Web Help Desk Ratings

Overall
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Service
4.1/5

About Web Help Desk

With an intuitive web interface and service desk portal, Web Help Desk software delivers simplicity and automation to streamline help desk ticketing and IT asset management. Benefit from built-in knowledge base, IT change control, SLA alerting, performance reporting, customer surveys, and more. Learn more about Web Help Desk

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 106 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 106 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Michael H.
Systems Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2017

“Effective but interface is dated”

ProsIt provides an effective customizable solution for IT help desk. We use this tool for internal and client ticketing. It allows you to configure email rules to allow for tickets to be created based off keywords. This makes it much easier for users to create tickets. We host ours in AWS and it has performed admirably. Customer service has always been easy to get a hold of and will work with you until a solution is discovered.
ConsThe interface is dated. It has not received a refresh since we started using it three years ago. When you attempt to use it on a mobile device it looks like I am back on iOS 3. There have been many changes with HTML 5, CSS and JavaScript and I expect the tool to adopt these new changes to improve the UI.

Vendor Response

By SolarWinds on August 2, 2017
Thanks for the feedback Michael. We've got great news! Have you had a chance to check out the new UI that was unveiled with our v12.5.1 release? It has a sleek new look that we're excited to share. We are still working in the IOS application updates and they're currently at the top of our roadmap. You can learn more about what's next with Web Help Desk and suggest additional features for future iterations in our THWACK community. Join us here: https://thwack.solarwinds.com/community/tools_tht/web-help-desk
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2017
Dan D.
Systems Administrator
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Good but a bit outdated”

OverallBeing able to have a helpdesk software at a relatively cheap price. It's not perfect, but gets the job done.
ProsIt offers a lot given the price. You have a ticketing system, FAQs section, Reports that can be run on tickets / techs. You can also set up action rules that can automate tickets, for example reports being run. Integrates with AD. The layout is fairly intuitive and organizing tickets / categories / etc is easy.
ConsSome features are half baked. Assets / Parts isn't very intuitive to work with and creates more problems than it solves. For example it will produce multiple entries based on a wireless IP and wired IP and there is no way to force it to use a MAC address which would make a lot more sense. I would say there is a fairly steep learning curve if you really want to get into advanced features. I didn't even know a lot of them existed until about a year ago. Support is hit or miss.

Vendor Response

By SolarWinds on May 26, 2017
We thank you for this very honest feedback. We clearly have some room to improve, but we are working at it every day.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Avatar Image
Sergey M.
Manager, Technology Infrastructure and Compliance
Hospitality, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Make your end user support structured”

ProsI started using this software 4 years ago. From a very first moment I could really see a difference from other products. I liked an ability to have multiple locations, with each location having multiple points of contacts. With that, I was able to set up routings of my tickets so they would always reach a correct IT person. This is very useful, when your business is spread through multiple timezones. Another feature that I really liked is LDAP authentication. This allowed me to restrict access to only authorized users, eliminating a possibility of phishing emails reaching the system.
ConsAs the company grew, at some point my AD structure become very complex - multiple ADs not connected to each other. Unfortunately, at that point, I had to stop using this solution because it couldn't handle more that one AD efficiently.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Carsten M.
Senior Support Engineer
Medical Devices, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Very good experience setting up a system from scratch, from sales to Customer Service.”

