Toolkit Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Toolkit

Toolkit is the original powerful developer library to create, modify, view, compress, and automate data to and from PDF files within software applications. The Toolkit library contains hundreds of properties and methods, designed to tackle most PDF-related tasks. Toolkit Ultimate is the "All-in-One" Developer C# PDF Library, which includes all the great features in Toolkit, plus SDK technology to rasterize images, reduce PDF file sizes, redact sensitive data, search and extract data and more. Learn more about Toolkit

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 21 of 21 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Kevin F.
I.T. Project manager
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019

“ActivePDF Toolkit”

OverallWe have been successful in implementing batch and UI programs where we need to manage, modify and create PDF files.
ProsFunctionality - I can usually accomplish whatever I need to do
ConsAPIs are overly complicated. Frame of reference is always creating a new file. It would be nice if you could open an existing file, add or remove pages, then save as either the existing file or a new one. Instead, you have to loop through the set of pages in the exiting file and copy them to a new file. It is not very intuitive.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on March 26, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. Your input is very much appreciated and helps us to continually improve upon functionalities. Kind Regards, ActivePDF
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“Effective solution with some hoops for managing security on legacy platform”

OverallThis has allowed us to quickly make the PDF export of reports available to our users and have appreciated the licensing and critical update support.
ProsThe software works as expected to create PDF output for our legacy operational reporting system. We have had NO issues with stability and portability of the plug-in.
ConsWe have had to manage security for the plug in a somewhat unorthodox way on our legacy platform, but that has been more about our service that the app itself.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 27, 2018
Thanks for your review on Toolkit! We're pleased the product continues to serve the needs of your business. Cheers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
Avatar Image
James S.
Solutions Delivery Manager
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“WebGrabber Does Business Critical”

OverallThis software has been a cornerstone in allowing our business to generate the documents to send out to our customers in an easy and efficient manner with minimal IT involvement.
ProsThe software is developed in an optimal technical sense but its ease of use allows even our business users to set it up and get value out of it. This lowers total cost of maintenance while optimizing realized value.
ConsNo cons identified by IT or the business.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 27, 2018
Thank you for your review! We're extremely pleased that WebGrabber is meeting the needs of your business and customers. Let us know if there is anything else we can help you with!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
Yiyi Z.
Application Specialist
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“webGrabber”

OverallGreat product. Still continue to improve, great technical support
ProsThe functionalities of the API. So we can programming it to tailor to our business requirements.
ConsThe latest version of the webGrabber cannot reside in the same server with the other activePDF products, such as ActivePDF server and ActivePDF docConverter.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on March 26, 2019
We continue to improve and upgrade our products based on the feedback given by users such as yourself. Thank you for your valuable feedback. Kind Regards, ActivePDF
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Alan L.
IT manager
Publishing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018

“Toolkit is great”

OverallExcellent!
ProsThis really helps us with workflows in which we can sort, manipulate incoming streams as needed. Also, calling this from within existing programs - it has expanded our post process / pre process abilities. We love it.
ConsI wish this software had a way to reduce the size of documents we process through it.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 27, 2018
We appreciate the time and effort it takes to write a review. We're pleased that Toolkit continues to service your needs and expectations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018

“Integrated well ”

ProsWe were able to quickly make it compatible with other packages we needed to build the solution
ConsWe were able to navigate through any issues we had so no real complaints. The sales staff, however, was intrusive with regard to how we were implementing, and also unclear on the pricing structure between test and production environments

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 27, 2018
Thanks for leaving your review! We appreciate your feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Good PDF Tool”

ProsEasy to use and the output is satisfied. No complaints.
ConsIf there is more fonts and layout control of the output, it will be even better.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on March 25, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. Your input gives us the ability to continually improve and update our products to fit the needs of our users. It's much appreciated. Kind Regards, ActivePDF
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Sudheer A.
Sr. Development Manager
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018

“Ease of integration”

OverallProfessional looking web pages to professional looking PDF generation, ready to share extract for clients.
ProsCSS driven HTML to professional looking PDF generation, easy and quick.
ConsTerms of use per organisation, it does not make sense.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 27, 2018
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback. Feel free to contact us if you have any questions about Terms of Use - we're happy to help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2018

“Ongoing use”

ProsWe have use the product for years and continue to use it. I just works!
ConsCan't say I have any issues. The software tool works well

