Abila MIP Fund Accounting Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Abila MIP Fund Accounting

Accounting solution that helps in finance management with budgeting, timekeeping, fixed asset management, payroll & human resources. Learn more about Abila MIP Fund Accounting

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 63 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 63 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Brittany E.
Director of Operations
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 20, 2017

“Used when it was Sage ”

OverallWhen I used this product, I did not work in the accounting department, I worked in the Warranty/Repairs Department of a construction company. However, we used this software to make notes, bill for repairs, find out when a warranty should be issued upon customer being paid in full, and communicate with the accounting department as they were in another building than our department. The invoicing feature was very straight forward and easy to use. Checking if a customer was paid in full was also easy. Making notes was also easy but the categorization of the notes could have been better. It was just a long list with no differentiation or date categorization. You just had to scroll through a giant list of notes to hopefully find what you needed to know, and hopefully someone put a name and a date by the note so you could ask them additional questions if they did not list enough detail. Switching from different screens was a little time consuming. When I used this software, there was no ability to set an action request. I'm sure by now they have changed this and made it possible to set actions or reminders for yourself or others.
ProsMultiple users can be on the program at one time. It is relatively user friendly as long as you have basic computer knowledge.
ConsThe time it took to go from one feature to another was frustrating when you are on the phone with a customer and needed to get to several different places quickly, however, that could have been due to the number of users we had on our server at a given time. If an older person, who has limited computer knowledge were to try and use this program, they may need a training course to become comfortable using it.
Recommendations to other buyersBefore purchasing this program, ask lots of questions and make sure you research what features you need as a business. When I used this software it was missing a few of the key features we needed which made it difficult for us to seamlessly move from one customer stage to another.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 20, 2017
Alejandro R.
Philanthropy, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2014

“Excellent for non-profits, but it could be even better”

ProsThe best thing is the multi-dimentional logic built into the product, which enables it to track almost any measure (P&L, Balance Sheet) across various dimensions (company, department, program, grant, restriction type, etc.) This gives you almost total flexibility to manage your organization's finances in any way you want.
ConsMy only pet peeves - none of which are deal-breakers - are: - Lack of drill-down capabilities straight from the reports. Say you run a P&L report and want to know the details behind a certain expense figure. In QuickBooks, you can just double-click on the figure and get a detailed report of the details behind it. In MIP you are forced to run a separate Transactions report. The information can still be obtained; it just takes longer. - No "Balance Sheet by Month" report. This is another basic report that even Quickbooks has. It's very important when you're analyzing your historical results. - The documentation is horrible. There are no examples whatsoever. You need to know the system already in order to understand what the manuals mean to say. - Certain reports should give you the codes along with their names. For example, a Distribution Codes report tells you that code 1125 splits costs 40% to Program 254 and 60% to Program 350. But the report doesn't tell you that code 1125 is for employee "John Do", Program 254 is "Advocacy," and Program 350 is "Shelter". You need to run a separate Chart of Accounts report and then do vlookups. This should be a really easy thing to code into the package.
Recommendations to other buyersIn spite of a few pet peeves, the software is so robust and flexible that I still definitely recommend it. The balance is overwhelmingly positive. If you're considering Blackbaud's Financial Edge as an alternative and are being sold on its integration with their Raiser's Edge private donations software, don't believe it! Both packages were developed separately by two separate companies and are not really all that integrated. Blackbaud just purchased the accounting package from someone else. If you just came from the for-profit world, I would also suggest you bypass accounting packages developed for private businesses (Great Plains, etc.) The reporting requirements in the non-profit world are totally different.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2014
Paige B.
CFO
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 1, 2015

“Great software for mid-market non-profits”