OverallBetter customer service
ProsSoftware is very easy to setup, everything you need to get a support system up and running is there. Solarwinds Support is very prompt to respond to questions or issue that you may have. The reason I suggest Solarwinds Helpdesk was that I had been a user / admin on a system before. Thicket history is great, asset management is very good
ConsThe report module and the part and billing feature is weak. Generating reports is not that intuitive and there is things that you cant get an report on. Parts and billing, missing pricing features and invoice / packing list options. Solarwinds is not so god at coming back to with feature request that you have submitted nor to let you know that bug have been fixed. There is to long between bug fixed / new releases is being released .
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Kory M.
Systems Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2017

“Great Product! Does More Than Expected / Necessary”

ProsSolarWinds is great for being a helpdesk ticketing system which is what we purchased it for, however, it does much more than that! It is a very useful tool for inventory, as well as purchase orders, and other items. It definitely has more features than we expected and we've been slowly incorporating more and more of these as we've used the product. I like the ability to add custom fields, a lot of products you are stuck with how they are configured out of the box, SolarWinds is definitely not that product.
ConsThe only real downside to SolarWinds has been the fact that some of the more advanced things such as Single Sign On (SSO) / ADFS were not very user friendly to configure, but we have successfully done it, and it does work quite well. The only other issue we have had is some off / on issues where if we reboot the server we have it hosted on, it will go back to being a trial license, but a simple call to Customer Support and the issue is resolved.
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019

“Full Featured Help Desk Solution”

OverallWe have streamlined our process for reporting issues in our district which in turn has made our response times come down. Having a history of issues is also beneficial for training purposes and for staff to see how to fix a recurring issue they may have. Overall has made us much more efficient.
ProsEase of use. I have had new techs that havent had any experience with a ticketing system sit down and be able to use this product within several minutes. Also it has been a godsend for our staff as we require them to log in to the system to create tickets.
ConsInventory function. I was hoping for an easier way to track our device inventory. I believe it would do the job, but the initial setup has to be comprehensive to make things work smoothly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2019
Ross B.
Network Support Specialist
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Has the features we need to make our support experience painless for our end users. ”

OverallTime savings, and a good handle on what opportunities we have in our organization.
ProsThe ease of use is what has sold me. I was able to customize the experience to my liking without to much effort. We are able to track the metrics that we desire and it helps our team have a clear sense of what needs to be accomplished in a given day. From the techs to the staff, it has been a great tool that has eliminated a lot of time waste that we used to have.
ConsProbably the biggest con that I would have is that there isn't a remote desktop client built in. Of course we are in an education environment, and cost is always an issue. We'd love to have the integration without the additional cost, but I realize that's not always an option.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Chris H.
Systems Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017

“Very robust on prem software.”

OverallPrioritization and organization for a single Help Desk user to control a 100+ user environment.
ProsComplete control of all customization for you environment. You also have the ability to configure email ticket so you do not have to rely on VPN connections to submit tickets. We all know how reliable VPN's can be. For me the ability for Sales Reps out in the field to submit Help Desk ticket through email is awesome. They can do it right from their phone's email program.
ConsI think that for the upfront cost of the software and the amount that you pay for yearly support and updates that the seat count should at least start at two people instead of just one. This is a setback with the upfront cost.
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017
Emmanuel H.
Systems Administrator
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“In valuable tool to running our schools!”

OverallIt is how we manage our workflow.
ProsThere are several good things about this program. 1st, the ability to keep track of problems. This cannot be underestimated across two buildings with hundreds of laptops and other equipment. 2nd, the ability to maintain open dialogue with clients who need repairs. 3rd, the ability to sort issues by client, room, or situations and see the history of a problem, or a problem user.
ConsThe interface is functional, just not snazzy, and modern! I have always wanted an ability to printout a viable list of open jobs to give to techs. I just can't figure out how to do that. For instance, assign all AV jobs to one tech and send him/her a Task List...
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Steve B.
Director of Business Systems
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Our experience with WHD has been ok to underwhelming”

