Git Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Git

Distributed source control system that helps software developers to track and manage multiple revisions of the same project. Learn more about Git

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 222 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 222 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“In my opinion the best version control tool right now”

OverallMy company and i privately use git to get code from multiple pc in one place and still have some overview who did what and when. Without git our software development at work would be a glowing pile of code. Also my private work would be even worse than it is right now! Honestly git is a lifesaver when you work on bigger projects and can be used on small ones just as well.
ProsGit is a tool everyone that works on a project should use. YES everyone, doesn't matter if you are alone or a group, locally or somewhere in the cloud. Its also quite easy to setup on your pc and just keep track of what you changed and when. Even though git is primarily used for software projects you can actually also use it when working on text files. Long gone are the days of having 10 versions of a file on your favorite cloud storage. No more "WorkFinal", "Work2.0", "Work2.0FiNAL", "Work2.0FiNALNEW",... When you get the hang out of it, it is easy to get exactly the version of your work you want, find changes in different versions and pick changes from differet versions and make a new one out of it.
ConsThere is a steep learning curve! Using a GUI can help you tremendously especially in the beggining or if you wanna make a quick check, but still its a lot of work to get good in git. Without a GUI it is pretty hard to understand what is going on at first. There is a lot of help to be found online but most ressources already require quite some knowledge of git.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2019

“Very powerful version control system open to your own work style”

ProsGit is a decentralized version control system. Decentralized means that the system does not force any node to be a 'server', 'main' or 'master' node, and that every node has a full copy of all the information. This feature makes Git a very powerful tool, as it lets you build the workflow that is best for you (wether its a simple server/client model or a more complex workflow with a server, developers and a code reviewer/integrator). It also means that if there is a failure in a node (eg the repository is deleted), any other node (or copy of the node) will do as a server with no change. It is open source and free, and it is used in very large projects (it was created originally to manage the Linux kernel code). It means good community support and that it has been tested in critical production environments.
ConsGit is a command line tool. It has not any visual feedback (more than white text over black background) and all the commands must be typed. It is powerful but it also means that it has a lot of commands to remember and some learning curve. But probably the first thing you will do after installing Git will be to install a graphical tool that can ease its use. If you are setting up a 'central' node, you have the same scenario: set it up manually by yourself or find some service already compatible with Git (github.com, AWS CodeCommit, Atlassian Sourcetree). Also, there is no a 'right' way to use git. You will have to find the right workflow for your project or team. Play with it, try some workflows (google 'git-flow' for starters), choose the one that is best for you, and make sure that everybody in your team understands the chosen workflow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Ernesto Enrique F.
Web Operations Manager & Co-Founder
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“The solution to team programming”

OverallMy experience with GIT is better every day since it is a platform that I keep learning to use and the more I learn, the more I like it. I share code with my co-workers and when I work alone, it allows me to have my code updated and clean
ProsSince I met GIT, life has become much easier for me at work. It is the perfect platform for teamwork, even if it is only for yourself because it helps you keep the code updated and ordered. With GIT you can version the work, having several alternatives of the same branch, add comments and keep the code clean. The platform compresses the code and helps you decrease time by uploading large amounts of changes very fast. There are tons of clients to handle GIT visually and many of them are free
ConsThe only thing I do not like is the documentation, when I have needed to consult information about some git command, I consult other web pages to clarify my doubts
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Wilco v.
Webprogrammeur
Program Development, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2019

“The go-to tool for managing your programming projects”

OverallOverall Git is a very nice tool to have. For some more complex tasks like looking up a commit (change) a GUI based Git client can be helpful, but for most actions the command line is the easiest to use. It is quite hard to get the hang of everything at first but once you have learned the most used commands it is quite easy to use.
ProsGit has a lot of options. It's merge and remote repository features are really nice when collaborating on a project, since you don't have to do any manual merging of changes unless you changed the same part of a program. The history feature is also great since you can go back to an older version of your code if you broke something or accidentally deleted something for example.
ConsThe command line is not that easy to use and the documentation isn't very great, so it is hard to use at first. Once you know all the basic commands it is fast to use though. Looking at commit changes in the command line or looking for a specific commit in the command line also isn't very easy and fast, but luckily there are many GUI based clients or remote repo's that can help with this. Sometimes the automatic merging of code still breaks the program, but there isn't much Git can do about this I don't think.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2019
christian o.
Designer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“The standard version control system”