ProsThe Saas version makes it easy to implement and easy on the IT department (they don't have to do anything). It also makes it easy to access from anywhere. We moved from Blackbaud because their system was so clunky and I couldn't get financials out of it easily. With Abila, it's very easy to run a variety of financials that I can tailor to my needs. It's also very easy to drill down (not from the financial reports) to find the detail I'm looking for with links to supporting documents (i.e. invoices). The A/R, fixed asset and other modules let us keep accounting for everything in one place.
ConsThe financial reports are a bit limited in terms of showing groupings of departments without being able to show the total on the same report. It can't do monthly balance sheets on one report. And you can't enter operational/non-financial data for more comprehensive reporting. The wait time for calling into their help center is still unacceptable (hold times of no less than 30 minutes). They know about this and, instead of fixing it, tell users to use their chat function. While their response time on chat is very fast, I hate having to type out my issues and responses. I just want to talk to a live person.
Recommendations to other buyersThis software is great for small to mid-market non-profits who want lots of functionality for a reasonable price.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 1, 2015
Paul W.
Assistant Controller
Primary/Secondary Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 3, 2018

“Highly functional product for a small, medium, or large non profit organization”

OverallWe have used this product for many years for our business and it has served us very well. I would highly recommend it.
Pros1. Configuration of chart of account. 2. Account code combinations to allow for control of account code usage. 3. Import/Export of data functions - We are able to import our 30,000+ lines of data for payroll entry each 2 weeks. 4. Accounts Payable EFT notifications - When we pay vendors via ACH, we set up the system so a notification is sent to the vendor each time we make a payment and it includes remittance details. 5. Administrative access controls. - Admins have the ability to control everything a user needs to see. 6. Customer support is always helpful
Cons1. Although the import function is a huge plus, sometimes I wish we could speed up a the process for larger entries.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 3, 2018
Clement O.
Finance Consultant
Hospital & Health Care, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 10, 2018

“Good product, horrible customer service”

ProsI think the product is very good for what we need it to do. The best part is the reports feature. Once you learn to build the reports, it becomes an even better tool.
ConsIF and when you have to call customer support, be prepared to sit on hold and listen to that music for AT LEAST 45 minutes. It does not matter what day or time I call, they are ALWAYS busy. Our implementation specialist was paid to provide a week of training. However, I had to ask her to complete our training because she rushed through it and did not even show us one of the modules that we had paid for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 10, 2018
Robbie P.
Manager
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 18, 2018

“Manager”

OverallI would recommend this product to any nonprofit. It has what you need for sure.
ProsGeneral Ledger chart of accounts setup is second to none. With the segment driven chart versus the linear style chart of accounts found in competitor products, the reporting is hands down the best I've ever seen in the industry. It also has strong audit controls for maintaining integrity within your software.
ConsHard to find anything I don't like about this product. I am eagerly waiting for them to bring more features to the cloud offering.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 18, 2018
Cheryl P.
HR Specialist
Utilities, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
2.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 16, 2016

“HR Specialist”

ProsI use the payroll module to process bi-weekly payroll. It is a great program as it flows into the MIP Fund Accounting software making it a breeze to reconcile accounts. The vendor is readily available to answer questions and is knowledgeable. No run around trying to find the answer or "fix".
ConsThe payroll module does not update some balances automatically. For instance, when PTO hours are entered on the timesheet, you still have to go to another tab to indicate Leave taken for the leave balance to be reduced. Also there are no restrictions on earning codes: someone could have a have several levels of PTO (due to increasing earning eligibility with tenure) and the system will recognize all. It would be beneficial if more than one rate of pay was also available. It is not in the payroll module, you must add the HR module.
Recommendations to other buyersEnsure you have all the necessary on-site training you need. Both at installation and in the future.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 16, 2016
Titus N.
CSC
Government Administration, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 6, 2019

“A very valuable asset to our organization”

ProsThis software provides local government accounting functions at a perfect level. I think the best thing about this software is it provides payroll, AP, AR, reports, budgets and fund management. The software does have other features, but buy additionally.
ConsI think on the downside, you have to keep paying a fee annually. The software has to be updated annually. Also in Payroll, all State taxes must be downloaded to run reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 6, 2019
Yuan W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 24, 2012

