Runecast Analyzer Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Runecast Analyzer

Runecast is an innovative provider of patent pending actionable predictive analytics for VMware vSphere environments. Runecast Analyzer provides software-defined expertise to mitigate service outages, increase security and compliance and reduce time in troubleshooting. Runecast Analyzer is deployed in VMware environments across the globe within enterprise and SME customers. Learn more about Runecast Analyzer

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 25 of 25 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 25 of 25 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Paolo V.
System Engineer
Cosmetics, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2018

“System Engineer, I design and manage IT services. Author of Nolabnoparty.com tech blog. ”

OverallI can have the situation of my virtual environment always under control from a centralized console knowing if anything bad is occurring to the infrastructure. It allows me to save time and plan appropriate maintenance windows avoiding services disruption.
ProsAn easy to use solution, very useful to prevent potential issues on your virtual infrastructure. The well designed Dashboard allows you to have the overall status of your infrastructure from a single pane of glass. Being constantly under development, Runecast releases updates as soon as new issues or new KB are released by VMware saving the administrators from potential services disruption. Despite daily checks of the virtual infrastructure, not all issues can be detected on time. If the system has a problem, the users will have a problem. Runecast gives you the information you need to prevent potential and dangerous issues saving lot of time and keeping the environment healthy. Just think about Meltdown and Spectre issue... in large environments to identify hosts affected by this problem takes ages. With Runecast you can have the exact overview of hosts that need to be patched in a matter of seconds.
ConsNo much to say about cons... for SMBs the application price perhaps can influence the purchase decision but the provided benefits are valuable. Anyway preventing issues surely cost less than fixing.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thank you, Paolo! We love your blog and your kind reviews!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Andrew H.
Managing Director and Technical Architect
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018

“One stop shop, single pain or glass Best Practice and Security Advice, all in one nice panel!”

OverallSpent less time, consulting VMware documentation.... Log Analysis against VMware KBs, provides many fixes for issues.
ProsIt takes the pain away from VMware Administration.... it does what it says on the tin, plug and play, sit back, and then spend some time Security Hardening your VMware vSphere estate, and not forgetting following Best Practice! The real time log analysis against VMware KBs is amazing...!!!
ConsWhat is there not to like about Runecast Analyzer! Be prepared for a long list of todos, after it's analysed your VMware vSphere estate! It's not a software issues, because you should have been following Best Practice and Security Advice...anyway.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thank you Andrew, for a great review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018
Henderson A.
Director of Network Operations
Broadcast Media, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“Gave me a quick visual of my entire VMware environment and all the possible issues that existed”

OverallThis product has save time in remediation as well has helped me better understand some of my initial configuration flaws.
ProsThe fact that I can see all the issues and potential issues that exist is fantastic, but to be given a direct path for remediation has same me hours of time.
ConsTo be honest, I haven't found anything that I didn't like about it. It has don't everything I needed.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thanks for the great review, Henderson! We are happy Runecast saves you time and helps you understand configuration flaws. We appreciate you putting your trust in us for years now!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Oleg F.
Head of administration group
Railroad Manufacture, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“Really nice software which works fast, easy to maintain, good support”

ProsNice software which allows to monitor vulnerabilities and bugs and fix them. It also has features of monitoring and analyzing logs which shows only information you need to know(errors, fails) and groups them.
ConsI would like to see more information about logs and their relation and impact on system together with KA and BP and maybe history of fixing bugs graph would looks good

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thanks for the great feedback, Oleg! We are working hard on the historical graph and it is to be released very soon!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Stephen P.
System Engineer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“Simple quick compliance check”

OverallMakes the life of an administrator
ProsIt is very easy to see where you are lacking and need to be patched. As well as categorize the different issues into their importance.
ConsIt would be nice to allow automated patching of systems based on your preferences. This would make this product

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thank you for the review, Stephen and thank you for your long lasting trust in Runecast. We will continue to works towards making your life as an administrator easier!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Rob P.
Senior Microsoft Consultant
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“An extremely useful pro-active problem solver, with new features being added regularly.”