OverallEssential. Don't consider any other version control system - Git is the industry standard. I use the command line for many operations and the GitHub Desktop app for many code-comparison tasks - but there are multiple ways you can use it to suit your workflow.
ProsGit is very powerful and has a huge ecosystem of tools, software, documentation and a vibrant community of developers actively working on improving it. It can be a little daunting using it for the first time, but the wealth of high quality information makes learning it much easier.
Consit can be difficult to pick up, and as it's so powerful and complex some operations can be difficult to understand at first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Program Development, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Git, an amazing version management system for your projects.”

OverallGit management helps you have a better management of each record in the changes you make to your sites or web tools. I tottaly recommend Git to keep a version control of the projects that you carry out in your organization, even this can privilege you and prevent you from losing information or feel that you must start a new project because a code has failed you, Git has that advantage of showing you up the line of the code that has been modified lately and that may be generating conflicts.
ProsGit contains a large community that every day work to improve your environment, you will be very familiar with it encoding through a console; it is very elementary to start some courses to learn to use Git, in my case I could afford the studies to receive Git classes that really helped me to have an absolute dexterity to carry out the monitoring and development of some projects as a team. Git also has Github that allows you to have your projects stored in your collaborative development platform in order to obtain an improvement in our code.
ConsI am very satisfied with the product, so I have nothing more to say.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Caleb J.
Junior Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“Git - Version control in your control”

OverallThe experience has been exceptional, the commands are simple and easy to learn and use. The installation is also pretty simple so you can be up an running in no time. Also paring with GitHub is a breeze, just smooth and sweet. The command-line interface to me is the best since Git is a CLI tool; therefore getting use to the CLI with practice makes total sense.
ProsGit is considered a distributed version control with one of its key feature being its branching ability. The branching feature allows each developer to work in an isolated environment no matter how big or how small the project. This ensure that the master branch remains only with production-quality code at all times. Working with Git, each developer is provided with their own local repository versus having only a working a copy when using the traditional centralized version control systems. The benefit here is speed, things are fast with local history and also it removes the need of having a network access to make commits. Since everyone has their own repo, having some out doesn't break the flow as everyone else will be able to carry on their merry business as usual. Last but not least, Git is easy to learn with a large community and a free Pro Git ebook available for download which has tons of useful information.
ConsI have not found any dislikes about the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Alex Danilo M.
Software developer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019

“Git review”

ProsGit is a fast and reliable open-source system for version control. It allows you to synchronize the code of your projects, create and merge branches. Also, the implementation of branching helps you to differentiate the version of your project on different environments or stages of development. Furthermore, you need to link Git with a hosting service. Using Git with a hosting service for a version control will give you access to several features. Features required to create professional projects with security and development standards.
ConsGit is a lightweight application, that has a high-performance ratio, with simple and easy installation, but for new users, the use of commands on the console (Git-bash) will be complex; especially on merge-conflict issues. But you can find all the documentation that you need to know, and required to solve every problem and doubts on the Git web-portal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Awesome Version Control Management”

OverallWhile there is a slight learning curve involved with using Git, once you get the workflow down you'll wonder how you ever programmed without it.
ProsGit is a version control manager for software projects that allows code versions to be handled through a command line interface. For a project, a master version contains the core project. Branches can be created from a master to develop without affecting the master branch and to add new features to a project. Local and remote repositories are also managed. Git is also compatible with online services, such as Github and Atlassian Bitbucket to sync up offline repositories with the service. Documentation for the system is excellent, with great official documentation as well as plentiful user support and documentation available. Git is very robust and comes ready for use in large-scale, production programs.
ConsFor less experienced users or people using Git for the first time, it might be temping to use GUI tools or services, but in order to learn Git properly it's best to use it by itself and through the command line. There are a lot of commands in Git that may seem daunting at first, but chances are you'll only be using a few of them in most cases and you should be able to Google rarer use cases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Dilraj S.
Sr. Software Developer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2019

