Inkscape Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Inkscape

Open-source vector graphics tool with object creation and manipulation, rendering, text support, fill and stroke functionality. Learn more about Inkscape

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 153 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 153 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Sébastien L.
Directeur
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019

“To Create High-Quality Vector Images for Free, Look No Further Than Inkscape”

OverallBecause Inkscape is able to work with many different image formats, it has enabled me to convert raster images to vectors at work, making it possible to print high quality promotional material. Its ability to open and modify PDF and AI (Adobe Illustrator) files is a real plus, as designers will often send their work in those formats. I have encountered a few frustrations while using it, but my overall experience is definitely positive and I would recommend this software any day of the week to any person getting into vector graphics design. Inkscape is a polished piece of software, working as expected on all major platforms (Windows, MacOS and Linux). For some rare corner cases, it even provides a built-in XML editor, allowing you to edit textually any detail of your creation, which can surprisingly be easier to understand by abstracting away the user interface in a readable format. It can be overwhelming to learn how to use all of its features, but there are great resources available on Internet and in the "Help" menu in Inkscape, including a lengthy manual and tutorials ranging from basic to advanced level.
ProsOne of the features I like the most about Inkscape, apart from the fact that it is an open source (free) software, is its ability to convert bitmap images to vectors, which can be done in a variety of ways depending on the desired result (brightness cutoff, edge detection, color quantization, etc.). The Bezier tool is also very intuitive to use, even more so than in other applications such as GIMP, which doesn't support paths and SVG as well as Inkscape. Using the Bezier, you can either draw an approximate path to be modified later or add precise curves along the way to minimize the work to be done after the path is created. Some tools, like Spray, Eraser and Gradient, provide some handy shortcuts to create absolutely interesting effects without much effort. For instance, Spray can take another object as a selection, the Eraser automatically redraws the modified paths without the erased part and the Gradient tool can take as an argument the average color in a selection. Most of the commonly used tools are present by default, but you can choose to move or remove many of them. Amongst those tools, there are many snapping behaviors available that can be turned on and off quickly along with many more windows that can pop up or be reduced on demand. It takes some time to get used to the way windows can be rearranged, but it provides greater flexibility down the road.
ConsInkscape is filled with so many options that the default interface can look like a mess on small resolution screens: hopefully, it is possible to remove less used buttons by customizing the interface. Sometimes, when working with images that render a very high amount of details by applying filters, the software becomes slow and may unexpectedly crash. Unfortunately, it is a hard problem to avoid, the only available choice being to use as few filters as possible until the very end. Without using extensions, it is also hard to position guides according to your needs: you have to do manual calculations to make sure you can properly align guides between them. There are many ways to snap objects together, but it's still tricky to try to center a vertex from one object to the center point between two other points from only a portion of a second object: again, manual calculations need to be involved. On smaller screens of less than 17 inches, many long menus when selecting cover up to the bottom of the screen, making it impossible to read the description for each tool that appears in the bottom part of the main window that stays beneath the menu, leading to forceful experimentation in order to guess what each option does.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019
Infiyaz K.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018

“The best open source option for creating vector graphics”

OverallCompared to the minor setbacks, I recommend InkScape for all vector drawings.
ProsIf you're looking to 'create' vector graphics, InkScape is very straightforward and simple to use. It has a well-arranged menu system and it allows you to do any 2D graphic that you'd otherwise create using expensive programs like Illustrator. It runs on most platforms - for me I need to use it on Windows and Ubuntu and it works without a flaw. It supports layers but you don't really need it since you can easily re-edit every single object even on the same layer. The fact that the files created are as SVGs allows the images to be directly opened on all modern web browsers. I truly admire the work of the developers here as this is a great open source program and you can just download it for free.
ConsThese are the main drawbacks of InkScape: 1. You can only export images as PNG files if you need bitmap exports. Not even JPEG is possible. 2. 3D graphics are not possible. 3. Saving as other formats or importing from AI files is not always great. It seems a little buggy. 4. There is no way to know if your colours are print or screen-friendly. This is something that you find important especially for printing logos and art work. Despite these drawbacks, I always choose it as I find it very comfortable working with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Nigel Masimba R.
WordPress Developer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“Simple, Compact Vector graphics software”

OverallDespite all the cons I love Inkscape and It fits my workflow and office setup. It gives way more value that I could ask for from a free application. Open source communities are adapting to the rise of cloud-based sass versions of applications and Inkscape will eventually find its place on the cloud too. Unless Inkscape competitors release features that make Inkscape economically unviable I'll be sticking to Inkscape. Inkscape's not the sharpest tool but it gets the job done!
ProsIt's free and open source. You can use it professionally and not pay a dime! Inkscape has a low barrier to entry compared to premium vector graphics software like Adobe Illustrator and Corel Draw. The tools are fairly straight forward for a novice to learn and there are lots of resources online if help is needed. Inkscape is light on system resources so you don't have to worry about Memory or CPU usage. Inkscape works accross all major desktop operating systems ( Window, Mac and Linux )
ConsThere are no cloud-based services for Inkscape that I know of. This will disadvantage Inkscape users going into the future. Presently, there is no system in place for Inkscape users to collaborate online. There are also no workflow tools for Inkscape, like automatic cloud backup, or revision history. While Inkscape gets the job done, the variety of advanced tools it has pales in comparison to premium vector graphics applications. Inkscape usually lags behind in major innovations for vector graphics software. Premium graphics editors often release updates that leave Inkscape users behind for long periods. It periodically crashes for no apparent reason. The pagination and layering functions are a bit finicky to use, at least for me.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Graphic Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018