OverallMESSIANIC JEWISH BIBLE INSTITUTE (MJBI) is a multi-dimensional evangelistic and educational organization to people of the Jewish heritage. The MJBI's primary activities are to equip leaders who will establish Messianic Jewish congregations and ministries in Jewish communities worldwide, and to equip those leaders in their responsibility to the Jewish people through training, events, and seminars. MJBI also supports Bible schools, congregations, outreach and humanitarian aid works in Brazil, Argentina, Israel, Ethiopia, Russia, Hungary and the Ukraine. In 2006, MJBI smoothly transitioned to Sage MIP Fund Accounting to satisfy its increased activities. Sage MIP is easy to use; offers a flexible method of setting up account structures; and the ability to track the revenue and expenses by department and location. Sage MIP can produce accurate, meaningful and timely customized reports in various formats, which facilitates MJBI management and the board members to make important decisions based on our financial position. Sage MIP enabled us to perform some tasks that were previous done by the outside companies, such as budgeting and forecasting. Also, the remote access offers the convenience to access the accounting information when needed. Another good thing about Sage MIP Accounting is its Maintenance and Support Plan, which includes the online knowledgebase, unlimited e-support and telephone support. The people in its Customer Support department are very knowledgeable and can solve our problems in a professional and timely fashion. Sage MIP Accounting has been performing all financial accounting and record keeping for MJBI. The system is working so well that we have received the good comment from the auditors since we implemented it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 24, 2012
Dan M.
CFO
Media Production, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 7, 2017

“MIP for YOUR non-profit”

OverallI would recommend this to any non-profit to account for financials in any industry.
ProsMIP has one of the best non-profit accounting solutions out there, with its robust reporting, multiple segmentation of accounts, and ease of reviewing history in the database.
ConsThe built in custom reporting could be a little better - but there are certainly third party softwares out there that fix this problem - for a cost.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 7, 2017
Marla T.
Accounting Specialist
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 5, 2018

“switched from Quickbooks”

OverallOverall, I like using this system.
ProsI really like that you can't go in and make changes to items once you post them. It's more stable than QuickBooks was regarding this matter.
ConsBecause you can't make any changes, if you make a typo it is there for ever. Would be nice if there were an edit feature just for the description.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 5, 2018
Samantha J.
Manager of Human Resources and Accounting
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018

“Good product, not so good customer support”

ProsThis software is very easy to use and customize to your specific organizational needs. It is great for non-profit accounting
ConsThe customer service at Abila is not top-notch. They reply slowly and when you purchase a new product, they do not take the appropriate amount of time to show you how to use it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018
Jim L.
Director of Finance & Administration
Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017

“Overall this is a good product for our not for profit.”

OverallDon't purchase any Abila product without factoring in the cost of training. Our organization did a self install & configuration and to be frank made a mess of things. Learned a costly lesson; the cost of training is well worth it.
ProsBolt on modules are very robust; have exceeded our expectations. Nice integration from FR50 to MIP. Easy to install in modules so you can spread the learning curve over time.
ConsNo switch to do Cash Accounting Basis-built to use Accrual Basis only. No cash forecast model built in s/w.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017
Emmanuel V.
Sr Grant Accountant
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019

“Abila MIP Fund Accounting”

OverallThroughout my whole professional career, I have utilized Abila MIP Fund Accounting. Once mastered, it is a great software to use.
ProsThe software has many great features that make completing tasks more efficient.
ConsIt takes a while for a new user to become familiar with all the functions and features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019
Kaycie G.
Finance Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018

“I use Abila daily for invoice processing and reporting. ”

ProsI like the reporting feature on Abila and the ease of saving reports for the future so I can run them monthly.
ConsI do think the software could use an update and become more user friendly and more tech savvy. I also wish it would more better on a MAC.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018
Kanul D.
Analyst
Management Consulting, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 9, 2016

“Cloud based functionality makes Abila an attractive option”