“Software versioning and team collaboration for development made easy”

ProsGit is the tool which is in demand these days for software versioning on the cloud and helping teams collaborate on the development projects. Your codebase is safe and secure on the git and you can switch back to earlier versions very easily as git maintains the complete history of all the changes in your codebase. The concept of committing your code and then maintaining separate branches for the same code can come very handy in the today's world requirement of code deployment. The learning curve associated with the tool is not at all steep and even beginners can get started very easily on git and start contributing on team projects.
ConsTeam collaboration on a code often results in merge conflicts which sometimes need to be resolved manually. Git should be more informed about this and try to resolve merge conflicts on its own in order to make developers life more easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2019
FADI H.
Software Senior Engineer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019

“Our primary version control system”

ProsI've been using Git professionally for the last 5 years now. I must say it's far better than any other version control system I've used. That primarily includes SVN and CVS. Git is intuitive for the most part which is definitely a plus. Hooks are definitely I can't live without now. I use pre-commits to validate commit message strings and make sure a valid tag is attached. For instance, I can easily prevent someone from committing code with a tag that belongs to a closed JIRA issue. I use pre-push to build and run local commits befre pushing. I'm even able to create my own Git subcommands (e.g. `git make` to build the code locally, and `git verify` to run a test pack).
ConsThe official documentation (i.e. man git) is a little hard to navigate through. I always find unofficial resources (reference books, Stackoverflow, etc) more convenient when I'm stuck at something.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Jefferson B.
Full-stack Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Essential tool for every coding project”

OverallGit is a wonderful version control tool which has been essential to every professional coding project I've worked in. It may have a steep learning curve when going beyond simple pushes and pulls, but today I can't imagine working without git.
Pros- Lots of features for people working together on the same codebase, from simply making and reading changes on a repository, to more complex features for resolving conflicts and finding when/ how a bug was introduced. - Many code editors integrate easily with git projects. - Well documented and easy to find tutorials on the internet.
ConsIt may not be so easy to learn how to properly use its more advanced features, as command line is not exactly obvious. Some graphical interfaces help with performing some simpler git commands, but they tend to hide how things work underneath so they don't help much with learning how to do things yourself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019

“Git Review”

OverallOnce you understand the basics, Git becomes a tool that you couldn't imagine your life without as a software developer. Git is the standard for version control and I see no reason why that will ever change with the features currently available.
ProsGit has a large community that creates expansive documentation for the software. This is using for any beginner trying to learn the version control system. Git is reliable and allows for collaboration within the software development life cycle. Git allows for branching which essentially separates versions inside a project.
ConsThe learning curve is difficult when trying to grasp the different commands within the command line. Examples include merge conflict issues, invalid git commands, as well as many others. Luckily, documentation is provided which allows any issue to be solved rather quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Akshay M.
Web Engineer Intern
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019

“A Must For Every Software Developer!”

ProsGit doesn't need any introduction on its own. Every software developer knows how it works, and how it is easy the way we code. It keeps the snapshot of every file changes that we made and make a history of every bit added. Git is what it's known as Revision Control System. It works exactly how a tree is structured. Projects can be split into many branches emerging from its parent branch to continue work on some feature which is yet to be designed. In short, it's a software that is designed to build great software for the future.
ConsIn the modern age, every software implementation has a GUI. It does have a GUI, but very basic and its quite difficult to navigate and tinker around. Rest, it's one of the good software implementations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019
Geoffrey C.
Infrastructure/Operations
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019

“One version control to rule them all”

