout with a very useful set of features and easy customization of icons and hotkeys.
ConsEvery update (and they come regularly) breaks something new. And once something you used to like finally gets fixed, something new will break. Also, how to add/change polygon pour vertices changes all the time and it drives me nuts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Shamal J.
Student
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Altium Designer for an Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering Undergraduate ”

ProsAs an engineering undergraduate we have to design lots of printed circuit boards. When I am using Altium designer I could easily design foot print according to the component I chose to use. In altium designer we can easily import the changes we made on the schematic . If we did any changes on the PCB design layout which are not on the schematic those changes also can be export to the schematic. We can customize the design rules such as track width, pad sizes, clearance and etc as we needed. That will help us to have the perfect PCB. When its comes to routing, auto-routing option in the altium is perfect. We only need to adjust routing rules according to our work then altium will do the routing part. We can easily generate files that are need to print PCB for an example if need to generate gerber files we only need to go the option that let us create gerber files and select the required layers and formats.
ConsIf you are new to PCB designing it will be little bit difficult to learn altium at the first place with the time we will get familiar to the altium designer. If you looking for footprint for free in online sources it will little bit difficult.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Rob F.
Owner
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019

“A long term users review”

OverallI've use Altium to successfully create hundred of boards, and it generally works well.
ProsAltium has a great but not perfect 3D rendering tool. The ability to import correctly scaled and detailed component parts allows the user to visualised a highly realistic image of the completed PCB.
ConsThe Autorouter is utter rubbish and I can't believe they haven't made any notable improvements to it over years. New features are implemented half baked and often full of bugs. The new 'Draftsman' tool is supposed to allow you to create better technical drawings of the board, but it really doesn't fulfil its promise. It's cumbersome, does not allow component values to be annotated to the drawing - instead only component Idents are drawn. The library system is messy and it's easy to get parts and footprints messed up. they tried to fix this with integrated libraries, but left the original library system in place so there's no consistent way to work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019
Benoit D.
electronic engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2019

“Altium, what else ? ”

ProsI really like this software. This is a very very full software, meaning that you really can do easy board to very very hard and complexe ones. Once you have it in hand, you cannot go back
ConsThe problemes with it are : Expensive and hard to use at the begining. It is not an easy software to managed, but once you have it, GO ! The license are expensive too, but it is worst it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2019
Avatar Image
Aruna J.
Research assistant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2019

“Professional PCB designing tool”

OverallHave lot of features. Since most of the companies use Altium as their main PCB development tool finding footprints for more recent components is very easy. Support industrial standards. Supports cad files and generated cad files are compatible with Solidworks Cad tool.
ProsGreat PCB designing tool with lot of features. Supports custom cad files and foot prints. Online and offline tools available for library conversions for PCB component. Support simulations and complex designs. The best thing is it can generate 3D cad file of the final PCB where it can be used to make the enclosures. More professional and customisable.
ConsIt takes longer time for first start of the application, and consumes lot of processing power. Therefore it discourages simple edits in PCB.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Terran G.
Student
Research, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“Great High end software for PCB design”

OverallI think it is the best software package available for PCB design. Highly recommend if it's within budget.
ProsThe amount of features packed into Altium Designer is almost more than imaginable. The software is great for people who know what they are doing.
ConsThe learning curve that comes with Altium is a bit steep. Because of how many features and advanced options in Altium, it would take months, if not years to feel like a master at Altium.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2019

“Altium Designer, top 3 pcb design tools”

OverallAltium Designer continues improving year after year. Still behind of representative on the pcb design end but far more beyond on the schematich side. Altium is by far easier to use and more intuitive that representative and I would recommend Altium to Engineers that want to design an schematic and do a layout without having to interact with different tools.
ProsHow the menus look and how easy is to set up the rules for design.The shapes and keepouts definitions are year after year better and better.
ConsStill can find some bugs, and it crashes more than its competitors. Not being able to add the drill table on the ODB++ except you exported into another mechanical layer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Industrial Automation, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Awesome software, missing a key feature”

ProsAltium is fully integrated and allows a user to go from schematic capture to PCB design quickly, without changing software suites.
ConsI hate that dimensions in Altium dont drive, like they do in solidworks
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“ improvement in my designs, a good 3D view and personal growth”

Overall prophecy in my designs. a continuous improvement in electronic design
Pros For me, the best when it comes to designing electronic cards. has the ability to work in several layers is very complete and integrates the 3D view so you can place any 3D object in your design and make your presentation as real as possible. really powerful and very complete
Cons At first a little difficult to handle since it has many functions. When you have a very large circuit the auto routing does not work very well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Andrew B.
Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Altium Review”

ProsAltium Designer is a great way to design circuit boards. It generates Gerber files, Pick and Place and Test Points for you. Great software!
ConsThe only downside is disconnecting with the server a couple of times a week in the middle of projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“Blows the competition away”

OverallI went through University learning Altium, as it was the software that had been licensed by our department for Electronics Engineers. It's a feature rich, fully fledged EDA that makes difficult tasks easier. Although I've since moved away as I can't justify the cost against the small output we have, its certainly worth the money.
ProsHas more features than any other EDA out there, and is continuing to push the boundaries with every yearly release
ConsThe price, its incredibly expensive. However when compared to other EDA you can understand why this is the case.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
barry w.
Product Support Coordinator
Design, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2018

