Localist Ratings

Overall
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Service
4.3/5

About Localist

Localist takes the stress and anxiety out of event planning and promotion. Marketing, HR, and communications teams love Localist's Event Automation Platform because it's simple to use, lets you create beautiful landing pages for multiple events, and consistently brands everything you promote; simply drag and drop your elements and begin sharing. Because every event and calendar is centralized in a single dashboard, creating, publishing, managing, and promoting your events has never been easier. Learn more about Localist

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 62 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 62 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Raymond R.
Web Designer
Higher Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Ray's review of Localist”

OverallI'm very familiar with Localist after having used it for a few years so I'm reluctant to change to a different email merge system but I do find it to be user-friendly and easy to introduce people to.
ProsIt's very easy to get started and set up a basic email. Support is very helpful and great about determining what issues I'm having. The emails usually look pretty great and consistent.
ConsAfter I've uploaded a new audience, the response time a for it to appear and become useable. This is very confusing and stressful when you need to send the campaign. When I import an audience and add new field names, I wish I didn't have to eventually rename them from the default "MEREGE8" in the Audience fields page. I wish it were easier to modify the template and styles without "hacking it" via CSS.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks Raymond! I passed your feedback on to our support team too.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Frankie R.
Web Developer
Government Relations, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Beautiful, functional, and automated.”

OverallOur previous website calendar system consisted of our staff manually entering events when the public would email them to us. Even with copy/pasting each field, it would take up some time to process a lot of requests. Now, we can approve or deny events with the click of a button and the public takes the time to format the events themselves. This also allows for required fields so we don't receive events with missing information.
ProsI really like the clean design of the calendar along with the functionality of event submissions. Having the public submit their own events automates our process so much more than it was before. All we have to do is click one button to approve or deny the events, and that makes our job much easier.
ConsI think we could have a little more control over the customization of the design, but we still haven't hit too many roadblocks as it is now.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 9, 2019
Hey Frankie! Thanks for your feedback! We're catching up on responding to some Capterra reviews, and we wanted to check-in. I wanted to let you know that we are weeks away from launching an improved front-end on the Localist platform. Our goal with this front-end release is to update the design of the customizable layout - without disturbing too much in the existing experience. Maintaining simplicity in the user's experience is critical. We have identified opportunities in key moments of interaction to improve user flows and optimize how content is consumed. Looking forward to this release and would love to get some feedback from you after that release! If you have any questions and concerns hit us up at https://www.localist.com/contact/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Brandi H.
Manager, Web Services
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019

“Easy to use and excellent customer service”

OverallWe wanted a tool that would make it easier for our users to add and manage their own events to a calendar, thus adding to the number events on the calendar at any given time. Localist, with its easy to use interface, has solved that problem. People have found it very easy to use with little to no training necessary. The Localist support team has been wonderful about replying quickly to any questions or help I've needed.
ProsThis was the easiest third-party tool implementation I've ever been a part of. They didn't oversell and under-deliver. The calendar was exactly as promised and so easy to use for both admins and our end-users. The interface is user friendly and has made adding and managing events very easy.
ConsThere isn't much that I like least about the software. Localist is very responsive to customer suggestions so updates are usually driven by users. The minor things are not deal breakers for me.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 9, 2019
Thanks for your feedback, Brandi! What a great review! We're catching up on responding to some Capterra reviews, and we wanted to check-in. I wanted to let you know that we are weeks away from launching an improved front-end on the Localist platform. Our goal with this front-end release is to update the design of the customizable layout - without disturbing too much in the existing experience. Maintaining simplicity in the user's experience is critical. We have identified opportunities in key moments of interaction to improve user flows and optimize how content is consumed. Looking forward to this release and would love to get some feedback from you after that release! If you have any questions and concerns hit us up at https://www.localist.com/contact/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019
Jeff F.
Brand Manager
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Excellent robust hosted event calendar solution ”

OverallWe've used the platform for many years, replacing a very old and broken open source solution. Engagement with the calendar more than doubled, and sustained at double or sometimes triple the traffic. Pretty satisfied with it, though there's always room for improvement. Team is responsive and helpful.
ProsThe system is very focused on how users actually use event calendars, instead of being stuffed full of all the random features some folks might imagine people want. It's very user focused, very customizable, and a great solution for Higher Ed where so many different parts of the org have slightly different needs that can be accommodated. Embedding feeds in a very flexible and customizable way into each department's website was a life saver.
ConsSome of the customizability can get a little clunky, wish there were a few more very nice built-in options and default templates. The default is nice, and the ability to get it perfectly on-brand are great, but several super polished default templates for the calendar and the widgets would go a long way. (Not a concern for shops with talented designers, but would be helpful for the smaller organizations.)

