Drake Tax Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Drake Tax

Accelerate tax returns processing and preparation with real-time process tracking, appointment scheduling, and communication tools. Learn more about Drake Tax

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
achol r.
it specialist
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 5, 2018

“Drake is great !!”

ProsDrake is software is really so easy to use, I been working on this software for about 2.5 years now, the most I like about it, is that all the tax forms are included, very easy to navigate around the software, in the calc window its shows you almost everything , if the return is eligible for E-filing, all the errors that need to be clear, the fees, the refund or the balance due, if there are any notes before E-filing it will show you so that you can go check that, I can even Email the returns to the taxpayer, I can use the signature pad, if the return got rejected for any reason it shows you exactly what's wrong, in order for you to resolve and resubmit , I can even set limited access to other tax preparers and adjust all that ... Drake is great, so recommended
Conswhat I really need on the software to support the remote signature ,other than that all good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 5, 2018
Leonardo F.
President
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2019

“The Best Tax Softwere ever ”

OverallLike a good perfume !
ProsExcellent customer service Beautiful people Friendly Softwere Cheap however better the CCH
ConsIn my 7 years using this Softwere I have never found any Cons yet
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Amazing Customer Support”

OverallGreat software overall. Occasionally there's bugs (on state and local) but those tend to be resolved quickly once Drake is notified
ProsIf you ever get stuck on a complicated tax return their customer service line is always a great help. I've never had to wait more than 5 minuets on hold and they usually answer in under a minuet. There's options for you to send the tax return to the customer support specialist securely so they can look at exactly what you are. If the problem was especially complicated, they would get back within the week.
ConsThe software looks a little dated. Switching between screens is not intuitive and the screens don't always match up with the forms on the tax returns. There's less accuracy on the state levels and even less on local.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
David L.
Owner
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019

“Great Software for the Money”

ProsI left my company to start my own tax practice and decided on Drake because of the what it could do for the cost. I was previously using UltraTax which is a great software but compared to price this made sense. It does everything I need it to but at a fraction of the cost. It's super easy to set up. UltraTax was better hands down with the exception of the tax projection in Drake. Drake's tax projection is better than UltraTax for individuals. Also, Drake's customer support is better in that I could get through to someone during tax season very quickly. I don't plan on switching tax software anytime in the near future.
ConsIf filing a business in multiple states and then making sure the income on the personal is correctly allocated to each state was a pain. It's not to bad with a couple states but 5+ states plan on spending extra time just getting the software to do what you need it to do.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“Drake Software Review”

OverallDrake tax for its value was one of the easiest tax softwares to navigate. It heightened efficiency and is great all around.
ProsThe software itself is very easy to follow along with a tax return. Like things are located on each tab which allows for high efficiency. If there are any questions the customer support is very very helpful.
ConsNeeds to update items that carryforoward a little better
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Irmita T.
CSR
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018

“Drake Tax”

OverallI have used Drake Tax software for over 5 years now and I like how easy everything is. If I have any questions for the most part each tab has links that will take you directly to a video that explains it all.
ProsI like that I can merge clients information from the previous year.
ConsHaving to add each state when setting up the software. All states should be added automatically.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018
WALTER P.
Owner
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019

“NOT FOR TAX PROFESSIONALS”

ProsCosts; easy to update yearly; efiling is accurate and timely.
ConsTech support is hit or miss depending on what person you get. I have dealt with clearly untrained support reps throughout the years. If you are a tax professional with a substantial number of clients, I would NOT recommend this software. Drake will not work with you at all regarding the default selections and the program is very limited when it comes to customizing it for a larger practice. Even when we point out obvious coding errors, many of them are never corrected despite repeated calls and emails to their support. Every year they seem to get worse. They really do not seem to care about the concerns and feedback of their customers. The only reason we have not changed from Drake is the investment in time it takes to change platforms. Moving thousands of clients requires a substantial investment of time even with the conversion softwares provided by other platforms. Maybe that is why Drake seems to care less for the concerns of their customers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“Drake is user friendly and we highly recommend it to all tax professionals.”

OverallWe are able to prepare tax returns for all of our clients using Drake.
ProsWe love the ease of use and they have great customer service. Love that we can always call if we have any questions.
ConsThere's nothing I can think of that we don't like. I've easily trained other co-workers to use it without a problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Tina T.
Owner
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Income Tax Software Review”

OverallI have used Drake software for several years and have been very pleased with both the software and their customer support.
ProsExtremely user friendly, easy to navigate between screens and excellent customer support team.
ConsI do not have any complaints about the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019

“Excellent Tax Preparation Software”

ProsExtremely simple data entry with the option of choosing by form entry (W-2, 1099, etc) or by line tax forms. Once information is entered (such as an employer EIN) the data is automatically pulled on future returns for other clients.
ConsOnly lacking is some information from prior years' returns did not pull forward requiring diligence for returning clients to ensure all information was correct.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019
Gina H.
Office Assistant
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019

“Drake Tax 2017”

ProsEasy to navigate and use. All client information was saved and available in an easy to read format. Inputting information was quick and easy to save.
ConsUpdating/rolling over to the new year. Took a couple minutes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Cece S.
Accountant
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“Best tax software on the market!”