“Great Free Alternative to Adobe Illustrator”

OverallOverall, this program is great when paired with a paint program, something to support the vector. Gimp was really good to pair with it. I would definitely recommend
ProsInkscape is a vector software that allows you to make clean logos, illustrations, infographics, etc. I only just downloaded this program about a week ago but I've already used it in my freelance illustration job. The other program I had been using was Gimp, another free software. But Gimp wasn't allowing me to create basic shapes. So I was able to save the file I was working on in Gimp as a .pdf file and then bring it over to Inkscape where I added boxes that were perfectly resizeable and did not anchor after you made them. I was able to go back and adjust the color of the boxes and also add and format text within them. It was beautiful. Inkscape is part of GNU which is the Free Software Movement put in place for just that-- freedom of software, bringing people from all walks of life into an equal platform. So that is why I chose to pair my previous Gimp software with this free Inkscape software as they are part of GNU Systems. Actually, Inkscape borrows some tools and coding from GIMP making it so easy and natural to jump between the two programs in one project. I'd go as far as to say that Inkscape is to Gimp what Adobe Illustrator is to Adobe Photoshop. Each is needed in it's own capacity, each tackle the same job at different angles.
ConsThis is purely asthetic but one thing I was slightly put off by was the white layout. When I first logged into the program, it reminded me of Sticky Notes on my computer. It didn't have that Adobe-esque feel that Gimp had with basically the same dark design. It just didn't feel like it could hold up to creating numerous graphic layers and really tricky tool maneuvers. While obviously it is not Adobe Illustrator, Inkscape seems like it has a lot of essential features to pair up with Gimp, that when these two free programs are paired, the result is very similar to Adobe Suite products. It is a bit different in the tools area as AI. I wasn't able to figure out how to move objects onto different layers. It wasn't as intuitive as AI or Gimp, for that matter.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2018
Arun K.
Freelancer
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019

“Inkscape Teached Me The Basics Of Logo Desgning”

OverallEven you face a little bit of trouble for figuring out the operations in Inkscape, I definitely recommend this for logo designing and vector graphics.Best platform which i used up to date for the same purposes.
ProsI started to using Inkscape from 2019.Inkscape works really well in making logos and vectors in a simple format.One of the best featurre it provides is called node editing.Its capability of handling node editing impressed me alot.I think Inkscape is the best designing software to start graphic designing , if you are not familiar with any other softwares like adobe illustrator.One of the best speciality of Inkscape is that , it is totally free and it works well in all major operating systeems like windows,mas o.s and linux.If you are running a business , this one is suited for small, medium and also well suited for freelancers .Even i didn't tried much about vector designing in Inkscape, i believe this one helps to learn about basics of vector designing more easily that otheer graphics softwares like corel draw.You can set and edit or convert nodes is the best thing about Inkscape.It also support path simplification with variable threshold, path insetting and outsetting, object creation,bitmap tracing etc.I always like to use the speciality of converting a real picture into good looking and creative logos using Bezier curve tool.If you are looking to learn logo making and digital vectors, i always recommend Inkscape.This one helped me alot to learning in designing some logos.
ConsIf you are dealing with very large projects, it has some tendancy to freeze for sometime and this makes to feel bad while working on projects.It may be difficult to operate atfirst time after installation because of the new tools and features which are unfamiliar to a person who is a novice in digital graphics.So think it will take some time to figure out how Inscape is working.Even they provide tutorials about the working, most of people feel like an alien at the time of first use.Definitely i faced saving my work as in .jpeg or .gif format primarly and also it does not support .ai extension files.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2019
Avatar Image
David I.
Sales / Marketing
Wholesale, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2019

“Open Source Vector Graphics Software”

OverallI really like it over all you can do everything you need that all of the other paid softwares can do with exception to working with CMYK formats, this software is that good that when they get to integrate the CMYK color format as a printout file, a great majority of the people in the printing industry will switch to it. Is so well thought that is possible to designs faster than illustrator and corel draw, many of the tools make the job easier plus you can give a donation of 30 bucks or 100 bucks or 10 a year depending on you, but you get so much power for every cent or dollar you donate to the inkscape team.
Pros- The amount of stuff you can do with this Open Source software is outstanding and the quality is superb, you can create all the graphics necessary for your websites, motion graphics, banners, games and animations. - Also is possible to export to a variety of file formats supported by adobe, save images with transparency and even create DXF files for CNC and G code machine cuts, even use your plotter straight out of the software with a plug in.
Cons- May have a bit of a steep learning curve since it is open source but there is ton of documentation and videos in youtube to overcome this challenge. - With heavy graphics the program can crash if you do not save your work on layers so you can turn off finished work and work on layers, but can be overcomed with constant saving. - It can be confusing when you select graphics because it's highlighted only with a dotted box. - Some tools don't work in a logical manner. - It does not support CMYK colors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Ray A.
Research and Cultural Consultant, Editor/writer, interpreter.
Health, Wellness and Fitness, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018

