Readdle PDF Expert Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Readdle PDF Expert

Readdle PDF Expert helps to read, convert and change texts and images on your PDF files. Learn more about Readdle PDF Expert

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jan O.
researcher
Higher Education, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2019

“Great and promising start then stagnation”

OverallI am using it for my research and it is a very good piece of software, definitely worth of money. I just have to switch to other software if I want to do OCR (or work in Windows, ehm), which is a little bit annoying.
ProsSince I have to read many articles for my research, I really, really like many features in PDF Expert, especially: - It is easy to use, quick, nice design - Intelligent typewriter! I am writing usually my notes on the margins of pages. I really love that PDF Expert intelligently formats and breaks the the typewritten note so it does not overlap the text of the article. I have never seen this feature anywhere else and I wish it would be more common. Great idea! - Overview of all pages and easy and quick way of manipulating with pages - The price was fair!
ConsWhen I was buying PDF Expert a couple of years ago, I asked the customer support whether OCR support was coming. I was told that yes and that it would come soon. Last time I checked, it was still not there. This is definitely the most important feature I miss in PDF Expert. - I used to have occasional issues with rendering of some scanned books and even crashes, however, this seems to be quite okay now. - There was really not much development since I bought it which was a little bit disappointing. Recently, I started to use more frequently Windows, so I bought PDF-Xchange editor. And yes - it does not have the intelligent typewriter - but it has so many features that I was missing in PDF Expert. I think you could get some inspiration from there, like manipulation with bookmarks, OCR (PDF-Xchange has even two different OCR engines), more advanced work with styles (a great thing!). You don't have to add everything - I understand that PDF Expert should be much lighter and easier to use - but maybe something. :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2019
Stefan R.
Owber
Publishing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2019

“Great PDF APP”

OverallWe record audiobooks and have several directors working with texts in several different studios on iPads. iAnnotate was proving a disaster, basically because it was so hard to find documents and sync them quickly. PDF expert is very good for our business.
ProsEase of use. Ease of locating files. It's simple to create new pdfs from exitsing files; easy to extract pages and rearrange them. Good and easy synching with Dropbox and Google Drive.
ConsNavigation (wish it had more ways to navigate through large pdfs.) Simpler and clearer bookmark functions.It's the ONLY thing I miss from iAnnotate. wish it has a progress bar through the document.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2019
Scott B.
President
Law Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“Like the Industry Leader, Just Cheaper and Easier to Use”

ProsGreat PDF product with correspondent mobile apps. May not have all the bells and whistles of the market leader, but it has the necessary tools.
ConsIf I had a complaint, it would be that the custom stamp tool doesn't allow for multi-line text.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Dustin M.
Graduate Student
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019

“Best PDF annotator for iOS and macOS”

ProsPDF Expert works very well on both macOS and iOS. I use it on both of these OS's every day. The pen functionality of my iPad Pro works very well with PDF Expert. I am able to write, highlight, comment, etc. on the PDF's as I am able to on paper. Functionality to add a PDF page, remove a page, or merge PDF's is great.
ConsFunctionality to convert a PDF to Word (or other document type) would be nice. Whenever I need to convert a document to Word, or make a scanned document searchable, I have to use Adobe Acrobat DC. It'd be nice being able to use a single PDF software for these purposes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Dr Jean-Marc D.
Digestive endoscopy
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Excellent PDF reader with tabs”

ProsFor me, most PDF readers are equal except a few ones because they have extra functionalities. PDF expert allows you to open tabs. When working with 10 articles, this is much more functional than having 10 windows open of Preview for Mac. Also, the search can be performed in all open PDF files. This is a small plus but for day to day use it helps. It does not consume much of my small CPU power like Adobe readers
ConsIt has no real con, just it lacks features for which I use other readers: combine PDFs (PDF elements does it well), take a snapshot (references at the end of an article so you don't have to go from the text to ref back and fro - skim does this).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Jacob A.
Minister
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“Best PDF Reader/Editor”