ProsEase of use. GUI is fantastic. Robust enough to handle the most difficult returns yet simple enough to be efficient.
ConsUpdates could be done on a more timely basis.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Emily P.
Tax Associate
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“Easy to learn”

ProsEasy to learn. My favorite feature is that they have video links embedded into the software to teach you quick tips. It also pairs so well with keystrokes. You can do most of what you need without touching your mouse and that can save so much time!
ConsI really like this software and I do not have any complaints about it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
JAMES R.
ACCOUNTANT
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019

“Best Tax software”

ProsDrake is the best tax prep software hands down.
ConsI use drake to prepare hundreds of tax returns and never have any issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019
REBECCA C.
Owner
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“So Far So Good- bye bye Taxwise”

OverallCustomer service picks up on the second ring every time I call!! (and that is a bunch)
ProsThe functionality of the software, and the fact that i can select what forms to print. NY forms are included!!
ConsSo far the only thing I do not like is that I am still not a pro at it! I have to continue to look at the cheat sheet for shortcuts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Latoya K.
Accountant
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“Best Tax Software ”

OverallBeing an Accounting service, this software helps during tax season and all year tax filings for our small business owners as well as individuals.
ProsEase of use. Customer support team is awesome year after year. Affordable cost.
ConsIf you enter a social security number incorrectly, you cannot change it. You have to buy another return which 100% sucks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019

“Unacceptable product”

OverallI wanted to lower my costs so I switched from the CS professional suite. The first year was extremely painful to change, and coming into my second year, I can't file returns because their product is not complete, and all the support team can offer is "that they are doing the best they can."
ProsIt is cheap. Efile tracking is simple. The data entry is relatively straight forward.
ConsThe support is terrible. It is hit or miss that you are going to get someone that actually can help you resolve your problem. For the 2018 tax season, as of mid-February there were still state forms "under development." Other software companies are able to file state and federal both, while Drake is delayed and still developing its product. State apportionment is a HUGE pain.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019
Caretta C.
Account Manager
Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“Drake Tax Software”

OverallDrake software helps filing tax returns super simple.
ProsThis is the most simple tax software I have ever test drove. It allows you ease of access to only the forms you need prepare a tax return. You can go to the common forms and add on the forms that are associated with the tax return you are preparing. It is a awesome tax software that I would recommend to anyone doing taxes, especially for first time tax preparers.
ConsThe software is so simple, I have not found any cons to using it at this time
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2018

“Drake Tax ”

OverallGood experience. Not great, but not too bad after all.
ProsThe software isn't hard to use, the user-interface looks fancy, and the customer support is great and responsive.
ConsThe lack of support for external gadgets like scanners. in addition to that , it lacks remote access possibilities like remote-signatures, and mobile apps that taxpayers can use to submit their data to the tax-preparers without sending them any physical copies. The user interface isn't hard, however it needs to be simplified a little.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Drake is for beginners”

OverallDrake's ultimate appeal is the price. I would not use Drake if it was free. I use a more professional level software product that anticipates my needs as a tax professional.
ProsDrake has the best customer service in the tax business, and is the most affordable professional tax software on the market.
ConsIt lacks a tremendous amount of features available in other tax software products. It lacks ease of use in every feature. The diagnostics are not user friendly, and are only designed to fix the most basic problems. Drake is not designed to help you along the process. It is best for a tax professional that knows exactly what result is expected. When it is wrong, you have to know exactly what to do. There is little guidance, which can lead the user to a wrong result. The printed forms do not look like a professional product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Lauren J.
CPA
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018

“Efficient Software ”

ProsDrake is a great software for smaller tax returns and smaller firms. It is perfectly adequate and is reasonably priced.
ConsThis software is cost effective, but does lack some of the robust features you find in the bigger more expensive programs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019

“Very Professional tax software with excellent customer support”

ProsDrake Tax makes an excellent very professional easy to learn tax software that is designed for the bigger tax preparation business locations. I have used it liked it, loved customer support. Great for doing many individual returns each year and great for doing business returns. Drake stays up on tax changes.
ConsCons: Drake pricing is higher than most tax softwares. It could be because they have probably the best customer care in the business when it is tax season and you are having a problem they help you fix it no matter what.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019
Avatar Image
David R.
Bookkeeper
Accounting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018

“Drake Tax is a complete package”

ProsCustomer service/support is knowledgeable and very helpful. Tax program is very user-friendly. Instructions are clear and to the point. Always have help with whatever I'm doing.
ConsI haven't run into any issues or things about this software that I don't like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018