OverallBefore git the code was often managed by a central gatekeeper and was reviewed and modified much less. Git allows you to break and test code without worrying that you will lose progress. It is essential to modern development!
ProsIts distributed, so there is no single point of failure. Logically, the branching model makes sense. It allows for very flexible collaboration with others. There is a record of changes, making it easy to lay blame when something is broken. New users can learn around 6 commands and immediately be productive.
ConsOut of the box there is no security. There is also no obvious wasy to secure certain branches (like master) from other teammates. You either have access to the origin repository or you don't. If a disk is full when push to remotes it will leave those remotes in a broken state.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Ranvir G.
Co-Founder
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 25, 2018

“If you code, you absolutely cannot do without this”

ProsThis is one tool I cannot do without when I am coding. I love to create separate branches for every new feature that I add to a project that I code. It keeps the code so much clean and the best part about Git is that its completely open souce and insanely powerful. It make coding in a team super easy and to go back in time to previous code commits. When it comes to version control Git clearly wins hands down.
ConsGit is a CLI tool and though it has GUI interfaces as well they are nowhere neas as powerful as in CLI mode. This could make Git intimidating to a person new to the dark window of a command prompt or terminal. But if you make the effort to keep using it in CLI, it will become one of the most powerful development tools in anyone's toolbox.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 25, 2018
Benjamin R.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Git does what we need, and saves our butts while at it”

OverallWe use this every day for pretty much anything. It's amazing.
ProsGit is the best thing for software development. And its way easier to use than Subversion. I love it.
ConsCommand line usage is a little harder to use, but once you get the hang of it, its not bad. Overall a quality product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019

“Save the evolution of your code and collaborate easily.”

OverallI use GIT technology on a daily basis many times a day. It is essential for my job as a programmer. Thanks to GIT I have been able to improve the testing systems and thus avoid errors when uploading new changes to the production environment.
ProsThe GIT technology helps to work in teams in an organized way separating all the new features of an application. With a basic use you will always have a history of all the cabios and the possibility of returning to previous versions. With a more advanced use you can use the branch system to have the new functionalities separated without fear of overwriting the work of another partner. In addition, you can create tags to have separate versions of your application.
ConsThe learning curve for advanced use is complicated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Rob H.
Senior UX Designer/Developer
Design, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“Once you get a workflow down it's great”

OverallUnderstanding Git is a must for any type of development. Allowing for version control and multi-channel development is not quite possible with other tools to the extent that it is with Git. It just takes some "Gitting" used to.
ProsI've used Git in many different positions with many different clients. Each seem to use Git slightly differently as far as branches and merges go, but the main thing is that is allows for multiple concurrent parallel development paths to happen at once and to the combine the efforts of many when it's time for code to go live.
ConsConflict management can become a headache. Also it can strange to wrap your head around pushes, pulls, merges, pull requests and branches if you are not used to Git - coming from other code repository platforms as I did.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Avatar Image
Sourav K.
Administrator
Higher Education, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2018

“The best version control system out there”

OverallGit helps me everyday to manage my code base and to collaborate with clients and 3rd party vendors and developers.
ProsThis is one indispensible tool for all Sofrware Developers and all Software projects. Whether you are working alone or with a team on a project Git is absolutely essential for your workflow. It lets multiple people work on the same file independently, it lets us create branches of the same code base so that new features could be tested. It also lets us go back in time to review commits and see who has made the changes in the code.
ConsThe only one con of using Git is that it has quite a steep learning curve. It can be very intimidating for beginners especially for people who has never before worked with a CLI tool. Though there are Applications out there that does provide a GUI interface to Git, none of them are nearly as powerful and feautureful as the original CLI tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2019

“Git - Best tool for code versioning.”

