Grooper Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Grooper

Grooper enables rapid innovation for organizations processing and integrating large quantities of difficult data. Created by a team of courageous developers frustrated by limitations in existing solutions, Grooper is an intelligent document and digital data integration platform. Grooper leverages patented and sophisticated capture technology, machine learning, natural language processing, and advanced image processing. Grooper - available, accessible, and transparent artificial intelligence. Learn more about Grooper

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Denise C.
System Analyst ll
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2019

“Grooper and Documentation”

OverallBy scanning our documents, we have been able to free up space that was taken up by hundreds of thousands of pages. We have also freed up staff time when accessing records. Time is not wasted on having to bring a folder from off site storage and then going page by page to find a requested document.
ProsEase of use during the scanning process through the export process.
ConsThe documentation is not very informative. It lacks detailed information for someone that is trying to troubleshoot. I prefer more detailed documentation that includes the location within the DB tables when a value is added. In regards to the DB table documentation, it is basically useless due to the bizarre field names. If you are new to the software and are trying to query the tables, you must query each table and try to decipher the content. This is only an issue if you want to run your own queries.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on June 10, 2019
Hi, Denise! Thank you for the feedback regarding documentation. We are working on restructuring our training program and corresponding documentation. I hope we will see you in an upcoming training event! Also, happy to hear Grooper is saving you time!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2019
Gerald D.
Manager, Support Services
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019

“Grooper Platform up for the Challenge”

OverallThe time saved using the Grooper platform for automating processes verses manual intervention is outstanding! Grooper has been up to the challenge!
ProsMy initial experience with Grooper was to improve our OCR processing. Using the Grooper platform we were able to implement four major projects. We used the CMIS connectivity capabilities to extract images from our ECM system as well as locate and identify documents containing PCI data for compliance regulations from the billions of archived documents. We have been able to purge large amounts of documents and automated the process of getting document from our core system to our repository has been great.
ConsNot knowing all the functionally available with the Grooper platform. Our decision to invest in the training and develop a SME for Groper has been very beneficial.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on May 28, 2019
Mr. Davis, thank you very much for the review! We appreciate it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019
Marshall H.
Business Systems Analyst
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019

“A modern solution to document scanning”

ProsGrooper enabled us to get rid of some ancient scanning software. The Team at BIS worked to understand our needs and got us setup pretty quickly.
ConsBIS would not take on any small projects to enable us to do more scanning, which was very frustrating. It's help file is also lacking if you want to try and do setup yourself. The software is not very helpful when errors occur on helping you solve them. The software doesn't check for updates so unless you ask BIS to update the software it stays outdated.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on July 1, 2019
Hi, Mr. Henry! Thank you for the review! Updating the help documentation has been highly requested and we've dedicated additional resources to ensuring this happens quickly. Stay tuned for a rewrite of all help files on version 2.8, as well as a public release of the Grooper wiki. Also, if you haven't engaged the Grooper community on Grooper xChange, I encourage you to do that as well (https://xchange.grooper.com/). Your comment regarding the small projects is certainly fair. We have a growing community of Grooper partners who are engaging exactly these types of projects. See Grooper partners here (https://www.bisok.com/about/strategic-partners/). Thanks again for the review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019
Todd S.
VP B2B Payments
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Grooper is a Top Shelf Product”

OverallGrooper gave Change Healthcare the ability to process huge diverse client print files and extract the data into a normalized data stream for processing.
ProsOne of the key feature of Grooper is the ability to identify, interpret, enhance, and extract data from a large number of media types (TIF, JPG, PDF, Word, Excel, ect...) Another key decision point was there wasn't a requirement for a software developer to write code, a business analyst can use a GUI base application to configure 98% of the extract jobs.
ConsThe configuration GUI has so many options to identify and extract data that it can overwhelm an beginner.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on June 18, 2019
Thank you Todd for the review! Although future release will not "dumb down" configuration possibilities, we're working on combining certain configuration options based on desired outcome. We hope that this and more targeted training curriculum for Grooper ACE training will help new users. Excited that Change Healthcare is enjoying Grooper!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Dorothy W.
Administrative Assistant
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019

“Grooper is FAST!”

OverallWe have saved time using Grooper and its been easier to use than our previous program. Its' been makes it easier to teach new scanners the procedure since we train young college students to do the bulk of our scanning on a part time basis.
ProsI have to sat that I do not use Grooper myself, but I supervise two co-workers who do. The report to me very recently is how fast it is and how easy. We scan by large batches. Several offices on our Campus scan, but do not need to scan in large batches like we do. The procedure with Grooper has cut our scan time down and made each step much easier than our previous program.
ConsGetting things set up took a little time, but the reps for the company walked us through the set up and we finally got it fine tuned for our needs.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on August 21, 2019
Dorothy, thank you for your comments! Saving time is huge, and I'm excited that Grooper is performing well for you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2019
Laura W.
Programmer
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Very customizable if you don't mind paying to have them do it”

OverallWe are using Grooper in our Business Office to scan in multiple types of documents. The process is easy enough for student workers to complete the needed tasks.
ProsThere are lots of options on how to manage your documents and the program is fairly reliable. We've had very little downtime since implementation and don't normally need support.
ConsIt's very complex to set up if you want to add or change something. The documentation isn't as helpful as it could be. There is a how-to section that doesn't really tell you how to do anything, like set up a new process. But they are happy to let you pay for them to do it.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on May 30, 2019
Laura, thank you for the review! Your comment on documentation is something we've taken to heart. Starting with version 2.72, the help documentation is much more robust. Also, be on the lookout for a notice on the new Grooper Wiki! I think you'll find it very helpful. Sometimes it may be easier to have our professional services team help out, and for the times you want to learn more on your own, I hope you'll consider registering for an extended Grooper training class and/or create a login at the Grooper x Change forum where you can ask questions and interact with development staff and other Grooper users. Thanks again for the review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
William M.
Senior Systems Engineer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“Grooper review”