“Feature-filled, cross-platform stable vector graphics software”

OverallI have been using Inkscape since 2008 to create drawings, emblems, and documents since 2008. Inkscape's open-source file format and codebase ensure that Inkscape will be around for many years to come. I would venture to guess that Inkscape will someday become an industry accepted format simply because it will be increasingly adopted by citizens, civil society organizations and local governments that support the principles of open-source software
ProsInterface is quite similar enough to CorelDraw and Illustrator that using Inkscape is quite intuitive. In the last few years, Inkscape has improved dramatically and it is now able to create complex, very large drawings. Inkscape is dedicated to open standards to avoid proprietary vendor lock-in. The software is free to download and use- this is essential for grad students working on a budget. Open source software helps ensure that people have access to excellent software tools irrespective of their capability to pay. Inkscape is cross-platform software- a fact that allows the use of Inkscape on Windows, Mac, or Linux and ensures that Inkscape documents can be opened on all computers. This is useful in organizations where various people must work together on documents, but may be using different operating systems.
ConsInskcape cannot flawlessly import CorelDraw documents. This is very much understandable and is mainly the fault of Corel for having proprietary formats that ensure users are locked-in to their product line. Inkscape currently lacks the ability to create multiple page documents. If it could, I would use it exclusively for layout and typesetting of brochures and posters.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Amanda N.
Character artist
Graphic Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“A free and standard software for producing Vector art”

OverallI have really liked using it to produce logos and other vectorized images, since it has quite a lot of options that facilitate work. I would really recommend it to anyone interested in practicing vector art, especially if you cannot afford the more expensive softwares, since this one has all you could need to start.
ProsIt is one of the standard softwares, and this makes it easy to find information and tutorials online, which facilitates understanding how it works. It also provides a few tutorials with the program itself, which is always good to have. It is also free, and open-source, so users can develop and change it if they need to. The webpage has quite a few suggestions regarding tutorials and key-bindings, which is great to have as a new user. The functionalities are quite extensive and useful, allowing users to produce shapes and lines that can be easily altered using nodes, without losing any of their quality. It has many predetermined shapes, but also has a few tools that allow users to draw the shapes they need. Pre-determined shapes can also be modified by the user to fit what they need. There are also countless options to work with regarding colors, gradients, position changes, grouping, selection, etc. There is even a selection tool that allows the user to select similar objects by their color or shape! It also allows to save the files in standard formats that can later be sent to others, or used in programs like Photoshop, which is a great option to have in case any further modification is needed that cannot be done in Inkscape itself. Overall, it has great tools that facilitate work quite nicely for users, both regular and new to the software.
ConsIt is not very aesthetic-looking, and it can be a bit difficult to follow the tutorials, since many of its tools seem to have been moved around, and had their key-bindings changed, in later versions. This makes it hard for new users to find the tools or options they need for each piece, and can actually generate a lot of confusing when you start working with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Michael B.
Coordinator of Network and Technology Services
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Inkscape, a "Go To" for so many reasons...”

OverallInkscape is really fantastic. It's always installed on my multiple work desktops. I have found Inkscape great for mocking up websites, and also doing perfectly formed layouts for printing. When I need to do some CNC work with my X-Carve, I throw the shapes together in Inkscape, export to an SVG, and I'm not long from rocking and rolling. There are very few programs that I've used the same way for so long, but I keep coming back to Inkscape.
ProsFree and Cross Platform! Inkscape gets the job done when I need vector graphics, SVGs, and more. I use it primarily for my room maps, rack layouts, network diagrams and more. As I've started doing a lot of CNC milling, I've found it very useful to do my designs in Inkscape, and then port them over!
ConsLearning curve makes it a slow start, when I have to shake off the rust. The software hasn't had a great deal of graphical updates, and still has the dated look it it. But this is only cosmetic.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Avatar Image
Jeremy J.
Marketing Director
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2019

“Digital Design for All”

OverallI am a HUGE FAN of this program! Using Inkscape, in conjunction with GIMP, I have created a lot of quality content over the past few years-- all with no investment!
ProsInkscape is extremely easy to use-- so easy, in fact, that I even train some of my clients on how to use this fantastic software to generate their own social content. The UI is clean, user-friendly, and plays wells with multiple display setups. Rendering is very powerful-- I have created physical & digital billboards, massive banner, and vehicle wraps all with this FREE, open-sourced software.
ConsPerformance can be a minor issue on certain machines (runs incredibly well on Linux Mint). Little to no CMYK support, but if you find the right print shop and select appropriate colors, that can be a non-issue. Some complicated images can be a little glitchy both in the program and after export, but I can always find a quick workaround with little effort.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2019
Joshua D.
Office Administrator
Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“Inkscape offers an Illustrator-like experience, if you're willing to poke around.”