OverallAvoiding downtime on production hypervisors, and ensuring everything is running smoothly.
ProsIt does something unique by cross-referencing KB articles with your VMware estate, bringing a lot of hidden unknowns to the surface so they can be sorted before you have an issue.
ConsJust waiting on the PCI checks feature, but I understand this needs a lot of interaction with VMware themselves before they can release.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Great feedback - thank you, Rob! We keep working hard to add new valuable functionalities and a PCI compliance profile is coming up very soon! Even now Runecast Analyzer already satisfies a large number of PCI-DSS 3.2.1 controls. Check out this article: https://www.runecast.biz/blog/automating-pci-dss-v321-in-vmware-virtual-data-centers-part-1---vulnerability-management.jsp
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Austen S.
Architect
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“Evaluated this product within test and production environments”

ProsIt is everything the VMware Health Analyzer tried to be and much more. The comprehensive coverage of applicable KB articles, DISA STIG and best practises summarised across infrastructure qualities makes reporting current states effortless. Also, from a security perspective, the offline capability is priceless.
ConsI wish the product had been around years ago. Not much else I can really say about what I don't like about it.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on August 2, 2018
Thanks for the awesome review, Austen!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Michael S.
Owner
Writing and Editing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018

“Great tool to discover hidden issues within virtual infrastructure. Timesaver”

OverallI was able to detect issues that I wasn't aware of.
Prossimple deployment simple configuration simple update process offline update possible good visualization of issues
Consno defined way to contact support. I did it via Twitter and then I got excellent support. They're should be a contact form on the website or within Runecast to open a ticket.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thanks for the great feedback, Michael! There was a temporary maintenance on the website, but the chat support option is now back on the lower right corner of the page.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2018

“Best 3rd party software for your vSphere environnements . ”

OverallRunecast saves hours to any Virtualization Engineer
ProsIt does what it supposes to do : single interface to discover by referencing VMware KB articles and best practices and then help you to correct issues in your virtual infrastructures : vSphere and now NSX !!!
ConsNo much to say about cons. I'd like to have a trend of historical report.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on August 13, 2018
Thanks for the great feedback. Historical trends are coming very very soon :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018

“Overall experience was really nice. Deployment and configuration was just few clicks. ”

ProsThe most important thing is ease of use and configuration. Recent release of vCenter plug-in made the life more easier. Routine updates and offline repository usage is one of the other important thing and it helps to maintain a more secure environment without exposing the internal network to the internet and while analyzing the security risks and best practices.
ConsTo be honest, I have nothing in mind to say bad about this and overall experience was really nice so far.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thanks for a great review! We do release regular updates to make sure you are always on top of the latest recorded issues and best practices. We are happy we could make your life easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“Impressive and valuable tool”

OverallIt helps to mature and secure the vsphere environment
ProsI'm impressed by the easy installation in my environment with dozens of remote clusters. It runs very smooth and the first results come in before I can even finish my coffee. It finds all kind configuration issues and gives advise how to fix or improve. Currently testing with the trail version, but hope to switch to the full version soon.
ConsThe version I use is not creating a trend line for the security score or index and that is useful for my reports. I got from support that it is on the roadmap for a future release.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
And we are impressed by your review - thank you! We are working hard on releasing the historical data report functionality very soon!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Alexis D.
Information Systems (IS) Manager
51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“Easy Ride”

OverallIt has identified issues and bugs that i had no idea about
ProsIts like have a Vmware Technician 24/7 auditing you Vmware Environment, its absolutely great !!!!
ConsNo Alerting, if wanted alerts from logs. Hope they add these feature to a future release

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thank you, Alexis, for the awesome feedback! Regarding Alerting - apart from the email report that's currently part of the product, we are working on more sophisticated alerting.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Gordon H.
Cloud Services Manager
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“A vital tool for maintaining uptime for your virtual environment ”

Pros- The ease of installation and upgrade. Deployed in 30 minutes and upgraded in 10 - The easy to use interface and to see how many hosts are affected by a particular bug/issue - The ability to group issues into categories
Cons- Reporting could be improved. It would be nice to be able to produce a graphical report that illustrates all the issues diecovered and how many hosts are affected.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thank you, Gordon, for the awesome review and suggestions! We are working on extending the reporting options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Thierry M.
System engineer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“Very usefull as it's able to rapidly point what's missing or wrongly set on esx side”

OverallEasy view of what could possibly impact esx behaviour....
ProsEasy to set up, it's just a single vm deployed in 15min, after a short scan : able to pinpoint what's not correct or missing.. Simple criss-cross between config & best practices & kb's
ConsNothing so far. Don't really see any cons yet. Or maybe : its not free but it's normal... You don't really get use full tools for free....

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thanks for the great review, Thierry! We like keeping things simple and providing you with the actionable insights you need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Kazuhiro I.
Manager, Media Network Center
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“Excellent software which complements the lack of VMware's management software.”

