absence.io Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About absence.io

Solution designed to manage team absences including employee vacation, attendance, and PTO. Efficiently handle absence request via product notifications or email. Centrally store all essential employee information in comprehensive personnel files, and use the staff questionnaires to collect data from employees with a single click. Learn more about absence.io

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Josh G.
Operations Manager
Printing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2017

“Time saving product”

OverallSince implementation countless hours have been saved manually tracking and approving absences, as well as informing employees about their remaining leave balances. Now each employee simply logs in and can see everything quickly and easily. At year end we can easily run reports to see what types of absences were used, who is over their allowances, etc.. Overall it's a very useful tool. And as an added bonus, the integration with Slack is fantastic and fairly seamless.
ProsMultiple leave types that can pool from one total allotment Teams Half Day time off capability
ConsNeeds a start date connection to increased allowances
Recommendations to other buyersIf you need to save time tracking time off, get this software.
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2017
CHRISTOPH R.
IT Director
Media Production, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017

“best tool ever”

OverallNormally, the department who want a new tool is happy, everyone else who should use that tools is annoyed. That complete different with Absence. Everyone I happy, since I rolled out Absence at 2 companies. No paper anymore, more transparency, everything with one click. Every software should look like Absence. Perfect UI/UX. I hope Absence will bring more tools (eg. employee management, on/offboarding)
ProsNormally, the department who want a new tool is happy, everyone else who should use that tools is annoyed. That complete different with Absence. Everyone I happy, since I rolled out Absence at 2 companies. No paper anymore, more transparency, everything with one click. Every software should look like Absence. Perfect UI/UX.
Conscheaper
Recommendations to other buyersI hope Absence will bring more tools (eg. employee management, on/offboarding)
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017
Ben H.
Engineering Services Manager
Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
August 18, 2016

“Loving the software”

OverallWe had multiple options to try for a web based holiday management tool. It was the very tidy "Bootstrap-ish" modern layout which pushed absence.io in to the finals, and the pricing that was exactly in budget for our business which pushed it to the top. With software of this quality at this price it allows us to integrate without opposition from accounts. The setup was intuitive and it has features built in for even the most complex of situations (i.e. employee working day contract changes). Technical support is on fire with the speed that they respond so this is also a very positive thing for an already great experience so far.
ProsThe style of interface. The simple iPhone App. The ability to drive requests by "Accept/Decline" emails rather than needing to login. By far, the price which allowed us to progress without considering the competition any further.
ConsIt is currently lacking the ability to manage passive users. We have some members of staff who will not login, and do not have email addresses. These still need to be managed on the software so we needed to make temporary emails for them to add them. This however was not a showstopper for us.
Recommendations to other buyersKeep up the good work!
Source: Capterra
August 18, 2016
Avatar Image
Roxy K.
Operations Manager
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2017

“Good software :)”

OverallLots of data, easy to use
ProsPrice is right, I like the slack integration and my team finds it useful too, has a great support team that is always friendly and very responsive.
ConsI'm still waiting for a google cal integration, I have encountered a few annoying bugs but team has always been proactive to fix and that's to be expected from a budding company. Worth the tradeoff
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2017
Robert Y.
Global Development Manager
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017

“Perfect integration with Slack”

OverallWe implemented absence because of the integration with Slack, and it really is seamless. We have a small distributed team that rely on the daily notifications in the channel to plan work and communications.
ProsDirect integration with Slack
ConsI don't like having to switch language when visiting https://www.absence.io - it always defaults to https://www.absence.io/de/ - would prefer it to be a little more intelligent about my location :)
Recommendations to other buyersWould like it to better integrate the team calendar into MS Outlook for scheduling purposes.
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017
Sabina M.
General Manager
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017

“Almost perfect!”

OverallWe implemented Absence.io into our startup operations and it has worked seamlessly. It's easy to set up and it's easy to use. If only there was another option for "Working from Home" or "Working Out of Office" so we can track where employees are - that would be ideal.
ProsEase of monitoring and how seamless the application and approval process is.
ConsSometimes it crashes which is unfortunate, and I'm not the biggest fan of the public holiday set up as we presently monitor staff in various countries (where holidays sometimes overlap, and sometimes they don't).
Recommendations to other buyersAs I mentioned in my review, it would be fantastic if you can incorporate the "working from home" function, so that it does not work against the leave, but does track attendance in the physical office.
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017
Petre P.
PM
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017

“Chaos no longer exists! :)”

OverallNo more paper sheets, no more waiting, the whole situation regarding my colleagues only one click away!
ProsThe whole app! :)
ConsNone yet.
Recommendations to other buyersNope.
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017
Michael A.
Operations Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017

“Excellent Solution for Attendance Tracking”

OverallAbsence.io provided a simple, clean interface that allowed us to graduate from messy excel spreadsheets and never look back. When we requested an update date formatting, Absence.io responded quickly and introduced the requested feature within a couple weeks. Our company loves using Absence and would recommend it to anyone.
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017
Jan C.
Senior HR Consultant
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 2, 2017

“absence.io made our business life much easier”

ProsSuper easy to understand; perfect tool even as a company with ~200 employees and more; slack integration; no more need for an oldschool excel sheet; individual rights management; neat design; customizable settings; web + app usage; google calender integration
ConsNo digital personnel data management. Apparently they're working on additional features so maybe that'll improve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 2, 2017
Avatar Image
Stephen F.
Account Director
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“Better Than Keeping Track Yourself”