OverallIt allows us to measure how busy our Help Desk group is, we can identify patterns more easily now helping us to resolve problem areas more quickly.
ProsIt allows us to get statistics on our helpdesk calls. Our data center is able to create tickets automatically. It is a repository for all help calls that we did not have before so management can get an overall picture. We like that we can build custom reports and dashboards. Creating forms that can ask a user for data is helpful but we have not implemented any yet because it is cumbersome.
ConsThe UI for the software is stuck in the 90s, very table oriented, Comments in the tickets have a lot of wasted space, we have to scroll constantly to see history. The table widths are not relative or resizable. Images are stored and provided to the user as links with generic names, half the time the link is a signature logo. Our users use screen shots in almost all of our tickets. Not being able to see the images without clicking on a link is painful. Also, we can not use the customizable forms because a user has to save their image to their local hard drive and then upload to the form. Many users don't have a clue how to do this so we have to use email. Because we have to use emails we get duplicate tickets because the software does not recognize a reply. Some of this is the lack of training for our users but if the UI was better we would send them directly to the website. We have compiled a list of questions and will be contacting SW to see if we are missing something in our configurations or if it is a lack of training. If we are not able to resolve most of these issues we will be looking for a different solution.

Vendor Response

By SolarWinds on May 31, 2017
We're sorry to hear of these difficulties you are having, but we are encouraged you plan to reach out to seek a resolution. We have a lot really talented people on our team that are willing and ready to help whenever you choose to tap us as a resource. As for you comments regarding providing instruction to your customers for common tasks involved in troubleshooting their issues, we have some advice. We suggest you create an FAQ to provide a set list of instructions to help with image capture and transfer to your help desk team. Alternatively, a solution like Dameware Remote Support from SolarWinds could lend a hand in the troubleshooting process, enabling your team to access an end-user's workstation and snap screenshots instead. The bonus is that it integrates with Web Help Desk. We hope this guidance is helpful. Looking forward to your outreach to address your other concerns.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Jonathan S.
Educational Technology Systems Manager
E-Learning, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2017

“Solarwinds Web Help Desk is awesome and has tons of features!”

OverallAsset and Help Desk Ticket Tracking
ProsWeb Help Desk (WHD) has two main features that I love. You can create help desk tickets and you can track assets. WHD ticket system has a dashboard that you can create many different widgets on to see beautiful and detailed graphics. It also also has tabs to see your tickets, your group tickets, flagged tickets, and a search tab to see all tickets. WHD assets system allows you to input your devices or anything that used like to allow users to borrow. Then users can request usage of the devices. WHD has a very clean user interface. It is very easy to navigate and it is mobile friendly.
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2017
Robert P.
Database Administrator
Mental Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Well put together help desk.”

OverallMaintain and track help desk tickets. Also enter in my own projects help keep me on task. Notes feature allows me to add any updates I have made or upload any new documents I may have.
ProsEasy to send messages back and forth from client and technician. Can then set reminders on tickets to ensure you do not over look a ticket. Has a FAQ section that allows you to record solutions to reoccurring problems or questions.
ConsIf a ticket has been passed around a few times it is not easy to see who previously worked on the ticket. The information is displayed in the ticket history but this records everything and can become lengthy on a higher level ticket.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Robert M.
I.S. Operations Manger
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Web Help Desk is a highly customizable product for both the client and the technician”

OverallI can control the entire ticketing process. Create approvals and auto escalations. The flexibility is beyond comparison.
ProsWeb Help Desk is so stinking flexible it drives me crazy. Fields can be made hidden, visible, editable at every level of user (client/technician). You can even create your own custom fields. Escalation path, approval processes are all there. You just select what you want to use and how to implement it.
ConsWeb Help Desk is so stinking flexible I some times have trouble keeping track of all the options. I've now manged to turn off a feature that I can't figure out how to turn back on!
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Scott S.
IT Support
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“We use and set up this ticket system several months ago, and very pleased with functionality.”