OverallReduced the risk of system down and saved lots of time for trouble shootings.
ProsRunecast Analyzer always saves my time to resarch KB and potential problems. And also, it saves me from PSOD before it happens.
ConsI'm OK but language localization could boost the sales in non-English speaking countries like Japan.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thank you, Igarashi-san, for the great feedback! We value our Japanese users and we consider localizing the main dashboard as a start.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
manuel h.
Architecte
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018

“Awesome product to complète an audit ”

ProsIt simplify any audit on VMware platform. In my Day to Day business it help to prove my customer, there is some issue on the VMware implémentation.
ConsMore product to intégrate like Hyper-V. I know This can be troublesome because of the all components.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2018
Troy S.
Senior Director of Global IT
Entertainment, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018

“Excellent all around”

OverallIt's made all our administrators into VMware "experts"!
ProsProvides a deep dive into every aspect of my VMware setup, giving me excellent insights into security, logs, recommendations, hardening, knowledge base articles, and the like.
ConsNot a lot of cons. I'd love to see "do it for me" features to fix common/easy/low-risk-of-change things.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thank you, Troy! We love helping you be true VMware experts!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018
Gilles M.
IT engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2018

“Simple platform checker”

ProsEasy to deploy and easy to use, always up to date. Very light. It's all i wanted from this kind of tool
ConsI didn't find for the moment something i don't like. It's a good sign no ? ;) I'm am not using it enough for the moment.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
We love keeping things simple, Gilles - thank you for the kind review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2018
Mike E.
Senior Systems Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018

“Love It!”

OverallVisibility into my environment and a better way of troubleshooting
ProsIt found issues I never knew I had. I also was able to quickly see the results of the logs without having to upload a file to VMware and wait for a tech to get back to me
ConsIt found issues I never knew I had... Which means I actually had things to look into and fix. Some issues could be ignored but at least I knew they were there now!

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thank you for loving Runecast, Mike! We love your feedback!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2018
Swetal J.
Lead Telecom Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“Runecast has allowed me to quickly identify best practices for my VMware infrastructure.”

ProsI can see directly what VMware KBs that the hosts in my environment are affected and what steps to take for remediation. Also what best practices I should adhere to can be quickly gleaned from the Runecast console.
ConsThe integration of Runecast with vCenter as a plug-in needs work. For my environment it caused crashes of the vCenter flash website many times. I finally had to remove the integration.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thanks for the great review, Swetal! And sorry to hear you had troubles with the vCenter Web Client plug-in. We emailed you privately to make sure this issue is resolved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“Very easy to implement and have useful information to optimized and secure a VMware environment”

OverallSaves hours of research in the VMware database, help to check compliancy.
ProsEasy to install and configure, I have fast result with it. Whatever your environment size, admin will save hours or maybe days with this tool rather than looking for a needle in the VMware KB.
ConsUnfortunately it's only for a VMware environment, nothing for Hyper-V or Xen. When implementations allow it, it would be interesting to have a way to apply the correction easily instead of follow the VMware KB

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thank you for the kind feedback!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Nicolas M.
Senior System Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018

“The tool we always wanted from VMware”

ProsIt's easy to use, easy to Setup and install, always kept up to date (KBs) and very efficient to identify issues within your virtual infrastructure.
ConsI have too little experience in using the solution, because I only used a free trial version of Runecast.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thanks for the kind feedback, Nicolas!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018
Avatar Image
Vedran B.
Leading engineer for support of Data Center
Oil & Energy, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“The software reduces the time needed to follow KBs to minimum. ”

ProsThe software reduces the time needed to follow KBs to minimum filtering out irrelevant KBs to your VMware cloud....
ConsIt would be nice if it would monitor driver / firmware changes, KBs, matrix of compatibility for hardware.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thanks for the kind review, Vedran! Historical changes report is on the immediate roadmap. Stay tuned!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Miguel Angel A.
Virtualization Solutions Architect
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2018

“Simply to install and use. Great features”

ProsWide functionality with vSphere, NSX and vSAN. Easy to implement and use for me and my customers. Great number of articles in Internet
Consfeatures like vCloud Director are important in my customers. We need this feature to monitoring vCD Machines
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2018
Avatar Image
Daniel H.
IT Infrastructure Engineer
Textiles, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2018

“Fantastic ”

ProsThe ability to identify potential issues that could cause a major outage for the business, coupled with access to the automated compliance reports are the main benefits Runecast Analyzer delivers. The most critical issues Runecast Analyzer has identified so far are: - ESXi Iost connectivity issues or PSOD - Vulnerability issues in vCenter - ESXi host fails with purple diagnostic screen (2148927) - Security compliance alerts
ConsI currently can't see any cons with Runecast. it was extremely easy to deploy and running reports is easy.

Vendor Response

By Runecast Solutions on June 4, 2018
Thanks, Daniel, for a fantastic review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2018