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 27, 2018
Thanks for your review! We're pleased that Toolkit keeps delivering high quality service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2018
Sudhakar T.
Sr. Software Engineer
Insurance, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019

“Excellent tool for generating PDF documents from .NET apps”

OverallWe have been using ActivePDF Webgrabber for over 10 years in our classical ASP, .NET based applications and we are very happy with the software, its interfaces etc. This is a great vendor to work with in case of any support issues.
ProsWebgrabber is very easy to use; offers a simple and intuitive API for .NET; comes with simple installation for any version of windows server and licensing is so much better as it is handled at server with unlimited conversion than some competing products who require license for each developer and/or pages converted.
ConsThe two engine model (IE Engine and Native Engine) can be a little confusing. Wish they had gotten rid of IE engine and brought in the Native Engine on par with IE Engine's capabilities.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on March 26, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. Your input is much appreciated and drives future updates. Kind Regards, ActivePDF
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019
Trent M.
Lead developer
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018

“Great. Wish there was a lite version.”

OverallWe use Toolkit in a realtime web application to fill pre-defined pdf forms with database data, then flatten the form fields. This is very simple in Toolkit. It can do so much more that we will never use, but have to pay for. I wish they had a lite form filler version at a nicer price.
ProsEasy to use. Conforms nicely to object standards.
ConsPrice. It works great. My only issue is that it does a thousand things of which we only need three but we have to pay for the thousand.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 27, 2018
Thank you for your review. We take into account all comments and suggestions. We're pleased Toolkit continues to be a great asset to you! Cheers!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018
Ryo M.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“Impression from use.”

ProsConversion from html to pdf is very easy and accuracy of native engine is good.
ConsConfiguration Manager GUI is hard to use.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 27, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're always happy to help with any issues or questions you run into when using any ActivePDF products. Contact one of our friendly tech advisors at https://hubs.ly/H0d07rm0
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
Francisco H.
Developer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Active PDF”

OverallMy client uses the Toolkit to join several PDF's files. My client's application generates a lot of PDF's documentation and they need to join all this documentation in one file. It is easy to use the API commands.
ProsThe set of API commands is very complete.
ConsI can not find anything what dislikes me.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Gavin D.
Technical Manager
Aviation & Aerospace, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2018

“Works like a charm”

ProsEase of use and the ease of transfer of license is spectacular part of this product
ConsThe pricing is rather steep in my opinion for what it offers

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 27, 2018
Thank you for your review!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“Easy software to convert content to PDF for webapplications”

ProsThe software is very stable,. It works quick and it has various options.
ConsThe price is a bit high and there seems not to be much development lately. On other hand, a good and solid product so why updates...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
David K.
consultant
Information Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“necessary evil for legacy systems lacking built-in pdf printing support”

OverallThe software does the job, if you truly need it. However, you should really engineer around the problem, if you can. The price is too high, and the never-ending spam from ActivePDF's salespeople really gets old
Prosrelatively easy to configure. You'll need a separate license for every server instance.
Consthis software is a niche play necessary only for supporting legacy software running on older systems that lack built-in pdf printing functionality

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 25, 2018
Hi David, We strive to provide friendly, helpful communication with our users. Please feel free to reach us directly anytime and we'll be happy to help you. Thanks for the review! ~ ActivePDF Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Trevor m.
System Admin
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018

“web pdf forms made easy”

ProsIt makes it possible to take data from a web form and create a pdf exactly how you want it formatted.
Consthere is somewhat of a learning curve when first setting up your form and the data fields

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 26, 2018
Thank you for your review! In this busy world, we appreciate when users take the time to write about our products! Happy PDFormatting!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018
Frank B.
Director
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“print-to-PDF”

ProsRelatively easy to install, decent documantation
ConsOverlaps with a lot of other products, nothing exceptional to comment on.

Vendor Response

By ActivePDF on July 27, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
jemima g.
international buyer
Logistics and Supply Chain, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019

“friendly ”

Overalleasy way to sign
Prosmeet people for same environmental, not just for same industry
Consto many spam received, i received email each time a person send a friend request
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 18, 2019
Alayna J.
IT Asset Admin
Printing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019

“Fast & Easy”

ProsWebGrabber is great for quick and easy converts.
ConsI cannot think of anything that I don't like about WebGrabber.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Great- but expensive after your free trial ends”

ProsThis is a great product that does exactly what it advertises- compresses PDFs.
ConsThe program is prohibitively expensive after the free trail ends, and my company has stopped using it after the free trail due to this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019