ProsEasy setup on own server, good customization if your familiar with how java works. Easily add current environment with LDAP detection for domain objects. Can also easily set up assets via wmi, or even straight IP detection.
ConsWe've had a couple issues with software losing license key seeming inexplicably. Resetting and fixing this issue one time was simple fix, the other required a couple days waiting for support to reply, for it needed to be fixed on their end. Only other complaint with company comes in the sales team. Once purchasing a product form them, of which many are great, we all use remote support software from them which is fantastic. However, be expected to be bombarded daily with spam about future products. Also had experience with a slimy sales rep whom called office stating to the receptionist that I had contacted him for help with something. I had not.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Kevin M.
Systems Administrator
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“We moved from TrackIT! to Web Help Desk, and it is much easier to use overall.”

OverallEasy deployment and configuration. Were also able to use the ticketing system for departments other than IT, such as HR and Maintenance. Our users were also able to adopt Web Help Desk with very little training. For users without an email address in our company WHD gave us a way create users so they could submit tickets, we did not have this option with other software.
ProsEase of use and access. Covers everything we need for a small/medium business, and runs great a virtual server. If you buy other products from SolarWinds it integrates with those too. The emailing of tickets is seemless, and it is easy to keep all communications within the tool. Integrates nicely with Active Directory.
ConsAsset tracking is not as good as other tools. The reporting has a learning curve, and needs to have more options.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Avatar Image
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Mining & Metals, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018

“Web Help Desk simply put saves your bacon...”

ProsEnd to end is one of the best Help desk solutions i have used. I find the ticketing straight forward, the asset tracking awesome, the integration with AD and Solarwinds is great, it even does Knowledge base and surveys.
ConsI wish it did a better job with parent / child tickets. The calendar is kind of pointless. It needs to sync with the technicians Exchange calendar, and there is no customization of the admin interface for like a Skin, you can not for admin purposes change the Logo. The users side can be modified but not admin.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018
Curtis H.
IT Support Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2017

“Web Help Desk has worked better than the past ticketing system we have. It does what we at this time”

ProsVery easy to users to respond and create tickets. When users create tickets through the website it will list their IP Address of the computer they are using. You can set up a status on a ticket for waiting for a response. After the criteria of your choosing will send users email and after the criteria are met it will auto close the ticket. You can also use multi-approval chain works great. If you have sign off of more than 1 person will generate an email to one and if they approve sends to the other. If any deny in the chain will stop the process. You can also respond to tickets through email which goes directly to the user without having to log into the system.
ConsThere is no true purchase order. It's more like a tracking of POs you already have done in another system. IF you want to use then it has to add make and model. Sometimes when clicking a field it will randomly close and you have to back out the ticket and go back in. When ordering licenses the admin uses up a license. When searching tickets can only search by the last name. If you have assets linked to a user you have to set up manually for each user. The mobile app hasn't been updated for users, so do not use. If you want embedded documents or pictures in the PAQs have to use BBCODE, which if are a busy helpdesk won't have time to create.

Vendor Response

By SolarWinds on May 26, 2017
Just wanted to thank you for sharing this honest feedback. Without a doubt, we have some room for improvement, but it's comments like this that keep us on the right path.
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2017
Caleb J.
Junior Developer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019

“Web Help Desk - Powerful IT Ticketing System”

OverallOur company was in need of a management system to track employee changes and termination for auditing purposes. Web Help Desk so far is doing a pretty good job at automating the tickets and routing to the required departments and individuals.
ProsWeb Help Desk - is known to be a very powerful IT ticketing system which can also be used to manage IT assets. It is a simple and easy to use software for both the IT team and the end-users, which helps to resolve service desk reported or submitted issues fast and in return will make both users a happy camper. Web Help Desk service management tool takes the hassle and worries out of manually creating and routing tickets. Every Incident creation, escalation and task assignment are properly tracked throughout the entire process, which is done automatically and in return restores productivity back into the company.
ConsI believe that the overall configuration process is a bit complicated and would be a plus if it could be made a bit simpler.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2019
Tom M.
IT Director
Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019

“Solarwinds Web Help Desk solved multiple issues in our stores”

