Sublime Text Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Sublime Text

Text editor that helps developers with their coding with intuitive text highlighting. Learn more about Sublime Text

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 537 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 537 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jim N.
Systems Admin
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“A standard for developers.”

OverallA great experience. Customized into everything I wanted, had all the tools I needed to edit in a windows environment for deployment into linux.
ProsThere's a ton to love here. Customizable color palette to work in dark, light, colorblind-specific and other preloaded or completely customizable shades. Preloaded LINT tools for most languages means that keywords, variables and branch statements are highlighted with various colors. Excellent and fast find/replace for open files, or, files in a directory you specify. Tons of addons, including my favorite DIFF tool to compare two files. Will save in Linux or windows file formats in case you work on one platform and your code runs in another. Also integrates well with GitHub.
ConsThere is a bit of a learning curve for the advanced features. Sublime can be run as easily as windows notepad, but if you want addons, LINT for unusual languages, or unusual features (vertical select), then it does take a bit of practice to get good with.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Francisco A.
Software developer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Perfect JavaScript IDE”

OverallFor coding frontend is the first option, very fast, no high CPU/RAM consuming, so I'm very happy that I discovered 7 years ago and I daily continue using it. I have to say that first time you work with it, you need to install some extensions and configure it in the way you like to work, this can take a few hours, but after that annoying time you will be happy with the performance.
ProsThis tool is not overloading your CPU or RAM. This is one of the biggest problems I see in other IDEs. First time you install it, you can see that design is very simple and the application run very quick. It is easy to find any file or text in all the project with no delay. I like the way the bars are differenciated. Left menu, files opened and the position in the current file at the right left pane. The last is very helpful to have an idea of the size of the code. The base default colors are great so you maybe don't need to adjust a lot, however the visual aspect configuration can be modified with a lot different options. Automatically it is giving different colors to the some special keywords, comnets, statements, parameters... and also you can select these colors. The background in black with such rest of colors is very nice! Also the typography is very clear. The folder structure is not a mess of folders, so you have a small separation between all of them, different icons for the tipe of file and the background is grey to differenciate it from the rest of the screen where you have the code. You can install several plugins but first you need to install the Package Control. Then with Ctrl + Sifht + P, you can start typing the plugin you desire and all them are appearing. Finally it is only needed to select it to be installed. In my case, I'm using it for coding frontend but it is possible to code any kind of programming language.
ConsI didn't like that the program came with a Package Installer by default and I had to install the Package Control. However in the offitial page everything is documented and well explained. There are a lot of extensions to install so when you are trying to find one it could be good to have a kind of sorting by ranking of best valued.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Gonzalo B.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“One of the best text-editors out there”

OverallAn overall great text-editor, lightweight and easy to use, perfect for developers that want to customize their coding experience.
ProsI remember the first time I saw Sublime Text installed in the computer of a fellow developer, the black background blew my mind, the interface was sleek and super minimalistic. It's been five years of that day and I am still using it daily. When I need to compare files, search in files or work on multiple files at the same time Sublime is my way to go, the Go to Definition or Anything feature is also super helpful when dealing with big projects. Sublime Text is a dream came true for fans of tweaking their tools, you can customize almost every single aspect of the editor and with an active theme developing community it's hard to get bored of the appearance of your editor. The selection of plugins is huge and you can extend Sublime text to adapt to your needs, frameworks of choice, syntax highlighting and so on. I love the integration with Emmet. Besides that Sublime is cross-platform and lightweight, you can run in seamlessly in not so powerful machines, Linux, Windows, etc. One thing that has saved my day many times is that Sublime will keep the workspace and unsaved files even if my computer crashed or suddenly restarted, I was relieved to find my work done once I opened Sublime again.
ConsThe package control is still not as nice to use as in another text editors when you install a package the progress of it and the successful installation notice are easy to miss (just a tiny text on the bottom bar). The packages bring another problem as well: many of them have been abandoned, are buggy, outdated and can make the editor crash easily. Sublime is a powerful text-editor where you can run your own projects, for Phytonists it's a great deal but it's not a full IDE and you will need many plugins to extend the editor enough to reach some of the basic features on a full IDE. A toolbar could be of great use for people like me that keeps forgetting keyboard shortcuts. One thing that it's quite annoying is the popup asking you to buy the software, being out there so many open-source editors this little annoyance can lead to switching to another tool. Recently I had to work on an Angular 6 project and to use Typescript on Sublime Text and find the needed packages was time consuming and not that easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Elvis P.
System Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“The most effective, powerful and sophisticated text editor that exists.”

OverallThanks to Sublime Text I can work in my development projects quickly and efficiently allowing me to finish them in record time, recycle code for reuse and modify projects easily increasing my productivity and income.
ProsWith Sublime Text I can create any type of project without limitations of programming language or framework thanks to its thousands of packages available either for website development projects through HTML code or in application projects with PHP, Python or Pearl, I can also work on projects with other languages such as Java, Ruby, MySQL and others, with Sublime I have the ability to move quickly through the documents of the entire project with its "GOTO ANYTHING" function or with the "GOTO DEFINITION" which generates an index of all the classes of the project, also through its multiple selection I can make all the changes I want in different areas of the document at the same time saving me a lot of time, the COMMAND PALETTE allows me to change the syntax automatically just looking for the one I want to navigate through the menus, thanks to its documents division function I can use my screen in an incredible way, allowing me to visualize several files at the same time and compare code or look for possible errors in them, I can also change instantaneously the projects in which I work without complications and without losing progress in which I am closing, It should be noted that Sublime Text is the text editor with the best performance that I have used and it is cross-platform since I can use it on Windows, Mac and Linux. For this and much more the most effective, powerful and sophisticated text editor that exists.
ConsThere is nothing I can say, it is just the best.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Nairoby D.
Administrador de Bases de Datos (DBA). Consultor TI
Telecommunications, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019

