Sumo group

Sumo

4 / 5 24 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

eCommerce companies.


Average Ratings

24 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $24.00/month/user
  • Pricing Details
    Professional $24/mo Small Business $59/mo eCommerce $199/mo
  • Free Version
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
  • Support
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • Sumo group
  • sumo.com
  • Founded 2010
  • United States

About Sumo

Helps eCommerce businesses to get more customers and convert website visitors into lifetime buyers automatically.


Sumo Features

  • Catalog Management
  • Channel Management
  • Customer Accounts
  • Email Marketing
  • Inventory Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Multi-Store Management
  • Order Management
  • Product Configurator
  • Promotions Management
  • Returns Management
  • SEO Management
  • Shopping Cart

Sumo Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Capterra-loader

I use Sumo's free suite of tools on my Squarespace site, and I have been 'em for nearly three years.

Jun 03, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love the (even at the freemium level) assorted tools they have for capturing emails. With a little bit of coding, you can customize your lead magnets, both in terms of appearance and delivery.

Cons: My only complaint with their suite of tools are their sharing tools, and this is nitpicky. I already have built-in share buttons on my CMS that look great on mobile and on a desktop. The Sumo tool was a real bother when I was using it (2015-2017). It even caused one of my followers to email and let me know it was a nuisance with this lagging (yet persistent in its following) behavior.

Overall: A pain-free way to collect emails that go above and beyond what Squarespace and/or Mailchimp can offer to a startup/small business? Sumo has your back, hands down.

Vendor Response

by Sumo group on August 28, 2018

Thanks for your review! We're constantly working on improvements and appreciate your feedback. If you ever would like to test out new features, here is a link to our Ecommerce plan free trial: http://bit.ly/2LBfk1T
Good luck with your business!

Do not seek for leads just get it with SumoMe

Apr 07, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Without a doubt, one of the greatest features of the software is the ability to keep track on all the movements of your clients on the website. You are able to see everything, what exactly do they click, where they go and so on. And also it was not so hard to implement on our website. Every successful business must have a good strategy. Without it there is no way that your business can reach the heist results. And SumoMe helped me to create the strategy through showing me everything that I needed to know about the desires and preferences of my clients while they were using my website.

Cons: From my life experience, I understood one crucial thing, that it's definitely better to pay for the qualitative product a little bit more than just waste your money on the cheap garbage. But still, I would like to have a bit lower prices.

All in one social sharing tool

Apr 03, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: SumoMe is an all in one solution for those looking to improve the sociability of their site and increase the number of subscribers. This is an easy tool to use for any website you have. We saw an immediate return on this product because of how our customers were able to engage the content provided by this product. Installation and set up is a lot more easier than competitors has. We use this service to increase and promote social sharing of our content and get people to sign up for our email newsletter, and SumoMe copes with it perfectly.

Cons: The user interface is not as friendly as most beginners would like. I do not like that you can only use it on one computer. In addition, recently they made some updates, which we could not fully explore without raising the price.

Capterra-loader

I really like sumo. I use a lot of its features on my blog. It helped a lot.

Jun 06, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love that a lot of its features are easy to use. They come with very easy to use directions. It has a lot of features that costs money on other programs.

Cons: I use the free version, and I wish it had more choices for that. I also wish it had better choices for email. I have to use another program for that.

Overall: It helped incorporate features on my blog with ease that I wouldn't of been able to do otherwise.

Vendor Response

by Sumo group on August 28, 2018

Hello, Colleen! Thanks for the warms words. I noticed that you are using our free version and would love to see more features and options under this version. We currently offer free 14 day trial of our Ecommerce plan. Check it out and see if it has what you are looking for: http://bit.ly/2LBfk1T

Experience with Sumo

Sep 11, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Sumo gives users the ability to do one of the most important things an online business needs to do: collect emails to grow their list. They do so with great pop-ups, welcome mat, and smart bars.

Cons: Some of the functionality is a bit clunky. They seem to go wide vs narrow, i.e. trying to do everything instead of becoming the best at a few things.