OverallAs the only main IT person in our company, I was riddled with requests for help through the email, phone and in person. With the Solarwinds Web Help Desk, everything is ticketed, rated and responded to by urgency need. Also, when I contact support on our software programs, I can put the replies directly into the ticket and respond to the associate who wrote the ticket with up to date progress.
ProsQuick to set up. Easy to operate. All users have access to their tickets
ConsReports are rough to use, however I have been able to understand them after a while.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019
Francis P.
Sr. Network Systems Admin.
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 24, 2018

“Solarwinds Web Help Desk Review”

OverallA lightweight combination of help desk and asset management features, SolarWinds Web Help Desk lacks a few features that larger organizations will need, but makes up for it with an easy-to-use user interface. Costwise, it is not very expensive. Other compeititors such as LANDesk, Track It! are more robust and has more features out of the box. Pricewise, it is a lot cheaper.
ProsCustomers can get up & running in less than four hours. Navigating is easy, with large buttons and text. Scheduling reports is easy and shows a history. It is a web-hosted solution with support.
ConsIt does not track installed licenses. Depreciation is not built in. The application is lack of robust and not very customizable out of the box.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018

“Easy To Setup and Train End Users to Use”

ProsHas tons of features and functionality AND it is easy to setup and utilize all of them. From start to full web help desk completion, it took roughly two weeks (not day to day) and it was fully setup and being used by all company staff to submit tickets, approve tickets, and for tech staff to reply and resolve tickets.
ConsDepending on how many techs you want to utilize the Web Help Desk it can become pricey. We only had 5-7 techs at any given time so the cost was not that bad.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Mining & Metals, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2017

“It has the potential to be the best helpdesk software on the market, and currently is really good”

OverallAbility to tranck issues, support users in a timely manor, track time needed for projects to better forecast for future projects, reliability, friendly user interface.
ProsUser interface, integration with other SolarWinds products, Support, ease of install and management.
ConsIt needs some improvements and customization ability. I would like to see a better parent child ticket relationship established. It could improve the custom field settings greatly. Allowing for more of them in other places. Its needs better navigation.
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018

“Ticket Tracking with Webhelpdesk. Easily submit and resolve issues with ticketing system”

OverallWe easily are able to track resolution of issues and pull reports in order to look at trends.
ProsAble to look up ticket type, or ticket content for repeat issues. Track issues by who submits them easily by searching. Setup custom requirements for ticket submission. Easily integrate it with Solarwinds to create tickets when there are issues on network. It can also be connected to Exchange to send out email notifications.
ConsIt appears that it cannot send email notifications to Distro lists. Setting up tech alerts can be quite complicated to get everything configured the way you want it to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018
Michael F.
Academic IT Project Coordinator
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“WHD: Frustratingly Adequate”

OverallWe're still using the product, but to be honest the system gets way too complicated to the point where you have to go back and change multiple settings to get the desired outcome. We've also had numerous issues with our database migration into WHD and how WHD chooses to e-mail users. We had to come up with a cumbersome process to remove secondary e-mail addresses just to get in contact with the end-user. We've requested features to assist us, but Solarwinds has yet to provide them. For now, the product works, but I'm not sure how long we will remain customers.
ProsThe breadth of features available with customization.
ConsThe range of features available is honestly too many.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Rodney R.
Technical Services Director
Telecommunications, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2017

“Very cheap system, but not ITIL compliant”

OverallPlatform was installed upon my arrival into the company. As we improve the Services teams and tools we need to also obtain a ITIL solution, which WHD currently does not provide - especially around the company specific SLA report function. I was hoping to have the tool upgraded (offered to pay for this several times) but no responses from Solarwinds Sales or Marketing.
ProsCheap fees compared to other similar product platforms, easy to use for a variety of tasks that work.
ConsSLAs - can be introduced but only globally (not per contract/customer) and not able to report on as only appearing in the history section when added (respond, restore, resolve). Asked support and was instructed this platform was not able to currently: 1. set up separate SLAs per contract/customer, 2. not able to get information out for reporting. Also asked to cut and paste (keeping format) instead of adding attachments out of order which makes it much easier to follow instructions or details from our customers. Feature Requests raised for these issues without result. Taken this platform is not aimed at multi-nationals. Will be difficult to stay on this platform as automation of reporting per customer SLAs can not be done, taking too much effort to manually achieve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2017
Dharmendra S.
System Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019