OverallAbila MIP Advance is a sophisticated, cloud-based true fund accounting solution that delivers powerful reporting, analytics, and dashboards. This tool is available with a responsive web interface which is optimized for mobile devices. This further adds to the usefulness of the software at large as it is accessible from anywhere. It is a true fund accounting solution well suited for mid-sized nonprofits and government entities that manage multiple funds and require advanced reporting capability. It offers a lot of add-on modules that increase functionality tremendously. It offers the ability to use a flexible chart of accounts with the ability to utilize unlimited segments, making it easy to users to manage multiple funds and programs. it can handle multiple transaction types like cash receipts, journal entries, and bank reconciliations. The Dashboard also contains a series of charts that display trends and offer a current year analysis. An advanced warning system can be set up and maintained to notify users if close to a budget overage. And the what-if scenario allows users to enter transactions to see what net effect the transactions would have on budgets. As there are less number of people using this system currently, the training administrators for the tool are also less and so are expensive too. Since training is required at the initial stage of using the program, it is an additional cost to the business during the shift to Abila.
Recommendations to other buyersContact Abila directly and not through the third parties involved in the marketing of Abila products.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 9, 2016
Matthew B.
Equipping and Discipleship Director
Religious Institutions, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2017

“Gave us great insight!”

ProsThis software allowed us to make better financial decisions because we had clear data. Our church finance team loved it!
ConsOur organization decided that it would be a good idea to switch to their own ground up software. We have missed several key features that they weren't able to reproduce from Abila...
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2017
Prudence B.
Controller (Accounting & Data)
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2017

“Dependency ”

OverallMost nonprofits are seeking funding to exist...this software package is a well-established organization. I say this because of the dependency on the online/cloud storage features. There is a monthly service fee to use this product.
ProsI say this; however, it's a package that is worth having. I generally work with startup and kid/new nonprofits. I recommend this product as they grow and hire a Staff Accountant.
ConsSimply the fee associated with the product itself and for training, or additional insight.
Recommendations to other buyersIf your organization is considering this package, please get the group university training.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 21, 2017
Avatar Image
Tia C.
Board Member
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Very nice!”

ProsWe have been using this for accounting for quite awhile and have not have any issues. It has great support and options to be able to work for what our non-profit is always needing.
ConsThe reporting could be better, more customization would be great. As a non-profit it is always something that we need reporting on and nothing is ever perfect. But that does go for many products too.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Miguel R.
IT Manager
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2016

“Abila, makes accounting Easy”

OverallHave experienced Abila from initial planning to install to finally a light user. Compared to what we had its night in day. Compared to up to date IT tools to get Accounting done its above average. The install can be as complicated as you want it to be. You get the option of hosted cloud or on-premise. If you worried about security and hosting yourself then you have to think about the resources that will be needed as it does require some horsepower under the hood for the server install. Nothing to crazy but definitely encourages talking to rep about minimum requirements. Once installed the rest is easy, using it and running reports require training which you get to pay for or read the manual. The system is extensive and detail so you can easily get lost, but the upside is its flexibility on what you are trying to track.
ProsFlexibility, many functions
ConsTraining required if install on premise need resources.
Recommendations to other buyersN/A
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2016
Frank K.
Accounting manager
Philanthropy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 2, 2018

“I have been using Abila MIP for several months, and find that it is helpful for nonprofit general ledger accounting.”

OverallThe product is a pretty good product, but it does need some upgrading, especially in payroll.
ProsI like the general ledger & accounts payable features, including the grant & cost center allocations.
ConsPayroll is often confusing and sensitive, and conducive to errors. Also, you can't upload data from Excel into it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 2, 2018
Brittney W.
Accountant
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 7, 2017

“Abila - MIP Fund Accounting Review”

OverallThe system is available as an on-premise solution or hosted on the Abila private cloud which is great having either option.
ProsThe ability to access the system from anywhere on your mobile device. There is a tough competition of modules available.
ConsThe amount of money spent can be expensive depending on the type of modules needed and how many users needed.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 7, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“University Fundraising Team”

OverallI personally found the coordinative POSSIBILITIES to be high, however the learning curve made it hard for the average user to become functional.
ProsI enjoyed the ability to get an entire University on board and working in the same direction. Additionally, the ability to coordinate accounts is very helpful.
ConsThe learning curve is hard. It is easy to use poorly, and difficult to use easily. I became an adept user, but the difficulty in getting up to speed typically meant that other colleagues accomplished only the basic tasks, or neglected using it at all.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Leslie E.
Payroll & Benefits Coordinator
Philanthropy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2016

“Payroll & Benefits Coordinator”