Overall: Great product. Have set it up for a handful of clients to build out their email lists.

Vendor Response

by Sumo group on September 12, 2018

We're happy to have you as our customer. Thanks for the review!

Good looking forms, but the asynchronous loading doesn't help the business

May 23, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Note that I've only used the SumoMe forms. Ignore this review if you're using their other tools. The forms look good and you have the option to customize them in more-than-you-have-time ways.

Cons: The SumoMe forms aren't a bad tool, just that... You're at a conference and you have a single page with a SumoMe opt-in form for people interested in your product + some bad internet that you can't control. The page you worked on only loads the rest of the content and people scroll past the form (the form that doesn't load, because it's made to load asynchronously and it prioritizes the rest of the content before the form). So basically people just leave because they didn't see the form. Now imagine the same thing, online, and all the users and their internet speed that you cannot control. That was the end of our story with SumoMe. And it had the potential to be a good story.

A simple way to increase the number of subscribers

Mar 31, 2018
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like that with this program I can easily work on my traffic and increase it. This program with a quick and simple tool to increase the number of page views, subscribers and some other things. The tools of this program are easy to install and work on any website. We use this platform to increase visits to our site. The number of views is very important for us, we constantly monitor where visitors click and what they pay more attention to. A great platform that helps us to be more professional in our projects.

Cons: It seems to me that for the beginners the user interface will be a bit complicated. I do not like the program analyst. It is difficult to understand who addressed this day and get a list of contact details captured immediately. The site was constantly trying to get you to update with a pop-up window that did not have an obvious exit button.

Capterra-loader

They have some bugs but i tried the free version and they keep getting better and add capabilities

Sep 17, 2018
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use, great guides, helps achieve many marketing goals, combines analytics ontop of your website, great features

Cons: I encountered several bugs that didn't make me purchase but I'm pretty sure the paid version works great. They are a very good company, brand

Overall: Good. Gave me what I needed, free

Good Concept, Terrible Execution

Jul 02, 2018
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I like to concept of the product and the abilities it has to incorporate popups to your website without adding more than a script to your site.

Cons: Everything else. Their help service is the worst and they often treat you as an idiot. Even with photos and indepth information about issues, they still are unable to understand the problem. We went round and round with them for 4 months about an issue to later find that it was a bug on there end. Using the product is hard and the data you're provide on your popups is limited.

Vendor Response

by Sumo group on August 28, 2018

Hello! Thank you for your review and I am sorry you've experienced issues with the software. We've made lots of updates to our service and hope you can reconsider using Sumo for you business. I highly recommend trying out our new Shortcuts feature :) Here is a link to free trial for you: http://bit.ly/2LBfk1T

Great way to engage website's users

Jul 11, 2018
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Free to use, easy to set well-designed, discrete pop-ups, sharing features engaging content shares on social

Cons: The settings interface could be quicker, sometimes it's difficult to handle settings, e.g. if you have a live chat installed at your website.

bad product with a nice pack

Apr 11, 2018
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: They know how to market themselves. They know how to convert users to pay. They are a profitable company.

Cons: UNUSABLE product. we only wanted to use ONE popup and couldnt Horrible customer support with limited knowledge about their own product. The popups simply work only 30% of the times. Our website loading time sky high with Sumo script. Sumo added popup in the footer without letting us know (ON A PAID SUBSCRIPTION!) We lost days to enable the implementation, and yet, the product isnt function. Bad user experience. Not enough documentation. Product simply wont work.

Awful UI

Sep 13, 2017
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 4.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Sumome Got tons of features and themes for any kind of opt-in form, and it's easy to design and change the themes.

Cons: I think Sumome don't have any clue how much they have destroyed their UI over the past 2 years! They keep changing their UI all the time and it's never a good change. The UI is slow and looks lame if you compare it for today's UI such as slack, zarpiet, IFTTT, it's like they stuck somewhere in 2010.

Many Tools in One Tool

Sep 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: There's a lot going on with Sumo. Sumo comes with many features that help improve your website: a welcome mat, floating share buttons, heat maps, content analysis, etc. I originally wanted Sumo for the floating share buttons, but then realized it could do a lot more.