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for the feedback Jeff. We're looking forward to our latest release which will include some new templates we hope you will enjoy!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Kathleen C.
Marketing Director
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Can't say enoughh about Localist”

OverallThe entire team at Localist is great to work with; speedy replies to email inquiries; a Slack channel for discussion. Truly a great company.
ProsLocalist has made event promotion so much more effective! Having a single place to list events, and the ability to display those events in multiple ways via multiple channels is time-saving and helps spread promote all our events. Since everyone on campus can submit an event, there's a built-in sense of community! The interface is clear and easy for all level of users! The social aspects of the calendar are the best facet: users can leave reviews, post photos and share with friends. Simply can't think of a better calendar platform for any college.
ConsCustomizing the CSS takes a higher understanding of programming than I possess...but our IT folks find it simple!

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your detailed review Kathleen!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Nicky E.
Associate Director of Digital Media
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Localist is the solution! ”

OverallWe looked at many different event software solutions before deciding on Localist. It's a great product, and the customer service is unparalleled.
ProsI really like how you can brand localist, customize the calendar offerings, and how it is a marketing platform in addition to a events platform.
ConsI wish that the integration with Facebook still existed! I don't like double-creating everything - but using Localist and Facebook together = maximum visibility.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Good feedback Nicky - Thanks!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Teresa N.
Assistant director of internal communication
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“It's OK”

OverallIt seems like we started the Localist product with little information. Very learn-by-doing. Over time, it got better, but still have a long way to go. The webinar on Channels was so confusing that it took me months to figure out what they were talking about. Again, lots of learn-by-doing.
ProsThe approval process is quick and easy. The calendar looks good.
Cons Need to be able to submit event to MORE THAN ONE LOCATION for multiple dates of same event. We have voter registration booths around campus, so have to pick one location, then add the others in the room number slot. Option to HIDE DESCRIPTION from main page. Now that calendar is used a lot, want to make front-facing page look more streamline. Need INSTRUCTIONS FOR USER-FACING PAGES, emphasizing importance of choosing audience, etc. Separate instructions on photos, channels, groups. Written or Video. Needs to be simple.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Teresa! I've passed your comments onto our Support Team to see what they can do to improve the experience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Jason C.
Director of Web Communications
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Localist calendar manages our 1,000+ events/year”

OverallThe customer service at Localist is excellent. They are proactive by checking in regularly and when we have an issue or question they address it right away.
ProsLocalist is very easy to setup and administer and is a very powerful calendar platform to help manage and promote our many events on campus. We've been able to shed our many rogue calendars and have everyone bought in on using Localist because it has many great features.
ConsWhen we first bought Localist, we had to use advanced custom CSS to skin the site match our regular website. However, since then, they now offer a great theme tool that allows you to adjust the styles of your calendar without any coding, etc. We are now using the theme editor and love the fresh look of our calendar.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for such a detailed review Jason!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Pam M.
Membership Coordinator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2019

“Localist is a GREAT calendar app”

OverallAn attractive, easy to use calendar appears on our website. It's easy to link people to events and there is plenty of room to promote our volunteer and recreational opportunities.
ProsInstallation and use of Localist is a breeze. Because our state agency partner also uses it, duplication of events and effort (for me at least) has been cut way down.
ConsLike all technology, it can be intimidating and not all of our chapters have been convinced to install a widget on their own websites. It's early days though and I am hopeful.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 9, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Pam! We're catching up on responding to some Capterra reviews, and we wanted to check-in. I wanted to let you know that we are weeks away from launching an improved front-end on the Localist platform. Our goal with this front-end release is to update the design of the customizable layout - without disturbing too much in the existing experience. Maintaining simplicity in the user's experience is critical. We have identified opportunities in key moments of interaction to improve user flows and optimize how content is consumed. Looking forward to this release and would love to get some feedback from you after that release! If you have any questions and concerns hit us up at https://www.localist.com/contact/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2019
Emily K.
Senior Training, Support and Outreach Coordinator
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Powerful tool that is simple to use”