OverallIt was a fine stop-gap software when we were growing as an agency. We eventually had to evolve into a PTO request system that integrated with our payroll system better, but no real complaints about Absence.io. It served us easily and well for about 2 years.
ProsIt was free for I think up to 10 users and it let us go from nothing to a new PTO request system very quickly as our agency grew.
ConsIt's a German software, so some of the calendars and date styles aren't what our team was familiar with, but it's a minor inconvenience for a free solution to what we needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Anna B.
Management Assistant
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2017

“Easy to use, time saving and must-have HR Tool”

OverallWe are a startup and have approximately 20 employees. absence.io helps us a lot to plan our holidays, keep track of sickness-days, and much more! Our developers love the slack-integration and our accounting department loves the exports at the end of every year. I cannot believe how much time I spent on these things in excel before we implemented absence.io :-)
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2017
Peter L.
Head of Finance & Legal
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017

“Best Absence solution”

OverallWe were looking for a cloud-based tool to manage our team absences - absence.io provides just that and much more. We are also able to see who's currently on leave in any of our Teams (Austria, London and Los Angeles) and manage doctor's certificates with ease. Great tool, highly recommended.
ProsEasy to use Fair pricing System Absolutely perfect customer support
Recommendations to other buyersIf you want to manage your leave days with ease - absence.io is the right tool for you. Look no further.
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017
Marius L.
Director of Customer Service
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2016

“Best tool for team absence management ”

OverallWe were looking for a tool that can help our team be more efficient when it comes to absence requests and time off in general. Their integration with Slack and ease of use made our transition smooth!
ProsPowerful and easy to use.
ConsI would like more power in the Slack Integration

Vendor Response

By absence.io on August 26, 2016
Hi Marius, thanks for your review. Happy to have you guys on board :) Best regards Your absence.io team
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2016
Sofie B.
HR Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2017

“Great and easy system”

OverallWe are overall very happy with absence. Due to our size and set-up there are some features we could really benefit from having in the system that´s not there yet but I´m sure it will be incorporated as absence grow and learn from their customers.
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2017
Joseph H.
Administration Manager
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017

“Very handy”

Overallabsence.io is a very handy service for all companies who want to easily track their employees' vacations and leaves. The customer support is really fast and reliable.
ProsEasiness. Mobile app
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2017
Avatar Image
João Victor G.
Product Designer
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018

“Good tool for having visibility of day-offs and vacations across teams”

ProsThe consolidated calendar view shows very easily how my team is planning to take their vacations and helps me decide quick the best dates to either take my own or also to anticipate times with lower resources to plan how to handle them.
ConsThe interface is not so easy to use and it can take a little bit of tweaks to get it up and running for your needs. Also, it lacks integrations with other HR tools that can complement the app.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018
Favry N.
Founder/managing director
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2017

“Great experience so far”

OverallWe are using Absence.io since a few weeks, it makes everyone's life easier and makes my organization as a manager more accurate. :)
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2017
Avatar Image
Emily Anderson S.
Office & Investor Operations
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018

“Perfect Vacation Tracker for a Small Business”

OverallVacation tracking, vacation calendar and formal request validation.
ProsAbsence.io finally gives our company a way to track vacation, have a company calendar that shows employees absences and formal request validations within different teams. I love how customizable it is!
ConsThe calendar views take a little time getting used to, but other than that, I have no negative things to say about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018
Tom H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2017

“A tool we couldn't live without”

OverallOur team uses absence.io to book vacations, notify when working from home, and track sick days. We love using the Slack integration, which posts a report each morning with a list of people who are out of the office. We're big fans of absence.io!
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Great functionality for handing absence in the workplace”

OverallEarlier we were using spreadsheets for recording absence, which was very cumbersome. Absence.io makes it much easier.
ProsI am able to see the complete absence overview of our entire marketing department, when using this software. Makes it easy to plan vacations.
ConsI haven't experienced any real problems yet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Rich Y.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017

“Nice and Simple with easy to use interface”

OverallWorks well and has some nice simple click, and drag/drop abilities. The website for mobile works well and very app-like. Great for our small team to track people away from the office regularly.
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017
Christin P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2017

“User friendly tool to track absence of the teams”

OverallAbsence.io is a user friendly tool that allows us to extract good reports and understand absence of our teams, regardless of if they are sick or on a business trip.
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2017
Peter F.
CEO
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2017

“Great alternative to excel sheets and absence forms”

OverallAs we were looking for an alternative to our absence forms and excel sheets we stumbled upon abscence.io as a really sophisticated cloud tool to manage work absences (including medical certificates) and requests for leave. Only thing we are still missing in our HR department are a sufficient cloud based duty roster and time tracking, hopefully coming soon to absence.io
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2017
Robin J.
Auszubildender Fachinformatiker Anwendungsentwicklung
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 7, 2019

Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 7, 2019
Abdelkrim C.
Office manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: GetApp
December 11, 2016

Source: GetApp
December 11, 2016
Avatar Image
Anton T.
Product Manager
Renewables & Environment, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“It has German holidays!”

ProsIt has local German holidays, and it takes it into account automatically
ConsUI is too twitching, and it doesn't feel solid
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019