OverallI use Inkscape frequently for creating documents and image assets on our website, email marketing platform, and social media platforms. Like I said, the interface took some getting used to (the differences are just...a little weird sometimes), but I'm quite comfortable in the basics and learning new things every day!
ProsElephant in the room: it's free, which is fantastic! It offers a robust feature set that is more than sufficient for my non-power-user needs. Also, since it's open source, its potential for extensibility is huge. The online community is incredibly helpful when I get stuck.
ConsI found the controls to be less intuitive than Illustrator, but once you get used to it this is fine, too!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Linos S.
Academic
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019

“Feels ready to move to a stable release”

OverallI started using Inkscape years ago, mostly to convert vector graphics and work with them as paths in GIMP. As both the application progressed and I became more experienced with vectors, I can now work from scratch in Inkscape when I need something done that way.
ProsA cross platform, open source solution, with a helpful community. After a lot of work through more than a decade, Inkscape now feels more stable than ever.
ConsDeveloper team have not released Version 1.00 yet, so I guess you could run into trouble with certain issues. Still, it is worth trying, and if anything occurs, just give it another try after it goes full stable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Arts and Crafts, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Escape Expensive Vector Suites with Inkscape”

Pros100% FREE for the entire package and that's an unbeatable deal. While this doesn't offer as much advanced features as Illustrator or Corel, this software does offer a lot. This is still the best free software of this time of artistic platform. Other Vector image software that's free or even some of the lower-end pay for stuff doesn't compare to Inkscape. If you are familiar at all with Illustrator, then this will feel pretty similar. If you are new to vector images, there's some pretty basic things you can do quickly and a decent amount of tutorials on Youtube and so on. I've used this to make logos for commissioned work and for my own art and I think it's very good. I use illustrator too, but I find myself loading Inkscape often for very quick images. The program isn't very difficult but there's a bit of a learning curb for new folks.
ConsNot as many features as higher end pay-for-stuff, but it is free and what you get for the price of the time it takes to download is decent. If you are creating simple vector art images, this is pretty decent, but if you are doing something like vector animation, Adobe Illustrator might be worth sticking with. The software is not as intuitive as similar products, but it's pretty versatile.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2018

“Very useful tool to create figures and diagrams fast and effectively!”

ProsI use this tool regularly at work to help me create visuals for my technical reports, whether it be a free body diagram or an image depicting the layout of my assemblies. Inkscape has many useful features, with my favorite being the "Layer" option which allows you to create layers to draw on that can be above or below the beginning layer. This feature allows you to add in certain figures in the background or foreground without having to restart the entire drawing. Another useful tool is the Grid View which displays the entire sheet in a grid like style. This is preferred to me as my drawings are usually needed to be relatively precise and having the grid style helps to ensure that.
ConsThere is not much I can say negatively about this software. It is open source and there are many tutorials online to help you create figures, making it all around an excellent decision for a drawing tool. It lacks some of the more advanced features you would get in PhotoShop but there are little tricks you can do to get around.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2018
Chamara W.
Undergraduate
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019

“Best free software for vector graphics.”

OverallEven though Inkscape lags behind premium options it gets the job done. So you can use it professionally without paying anything. Also its very light on the system so you don't have to worry about memory and CPU usage. So despite its shortcomings I recommend Inkscape for all vector drawings.
ProsBest thing about Inkscape is its free and opensource. Its runs on most platforms. UI is simple and straightforward. Can re-edit every single object. Inkscape software is very light. Setup is only about 65MB. Low system requirements.
Cons3D graphics are not possible. Only have PNG format as bitmap export. No option to see colors are print or screen-friendly. Inkscape lags behind premium vector graphic options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019
Steve B.
Founder
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 6, 2019

“My Go-to Graphic Design Software”

OverallUsing Inkscape, I've been able to complete almost every project my company has needed (as far as graphic design goes anyway). I used it to make my company's logo, business cards, fliers, direct mailers, etc. All of those things are critical for building brand recognition, so I don't know where we'd be without having software capable of creating clean, scalable vector images. I built my company on a shoestring budget, so the fact that this is open source software has been incredibly valuable.
ProsInkscape makes it very easy to make promotional materials for my business; from soft goods, to fliers, and so much more. It has got a bit of a learning curve, but that is to be expected with any software. For the features you get, I almost can't believe it's FREE! That's right. Inkscape is completely open source, which I love. Its developers are definitely givers, and not takers.
ConsBe prepared to save often! If you start adding a lot of paths to a project, it will sometimes bog down the program and cause an unexpected crash. Beyond that, I really don't have any complaints.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Kenneth B.
Freelance Graphic Designer
Graphic Design, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“THE BEST OPEN SOURCE SOFTWARE FOR GRAPHIC DESIGNING ”