“Good but need more improvements”

Overallit's nice and effective WHD is perfect for beginners you can grab everything with it
Prosyou can get each and every details while working on tickets easy to track the details who all work on the tickets and what has been done so far one of the best in the market
Consneed high RAM usage, you'll not enjoy if you don't have good amount of RAM on the server
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019
Jeffrey C.
Help Desk Technician III
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“I'm a daily user of the system and have not had any major issues.”

ProsI like it's ease of use in creating and editing the ticket types. This allows me to easily create plenty of different tickets for easy metrics and organization.
ConsI do not like how the system works primarily off of the email system, having users able to CC the help desk email we assign to the system and generate multiple tickets for one issue has been an issue for our organization.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Dan G.
Operations Manager, Integrated Technology
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Great product and very affordable.”

OverallIt has been a very low cost, reliable solution that has helped us keep track of assets and help tickets. It also requires very little maintenance.
ProsEasy to use and administer. Low cost. Fairly customizable. Integrates with other Solarwinds products.
ConsThe iOS app is not as useful as it could be. The app interface could use a makeover and it would be nice to have features like bar code scanning using the camera.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Christopher S.
Network Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“We have had the web helpdesk for about 2 years. Has made our live easier using this easy to use app.”

OverallHaving to not worry about slowness and random errors that we got from our old in-house solution. Web HelpDesk is easy to setup and use.
ProsEasy to incorporate with AD. Easy to customize your own reports for management. I like how each user has the ability to modify there own dash board.
ConsThe color an theme should be interchangeable. I wish there was a switchable color theme. For the most part that is it.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Tom R.
ITSS Tech II
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Great all in one solution for NOC Management”

OverallEasy, centralized help desk and infrastructure management
ProsIntegration across systems for a true live enviroment. We're able to pinpoint network usage or a downed node within seconds. Custom map utilization helps us view our environment as we see it.
ConsSometimes setup isn't as straight forward, support has always been helpful though. We use this software 24/7 for our HelpDesk.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
David C.
Systems Administrator
Government Relations, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“This tool is incredibly useful in keeping my IT department organized task orientated.”

ProsI enjoy the integration with other SolarWinds product such as DameWare Support. An indispensable tool that helps gauge out teams efficiency and help us identify trends and appropriately adjust resources for projects. I absolutely love the email-to-ticket feature as it helped with adoption from my users. the software scales well and completely granular at the same time.
ConsAs robust as It is, it can become easy to get lost in the features. We had an issue with text message alerts that was resolved with the help of support.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Adam A.
Help desk
Textiles, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Easy to use but missing some functionality”

OverallTracking and time savings
ProsCustomizing ability and ease of use for clients. Easy to track assets and update inventory. Reporting is very easy.
ConsHave to go into settings every time I need to add request types or new assets. I want to make additions right from the ticket screen or asset screen. Also I want the help desk calendar to sync directly onto my outlook calendar. Asset audit sucks. Want to know detailed info about the computers like software, o/S, memory, hard drive and it's a pain or doesn't pull the info most of the time.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Melanie B.
Network Manager
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Very easy to setup”

OverallThe price point is low which enables it feasable to K-12 education. This also is very seamless to setup and customer support is great.
ProsWe love how easy it is to use for us and our staff. It is easy to keep track of reporting and to look up responses and past tickets.
ConsAsset Management is not the easiest to add assets into. Longer process to add them in individually.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Dustin H.
Senior Help Desk Technician
Publishing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Excellent setup and function. Provides a great and easy interface for clients and techs. ”