OverallPDF Expert is hands-down the best PDF Reader for iOS devices. I have gotten several co-workers using it, to prepare lessons and use their iPads to teach.
ProsClean look/display, easy to use annotation tools, easy setup and integration of cloud storage
ConsHonestly, PDF Expert has never limited me in my work. Can't think of any negatives. Kudos guys.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
James R L.
Project Manager
Renewables & Environment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2019

“A great substitute for Adobe Acrobat”

OverallEverything I need to do with a pdf file I can do in PDF Expert. Great solution for filling out forms and adding signatures.
ProsAble to switch to PDF Expert and get to grips with the app in no time. User Interface is well laid out. Very easy to fill out pdf forms and add signatures.
ConsYou have to buy it twice if you want to use it on a mobile platform as well as a Mac. Occasionally will not open some pdf's which will open with Acrobat Reader. The pdf file needs to be "repaired" before PDF Expert will open it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Eric W.
Realtor
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2019

“One of the best PDF experiences on any platform”

ProsEasy Cheap! Incredibly flexible on both iOS and Mac you have just about anything with a PDF or file storage you could hope for
ConsI guess the interface takes a few hours to get used to ... other than that I have no complaints
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2018

“Readdle is the best”

ProsPDf Expert is an excellent product. It's available on all my devices, and best of all offers iCloud support. I work with large files, so I outline these files for easy navigation on the Mac app, and then navigate the documents and work with them primarily on my iPad. Most of all, I love the flat fee pricing. No subscription required.
ConsI wish it were easier to outline files on the iPad. Also, the cost of the software can seem kind of high, but it's totally worth it and occasionally Readdle will offer it at a discounted price.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Srinivasan T.
Professor
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Great PDF tool on apple”

ProsI love the versatility and availability across apple devices. helps me work on multiple platforms. allows for quick editing, form filling and annotations
Conspricing is tough for academicians, especially on iOS
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Patrick B.
President
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018

“Robust with high value”

ProsI use this on my Mac an iPhone. Does anything you can with the Adobe subscription for a fraction of the price with a software license. Manage, annotate, append, highlight, underscore, redact, convert (Word, Excel), drag/drop, sign ... Extremely fast.
ConsWhile being very user-friendly, the user needs to acquaint themselves with the workflow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018
Aaron W.
Attorney
Biotechnology, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“Great PDF viewing software”

ProsThis is the best PDF viewing software that I've used. Searching is fast, and seeing the context is really helpful.
ConsNo optical character recognition is the main drawback.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Law Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“Great Software!!”

ProsEase of use, price and features set this product apart from others
ConsNo find matching ability and no OCR. Two huge features which should be included if your going to succeed in the PDF business.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
Waleed A.
Doctor
Hospital & Health Care, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018

“Another PDF editor”

Overall a good rather best PDF editor for the iOS but way less capable than desktop softwares and even very poor reader for PDF books.
ProsThis is one of the many PDF softwares available for iOS and mac but one of the few "editors" for iPAD/iOS. The good news is, it does what it says and perhaps the most capable one for the iPAD. it is also comaptible seamlessly with documents (by readle) so that once you buy PDF expert, its features are automatically enabled in the documents app. it is also fast and stable enough 10 usds (In my country) is a price so much justified for the features.
Consno free version no trial. pay to use. color accuracy is sometimes horrible. (again wish i could send screenshot but) a simple nice light blue color may appear horrible dark blue like (imagine the header of a window on Windows 98) but the search feature is slower than Adobe reader and documents by readle and the scrolling is not as smooth as on adobe either( which i could upload short video of what i mean)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Readdle PDF Expert review”

ProsReaddle PDF Expert is a powerful PDF reader/editor and has basically every functionality you would want out of a PDF software. The iPad version is very nice for annotation, taking notes and doing sketches.
ConsThe full version is quite expensive, but if a powerful PDF tool is something you need, Readdle's PDF Expert is a great choice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Jeremy D.
Web Developer / Owner
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018