OverallThis software has tremendously helped me in my work as a freelance graphic designer,since I have no money to buy Paid software's this is my go to software.
ProsThe overall usability of the software is really good it's very straightforward and you could easily create any logo you want it also has the dark theme mode which is a very good design on the software,its perfect for hobbyists like me.It also is a great alternative to other paid graphic editor sotwares.
ConsThe only issue I encountered is when saving your project in pixel size you want .the first time I used this I had a hard time saving my project in 2440 X 1440 eventually I learned and how to save my project the right way.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Serena L.
Designer
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019

“A Free Solution For Your Vector Art”

OverallNothing to dislike since is open-source.
ProsOne of the main reason why we chose this in the past till today is open-source and free-to-use. Another advantage also is the ability to import, edit popular vector formats like eps and ai files. The workflow is quite similar to adobe illustrator and can be a good replacement for small scale vector art design.
ConsThere's quite abit of learning curve for non-graphic designers who are already familiar with similar software like adobe illustrator or long-time ago macromedia freehand. Another rather annoying thing is the application takes some while to startup and render (many layers/ objects).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019
Anna H.
Owner/Operator
Arts and Crafts, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“Super Easy and User Friendly”

OverallI save so much money with Inkscape. Before I began using this software I would have to pay other people to create the images I needed. Now with this easy to use software, I create my own images in a short amount of time. I hadn't used this product prior to owning it and it was so simple and user friendly from the beginning.
ProsThe software is so user friendly and easy to accomplish my tasks. It makes my job so much easier and enjoyable.
ConsIn using this software I haven't come across any cons to date. The couple times I thought I had discovered a con it was actually me not paying attention.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Bruno B.
Nutritionist and Author
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2018

“The top free vectoring software!”

OverallI use this software for two years to design all the covers of my books, my Instagram and Facebook post and ads. Also I vectorize all the images for my blogs with ease and excellent results. I would recommend it to people without hesitation, but first you have to invest time in learning via videos that are easily found on the web!
ProsI like this software. I was looking for a free software to create the covers of my books and vectorize the images for use online. This software has never let me down in this regard. It is very rich in features that are also very easy to handle. It is available in several languages. It is the best software for novices on vectoring software and retouching photos or images.
ConsNot enough keyboard shortcuts with this software (which is frustrating to try to do things fast enough). In addition, the software uses a lot of resources, which can have adverse consequences for weak computers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Upendra D.
Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“Best open source design software ”

OverallI use Inkscape for my designing purposes. I can design the leaflets, banners, booklets , etc. by using Inkscape. Although this is an open source software, this is fully equiped with all the functions needed for a professional design work. The developing team release updates frequently to fix the bugs. I recommend this for anyone who looks for a good designing software.
ProsObject Creation Object Manipulation Fill and Stroke Operations on Paths Text Support Rendering File formats
ConsNothing. This is the best software for free with all features
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Jose Antonio D.
Director of Technology
Industrial Automation, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Stop Using Paint”

OverallTo me it's the perfect next step for someone who wants to create quality logos, icons or diagrams without a heavy graphic design background. Before this tool, me and most of the people I have led to use this software were using paint to make their diagrams, cropping and pasting here and there without great yet simple tools like layers, snap grids and trace bitmap.
ProsThis is a free tool that's both easy to use and well documented. Several tutorials in the web help you get a hold of it in mere hours because of its simple controls when compared to other tools like Adobe's Ilustrator or Photoshop. Also it's great that its free and light, so I can download, install and use it in almost any computer if I don't have mine.
ConsThe same simplicity that makes it great sometimes limits what you can do. I have experienced problems when windows updates but it gets fixed after I reinstall the application. I haven't been able to figure out how to export in JPEG, which most of the time I don't use anyway but still.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Emanuele B.
Mr
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2018

“Free (and very effective) alternative to Illustrator and Corel Draw”

ProsThis application is easy to learn and to use. It employes the same mechanism of Corel Draw for modifying form and when I started to use it, this feature was very helpful. In addition you can install on every operating system. The web and youtube are full of tutorial to learn it in no time
ConsThe ability to edit a bitmap inside the application (at least basic functions) would be very appreciated. Now you have to use an external application
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Rick B.
Senior Engineer: Rocket Motors and Warheads
Defense & Space, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“Difficult to use and Resource Intensive”

OverallInkscape has been good to me in the times where I was not able to solve my vector graphic problems with other packages and has helped me out a few times, but generally, I dread the days where I know I am going to have to use it because I'll have to learn it from scratch again.
ProsWhat I like the most about Inkscape is it ability to open a wide variety of file types, especially those associated with vector graphics. Inkscape has such a depth of functionality that it becomes difficult to stop using it and not to explore its features further.
ConsWhat I like the least about Inkscape is that it is really difficult to learn. It took me a good few hours to figure out what feature was located where and how the different options work. I also don't like the fact that the software is so resource intensive; it is very laggy on a recently formatted, high specification laptop.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Matt M.
Associate Director of Online Services
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018