ProsLocalists offers many features and displays beautifully. From administrators to calendar users, the platform is intuitive to use and offers truly useful features. Our users love the ease of expressing interest in an event and notifications in their inbox. Administrators love the ease of setup, reporting and the configuration flexibility. Our events site is attractive and easy to use for the public and we have more units using the calendar platform and the embed widget so they may display their events on their website as well.
ConsWe have a system that works for us but it would be nice to have a more options in setting up user permissions.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 24, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Emily!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Jennifer R.
Senior Web Development Specialist
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Lehigh review”

OverallOverall experience has been very positive. Wish we had more standing communication with the Localist team to discuss product enhancements and issues.
ProsIt is a robust system to handle all our event communication management.
ConsOccasional outages - recently we have seen many small outages (2-3 minutes) with the calendar.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Jennifer - good comments that I've passed along to our support team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Jill S.
IS Associate Director
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018

“Great solution for promoting events”

OverallLocalist has put a lot of thought into designing a system that simply makes sense to users, and they offer great advice on how to organize filters and user functions so that they remain intuitive. We've had nothing but happy comments from users and providers.
ProsIt's extremely intuitive and easy for both end users and event providers to dive right in. Also, I love their support team. They are enthusiastic, have a solid technical understanding of the software, respond quickly with solutions that work and creative ideas.
ConsModerating/reviewing events can be a bit awkward if you have a lot of reviewers. It isn't difficult, but requires some planning and coordination.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 9, 2019
Thanks for your feedback, Jill! We're catching up on responding to some Capterra reviews, and we wanted to check-in. I wanted to let you know that we are weeks away from launching an improved front-end on the Localist platform. Our goal with this front-end release is to update the design of the customizable layout - without disturbing too much in the existing experience. Maintaining simplicity in the user's experience is critical. We have identified opportunities in key moments of interaction to improve user flows and optimize how content is consumed. Looking forward to this release and would love to get some feedback from you after that release! If you have any questions and concerns hit us up at https://www.localist.com/contact/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018
Terry G.
Director of Programs & Outreach
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2019

“Love this calendar!”

OverallLocalist has been a dream with which to work. They helped integrate their calendar with the SquareSpace and their support team is always ready to help. Great product and excellent support.
ProsThe ease of use and flexibility for event entry.
ConsThat it does not work well with the Squarespace platform.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 9, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Terry! We're catching up on responding to some Capterra reviews, and we wanted to check-in. I wanted to let you know that we are weeks away from launching an improved front-end on the Localist platform. Our goal with this front-end release is to update the design of the customizable layout - without disturbing too much in the existing experience. Maintaining simplicity in the user's experience is critical. We have identified opportunities in key moments of interaction to improve user flows and optimize how content is consumed. Looking forward to this release and would love to get some feedback from you after that release! If you have any questions and concerns hit us up at https://www.localist.com/contact/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Flexible Calendar Solution That Can Centralize Your Events”

OverallWe have successfully used the Localist solution to centralize and consolidate our various calendars and event posts. What was previously done via many entry points can now be done through one. The vendor assisted us throughout but most of the work had to be done internally for obvious reasons.
ProsThe solution is very flexible to our needs and the branding capabilities are impressive. We also liked that we can have both internal and external, public-facing calendar views. The final implementation is seamless to the end users and appears to them as though it was custom, in-house work.
ConsThe actual setup of the solution was laborious. Our goal was to consolidate many separate calendars in use around our organization. Setting up each integration feed and forming appropriate categories to fit each of the various events was the most challenging part. It required several discussions with our stakeholder group.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your detailed review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Andrea G.
Marketing & Communications Manager
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Great UX - easy and quick to use”

OverallWe have been using Localist for a while now, using it as a primary destination for our stakeholders to learn about our events. The integration with our event management system is great and the UX is really good. Super user-friendly and clear with labels, flexible to add your own tags/categories, etc.
ProsWe have been using Localist for a while now, using it as a primary destination for our stakeholders to learn about our events. The integration with our event management system is great and the UX is really good. Super user-friendly and clear with labels, flexible to add your own tags/categories, etc. We have embedded it in our website and it's awesome not to have to worry about managing multiple calendars - using the same one for the whole university and our individual department.
ConsSome limited visual features to style the feed with code.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your review Andrea!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Stanley C.
Web Developer
Hospital & Health Care, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Customer service is excellent, but the UI and functionality needs a revamp”