OverallAuto assignment of tickets. Time tracking resolution and escalation. Email interface for clients and ability to reopen.
ProsThe automation of alerts and escalations. The ease of setting them up and how easy it is to maintain and update the system.
ConsIt seems a little difficult to pull reports and maintain ticket history for users or techs that have been deleted.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Erik S.
End User Support Manager
Hospitality, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“A very robust ticketing system, with a lot of customizable options”

OverallBetter overall organization for our teams, which allows for more detailed collaboration and ticket resolution all around.
ProsThe software is very configurable including custom action rules, approval processes, inventory (software/hardware), and various queues that allow for customized responses.
ConsThe format of replies can be difficult to read/follow and is not very customizable. The inventory does not collect the user an asset is assigned to; while this is a typical WMI feature, it's not available for some reason in our current version.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Avatar Image
Oliver Elijah L.
Senior Operations Manager
Information Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018

“With SolarWinds we can create granular reports to address problem areas.”

OverallSolarWinds has the ability to update files automatically with the mobile device management system. It also allows us to generate granular reports to address problematic areas. In addition SolarWinds Web Help Desk performs a good management of hardware assets.
ProsSolarWinds generates a positive impact thanks to cost reduction. It works perfectly in the IT support department. With SolarWinds we managed to automatically update the asset with our mobile device management system through an extension. In addition SolarWinds allows us to create granular reports to address problem areas fairly quickly. SolarWinds Web Help Desk performs an excellent job of information management of hardware assets. I believe that the Web Help Desk would be suitable for technical users or for people who require a large amount of personalization without many details.
ConsSolarWinds should greatly improve the help desk. Also I would like to see that the support matches the functionality of the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2018

“Awesome program to do support tickets and track progress”

ProsAllows end users to request and send tickets to Helpdesk and allows Helpdesk to document work and track everything that has been done
ConsThere has been few issues with the LDAP properly syncing with the database. sometimes creates multiple duplicate users. some functions have too many options
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2018
Matthew R.
Networking Administrator
Media Production, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Confusing at first but getting the hang of it”

OverallSeeing the overall network in one location. Being able to manage help desk tickets. Trying to implement a inventory list still not getting that to work.
ProsI love the ability to build custom maps of the overall network. This allows frequent checkups on how the system's are running. Ticketing systems are easily used except input users selecting the correct assigned IT personnel.
ConsVery big learning curve and way to many different systems that need their own installation instead of a (add on) to the main solarwind program. Still learning about network discovery and even with the help videos, there are still things not working properly yet.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Seth B.
Service Desk Team Lead
Consumer Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“I operate as an administrator of the system as well as running a help desk team out of the system.”

OverallIt does what it says on the box - helps us track issues and tickets.
ProsThe pricing system is definitely a bonus when compared to other software solutions. You get a lot of bang for your buck. Out of the box it works fairly well, but we have a lot of specialized use cases that took more to implement. The administration features are fairly simplistic - could be good or bad depending on how you look at it, but as someone with minimal code/administration experience it's easy to jump right in and get what you need done. Bulk features is nice. Client and ticket history were a must for us as we have our HR team working out of this system in tandem with other teams.
Cons1. Lack of in depth customization. This extends to UI, ticket options, even the action rules are pretty railroaded in terms of what you can do. 2. Built in reporting isn't great. It also taxes the system from the user/technician side if you are running a large report (this is bad.) We ended up just throwing the SQL tables into Tableau to get any sort of granular information. 3. Systems other than the ticketing feature aren't fleshed out. Assets and FAQs both stink, even when compared to ticketing system.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Todd S.
Network Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Great product”