OverallOne of our biggest challenges was how to bring in our DocuSign documents and get them into the OpenTXT platform without intervention. This is the ticket!
ProsThis software is incredibly flexible. The capabilities seem to be endless, I am amazed at how much it can do. We use this software in conjunction with our Automation system to bring in documents from DocuSign. However; we are in the process of expanding it for use by our HR department.
ConsOut of the box it can be very daunting, it has so many capabilities that it can be very overwhelming. Taking the training class is an absolute must. Once I got trained I was able to better understand how to deploy this in our environment. I would recommend additional training if offered or maybe even take the class twice if possible. There is so much to learn.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on May 28, 2019
William, glad we were able to help with getting docs into OpenTXT! Looking forward to exploring new use cases when the time is right!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018
Jeff C.
Apps Manager
Government Administration, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019

“Excellent product ”

OverallAutomated document processing and workflow
ProsAlthough the learning curve is high; it isnt too much more than other products. Grooper's approach to image and document analysis is not comparable to any other in the space. The intelligent analysis is fantastic and reduces man hours with growing return on investment.
ConsLearning curve though it isnt much worse than other products in the space

Vendor Response

By Grooper on September 6, 2019
Thank you for the review, Jeff! We've added resources to help with training curriculum and processes. We're also consolidating some commonly used features and making the design studio more intuitive. Grooper users like you are a critical part of Grooper's success. Thanks again!!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019
Micheal K.
Information Systems Specialist II
Government Administration, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“The idea of Grooper is amazing, using it can be difficult”

OverallWhen everything works, it's great but it's honestly 50/50. Clearing licenses can fix the issues often enough but it shouldn't have to be that way. And say you do have to restart a job, there are way to many steps you (or the end user) needs to take to get things working again (tech needs to clear license or reboot server, user needs to "Pause" the job to make changes, reset the "Previous Tasks", "Change Current Step", and "Resume"). The potential saving of work and automation, in this case, sometimes makes more work.
ProsBeing able to simplify and even automate the data entry of scanned documents into our system with OCR is amazing and a godsend.
ConsIn my experience, from the stand point IT support, the software is very hard to setup and has a steep learning curve. By default, licenses get tied up and there's often unexplained issues that cause errors when processing documents. I've been told by support that this is due to, again by default, that a process can grab another license before the last processes has completed, to save time. This can fill up the license pool and cause things to stop working.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on June 14, 2019
Thank you for the feedback on the licensing! This is something we are working on. Be on the lookout for Grooper release 2.8 (arriving Q4 2019). Looking forward to your continued success with Grooper!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Marie H.
Court Clerk Canadian County
Government Administration, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“Data Entry for our Old Court Documents.”

OverallThere is so much less down time on importing documents into our system. The staff take care of us like we are royalty.
ProsIt does most of the work for my employees, cuts time on data entry. Would love to use it in our other data entry program through the court.
ConsUsing it with Application Extender and doing searches

Vendor Response

By Grooper on May 28, 2019
Thank you for the review, Marie! Glad you discovered Grooper and looking forward to supporting any future needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Alex C.
CWS II
Individual & Family Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Still in the process...”

OverallSo far, I am impressed with the recognition features, as well as the automated correction.
ProsSo far, Grooper seems very familiar and user friendly for someone coming from a Kofax system.
ConsI am learning that there are multiple levels of Grooper with price ranges that correspond to the level of features. This is something I wasn't aware of when Grooper was initially pitched.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on June 14, 2019
Hi, Alex! Be on the lookout for the Grooper 2.8 release (out of beta in Q4 2019). We're working on an updated licensing model that should help. Thank you for the feedback regarding the comparison with Kofax. As a platform, Grooper does have many levels of capability that not every use case needs. We'll keep our community updated on future releases and upcoming refreshes to documentation and training to help you get even more out of Grooper.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Good product with wonderful support”

Prosgood product with image processing and handling.
Conseasy to confuse how to use the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Kyle S.
Data Wizard
Oil & Energy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Easy to Use AI”

OverallWe are organizing tens of thousands of documents for multiple clients and extracting data from them for importing in to a database.
ProsThe OCR capabilities, easy modification process, and straightforward training.
ConsThere may be functions that I don't use, but I haven't run into anything I don't like yet.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on August 21, 2019
Kyle, thank you for your review! Better OCR is one of the things we're most proud of. I'm glad you see the value, and I hope you'll be able to use Grooper for the long term!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Morgan A.
Lead Data Examination Clerk
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Grooper”

ProsGrooper is extremely easy to learn, very user friendly.
ConsJust like most technology, it has a lot of hiccups. Such as getting errors during processing, which can be an easy fix or a difficult one, depending.

Vendor Response

By Grooper on May 30, 2019
Hi, Ashley! Thank you for your review! I hope you'll reach out to your Grooper rep to see if an updated version of Grooper might help! There are many new image processing features which may be just what you need. Thanks again!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Grooper Goodness”

OverallDocument imaging has been seamless.
ProsThe software did everything and more for doc imaging.
ConsI have not come across any issues with the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019