OverallOverall I think the customer service is excellent. The UI and functionality needs to be improved. I've been using this software for 5 years and it has not changed much. It's time to improve on the current concept.
ProsI like that I am able to segment my events into separate communities. I like the outstanding software support whenever I have questions. The UI and functionality can be upgraded to better filter events and further improve usability.
ConsI don't like that I can't give more control for approval of events. At my organization, we have one admin to approve the events. Events already submitted don't necessarily need to be reapproved by me if there are minor changes like dates. When someone does add/remove dates from an event, the event is no longer visible to the public and needs to be reapproved. Maybe the event shouldn't be pulled from the live feed and be amended by the changes when it's approved. Or there should be an option to automatically approve minor changes. Another thing I don't like is the way you can filter down events. I think being able to see a calendar with the events listed on each day is a plus. (Kind of like seeing a physical calendar or using the Google calendar app.) People like to be able to see the events available on a week or monthly basis. I think this option would be most beneficial for the widget at least. I've been asked multiple times to have an alternative view to the list view we already have. The mini calendar for the widget is not functionally viable. It limits you to being only able to filter events on a day to day basis. If you ask me, I think it is rather cumbersome and not useful.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 9, 2019
Hey Stanley! Thanks for your review. We're catching up on responding to some Capterra reviews, and we wanted to check-in. I wanted to let you know that we are weeks away from launching an improved front-end on the Localist platform. Our goal with this front-end release is to update the design of the customizable layout - without disturbing too much in the existing experience. Maintaining simplicity in the user's experience is critical. We have identified opportunities in key moments of interaction to improve user flows and optimize how content is consumed. Looking forward to this release and would love to get some feedback from you after that release! If you have any questions and concerns hit us up at https://www.localist.com/contact/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Melissa F.
Associate Director
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Great for web widgets”

OverallI love the functionality, and the customizable widgets are a lifesaver.
ProsI love the fact that I can customize widgets for our existing websites, and link to our registration software easily.
ConsI do wish that when people post notifications or questions on the event listing that it would notify administrators that there was a post. This could help us weed out the spam postings and also answer questions for those that actually needed the help.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for the great feedback and a positive review Melissa!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Megan P.
Digital Content Editor
Public Relations and Communications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Easy to use, wish it was more customizable”

OverallI do not communicate with customer support directly, but it seems like it often takes a long time for us to get responses when we do.
ProsVery easy to use. We have many event admins across our campus, and people seem to pick it up pretty quickly regardless of level of experience.
ConsI wish it was more customizable for our needs. With such a large campus, we end up with many events in our pending queue, both from non-admins and admins who accidentally submit events for approval instead of just adding to the calendar. We have asked to have facets added to the main queue so that we can filter by different fields.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Megan!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Heather P.
Web Project Manager
Performing Arts, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Schedule Buy Tickete Button”

ProsEasy to use, very user friendly and I enjoy how customizable the feeds are.
ConsPlease add the ability to schedule the buy ticket button. We want to get our events out there asap to give people the opportunity to select their events for season packages. We have to go in later to set up buy ticket buttons for individual tickets. Season package holders get preference on their seats first.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Heather! I've passed it along to our support team as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Ellen H.
Principal
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“An excellent product and service”

OverallWe needed a calendar that was easy to use for multiple parties in order to pull together the calendar of events for multiple arts groups. It's been an effective tool.
ProsLocalist met the need for a calendar with a lot of features, satisfying our community need for a robust calendar. Wish the newsletter feature were simpler. Support has been fabulous.
ConsOlder newsletter feature was too limited and difficult, and the newer newsletter feature seems complicated still. A lot of software changes have been difficult to keep up with changes and features.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Ellen! I've passed your comment onto our support team as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Sean O.
Sr. Associate Director of Web Communications
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Localist Review”

ProsMakes it easy to manage events and for events to feed throughout our website.
ConsYou can't bulk approve, disapprove pending events. Having to deal with spam comments and events can be frustrating. Not sufficient documentation for creating custom widgets for our website. Some of the widget options when creating custom widgets are somewhat limited.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your detailed feedback Sean. I've passed your feedback onto our support team as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
TERRI A.
Director of Special Events
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Event marketing”

OverallCustomer service is quick to respond. If Localist would give suggestions for ways to get users engaged, it would be helpful. While we in put all the data, we aren't seeing the return in marketing and attendance.
Prosposts are clean and fairly user friendly
Conssigning up for events...too many steps to review search engine can be clunky text messaging feature would be nice

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks Terri! I've passed your review to our support team and they'll be following up with those suggestions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Craig T.
Web Developer & Designer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Developer rarely gets involved.”