OverallI would like to do more precise reports, like who is on BCBS HMO and who is on BCBS PPO.
ProsI like the tabs. I can quickly access what I need because the tabs make it so simple. I love love love the fact that I can put an annual salary on the Current Pay tab and it will calculate everything the salary and hourly rate for me. I love that! Every-time I have questions I can call over there and I get help. Even if I get these crazy ideas to try to do something new I ask my sales person Dan and he gets the answers for me.
ConsWhy do I have to enter some information more than once? I have to enter exempt and non-exempt on Current Job tab, Job History tab and Current Pay Tab...Why? Also the W-4 issued by the IRS says Single, Married or Married but filing at a higher Single rate. The box Single/head of household is confusing. On Address & Phone tab why do the Home, Cell & Fax boxes have "Ext" in the box? No one has an Ext at home or on their cell phones. Now you are just being lazy.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2016
Albert G.
Administrator
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 15, 2017

“My experience with the software was a good one.”

Prosthe product was nice it was easy to use and very interactive. I like the fact that the dashboard is very comprehensive.
ConsThere is definitely more room for improvement,and at time could be little bit frustrating to use the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 15, 2017
Miguel R.
IT
Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 9, 2017

“Abila Fund Accounting Use and Customization”

OverallThe system itself has been around for a good while. For that reason, they have built a strong product if you are in the non-profit sector looking for some flexibility. Be warned that it is not an inexpensive system although the ongoing cost of maintenance and support is not too bad. Implementation and initial licensing are where they get you. Most use the product out of the box and even then require a good amount of training since it had too many features. I would try to stay away from customizations that touch the database directly because support will have a much more difficult time supporting you. Support is ok, however during an audit and UDS season you should expect to be on the phone on hold for 30+ min.
ProsOnce set up, you will enjoy the power of flexibility and customization.
ConsToo many options that can easily use you. You need to be trained. Support wait times can be high. High initial implements ton cost.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you are a non-profit under 50 employees I would stay away and use Quickbooks for Nonprofit unless you need serious customizations.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 9, 2017
Stephanie K.
Administrative Coordinator
Philanthropy, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 19, 2018

“Very Easy to Learn”

ProsLoved how easy it was to learn the Accounts Payable part. I learned it in one day. Love how it keeps track
ConsI don't like how if you make a mistake you have to erase the whole entry and start all over. Very annoying
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 19, 2018
Brenda C.
Chief Business Officer
Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 8, 2017

“Easy to tailor to your industry needs.”

OverallI'm still learning, but the more often I use Abila, and the more familiar I become I am enjoying the software more and more! It's very well designed.
ProsThere are a lot of features, and it's easy to get overwhelmed if you are new to accounting, however, if you are a quick learner and explore the features at length you can quickly figure things out until your transactions become intuitive.
ConsIt does assume a certain level of accounting proficiency on the part of the user. Those starting out will probably require some support in navigating. The "Help" search feature is very technical.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 8, 2017
Mukul K.
Derivates Trading Manager
Management Consulting, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 9, 2016

“Abila can be your primary accounting software”

OverallOwing to the fact that modules can be added into the existing system, Abila offers a very versatile solution. We use it as a primary accounting software but it can be extended to HR as well as other departments just by the addition of modules. It is not too tough to learn but definitely some amount of time is needed initially to get used to it. Makes the process pretty smooth after that.
Pros1. Abila offers modules that are customizable to suit the needs of small, medium and large size companies. These modules can also be purchased in parts as the requirements of the company change with time. 2. It offers a very good customer support system who help in setting up the accounting system initially and also help during operation if need be. 3. Fits the budget if you only buy the modules you need in case it is for a smaller organization with limited requirements.
Cons1. Some features of the Abila software cannot be changed once the system has been set up like the number of digits in the fund code. 2. There could have been more number of options in the formatting of financial statements generated using this software. 3. Since it requires training in the initial to begin using the software, there is a cost involved in doing so.
Recommendations to other buyersAbila can be used as a primary accounting software in an organization. I will give it 9 points on the recommendation scale and 4 stars overall.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 9, 2016
Anne L.
Finance Assistant
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019