“Flexible free vector illustration software”

OverallI have used Inkscape for personal and professional illustrations. I have used it to convert line drawings to vector files for logo and clipart creation. A few hard to open PDFs have even been accessed by Inkscape when I needed to get to something inside.
ProsI have to admit, open source software is always intriguing to me. When it works well that is all the better. One of the best features is the conversion tool for taking my black and white line art from a photo and turning it into a quality vector image. Another great feature is the active blur. With it, I can blur lines and shapes until I get exactly what I want. There is no intermediate step of choosing a number or checking a preview box before applying it. The software is being actively worked on, and improved. That is a huge plus when looking at open source software of any kind.
ConsIt may be a bit of a bother for some to run it on a Mac. It runs great but it requires Quartz to be installed and then it runs in that. I have used it on Mac PC and Linux with no noticeable differnces. The interface may be clunky at times, but I'm more concerned with how the tool works than how it looks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Héctor A.
CEO / Lead Architect
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Open Source CorelDraw”

OverallI was able to design logos and billboards just fine, after overcoming the changes from CorelDraw, I feel I can do anything on it and is free. Nothing to lose here, try it.
ProsFor a Free software it has a lot of options to do illustrations, very similar to CorelDraw, you will be able to use it, after learning the basics, you can accomplish almost the same things that on CorelDraw.
ConsSome options are confusing and not the same as CorelDraw, but has a lot of documentation and support from the community so you be able to get the solution to any issue you may encounter.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Semiconductors, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2019

“Inkscape for Laser Cutting”

OverallBeen using it to create designs for icons and laser cutting blueprints and images for months and is a great software but if you want to create very precise blueprints Inkscape may not be the best for you as it is mainly a drawing software. Though you should give it a try. The software is compatible with many file formats and you may find tutorials on the web and in the developers website there's a very good guide.
ProsInkscape is a great quality design freeware, great for making illustrations in vector format, easy to use very natural commands and intuitive interface it also has the ability to add software modules to make it able to do extra tasks such as output gcode for CNC machines, for example. To make designs for laser cutting you need to draw the vector or convert and image to vector which is easy and then be sure all objects are converted to paths and finally save as dxf, remember to save in another file. All this is very easy to do.
ConsMayor complaint is the fact that conversion to dxf file format may have errors in may intricate font types and are needed to be corrected manually.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Graphic Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2018

“Free Tool For Vector Art”

ProsFirst and foremost, I love that this product has always been free to users. I am a freelance digital artist who is self-taught and this program has been a life-saver. Once you get used to the program, it is so easy to use to create all types of vector art and graphics for your digital art needs. Once you have begun to understand how to use this program, it is definitely worth having around.
ConsThe worst thing about this program is that there is a steep learning curve especially for beginning graphic artists. This program does not come with tutorials to help you to understand how to use the tools within it to create the designs you seek. However, there are a ton of really amazing free tutorials on how to best use this program online.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2018

“Does 95% of vector based competitors for FREE”

OverallI always recommend beginners wanting to learn vector-based software to start with Inkscape because it can do it all and is completely free.
ProsInkscape isn't easy to pick up and learn but neither are any of the other vector-based graphic design software programs. For free, Inkscape really can't be beat. If you need to learn how to do something, the community is all over and you can search online with multiple examples displayed by contributors.
ConsVery seldomly the software would crash when I started up. This seems to have been fixed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Adelyn C.
d.Leadership Co President
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019

“Generally easy to use”

ProsInkscape is a lot simpler than other competing products, and it capitalizes on the niche of people who aren't too experienced with using design software. It's generally easy to use and has pretty much all the functions you need for low-level editing, and isn't extremely slow, so you don't need a really heavy-duty computer to run it.
ConsAlthough it is true that this software doesn't require a lot of knowledge, you have to take that with a grain of salt because what comes with the little instruction needed is that sometimes you might want to do something that you can't do in Inkscape that you can do in some other software, in which case you'll have to learn how to use other software anyways.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2019
Ken K.
Audio/Visual Directory (Retired)
Arts and Crafts, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Ease of use”

ProsFor free graphics software, this is one of the best. Easy to use, lots of function and add on features. I use the create path function to create dxf and svg files for laser engraving and cutting.
ConsNot a lot to not like about this software. A better way to control contrast would be nice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Danna H.
Graphic Designer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2019

“Inkscape review”

OverallVery good graphic design software that suits many different projects needs.
ProsIt gives me the opportunity to create stunning vector art that goes beyond expectation.
ConsI wish each time I try to integrate word into a pattern it would give me error messages then opts out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2019
Stefan M.
Systems Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“Inkscape does your vector jobs”