OverallFantastic. Great product, great support.
ProsMy favorite aspect of our Localist implementation is that, as our institution's sole developer, I don't have to worry about it. We skinned it, connected it to a few services, and it just runs. On occasion I need to update a style or template element, or generate a new widget, but otherwise I just stay out of it and our office manager handles the rest!
ConsThe only aspect I didn't like (pre-theme builder days) was the effort required to skin it ... but they totally overhauled that years ago, so it's a non-issue!

Vendor Response

By Localist on October 1, 2019
Thanks for your positive review Craig!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Chris L.
Associate Director for Web Services
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Localist review”

OverallThe support staff has been very helpful.
ProsThe submission of events makes it easy for people to submit their events to the college. I also like the concept of the channels to create focused event series.
ConsI wish there was a way to force event submissions into a specific format. For example, some people leave the community unselected, so I have to manually add that in during approval. Also, I wish there were batch actions for pending events.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Chris. I've passed your comment to our support team too!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Taylor B.
Web and New Media Designer/Developer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Localist Has Made Life Easier”

OverallOur students are our main priority in higher education. We want to be able to provide a solution to them that is going to be easy to use and something that they can use over and over again. I think this tool has helped drive our students to find and participate in events that are meaningful to them.
ProsWe are very happy with our switch to localist. It has has made our event management for our admins so much easier and we have seen a significant increase in our analytics.
ConsWe do wish that there were some more functionality in regards to the notification system for our event admins.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your positive review Taylor!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
TANYA C.
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS/ SR. PROJECT MANAGER
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Localist Review”

ProsI like the overall usability of the software. It makes calendar submissions easier to digest and organize for the university.
ConsI don't like the fact that we can't alter some of the templates and/or functionality on our own.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for the feedback Tanya. We're releasing some new templates soon. Looking forward to your feedback after that release.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Monaco J.
Interactive Support Specialist
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Really love this product - easy to undersand”

ProsEasy to understand. Lots of features but doesn't feel overwhelming
ConsDoesn't have a monthly view. I honestly don't care. I think it looks good now. But a lot of my visitors complain about this. They want to see a monthly overview without a very long scroll. We have at least 50 events per month so I understand their concerns.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Monaco!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Eric J.
Web Systems Director
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Should be so much better”

OverallIt looked like a promising product but since the first month of implementation, we ran into a wall with support. Anything outside of their tight scope of functionality was not supported and would not even be considered. When things break all you have is an email address to post your issue and then wait.
ProsThe calendar has a nice look and has a lot of features integrated into it. It has been stable and reliable throughout the time we've used it.
ConsSupport has been generally terrible. Anything outside of the basic functionality is simply not supported and they have been unwilling to implement ANY requests that we've made. On several occasions the answers provided by support have been blatantly wrong and only through our own channels have we been able to fix problems that the vendor created. Their API is read-only so making any types of changes require using the GUI which is a nightmare when trying to manage hundreds of events and users. The calendar has little to no spam protection so users can post hundreds of bogus reviews while trying to farm clicks on our platform. Again, support had no solution for this and did not offer to help remove these.

Vendor Response

By Localist on October 1, 2019
Ouch, I'm sorry to read your review Eric, but your detailed feedback is constructive. I've sent your reviewto a couple of senior people over here at Localist to see what we can do better for you. You'll be hearing from someone soon!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Michael T.
President
Publishing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Calendar of Events”

OverallAs a publisher of all that's happening in the Baltimore area, we needed an easy way to publish events. The Localist team helped us with the initial platform launch, and has supported us every step of the way. The software is elegant, and the people behind the software provide excellent customer service.
ProsEasy to use Allows for user generated content with our review and approval Excellent user experience
ConsThere is nothing that we don't like about the software

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for such a glowing review Michael!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Lisa W.
Digital Content Coordinator
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Localist is great”

