Apache Subversion Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Apache Subversion

Open-source revision control and software versioning system that provides interactive conflict resolution, merge tracking, file locking, and more. Learn more about Apache Subversion

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Nigel Masimba R.
WordPress Developer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019

“I Only Use It to Upload to a Public repository”

OverallI've been using Apache Subversion for almost a year, but not as my main version control software. Work on my projects using another version control software, then when projects are ready to ship to the public repository I simply paste in the folder of the latest version into my Subversion folder, so I don't use it for version control per se. I just use Subversion because the public repository I upload to uses it. That said, there's nothing outright bad about Subversion. Other version control software fits better into my normal build workflow.
ProsIt works well for version control, and I am yet to have any merge conflicts. It allows users to determine the version numbers using built-in features. Version numbering is not straight forward, at least in my case. I only manage one application which needs to have the version number updated in 3 separate files, which is not quite straightforward at first. The public repository is much more easier to navigate and download software than the private version
ConsIt's not as easy to use as other version control software. With Apache Subversion it feels like I am manually creating files and then adding version tags or metadata to them, Whereas with my preferred version control system, I select which files I'm tracking, and whenever I need I commit the files to create new versions without having to manually separate the different versions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Jayesh S.
Senior Software Developer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Best software for versioning of files or documents”

OverallEasy to use this software. I would like to highlight some of its features in short note as following. Create Repository, Checkout, Update, Perform Changes, Review Changes, Fix Mistakes, Resolve Conflicts,Commit Changes and many more. After all these about features i would like to say that there should be one feature in it and that is while we are working on any file and meanwhile if any other is trying to edit that file then it should alert that someone else is working in this file. It will be help the both person that who is working on this file so they can work in that way which will reduce the conflicts of files.
Proseasy to maintain the current and historical versions of files such as source code, web pages, and documentations.
Consaccording to my experience, there is no any features that i don't like about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Ramya R.
Technology Lead
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019

“Subversion review”

OverallIt is a good software for version control and code management with the visual indicators.
ProsI like the visual indicators such as green color when the source code is up to date and red color when there are any edits that are still pending to be checked in. not all products offer that sort of color coding. you can figure out the status even without opening the source code.
ConsSometimes, it has made me get the latest version and the source code was still not updated. I had to manually delete the entire branch and get the entire source code.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“Like Git but Different”

OverallI've been using it since last year for work purposes and overall, I'm really satisfied with it. But unfortunately, it being overtaken by Git.
ProsBeen using this since last year (for work purposes) and there are several advantages when compare to Git. These advantages include: 1. Easier to find very old code by providing the version number. 2. It points out changes between working base (uploaded code) and working copy (existing code). 3. Prevents accidental committing of conflicted files. 4. Free and open source.
ConsThe thing I don't like SVN is that: 1. Clean up command takes quite some time. 2. Sometimes, it takes really long time to load changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Kevin B.
Software Developer
Building Materials, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“Great Version Control Tool”

OverallThis was an upgrade from using Visual Source Safe but I needed to do so training on it before jumping in to set things up.
ProsIt had the option to rollback to a previous version if you wanted to undo a check in. It provided options to require locking certain files before modification while allowing the other files to be merged with any new revisions that happened during their modification. This gave the best answer for 2 scenarios where you have text files that are easy to merge and database files that you never want to automate a merge on. You can get plugins to add a GUI interface to work with Subversion and to integrate it with Visual Studio.
ConsThe terminology such as check out means something completely different than check out in Source Safe. So the need to get educated on what each term means is important when using this software, especially when coming from something similar to Source Safe.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Mohd Kasif S.
Systems Analyst
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 1, 2019

“Great for version control”

ProsEasy to learn and use. Maintains different revisions of source code based within branches so it helps in reverting to previous versions if needed. Committing and merging the code is also pretty straightforward.
ConsSometimes conflicts when merging different branches together into another branch.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“A good reversion control system”

OverallWe are using this tool for source code revision control, as a team we found its a good tool for source code version control, It makes easy to know what was there in the previous versions of a file, what changes we made in past in a particular file, it keeps tracks the changes made in past and who made those changes and when the changes were made.
ProsI like this software becase its Open source, Easy to use,and can be setup easily.
ConsWorking with svn commands is a bit difficult, as compared with working with User interface
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Martin E.
Senior Programmer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2018

“A reliable and feature-rich version control system”

OverallI use Subversion regularly as it has proven to be reliable and feature-rich. I find it especially useful for smaller teams, although I'm sure it can work well on a larger-scale too. Generally I've found issues easier to resolve with Subversion than alternative version control systems.
ProsSubversion is simple to use, and works well for software development teams. It is easy to troubleshoot issues and conflicts, and initial configuration is fairly painless.
ConsI ran into a few merging issues with Subversion, but it was easy enough to reset and start again, until successful.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Davesh M.
DevOps Intern
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“Fantastic version control for complex software”

ProsWildcard functionality, speed, ability to manage a software projects with hundreds of developers and analysts
ConsAccess Control list files can become hard to manage and can easily become unusable due to small errors
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Jeffrey M.
Software Security Analyst
Insurance, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019

“Subversion with UI for linux environment”

ProsProduct works well with out the box with integration to git. this however provides a UI which makes branching out and merging code smooth and direct. This has greatly helped in the new company i work for as i have remote into linux machines to set up and deploy code.
ConsBit of a leaning curve to learn new commands and ensure code is pushed smoothly. Recent update has fixed merging issue which resulted in falling back to git terminal .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019
Matthew C.
Software Engineer
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019

“The minimum requirement for version control”

OverallMy experience with Subversion is a little dated, as I have since migrated most of our repositories to Git, but in the past it served its purpose for basic version control, despite lacking the extra feature sets of Git.
ProsSubversion (or SVN) is an easy to setup and use service and provides a comprehensive history of changes made to code. It's difficult to go wrong with SVN, owing due to how simple it is in concept.
ConsSubversion has been largely overtaken by Git as the industry standard, as it lacks features such as offline branches and support for intelligent branching and merging as a platform compared to its competitor, though it remains a viable workflow for smaller scale projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019
Jay A.
Sr. Principal Software Test Engineer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019

“No longer impressed with Subversion but it still gets the job done.”

ProsSubversion is easy to use and straightforward compared to modern version control systems. It still works well and gets the job done.
ConsIt's not distributed and it doesn't support true tagging (basically it's a branch!).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Hardware, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“Solid Command Line Based Version Control Solution”

ProsFull featured and versatile for those familiar with command line interfaces.
ConsWhile it does have learning curve as with most open source solutions, there are add on software components which add on even a graphical user interface and right click menu integration.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019