OverallI am using Git in all my software projects, and by default code versioning tool and it's a standard in the software industry.
Pros* It's light-weight. * It's not centralized. If you use another option where the source is centralized, you have a higher risk of losing your code if the central server is lost. * It's easy to pull changes for team members and analyze what they are doing. * The command line interface it's great, it has everything you need. * The way it stores difference is great and saves a lot of space. * Other third party software have integrations with Git.
ConsAt the begging is difficult to understand the concepts and to use the command line interface, but once you get used to it, your productivity increases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Emiliano Gibrán G.
IT Senior Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“My experience using Git”

OverallI've been using git in many projects. It is a great tool to work with many team members on the same code. I've integrated the code developed in Web Platform with a Git repository and has become a very useful tool that provides security and confidence to refactor and prevent issues. I've had some problems with corrupted files that can't be removed or restored which the only possible solution was to delete the repository and clone it again.
ProsGreat version control. Distributed system for use all over the world. Secure and useful. Great to manage project features and releases. Allows to refactor code without fear of messing up.
ConsSome times it can have issues that can't be solved, like having a corrupted file that shows as modified and does not allow to get rid of that with commands.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019

“Versioning your projects with Git”

OverallUsing a version control system can be a very important addition to a project and, once you start using it, you'll probably wonder how you ever did things before. Git does its job very well by providing a efficient solution for a version control system.
ProsI've been using Git for most of my projects for some time now and it serves me really well. It offers great performance, works offline (which is a very big plus for when you're doing things on the move and cannot access a reliable connection) and adapts really well to your needs, allowing you to specify the workflow that works out best for your project and/or team.
ConsBecause of the amount of commands and terms, it has a steep learning curve and can be a little hard for some people to get used at first. However, as the times passes and you start using the most frequent commands and learning them, it works really well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019
Pablo S.
RPA Developer
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“My Own Experience working with Git”

OverallMy overall experience using Git is AWESOME. Without GitLab, I'm sure that i won't be able to keep all of my projects updated. Thanks to Git I was able to recover lost code due to a serious PC failure.
ProsWith Git you have many advantages that you would not have with other applications: · You can keep your code well structured and saved. · You can have control of who sees the code you want. · You can request access to third-party code. · You can access open source sources. · You can keep different branches in a code record so that in one you can have code and modify it, and in another branch save only code that works without errors.
ConsThe worst thing about Git, maybe is not an important thing but, I would realy like to improve a bit the desktop aplication, and also, be able to link it to few more applications that now it could be.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Daniele C.
Head of software development
Pharmaceuticals, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019

“Essential tool for developers”

OverallI am very happy to having started using Git. I feel much more confident in managing our releases and versions.
ProsGit is in every professional development tool, as it should be. It is simply what developers needed to manage versioning, branches. Being so well integrated, it is a software you can use without thinking too much, at least for the most basic features.
ConsIt is not so easy to use when you have to "fix" things... To be honest, it is a little bit different to suggest how to improve it, since it is doing a lot of complicated things (merge between old versions, roll backs, forks, ...) but sometimes is a little tricky to use it how you should.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019
Raveendra S.
Software Engineer
Computer Networking, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019

“Powerful version control with tons of features”

OverallGit has time and again proved to be versatile enough to handle projects from the smallest of them to extremely large projects. The branching and pull-request based model makes maintaining many line ups of the code base a fairly simple process. Although a bit daunting for a beginner, the
Pros- Branching, merging and distributed capabilities allow for great ways to collaborate. - Decentralized version control allows working offline and later integrating the work to the remote repository. - The popularity of git means many editors and IDEs support it out of the box making this a good choice - Has many GUI application frontends which provide a good overview of the repository
Cons- The amount of features can be overwhelming for a beginner - While most commonly used features are quite well known, the more obscure ones can be confusing for even a seasoned developer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“Can't live without”

OverallTrying to remember how could we manage software source code without such a great tool as git is. It was a hassle to track versions, to collaborate. By using git (and other online tools built on top of it, like github) developers we can work together but separated as well, we can automate processes involving changes in the codebase, track versions etc.
ProsWhen, a decade ago, started using git, it caused such a relief from traditional source code version tracking hassle, that I still feel the joy of using it. It has a lot of options and use cases and always discovering new options.
ConsCommand line options are not easy to get used to and learn. Luckily there are plenty of GUIs that can help in daily usage.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2019

“Version control of your projects”