OverallThe customer service is excellent. The product is easy to use. Makes my work life easier.
ProsEase of use. Departments on campus can enter their event information. You can customize the fields.
ConsNothing to dislike. Everything is great.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for the positive review Lisa!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Almost great”

OverallOverall, it is great when compared to a lot of other calendar tools. It needs a few improvements, but at least they are trying!
ProsThis tool is almost great. Setting everything up is cumbersome, but intuitive. The interface is pretty modern and clean.
ConsNot the best in terms of accessibility. Event images have no place to add custom alt text and simply get assigned the events title as the alt text. No landmarks used. Headings are all over the place etc. There are some features that they really need to add such as administrators being able to view the calendar from another users account (assume their identity), view edit history on a group or channel, schedule out sponsored events etc.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 9, 2019
Thanks for your feedback! We're catching up on responding to some Capterra reviews, and we wanted to check-in. I wanted to let you know that we are weeks away from launching an improved front-end on the Localist platform. Our goal with this front-end release is to update the design of the customizable layout - without disturbing too much in the existing experience. Maintaining simplicity in the user's experience is critical. We have identified opportunities in key moments of interaction to improve user flows and optimize how content is consumed. Looking forward to this release and would love to get some feedback from you after that release! If you have any questions and concerns hit us up at https://www.localist.com/contact/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019

“Simple application to use”

ProsVery easy application to use to manage calendar events and give access to internal/external users
Conswish there were more options to maximize the ability to do new, different things

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 9, 2019
Thanks for your feedback! We're catching up on responding to some Capterra reviews, and we wanted to check-in. I wanted to let you know that we are weeks away from launching an improved front-end on the Localist platform. Our goal with this front-end release is to update the design of the customizable layout - without disturbing too much in the existing experience. Maintaining simplicity in the user's experience is critical. We have identified opportunities in key moments of interaction to improve user flows and optimize how content is consumed. Looking forward to this release and would love to get some feedback from you after that release! If you have any questions and concerns hit us up at https://www.localist.com/contact/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019
Kristen P.
Digital Project Manager
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Localist is great platform for University calendar”

ProsI like that the platform is very user friendly. We train users around the university to add events and is it extremely helpful to be user friendly.
ConsSometimes we find some buys within the software. Another thing is that sometimes there are items that we can't customize to our university.

Vendor Response

By Localist on October 1, 2019
Thanks for your positive review Kristen!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Nicole P.
Event Manager
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Great Software ”

OverallTutorial needed
ProsEasy to navigate and user friendly. Great service time response
ConsDon't have any con. I haven't run into any issues

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback and review Nicole!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Rick B.
Director of Digital Services
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Localist- review”

ProsThe ability to add widgets to various digital properties
ConsSome of the admin UI in unintuitive. We also found an issue with users being able to create their own avatar, in some cases the avatar could be offensive and there is no way to easily "report" that to the calendar admins.

Vendor Response

By Localist on October 1, 2019
Thanks for your positive and detailed review Rick!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Richard T.
Senior Web Developer & Site Manager
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Our Experience with Localist”

ProsThe ease of use and empowerment of users to submit events
ConsI would like the ability to undo or pull back imported events via bulk upload

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Richard!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Danielle N.
Partnership Manager
Hospitality, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Localist Review”

ProsVery easy to navigate for both the consumer and administrator.
ConsIntegrating an RSS feed from another site. We haven't seemed to figure this out yet.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Danielle. Sharing this review with the support team and someone will be following up with you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Chris F.
Information Systems Developer
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Great for event management”

OverallWe are solving the issue of managing events campus wide. The system helps keep all of our students, staff, faculty, and even those outside the university informed about what is happening. It really does well in most areas.
ProsIt's robust from an administrative perspective, and the UI is welcoming and easy to use.
ConsThe lack of a writable API is discouraging and makes it difficult to integrate with our other systems. Additionally certain administrative features such as event publishing could be streamlined - searching for relevant events for our department is unnecessarily challenging.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Chris! I've passed your comments along to our support team as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Jason R.
Associate Director, Digital Service
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Localist is a great product that means almost all of our needs”