“Great PDF Editor for most users”

OverallOverall, I got this on sale with a software bundle, but I use it very often. I bought the iOS versions as well, and they provide a nice way to edit remotely. I now need another software to create PDF forms- but I hope they someday will add that feature to PDF Expert.
ProsVery nice GUI, works very well to edit text, annotate, comment, digital signatures, append / edit / delete pages, and nice export features.
ConsDoes not allow PDF form creation or editing. User interface can take a little time to learn (some mystery meat buttons and settings)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2018
Jeff S.
Pastor
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Great, especially with Documents app”

ProsPDF Expert's integration with the Documents app is fantastic. I can sync entire folders worth of documents and freely annotate them with Apple Pencil. Great workflow!
ConsNot much is unlikable, but occasionally the small buttons on the screen are difficult to tap.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Michael E.
Fixed Income Operations Specialist
Investment Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018

“Readdle PDF Expert for Apple”

ProsThe ability to seamlessly and quickly edit PDF's on Apple devices is a great way to get work done outside of the office.
ConsDue to the constraints of being on mobile devices, the UI can be a bit clunky at times. It still works much better than the native PDF editor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 19, 2018
Ejikam G.
Graphics designer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Less stress”

OverallMy experience is what i will share with all i need to tell about it, just open and use,boom,your day has been made
ProsWhat exactly do you need to do on pdf,export or import,edit or create , you have got readdle here for you,just open it and see its simple display.Working on it is just as easy as you think,you need no lecture to use this,The app is also compatible for your phone
ConsNothing,its been goo since i used it and keep using it,i enjoy using it with no doubt of how my final work will look like
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Daniel W.
Founder
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018

“I Like PDFs Again”

OverallPDF Expert is by far the best PDF software I've ever used. It's the best alternative to Acrobat and Preview (Mac OS).
ProsPDF Expert gets out of my way and makes it easy for me to create and edit PDFs. It lets me edit the text on existing PDFs, add images, and even redact text if I need to. I can also add and remove pages from a PDF, or extract a specific page. The one-time price also makes it a great value.
ConsThe ability to create fillable forms would be nice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018
Regis F.
Student
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018

“Best File-Manager on iPad”

ProsYou can sync Dropbox Folders locally for offline access.
ConsYou have to pay extra if you want to edit pdf-Files
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018
Mark R.
Mobile Computing and AR VR Manager
Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“PDF Expert Outshines Competition”

OverallPrimarily creating forms that can be filled in on mobile devices, then uploaded or emailed to the project team. Incorporating complex JavaScript for calculations and logic, and it performs extremely well no mobile devices, especially when compared directly to Adobe Mobile or other PDF products.
ProsMore features than Adobe mobile and other products, including support for JavaScript. Easy to use, connects to cloud services seamlessly.
ConsVery little. SharePoint connector was a little tricky to set up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Julie L.
Marketing
Animation, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2018

“More than a pdf viewer”

ProsGreat app for your iPad and iPhone if you are looking for an alternative for acrobat. Love that this program allows you to sign documents digitally and flatten PDFs easily.
ConsI don't like that you can't create fillable forms with this product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2018
Brett L.
Account Manager
Consumer Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018

“PDF Expert Review”

ProsEasy to use, love that I can edit edit and fill out forms from mobile and desktop apps.
ConsOnly thing I wish it had was the ability to create fillable pdf forms, if they add that it would be perfect for me.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“Great Helper!!”

OverallI has been great.
ProsAlmost everything! An excellent software, with an fabulous improvement curve. Very good features such as digital signature.
ConsDefinitely the price. The price has been increasing allong the past years. But overall I think it is a bit pricey.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 24, 2018

“Really good PDF Editor.”

ProsIt is really useful for marking corrections, especially on a larger screen such as an iPad's. It also has a lot of updates so it stays up to date.
ConsWould be useful if when turning on night mode, the highlighted text turned into a more readable colour.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 24, 2018