OverallI use Git to have control of the production versions of the team's projects. In this way I coordinate the merge to the master branch as well as the approval of the pull requests. In this way, both the code backup and its integrity are ensured.
ProsWith this tool I can have control of the code of my projects. And with the functionality of the branches my team can work on several functionalities at the same time without affecting the production branch. In the same way, production problems can be solved without affecting the work of other developers.
ConsBe very careful with the management of branches and merges, since sometimes conflicts between branches can cause code to be lost from some of them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Denis d.
Ph.D. Student
Research, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“The version control of the world”

OverallGIT saved countless times. It helped me organize my code and with online repositories, I avoided loosing work due to unfortunate events.
ProsMost of the modern development softwares (from text/code editors to robust all-in-one suites/studios) offer builtin support for it. GIT became a true standard for version control. All major online code repositories run on it. Nowadays, you rarely need to know how to use other version control systems.
ConsWhile most modern development software supports GIT, sometimes you'd need to use it through command line. That means you may need to learn how to use it, and there are quite a few parameters to memorize, which takes some time and effort.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018

“Version Control Heaven”

ProsYou can't call yourself a programmer if you are not familiar with Git. Git makes it easy for teams (and individuals) to have an organized version control system in place and to collaborate on complex projects. It has become an industry standard and is not going anywhere. As long as you learn the basic commands such as clone, add, commit, push, pull, and branch, you are good to go. Using Git makes the experience of DevOps so much more convenient and easy to manage and be part of.
ConsI guess it is a little tricky to learn at first, especially if you are new to programming, but the benefits of being fluent with Git are simply priceless.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2018
Hariprasath T.
SSE
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Review for Git”

Overallgit is a version control tool which is helped to manage your project and to keep track of your local development. So without git, we can't have a good collaborative/ Version controlling software call Github for the software development.
Prosgit is a version control tool which is helped to manage your project and to keep track of your local development. So without git, we can't have a good collaborative/ Version controlling software call Github for the software development.
ConsThe process is not a very straight forward one. You have to learn more and need to struggle in the initial stages to understand the processes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Petr V.
Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2019

“The most widespread tool for version tracking and collaboration.”

OverallToday's standard for collaboration on code with team but not only because of tracking changes on our code, it servicing as incremental backup solution too.
ProsDirect integrations in many IDE. Many GUI tools to control like Tortoise and etc. Free and open source, can be hosted on own server. Documentation and many tutorials available. Ready to manageable via scripts. Cross platform compatibility. Binary saving, so it's suitable not only for texts. Saving snapshots saves disk space. Internet independent, can be used in offline mode.
ConsThere is no disadvantages, maybe some additional features which can be easily supplement by others projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“git review”

Overallin my project git is the best tool for managing our code. we are a big development team and git make us easy to manage our code.
Prosit has two different ways to do things. by clicking in the application and by console. If there is some function supported by the visual application, there is a lot of examples for doing it by commands. it is a great tool for beginners and experts. you can manage your product in the most basic way or you can improve your process with the advanced options.
ConsI have had some issues with the credentials but is just a matter to research and the solution comes up. I always have to chose my credentials but it works.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Joel Isaac M.
Co Founder
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“The versioning tool”

OverallI love it, now I every time that I am in my computer ready to programming, I have always a shell ready to use git, is like a ritual now for me.
ProsGit is almost everywhere, and I say almost because I don't know every versioning service as azure, GitHub, bitbucket but git is almost everywhere, if you want to work as a developer you MUST learn git, that is the biggest pro with git.
ConsI don't have any cons to say about git, in my experience, once you learn it you will love it, or maybe this is a con, "Once you learn it" and then you figure out that you never end learning about git.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Kaleb-John L.
Senior Firmware Engineer
Computer Networking, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019

“The Source Code Management Standard”