OverallHelped us get away from email requests and the grab me in the hallway questions. We tell our staff to use this ticketing system.
ProsEase of use, end user friendly. We haven't used the asset portion of it much bit would like to start using it soon. Rest of software is solid. The calendar view is nice to see the due dates for your tickets.
ConsFor us it's fine, but a larger company may want some more customization options. There is not much I can think of not to like for our use.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Apollo C.
IT Manager
Food Production, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Great product overall”

OverallOrganization of open tickets.
ProsEasy deployment. Fairly robust automation/workflow (certainly room for improvement). Integration with other SolarWinds products works well.
ConsVery limited reporting functionality. Much of the available customization is not intuitive...wizards would be a great feature addition.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Brian B.
Sysadmin Lvl1
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Powerful Config Options”

ProsThe ability to sort tickets to different teams with ease. Web Help Desk makes our approval processes easier to manage and verify. Developers responded directly to forum requests.
ConsLimited to a single tab per user. If links are opened in multiple tabs issues will occur. Still has some limits with approval boards.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Braedan H.
IT Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Great Inventory and Ticketing System”

ProsSuper easy to navigate, and understand. Took me only a few days to understand fully how to get our ticketing system to work.
ConsFew bugs in the software, not sure if it's the version I'm on, but very little to complain about. Does exactly what you need, and then some.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2017

“Awesome Product”

ProsSolar winds does it again - Web Help Desk command center, this software is amazing and easy to use.
ConsThe main con of this program is the look and feel of the user interface, when dealing with desktop guys it is best to have a "awesome" look and feel, make the geek feel cool!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2017
Jeri R.
Helpdesk Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“I have been very pleased with the product”

OverallAs it should it helps keep up with work orders that users have notified us about and I can access it from smartphone which is very handy
ProsIt was priced well for the features it provides. It integrates with SCCM for inventory purposes as well as SQL and Exchange.
Conssome of the interface is not as intuitive as I would like it to be. really very minor. I would like to create a ticket from the client information page. and have a save button at the top of the ticket too,
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Annette R.
App Support Spec
Real Estate, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Easy to use and track tickets.”

ProsI like that end users are able to update tickets. We are able to provide FAQs to all end users. Nice to add hardware to user profile.
ConsNot clear to end users that they must login to update or respond to their tickets through the helpdesk, users are responding in email instead.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2017

“Great solution with low cost”

OverallTracking of IT issues, tracking of trends
ProsEase of use, end users like the ease of submitting tickets by just sending an email through Outlook.
ConsSome of the back end setting could use a little refining to make things more streamlined. Otherwise a good solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2017
Andy S.
Desktop III
Management Consulting, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 26, 2017

“Awesome but dated”

ProsEasy navigation and easy access to information, reports, as well has monitoring solutions built in.
ConsSolarwinds lacks updates, and feature improvements, I have used this product for 3 years and have yet to see any big changes. Very dated.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 26, 2017
David W.
Systems Administrator
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“A helpdesk product that integrates with Solar Winds? Yes, please! ”

OverallHelp Desk ticket database with asset inventory
ProsIt integrates with Solar Winds and helps with asset control. The Helpdesk UI/UX is easy to read. It allows for Helpdesk automation tasks, IE: reminder events.
ConsThe assets aren't cleanly entered into the system from Solar Winds. Example: Out of the box, any device with both Ethernet and wireless connects show as two different devices.

Vendor Response

By SolarWinds on May 23, 2017
Your review brings up a good point: something often overlooked is the fact that Web Help Desk integrates with products that are part of SolarWInds Orion Platform. Glad you're taking advantage of this, because the benefits are sweet!
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017
Taylor B.
Helpdesk Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017

“Solid Helpdesk/Service Desk ITSM tool with all the features you would expect”

ProsCustomizable to fit nearly all needs for a modern IT department with a need to track incidents, requests, and problems.
ConsThere are times when I wish the reporting functions were better. There are limitations to what you can report and dashboards. Wish there was an ability to make custom fields visible or hidden dynamically based upon selection of other custom fields on the ticket submission forms.
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2017