“Ok Accounting Software”

OverallIt was just OK- didn't love it didn't hate it.
ProsI really enjoyed all the functions of this software system. It never lagged or crashed on me.
ConsI did not enjoy how there are limits to how many users could be on the software. Sometimes, I would not be able to log in the system because there were too many of my colleagues on it so I couldn't do my work. It was frustrating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019
Victor M.
Consultant
Philanthropy, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 15, 2016

“Product limited in feature like budget features as compared others”

ProsAP, AR, vendor records. I enjoy using these features. Vendor has an excellent customer care
ConsLack of budget features and its limitations in performing functions like grant management
Recommendations to other buyersAs they use the software, they must be mindful of limitations of the system in certain functions like budget features
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 15, 2016
Joe Z.
Technology Support Specialist
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018

“MIP ”

OverallDon't generally have any issues with the software but it seems to lag at times for no reason. Every environment is different but we've been using it for a long time. Updates don't seem to on a regular basis. On the great side, support seems to know what they're doing when contacted.
ProsCitrix integrated, server and client install.
ConsClunky, slow at times. SQL Maintenance need to be WAY on top of it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Performing Arts, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018

“Workplace utilizes for Electronic Requisition system”

ProsWe were able to move away from wasting so much paper and doing paper purchase orders for everything. MIP allowed for us to move into an easily submittable format.
ConsNavigating the software itself can be clunky. I'm not sure if we have an older version or not, but there's some standard keystrokes that are different than intuition would say. The enter key saves and closes something and the tab key functions more as a traditional enter key which really messed with me for awhile.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018
Lynn A.
Director of Finance & Administration
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 16, 2017

“Accomodating”

Proseasy to navigate from General Ledger to Accounts Payable or Accounts Receivable, cash receipt and reporting.
Consbudgeting in the system is not so easy. can't setup to match my format but the ability to upload helps
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 16, 2017
Jessica L.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2017

“Will Meet All Your Non-Profit ACCOUNTING Needs”

OverallI have used Abilia/Sage MIP Fund Accounting for the better part of 12 years in non-profit finance and it is the best I've used. I've also had experience with CYMA, Great Plains and OSAS, none of which could do everything I needed in the non-profit environment. Reporting is tremendous once everything is set up and ready to go. However, set up can be a bit of a struggle as the first few months are a bit of a getting to know each session and tweaking will most definitely needed. It also has a payroll module and HR module if you're looking to tamp down on having a bunch of systems. I saw a couple of reviews about how it's not good with development, but this particular product is not for development, it's for actual accounting.
ProsEase of reporting, filtering, GL intersectionality, Modules for AP-AR-Payroll-Purchase Orders-HR all available
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2017
Tom K.
IT Specialist
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2019

“Good product”

ProsThe product is flexible for setting up multiple fund buckets.
ConsThe backup and recovery process is a little cumbersome
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2019
Yvonne S.
Office
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 19, 2017

“Use”

ProsLoads of options, Layout is nice, Support, job costing, all the report options, and vendor and customer lists
ConsNot user friendly Small fonts and tabs. US version looks better Uses not give you cash accounting option
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 19, 2017
Robyn S.
Accounting Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 29, 2018

“Great solution from anywhere!”

ProsCloud based was awesome as was security. It really felt like your information was secure. It had all the modules in an easy to use place.
ConsIt was a little expensive for a small company and didn't need the cloud. I wish it had inventory and shipping capabilities to keep from buying two software packages and reconciling them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 29, 2018
Justine V.
Project Coordinator
Philanthropy, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2018

“Suitable for all”

ProsWhile there's a service fee for this product, it's a very useful tool for grassroots nonprofit organizations. The ability to customize Abila makes it a unique experience for each organization using the program.
ConsThere are a lot of options, which can seem daunting. Customer service is extremely reliable and offers training.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 23, 2018
Michael G.
Philanthropy, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 26, 2014

“A review of Abila MIP accounting for non-profits”