OverallI have created numerous vector graphics for every possible purpose, illustrations for books, artwork for the web, logos for companies and a lot more. I was even able to establish a CMYK workflow for print.
ProsInkscape is the one program for creating and working with vector graphics and since it is free software, it has literally no price tag except your time to make yourself familiar with its workflows and concepts. It opens and works with nearly every vector format out there and is capable of doing the most advanced manipulations and changes to vector graphics.
ConsSometimes the program feels a bit laggy, but in the end it always did its job.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Janet D.
Marketing Director
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2019

“Fantastic Free Vector Graphics Software”

OverallThis is a powerful software with full functionality. A great, free substitute for Illustrator. It is updated regularly to keep it fresh. Would highly recommend this software, have been using for about 4 years now.
ProsThe ease of use is great. However, it also has a lot of support for the areas that you need help with. It has been around long enough to have extensive tutorials and how tos to learn tons of fun new tricks and applications.
ConsOne of the updates removed a feature that I really liked in an older version and I cannot find it. However, I think that may be a user error and not due to the software's ability.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2019
Amanda R.
Graphic Designer
Graphic Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2019

“Love It!”

OverallI just love it. It's my go to editor for all my invitation designs as well as logo and business card designs! I've never had an issue!
ProsI like that it's totally free and so easy to learn to use!
ConsI wish it had better photo filters and effects!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018

“Steep learning curve but impressive functionality for a free solution”

OverallI occasionally do design work, but it isn't a large enough part of my job to justify paying for Creative Cloud. Inkscape is a robust vector-design tool that allows me to create and modify designs in a cost-effective way. We've used Inkscape for logos, infographics, t-shirt design and even design elements for photo-based advertisements. There are occasional glitches and drawbacks (most notably in our case, a font that Inkscape struggles to load correctly) and there's no official support, which can cause significant delays in problem-solving while you scan YouTube and forums to find a video or post that explains a solution for your problem. Also, while Inkscape claims to be able to open EPS and AI files, I've never been able to open them. While there are other options that may be better supported, more intuitive, and can handle files more flexibly, Inkscape is an absolute gift of freeware, and is capable of handling almost all vector-based design use cases that come up for small businesses or cash-strapped nonprofits. It is more than capable of professional-quality design.
ProsThe price: free is hard to beat Extensibility-there are lots of scripts and workflows available online Full-featured Community support - lots of helpful blogposts, forum posts and YouTube videos
ConsThe learning curve is steep at first Occasional limitations or glitches in programming No official support, just forums and YouTube videos Struggles to open Adobe files
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018
Avatar Image
Christopher D.
Implementation Specialist
Utilities, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2018

“Unleash the Artist in you”

ProsThis is a fully loaded piece of software, if you're looking to create some drawings in various different types of format (SVG is my favourite) this is for you. This is basically Illustrator for the poor man as it comes for the bargain price of nothing - you gotta love a great piece of freeware and this is one of them.
ConsIf you have no experience in drawing software (where I started) it takes a little while to get the hang using Inkscape as it feature packed - but there are tons and tons of online tutorials to get you going.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2018
Avatar Image
Daniel M.
Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Higher Education, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018

“The best free vectoring software Ive ever used!”

OverallI've been able to design vector-based images for blogs and online use with ease, and excellent results. Would definitely recommend this for people to try, but need to invest some time in learning first!
ProsI love this software. I was after a free piece of software to initial try my hand at vector designing logos and images for online use. This software has never let me down in that respect. There is so much functionality, and it is really easy to get to use. It can be quite daunting for those not familiar with this type of software, but its still pretty easy to pick up with a little investment of time to learn properly.
ConsI have been unable to use keyboard shortcuts with this software as it is installed via XQuartz (which is frustrating when trying to do things relatively quickly). Also, the software uses quite a lot of resources which can take its toll on lower end machines.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Use Inkscape to escape Adobe's skyrocketing costs”

ProsI enjoy the UI/UX of Inkscape as I've steadily learned its features over the past several years to become a somewhat dangerous novice graphic designer. Its icon buttons for various functionality makes for an easy learning curve. If you take 5 minutes out of your day to learn one new feature each week, you'll toss your Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop license out the window in a couple months' time.
ConsIn an Apple OS, you are required to download a secondary software connector to use this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Mark H.
Senior Administrator
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019

“Not flawless, but a superb piece of software”

OverallI've been using Inkscape for several years as a web developer and designer, and despite being free I'd rate it up with any commercial equivalent. It's easy to learn, and once learned allows very quick work sketching and designing vector images, with plenty of tools and functions. I use it to design physical objects because I can sketch up a layout in seconds, and dive into it for all types of design work.
ProsFast and easy interface, lots of tools, surprisingly powerful and flexible.
ConsOccasionally clunky, still very occasional crashes and hangs (but good recovery from them).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2019
Richard D.
Ceo
Food & Beverages, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2019

“Why I use Inkscape and love it”