Cons: Had quite a few issues with the floating share buttons conflicting with our website theme, BUT, Sumo has great customer support, so they overcame that con and turned it into a pro.

Good Straight Forward Way To Build Your Subscribers

Jun 26, 2018
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Great plugin for wordpress sites, helps to let your readers quickly share your articles & content to the rest of their network and the while. Perhaps the easiest tool to use to help get more subscribers - very user friendly sharing bar too.

Cons: While Sumo is great, it is not fully compatible with quite a few website platforms and builders that include Wix.

Capterra-loader

We use Sumo to add social buttons to our Wordpress sites and to grow newsletter lists

Jul 10, 2018
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I like that is collects all the data on social buttons and on newsletter subscriber acquisition fields all in one place.

Cons: It often feels buggy, and the changes I implement on the backend don't always show up, requiring me to repeat steps sometimes.

Vendor Response

by Sumo group on August 28, 2018

Thanks for your review, Megan! We're constantly working on software improvements and value your input. If you experience any issues with the website, please don't hesitate to contact our Support Team.

Jun 19, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

A really nice popup builder

Aug 22, 2018
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's versitile and easy to use. I like that it has various triggers and design options too.

Cons: It has some display related bugs and multiple accounts and sites gets confusing to manage.

Overall: I really like this system and I recommend it to our clients as well. It's great for content upgrades and redirecting viewers to a URL.

Vendor Response

by Sumo group on August 28, 2018

Thank you, Kristen! We are glad to have you!

Best Tool for Non-Technical Marketers Like Myself

Nov 17, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Fabulous tool that I'm so, so happy to have discovered. I hesitated on installing for a long time, because I didn't want to destroy my website (hosted on HubSpot COS) but it was super easy to get set up and running. Super smart automated lead gen. Capture leads where you hadn't before. Templates get you up and running instantly.

Pros: Free for most things. Amazingly easy to install.

Cons: So expensive to get the better features. You can't integrate with HubSpot until you pay for it. Managing it manually now, but could be a problem in the future.

Don't rely on customer support to get you going

Oct 17, 2017
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It was relatively easy to create my first popup, so the edior orks well. But I never succeeded in collecting the email addresses it as supposed to collect.

Cons: The SUMO|website integration did not go so well. The blue SUMO tag attached to the upper right corner of my website is anoying and just won't go away. I did ask for support initially, but support never came. Looks like they are not into making you understand unless you pay. And still I ill never be able to vouch for this since obviously I will choose Leadepages. They care.

Great solution for popups that are ok with google and easy to setup online.

Aug 01, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: No updates, no software, just a few lines of code and an easy to use online interface. They have lots of templates and bits you can use.

Cons: They could make the product more affordable, as the ongoing costs do add up if you want the full feature set. Plus they never added this to the appsumo site as a lifetime deal :)

Vendor Response

by Sumo group on August 28, 2018

Hello, my friend! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us! Did you know that we've lowered our Ecommerce plan to $79/mo if you subscribe for our annual membership? :)

A great way to start lead capture

Jun 08, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I've been using SumoMe for about 4 months, it's super easy to implement and for a starter website it is phenomenal. I'm less sure about the advanced features (A/B testing, etc.) but the free tier is a phenomenal value

Pros: Free Simple Looks professional

Cons: The admin widget doesn't always show up on the page at first load

A Simple Tool with Powerful Results

Jan 05, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: The List Builder app has helped us bring in an extra 100+ subscribers a month to our newsletters. Very intuitive, easy to set up and monitor. I highly recommend it!

Pros: -Very easy to use -Set-and-forget -Pre-built popups to use in List Builder -Great value

Cons: None that I can think of.

Nov 30, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 1.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Marketing platform for your website

Aug 28, 2018
3/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use and feature integration. Wish they offered more though

Cons: Not a big fan of Sumo or King Sumo. It has a "Me too" feel to it. It looks like they copied Viral Loops