ProsIt's a great improvement over QuickBooks and is a true accounting program that is prepared for non-profits. Our auditor is impressed and happy. The initial support has been excellent and easy to work with. Overall, it's been a marvelous experience.
ConsBy virtue of the scope of functionality of the software, there is a small degree of complexity in the initial setup of account codes and permissions, etc. It's nothing to be overly concerned about. Just take your time and ask questions when you do not understand something.
Recommendations to other buyersIt is very helpful to talk to at least 3-4 software vendors to explore the scope of their products. You may not need or want the full scope of offerings. If you must go through the procurement process, some vendors will say thanks, but no thanks!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 26, 2014
Kristen H.
Customer service rep
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2019

“Abila is a good product! ”

OverallWe use abila to put in requests for big purchases to be approved.
ProsThat it allows you to get money approved for big purchases quickly and efficiently.
ConsThat it can be slightly confusing to use if you are not provided all of the information that you use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2019
Srajan R.
SE
Management Consulting, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2016

“Review of Abila MIP Advance”

OverallMIP Advance offers users the flexibility of a cloud-based system, along with strong fund management and reporting options.It is true fund accounting solution well suited for small-sized to mid-sized organization. Comes with lots of features.
ProsOffers a mobile app. Cloud based.
ConsSetup time can be high
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2016
Becky C.
Accountant
Philanthropy, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 23, 2015

“Great Product, but who couldn't improve?”

ProsMuch customization available. Can usually get what you want based on what you've put in. Abila HUGE improvement of Sage.
ConsReporting is good but could be much better. Drill down on ALL reports would be ideal. Payroll module is difficult to obtain reports without manipulation and combinations
Recommendations to other buyersYou're not going to find anything better without writing the software yourself. Save yourself the shopping around. Spend the time, energy, and expense of training and conferences-WELL worth it! Very robust product!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 23, 2015
Bruce R.
Owner
1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 26, 2018

“good as it gets”

ProsAmazing! I literally did not read the instructions on how to get started. This is my type of setup. Now, I cant say this goes for everyone, but if you have a little experience then you will be fine
ConsLike I mentioned before. The software is just too too easy to get familiar with. I dont see why you would skip pss this
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 26, 2018
Jeanette J.
HR Specialist
Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 6, 2017

“Abila MIP Fund Review”

OverallOur accounting department uses this product and finds it very user-friendly and works well with the needs of our complex funds and accounts.
ProsEase of use.
ConsNo cons. It works well for our needs.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 6, 2017
Lisa B.
Account Payables
Primary/Secondary Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 24, 2016

“Font is too small for anyone with less than perfect eyesight.”

ProsThe program is organized and user friendly, easy to navigate, easy to produce a report, easy to search.
ConsInability to increase font size on the main screens. The very small font size is very difficult to see and causes a strain for those of us who work on the system all day. This could discourage someone from purchasing the program if their employees have less than perfect eyesight.
Recommendations to other buyersAlthough the program is very good....you would need to take into consideration the inability to read the font. Not sure if other companies offer a similar program with a larger font or ability to change the font.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 24, 2016
Michell A.
Administration and Member Support
Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 4, 2016

“MIP”

OverallI have utilized this software in previous organizations and find it to be a great enhancement from QuickBooks.
ProsMore secured
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 4, 2016
Clement O.
Controller
Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 23, 2017

“Abila MIP Fund Accounting”

OverallThe product is very comprehensive and meets all of our needs. A bit pricey but worth the money.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 23, 2017
Praise A.
Director of finance and administration
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 5, 2017

“Complex but worth it”

ProsVery robust and advanced. You will be able to track a lot of expenses and produce a host of reports.
ConsWithout proper training, it could be very challenging for an entry level employee. It requires an extra attention to detail
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 5, 2017
Mannat P.
SDE
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2016

“Abila MIP Fund Accounting”

OverallThe work for my company is to improve the accounting period and to streamline the data entry. Before this my company would produce financials manually in excel by copy and pasting. By purchasing Abila MIP Fund Accounting Drillpoint module, I was able to link my accounting system directly to excel reducing my financial statement preparation time from four hours to fifteen minutes.
Recommendations to other buyersThere are sometimes third parties involved with marketing Abila products. I prefer speaking directly with Abila.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 8, 2016