Patch Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Patch

Patch is an online insurance assistant that helps healthcare providers and patients understand out-of-network benefits in minutes and submit claims online. No more dealing with insurance companies by phone or submitting claims by paper. Using Patch, healthcare providers can let patients know the exact reimbursement amount to expect and automatically submit an optimized claim on their behalf. Learn more about Patch

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 11 of 11 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Annette A.
Optometrist/Owner
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018

“With PATCH, I can have my receptionist file ALL claims before or as soon as the patient walks out !”

OverallMORE FREE TIME out of the office and no cut in per patient exam fees verses being IN NETWORK and agreeing to a major reduction in fee just to belong as a provider.
ProsThis software allows me to file insurance claims for most Out of Network vision plans, while also allowing me to receive my full exam price for a comprehensive eye exam without compromising the value, and it's as easy to understand that even my 12 year old can file claims for me! EASE OF USE for the non-technical individual is KEY to keeping my workload down and my free time out of the office at a maximum.
ConsThere are insurance plans that do need a member ID number to obtain benefits, and there are some vision plans that do not regularly distribute ID cards with their members, making it more difficult for the staff AND patient to obtain benefits and file seamlessly. It would be great to only have to use the last 4 digits of the member's social security number like some plans allow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018
Tiffany Z.
owner optician
Medical Devices, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2018

“Outstanding company to work with and they provide that best support!”

OverallI have increased the number of patients that I can accept by utilizing this program and being able to take patients that I was unable to previous to having Patch. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who is looking to streamline their billing and be able to process insurance claims more efficeintly.
ProsThere is a wide variety of insurance companies that are supported by this software. The information required by patients is very minimal and the verification process is much faster than calling or going to the specific insurance company websites. Checks typically come within 3 weeks from major carriers and reimbursement rates are as shown in Patch. The support personnel are highly skilled and take the time to answer all questions regarding insurance.
ConsThere is nothing to list. This is a great company with people who care about doing their jobs correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 27, 2018
David L.
Optometrist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2018

“Easy program to use.”

ProsIt's easy to use. And patients get their payments relatively quickly. It is relatively cost-effective.
ConsSometimes it is a bit slow. It can sometimes be challenging to have all the needed data to access a patient's insurance coverage.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2018
Michael K.
Optician
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018

“Finally a software that not only helps me get more business, but is streamlined and easy to use.”

OverallAllows me to see more customers, and give them a stress free visiting by quickly filing their reimbursement claim.
ProsI could finally tell my customers how much they will get reimbursed so they could understand the true cost of their services. Before all I could do is tell them to call VSP, as you can imagine that strategy was not effective.
ConsSo far it has been easily to understand, and eligibility checks have been successful. The customer support is there when I don't understand a certain feature, and answers any questions I have. Sometimes eligibility checks take more time, but normally quick.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018
Kim D.
physician
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Waste of Money”

OverallTerrible customer service. Took 3 weeks to get back to me. Never follows up. This customer service was only good when they wanted to make a sale. Don't get fooled!
ProsI tried Patch for a month. The website is always down. If not then you are left messaging back and forth with their operators with no results. It was a good sell but a worthless service. I made the mistake of buying a year's service but when I realized it was worthless I offered to pay them 2-3 months but to get a partial refund. They refused. Therefore I don't want other doctors or practices to make my same mistake. It is just a an expensive lesson in futility. Don't wast your time or money!
ConsAll of it! It not worthy your time, your staff's time, your patient's time and definitely not your money!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Chase S.
Optometrist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018

“Patch was a great practice builder for us. ”

ProsAble to capture out of network patients and explain their benefits in an easy way. Easy to use, and was able to communicate within a minute whenever we had an issue.
ConsNo negatives. Platform was easy to use, and patients received their money back in a short amount of time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018
Shane J.
Optician
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2018

“Rep from customer service was awesome!”

OverallHelping the patient find out what benefits they can get for them
ProsIts easy to use, so user friendly, very helpful, and also the customer service is great. I like that if you have a question you can chat live.
ConsSometimes it take a long time to get the information you're trying to get, but usually pretty quick.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2018
Jill A.
Patient Services Lead
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018

“The platform is very user friendly and the support staff is excellent!”

ProsIt is extremely simple to use and can be used when speaking to new patients on the phone to see what they're benefits are.
ConsAdding addresses - you have to type it in exactly how it appears in google or sometimes it will not recognize it as a valid address
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018
Michael Y.
Optician
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“Overall, very positive”

ProsBeing able to offer *some* kind of insurance benefit to my customers helps to keep them from going to a different optical. The site/software is generally fast. Your customer service is top notch
ConsI know that it is not your fault, but VSP takes too long to load compared to other insurances. It is remarkably annoying. Is there any word on when full VSP functionality will come back online? I see far too many patients that do not know what insurance they have. Some type of global search function would be great. NOTE: I left the "Value for Money" section blank since I was not involved with with its purchase
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018
Jazmin G.
Optician, ABOC
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018

“Great way of being able to provide the best care to our patients using open access insurance benefit”

Proshaving the out of net reimbursement show first helps determine an overall price without going thru the whole claim
ConsMost patients do not know the name of the vision provider so we are unable to help locate that for them in this system
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2018
Gary L.
optician
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018

“I've done a couple of VSP billings and everything was easy”

ProsInstructions for use and billing is very easy to use. People like the fact that we can bill Eye Med or VSP and they receive a check whatever they are reimbursed.
Cons I haven't used it enough to have any comments about what I like least about the software. The couple of times I have used it. everything went well. I had no problems.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 6, 2018