OverallGit is used as one of the primary version control programs at our company. It is used for its intended purpose which is to manage our code base and it does it exceptionally well. It only takes an hour or so to learn the basics of Git and once you do that, Git becomes an invaluable resource.
ProsGit is a simple to use free source code management program. You can locally create and manage a workspace with versioning and quickly setup your project with a couple simple commands. From there you can setup a server or use a myriad of online Git servers to share your work with others and have a collaborative project where everyone can contribute their work with minimal conflicts.
ConsOnce you learn a few Git commands most of Git is simple to use. The only downside compared to other version control software is that Git does not handle merge conflicts as well. Sometimes Git will require you to manually merge the files while other software will do a better walkthrough of the conflicts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2019
Santhosh P.
System Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019

“Version control for programmers! ”

OverallGreat. I use it for everything I possibly can. Even todo lists.
ProsGit is a CLI tool. That means it can only be accessed from the command line. If you're not already intimidated by that, it is a hoot. Even though it may seem daunting at first, once you learn the basic commands, it becomes surprisingly easy to use. The main advantage of Git over the GUI alternatives is the amount of control and straightforwardness. Sure, a GUI tool might have a similar option to selectively commit files like Git, buried underneath a bunch of menus. But with Git, it is just a matter of looking up the documentation, or recalling from memory if you've used it before. This is what makes a Git workflow powerful and fast.
ConsThe git diff command can be hard to understand, and the default text editor that it uses always seems to be Vi, which is not the most intuitive thing to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Aviation & Aerospace, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2018

“MUST-HAVE FOR EVERY CODER”

ProsThe source code management of Git is the necessity of every coder. It works fast. Git integrates so well with different IDEs. It is great in branching, also pull requests for code management. It is amazing and unlike other similar service. It is simple and useful. You can't call yourself a professional developer if you don't use Git at least at times.
ConsGetting used to Git could be a bit of a challenge initially, but I'd definitely recommend all CS students and programming enthusiasts to give it a try and watch a few tutorials. Git will save you a lot of time and work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2018
Martin E.
Senior Programmer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018

“Git is best, most frustrating version control system, and I couldn't live without it.”

OverallGit has become a huge productivity tool for me, as it allows me to seamlessly (and separately) work on various code features, without stomping on work that others are doing. At first, I found it overly complex, and wondered what all the fuss was about, but I know that without it I'd spend most of my time managing code repositories, rather than creating new features.
ProsSeamless merging of code branches, great handling of conflicts, perfect alone or in a team.
ConsBy it's nature, Git can be complex. It is certainly more complex than other version control systems, but that complexity allows for much more flexibility, and once you learn the best practices, you won't look back.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Morgan C.
CIO
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018

“Git won the SCM war”

OverallWe manage all our code with git. We've never had issues, and the power of rebasing and merging and feature branches enable us to work with a distributed team.
ProsI've been using git since 2007 and it has become the de facto version control system that every developer needs to know and use. Particularly for Open Source, it has won the war over other distributed version control systems like arch, bzr and mercurial, aided by add ons like github.com which made git "easy" and enabled standard workflows on top of it.
Consgit still has sharp edges, and unintuitive commands - but this is the byproduct of its flexibility.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018
Sean B.
Student
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Integral for any developer”

OverallUsed to track progress for any and every project, just knowing that I can experiment without breaking everything, even just saving things that I learn over time so I can quickly refer back to them.
ProsEase of mind knowing that everything is backed up and logged while working on solo projects, and being able to track collaborative work efficiently. I mean, it's git, if you're a developer, you need this.
ConsThere is a learning curve, particularly for more sophisticated features, this demands some more time investment from the user's side, that being said the returns are worth it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Wechuli P.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Defacto Version Control System”

OverallDefacto Version Control System which gives me all I need to track my software development, and having used it for several years, am still discovering new things.
Pros- Free and open source - Fully featured, I cannot think of any feature I want in a Version Control System that Git does not provide - Good documentation and community support, you cannot encounter an issue that has not yet been addressed and dealt with by the community.
Cons- I honestly cannot come up with anything negative to say about Git only that some of its functionalities can be quite overwhelming at first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Isuru H.
Undergraduate in Software Engineering
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2019

“Only source code control system one will ever need”