OverallI use inkscape to create posters for my business, recently I used it to create a calander and landscape plans for my property
ProsI'm always learning new things and Inkscape is one of them. I've found Inkscape easy to use and easy to learn There is a lot of online support teaching you how to use Inkscape It cost nothing to acquire (Its free) I use inkscape a lot in my business to design and create "very professional" looking projects, etc It doesn't stress or slow down my 4 GB, Win 8.1 , 1.8 Ghz Celeron computer
ConsI cant say that there is anything I don't like about Inkscape. I've heard it has some limitations however I haven't experienced any for what I have been doing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Hiromy H.
Quality Assurance Specialist
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Inkscape Hiromy”

OverallI use it as a reinforcement when it comes to making personal drawings, which is what I really use it in, it helps me to give final details as well as it is a nothing heavy program which allows me to use it in work computers.
Prosclean interface, easy and hassle-free, I like the compatibility with other editing programs, I am used to the use of vectors and its use in several platforms not only in Windows but also in Linux and IOS, without removing functionality in any way.
ConsI have no complaints about this program, I like it as it is.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Janusz T.
engineer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“Inkscape”

OverallI have used Inkscape in many projects to make some simple, or more complicated buttons, graphics, shapes for UI or apps that I and my company were making, and although I am not an artist, with some help from many tutorials that are throughout the internet it went quite smooth.
ProsIt's one of the best free software to do vector drawings there exists. It's very easy to use, gives a lot of tools to speed up the creating process, and once again - it is completly free.
ConsThere is actually nothing I can think of right now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Shahram S.
Virtual Assistant /Internet Marketer/ Videographer
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Great Free Software to create graphic for printing and creating website logos”

OverallInkscape has always worked for me for 10 years. No spyware, never crashes, unless on very old computers.
ProsI can create any resolution and size graphics for printing on T-shirts, banners, etc. It's open source, so it is always free. It works on both apple and Windows any version! It is easy to learn, lots of tutorials on YouTube. Good alternative to Adobe illustrator
ConsIt is not made for working on images, mainly for printing , and website icons, logos and stylized banner lettering
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019

“Freely draw your designs”

OverallI've been using InkScape for my sole illustration and (vector) design work in the last 8 years. It was slow and buggies at the early development, but it grows quickly as a mature and very useful design graphic software. Since the first day I use InkScape, I NEVER use CorelDRAW again.
ProsEasy to use, multi-functionality. Easy to convert bitmap images into vector trace. Lightweight to use, will not eat your RAM. FREE AND OPEN ACCESS!
ConsNone! This illustrator software is soo much fun and lightweight to use. Nothing to complain about!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Nathaly H.
Quality Control Manager
Design, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“Nathaly Inkscape”

OverallI use this program in my spare time to design or vectorize some handmade drawings.
ProsI like the simple way it has to make the strokes, how they are modified and the resolutions of the drawings, allows export / import of other programs. the use of the layers and the different brushes, the little that weighs and that is for all platforms, Windows, Linux and IOS.
ConsI have no complaints regarding this program and check with other friends who use it and are very satisfied.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Taufik Y.
Internet marketer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2019

“Good for tracing job”

OverallSo far is good for me. Save my time to trace complicated image.
ProsI use Inkscape for tracing image to make vector file. Easy to use and very good result. I usually trace logos and then put on my artwork as customer request. Inkscape tracing file is compatible on mostly of creative design software.
ConsAnother than tracing job, I use another software to create design. It's because Inkscape don't have many tools to create graphics design.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2019
James S.
Walmart Associate
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2019

“Inkscape is a Vector Graphics editor that is pretty useful!”

OverallInkscape lets us make the WalMart logo look perfectly smooth on all screen sizes, whether you're using a laptop or a smartphone, because the logo resizes itself to fit on all of the different screen sizes out there.
ProsInkscape helps with designing logos, small pictures you want to be able to scale up, and other vector graphics - or graphics that don't use regular pixels. Vector graphics are good for making logos to put at the top of your site, because they can be resized as much as you want, and it'll still look sharp (like Capterra's logo! zoom in, see for yourself!)
ConsThe only major con with Inkscape is it's limited functionality with raster images (pictures that use pixels) Inkscape was made for use with vector graphics, and it does that very well! If you need raster image editing, something like GIMP should be another choice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019

“Its Free Adobe photoshop”

OverallAs someone who is not a designer, I often need imaging editing software to do mockups and prototypes. this solves my problem without the need of a licence
Prosreally comprehensive Imaging editing software. Has most of the features of all the market leaders, and its for free.
ConsThere is a learning curve involved as with any Image editing software, but if you are familiar with photoshop, you should be able to navigate the software successfully
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019
Darrian B.
Climatologist
Environmental Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“Inkscape - tricky but useful”

OverallOnce I learned how to use InkScape, I was able to create really great graphics for my research. However, it is difficult to figure it out for first time users and more resources online would be helpful.
ProsI like the many features it has to offer. I used this software for my graduate research images, such as making panels of images that were all the same size. You can add text and shapes as well which is very nice. I like the high resolution images that I can create for my research.
ConsThe software is very tricky to use for first time users. There aren't as many online resources to teach you features or help with issues as I would like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019