“Altium Designer”

OverallGenerally very positive, easy to use for mid level designs and good price.
ProsEase of use. Can get started with very little training. Good price for features available.
ConsThere are too many ways of completing the same task. Collaboration (multiple engineers on the same design) is poorly defined and prone to lost data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2018

“Top ECAD tool for PCB design”

ProsWorks well with Solidworks suites and now with Solidworks PCB and Connector. General purpose ECAD tool for single and multi-layer board design.
ConsWhile there is a vault system available, the cost is prohibitively high for a small group. Integrations are available to other PLM applications as well as a basic CSV or SVN system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2018
Mohammad F.
Embedded Software Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“Altium is best PCB designing platform I ever known”

OverallI was a new designer while I started designing PCBs. Though it took sometime to understand it, I found it much useful and it helped in widening my knowledge in this field. I use this so frequently now.
ProsI like its wide range of features. Everything that you need like importing BOM, creating footprints from it, working on various layers, 3D view, etc. are some features which I couldn't find in the software I used before. I think this is different and useful for me.
ConsIt took little bit of time to know full features and capabilities since there are many features. But in the begining I was expecting some more inbuilt libraries. Later on I became used to it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Thushara S.
Student
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019

“Altium Designer is advanced PCB designing tool. ”

OverallOverall Altium is one of best PCB design software I've ever used.
ProsAltium Designer has thousand of advanced features to design PCBs. I really like the ability to make files of the PCB to send online PCB manufacturing service . Altium supports 3D view and we can clearly see how to fit PCB on my CAD design. Altium has thousands of flexible design rules and auto routing options.
ConsAltium has few bugs when exporting designs. instead of that default components library has only very few essential components. Even I find component footprints or library from internet I have to go through number of steps to add them to Altium every time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Chamod R.
Student
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Best PCB design software”

OverallI use Altium Designer to design PCB for my school projects and etc. It is the best and most recommended PCB designer out there
ProsEasy to use Wide compatibility Has lots of components since very famous PCB simulations and 3D designs can be done effortlessly Very accurate
ConsSmall learning curve at the beginning No any other cons
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2019

“Altium PCB design”

OverallOverall I have been satisfied but I think Altium's old model Protel was much better. I used to use that in 2003 and that was better than today's version.
ProsAltium has got a huge collection of libraries for PCBs. Almost all the parts which you can buy from Digikey or Mouser, their footprints are present in Altium. I have also been able to customize the footprints to my own needs. Infact, I have made some footprints all from scratch. That is a very powerful feature. Similarly when making the schematic, the 3D model of all the parts is also visible which helps alot in visualizing the part I am gonna use.
ConsThe autorouting in Altium is completely broken. It takes multiple sessions to get completed and most of the time it stop at 90% with tens of vias. Sometimes even with a wire width of 200um and isolation distance of 150um, the autorouter finds it difficult to make a track for SMDs. Therefore, for a PCB with parts more than 200, it becomes almost impossible to make single sided PCB. Though it works OK for double sided PCB.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2019
Ali H.
Research Assistant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Altium Designer”

OverallGood and it helps me more compare similar software however it can be more user-friendly
ProsIt gives a good opportunity to design the schematic and PCB for desired circuit at one software which linked together good enough.
ConsSome tools does not have proper document to guide user to use them. If you did not learn some tricks and skills from another expert person, you will not learn anyway from document.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2019

“Real tool”

OverallI have been using it since it was called Protel, and I used to it a lot. now when I prototype, and I need PCB I could not use anything else.
ProsFully fletched suite for electronic engineer, for schematics and printed circuit board developing
Consits expensive for hobbyist, and it takes a lot of space on drive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2019
Edward A.
Tecnico Automatizacion
Food & Beverages, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2019

“Altium Review ”

OverallDesign a detailed electric component
ProsHow easy it is to import a design from a pcb into a format that you can use in a pcb cnc milling machine
ConsLearning how to use this software correctly is a bit tricky
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2019
Avatar Image
M Saeid G.
Ph.D Candidate
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2018

“Altium Designer”

ProsThe graphical view is very functional and easy to use.
Conssome function such as cut out polygon should be user friendly more than now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Medical Devices, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2019

“Feature full PCB workhorse”

OverallI do not like using Altium, but I do believe it is a good program for profession schematic and PCB design. I would recommend it to somebody in a professional electronics environment at a large scale company.
ProsAltium is a very powerful schematic and PCB layout software. It is full of features to help make your designs more professional and really, just better designs period.
ConsI least like how non-intuitive it is to use. There are so many features that it is hard to do basic things. The parts library interface is difficult to understand.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2019
Rafael C.
Industrial Engineer
Medical Devices, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2019

“Altium Designer Review ”

ProsHow can you do your project with the smallest detail in a precise way
ConsIs hard to learn how to use in a proper way this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Abhishek S.
Associate
Management Consulting, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“End Solution in Analytics”

Prosa) Without a computer-science background make it easy for Graphical user interface. b) The workflows are more easily scheduled compare to informatica. c) We need not to licenses and servers for calculations. d) You can learn about it easily as more material is available on the internet.
Consa) Date time function should not be complex I have use the formulas for data date. b) The desktop tool often get crashes and behaves in slow manner
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019