ProsGit is the most popular source code control at this point most of the people only know about Git when it comes to source code controlling. It has all the features need in software developing when it comes to source controlling. Git has a lot of learning materials through out the internet which is very helpful for someone begins in the field as well as there are many platforms which uses Git in source controlling like GitHub, GItLab, BitBucket.
ConsThere is nothing to dislike about Git. It is the best source controlling system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019

“Git, the source control of my choice”

ProsIt just works. Coming from a history of subversion, where every branch / merge took at least a few minutes on a larger code base and led to conflicts to solve manually, those actions just work in git without any hassle. The whole ecosystem around git is a big plus, too. There is no vendor lock-in.
ConsIn the beginning, it's more complicated to get started. Checking in files is a two step process (checkout and push), compared to non-decentralized version control systems like subversion. But that's basically the only con I can imagine at the moment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“Day to day user”

ProsEveryone knows how to use Git and what is it for. I will not address the basic commands and instead consider a huge plus for this software the less known commands that let you create amazing software histories regarding the file changes just from simple commit messages. Amazing tool for finding out the history of a project, the strong points, and the weak ones. Been using it this way quite a number of times and that helped me change my software accordingly.
ConsPerhaps the learning curve is a bit tough but it only requires experience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Dmitrii M.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019

“The must have for evolving code”

OverallI use it for my own projects and also for projects at my work.
ProsI like the functionality of git, it is very powerfull tool. I like the possibility of working on many features of my software simultaneously bycreating new branches such a way that I can have stable main software separately. I like that I can keep the history of the project and understand after some weeks why I implemented some code in this way and not other.
ConsIt is very powerfull tool, but also very complicated for a beginner. Also some same actions can be perfomed in different ways.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019

“Best version control tool for team projects”

OverallMy experience with Git has always been satisfying. It helps to understand the code I have written in the past, it helps our team to work together more efficiently and it keeps our code organized. It is a must-have tool for every programmer.
ProsIn my opinion, Git is the best version control system for teamwork. You can even use it for your own projects because of the version history. It really comes handy when you want to understand the code you have written two months ago.
ConsThere is really nothing I can say is wrong with Git right now. I think it is perfect!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019
Alan Henrique d.
Systems Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Modern version control”

ProsGit has a lot of good things, specially for those who came from other older version control tools. For me one of the best things is how easily you can do simple operations with short command lines such as creating and switching branches, auto merge, repositories, and so on.
ConsFrom my personal experience one of the worst things about Git is the automatic merge when you work with huge xml files. The editor goes crazy and to avoid losing time the best option is do it manually with some another merging tool such as Meld, for example.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Git is awesome!”

ProsVersion control is the basis of distributed development. I don't know anything better than git in version control. It allows a group of people to collaborate successfully on something, and that is simply amazing. It allows us to keep track of what matters to us over time without losing our heads.
ConsWhen someone doesn't know the tool very well and makes a mistake all the team suffers. The flow is easily broken making everyone responsible of following good practices if not the team could waste a lot of time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2019

“A must use for every developer”

Overallmarvellous! i remember my time in school where i haven't use GIT, and create many "final version" and "super final version" folder. this answer all that versioning and conflict in code
Pros- easy to use - can be used in any popular OS - extremely useful for collaboration work - even if you use for your own private project, still useful for its original use case, version control
Cons- need a standardize web GUI (well, you don't really need a web GUI anyway actually) - need a simpler official guide, especially operating with all those optionality on every command
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2019
Gedson S.
Senior Production Engineer
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“Git is the de-facto collaborative source control solution”

OverallEveryone here embraced Git with great joy, from software developers to field engineers and DevOps guys. We version-control everything now, which is also a great way to protect yourself against ransomware attacks.
ProsGit's distributed concept has trashed CVS and SVN for good. It's clean and simple support for branching is second to none. It'svery scalable and reliable, and works great for small and large teams alike.
ConsConflict resolution could be better dealt with, as well as merging suggestions. AI based on the global community experience would be a great fit here.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019