TRAIN Learning Network LMS Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About TRAIN Learning Network LMS

Powered by the Public Health Foundation (PHF), the TRAIN Learning Network brings together agencies and organizations in the public health, healthcare, and preparedness sectors to disseminate, track, and share trainings for the health workforce on a single national online learning management system (LMS) platform. This platform was built by and for the health workforce and supports the overall TRAIN Learning Network. Learn more about TRAIN Learning Network LMS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 6 of 6 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 6 of 6 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Tyson R.
KansasTRAIN Administrator
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018

“Impact the TRAIN System has had on the Kansas Department of Health and Other Kansas State Agencies”

OverallAllows our agency to create training that are both inward and outward facing. This means that we don't have to get a separate learning management system for our internal required training and another for external courses (like many of our fellow Kansas agencies who use TRAIN for external training). TRAIN also has the ability to only allow certain users to take specific courses, i.e. our IT security awareness training is only available to agency users. The flexibility of the system and in-depth data reporting has enabled us to use the TRAIN system for nearly all of our agency and outside partner's needs. The Kansas Department of Health and Environment has been using the TRAIN system since 2004 and with 88,000+ Kansas users (and growing) we plan to use this system for a long time.
Pros- The biggest thing that separates the TRAIN system from other learning management systems, is that you don't need to pay a price "per seat". This allows us to grow as big as possible and branch out to other fields outside of the traditional public health and preparedness areas. For example, we have trainings posted to KansasTRAIN from many other agencies outside of public health, even though most of them have their own LMS. This is because they have to pay a price per seat. Their model works fine when only giving training internally but anytime they need to give training to people outside of their organization, they opt to put the course on KansasTRAIN to avoid raising their seat count. - System-wide updates and improvements were recently made. - Easy to navigate for long-term and new users. - Great data and reporting tools. We track important data for grant requirements/work plans, mandatory internal staff training, and Kansas-wide training data. This system also proved to be invaluable when our agency was going through the process of becoming PHAB accredited. - User records will always be available to them no matter where their career takes them. - With 29 State affiliates and 3 Federal agencies, there is an abundance of courses available at the national level.
ConsThere have been some minor bugs due to the recent updates. However, those are being tracked and fixed by the developers as they arise.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018
Debbie N.
Instructional Designer; Retired KS-TRAIN Administrator
E-Learning, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019

“Why use TRAIN for your public health lms?”

OverallUtilized the TRAIN LMS in my former position for workforce in practice who needed just in time training, as well as required and optional learning opportunities. TRAIN has allowed our organization and partners to provide a systematic approach to reach the workforce in the frontier counties with the same required training as well as the metro areas of our state. We saved millions of dollars over my 14 year tenure by not having to require the workforce to travel, be out of the office, nor have the training entity wonder how to manage face to face training with limited or non existent resources on personnel.
Pros1. Varied and prolific public health learning opportunities. Many from national course sponsors such as CDC, VA, Family Planning, as well as state, regional, local and academic education experts. 2. Able to provide required and optional training to the necessary workforce on limited training budgets.
ConsNo reservations in utilizing this learning software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019
Robert B.
Public Health Preparedness Systems Manager
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018

“TRAIN Learning Network LMS”

OverallI've been working with TRAIN for 10 years and have been able to solve just about any training related records management and access issue presented to me.
ProsI like the access to other state and local entity content and the collaboration possibilities between TRAIN affiliates. Also, the reporting capability is beyond what I've seen in other LMSs.
ConsThe lack of an authoring tool or work around for that (learning objects library, etc.).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“TRAIN Learning Network LMS”

ProsAs a course provider, I enjoy the new admin interface to input new trainings and edit existing trainings. It is very user friendly.
ConsThe webpages can take a long time to load and when you access a course, you have to click the more button to read more about the course.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Suzanne H.
Professor
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 5, 2018

“Big Gorilla”

OverallIt's the best LMS system in public health that I have found that connect me to the largest group of users.
ProsTRAIN allows me to take course from Federal agencies and my own state that rolls into a single transcript for all of my trainings. This allows me to also follow a training plan made in TRAIN. It's not just courses. It's meetings, conferences, programs. You can add any event as a TRAIN event and it's awesome to just print at the end of the quarter or year!
ConsOther LMS systems are not all integrated with it. It obviously is linked to more than anyone else, but would be good to have other LMS systems work to improve this with TRAIN.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 5, 2018
Liz L.
Program Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019

“Impactful and Extensive Reach to Public Health Professionanls”

ProsThe TRAIN Learning Network LMS has made it possible to promote our free curriculum and reach a larger audience. It has been easy adding courses and making edits/ updates as needed. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive.
ConsI have not experiences any cons. Any questions I have had were immediately addressed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019