OverallI've never had a complaint from where I sit on their service. They have ALWAYS been helpful.
Pros- Support team is very responsive and helpful at all times. - Documentation for the front and backend has always been well done. - Localist provides nearly all the features we need as a university to use as a community driven calendaring tool.
Cons- The API, while rich and well constructed, limits our ability to easily pull events that span multiple days in a simple way. We have to merge each instance of the event into a single one on our end.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Jason. I'm passing your feedback on to our support team to see if there is an opportunity to improve your experience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Katlyn M.
Web Content Specialist
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Delightfully Functional Tool”

ProsBeing able to house all departments and divisions of our University into this single calendar platform has been a great tool to be able to utilize across our campuses. I definitely enjoy seeing faculty, staff, students, prospective students and parents all being able to log-in to our Localist calendar to see everything our campus has to offer in one place.
ConsSome of the widget customizers don't mesh well with our University's web platform, but that's more of an issue on our side than Localist.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for such a detailed review Katlyn!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Jacqueline N.
Communications Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Localist”

ProsEasy to use, a lot of options, different settings.
ConsThat it does not flag multiple event entry.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback Jacqueline!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Rod Y.
Director
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Localist Review”

ProsThe widget and API options are great features.
ConsSome comprises were needed when desired user interface could not be implemented. To be fair, we were asking for the world.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for such a candid review Rod!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Erin F.
Director of Programs & Outreach
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Localist Review - September 2019”

ProsI love the ease of use. Working with the Localist support team makes changes feel very doable and easy.
ConsI would like to be able to do more things myself in the software, without the help of the support team.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback and positive review Erin!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Michelle K.
Coordinator, Academic Operations
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Ease of Use”

ProsI enjoy the ease of use and the ability to login through multiple methods. This is especially useful for students and other visitors trying to connect to our interface. It is easy to train someone to use the software.
ConsI like the overall experience so do not have any cons for the software at this time.

Vendor Response

By Localist on October 1, 2019
Thanks for such a positive review, Michelle!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Kara I.
News & Copywriting Specialist
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019

“Easy Scheduling”

OverallI use Localist to manage my organization's event calendar. It allows you to put an image, basic information, contact information as well as hashtags and keywords and allows for the ability to make certain events featured.
ProsThe wealth of information the software allows you to provide.
ConsThis might be due to user error but I find my ability to input certain tags and keywords restricted.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 9, 2019
Hey Kara! Thanks for the positive review. We're catching up on some past reviews. I'm hoping you got your tag and keyword issues resolved, but if you haven't, please get in touch, and we will work it out for you! https://www.localist.com/contact/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Simple and Easy to Use”

ProsI like this product because it allowed us to customize it for our organization's intent.
ConsSometimes the cache takes a really long time to update so you can't see the difference you made to featured items automatically.

Vendor Response

By Localist on October 1, 2019
Thanks for your review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Giada M.
Student
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Worked well for my institution”

ProsMy university needed a streamlined way to hold all of our events and be able to share them out. This system allows us to do that, and every department uses it now.
ConsI wish there was a way to view all of the events in a month on a calendar format, rather than a list.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for your feedback and positive review Giada!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Joe K.
Advisor
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“localist review”

ProsLocalist is easy to use and flows well.
ConsBetter tracking needed, so you can follow approval process.

Vendor Response

By Localist on October 1, 2019
Thanks for your review Joe!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Bryan S.
Assistant Web Director
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Wouldn't be my first choice”

OverallThe beginning was very nice. Getting rid of the image bank was a great idea. After the initial email creation, it was very easy to put event newsletters together.
ProsThe approval of events is pretty easy and it's nice to have all the info involved - when and who submitted it.
ConsMostly I don't like the new setup. I don't like having to program in the header, body, footer. It makes me feel like I have to do that every time. They should have had videos from the start, but didn't. So nothing was really clear with the new site.

Vendor Response

By Localist on October 1, 2019
Hey Bryan! Thanks for your feedback. I've passed your comments along to our support team as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Karin S.
Graduate Coordinator
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Raising Our Profile”

OverallThe School of Film, Media and Theatre is a fairly new department at Georgia State University. As we endeavor to raise our profile across campus and on various digital platforms, Localist has enabled us to communicate our presence on campus rather effectively. It interfaces with our website very well.
ProsThe ease of creating events and listings
ConsThere should be an info pop-up that provides specification details such as size requirements for images.

Vendor Response

By Localist on September 30, 2019
Thanks for the positive review and your feedback Karin!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019