“Lightweight and multiplatform”

ProsIt is a recommended text editor for developers, but honestly it is very useful for any user, since you can write plain text, when you press a word, it places all the matches (multi selection), you can have a very long text and the right side There is a mini image of the content that you are making and where you are spatially located. It is very light and easy to install, you can add some features through plugins, you have multiple options to differentiate the code: php, sql, css, html, java among others, it has autocomplete what allows to speed up the work, as well as the option for code blocks between keys or labels, when positioned on one, Sublime highlights the closing or vice versa. For the most demanding, you can change the type of letter and the colors to personalize it, it has a great variety of shortcuts that sometimes are not so easy to remember. You can go typing text and if you close the window by mistake, Sublime opens again with the tab and the content that you had, that is, it keeps, in addition it displays on the left side the content that you have opened and it is very easy to locate, since you can have it saved in different directories but Sublime gives you access to them directly. It is multiplatform, we can install it in windows and linux versions without problem. A wonderful feature is that we can work in one window or up to four and go editing simultaneously.
Cons- It is not free, but the trial version has no time limitation. - The plugins are not so easy to install and locate, you have to do it through Package Control and follow some steps to make it work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Chiranjib S.
Summer Intern
Telecommunications, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019

“The best text editor I have used”

OverallI use it everyday to write everything, from random texts for my reports and articles to codes for work.
ProsSublime hands down is the best text editor I have ever used. I can speak about its endless features for a day but let's highlight the best ones. - It has the keyboard shortcuts inherited from the classic vim editor. Even one can switch to the vim mode of text editing. - The multi-tab feature (like any browser like google chrome) is very helpful for managing multiple text files. Also it always auto-saves. Saved me a lot of time when the desktop accidentally hanged or my laptop was off due to battery drainage. - The color scheme for multiple programming environments make it a standard IDE for many platforms. The code highlight feature is very helpful. - For the lovers of dark mode or dark screen, this is the text-editor to use. Actually this is the first thing I liked about sublime when I chose it after dumping notepad++ or other editors. - Even codes can be run directly from the editor by connecting the compilers (like gcc or g++) from sublime. - There is a thriving community out there designing cool new themes for sublime. So just download a theme if the look becomes boring! - Finally it is cross-platform! Doesn't matter whether you are in windows, mac or linux, sublime text is free to download and use.
ConsThere is really nothing to dislike except the fact that every time I save a file, there is a pop-up window appearing that that it is a free version and we can pay them to support their development. Although I know this is true, but showing this message everytime is a bit annoying. There are sometimes errors in plugin. So download and install plugins at your own risk. You can always do a fresh installation if things are messed up!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Gharsallaoui J.
Web Designer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“A sublime texte editor”

Overall Helpful text editor, very effective in light web projects or browsing files, very fast does not have bugs or crashes generally. May be it would be one of the coolest text editors if it was free.
Pros- One of the first black background text editors - You can easily change your theme preferences like color, text font etc... - Extremely fast and light, it doesn't require a powerful machine to use it - Almost support all programming language without Updating or adding manually it's Settings. - A big extensions & plugin support that make your coding experience much faster and easier (like auto-completing, Emmett etc. ....) - Keyboard combination binding is so powerful, you can add a full code template within a second - the first text editor that stand out even if you open it 10 times and still be able to work with different files. - Great online support, well documented and can be installed in a very short time.
Cons- Not a free text editor: unfortunately, all these features come with a price. As a developer, I find this a bit disturbing especially when you see other text editors with the same performance and the advanced features for free!! - You always have to search for how to install plugins and extensions, it's not really clear and sometimes it can be challenging to find the right plugin and how to install it not the classic way. - No auto save as a default feature - Needs a lot of plugins to get it close for an IDE performance or characteristics. - Poor graphic displaying the project folder, console (including the shortcut) - Commenting your code is always disturbing (keyboard shortcut is very unstable) - Updating its preference need to be studied! You feel like you have to be a Sublime Text expert to adjust some features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2019

“Best text editor for web developers”

OverallMy overall experience with Sublime Text has been nothing but joyful moments of programming. I would recommend it to every single web developer. Switch to Sublime Text and make your development process a breeze.
ProsHonestly, I can not say what I like most about Sublime Text. Because there are so many things to like in this product. I have been using Sublime Text for almost 4 years now and I can tell that I have never looked back since I have started to use it. It has all the features and functionalities that web developer needs. You can use it for any programming language, let it be JavaScript, PHP or even Java.
ConsI think, Sublime Text is just perfect in every way. However, some people may say it is not free like other text editors or IDEs, but it does not have to be. I think Sublime Text is worth every dollar you pay and what is better is that free version does not even have time limitation, so if you do not want to buy it, you do not have to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“Beautiful and flexible code & text editor, but not an IDE”

ProsSublime sports a beautiful minimalistic user interface, which can be easily personnalized through themes. It is an extremely fast code editor, both in terms of startup time and while running with many files open. It supports all programming and markup languages, from web to C++ to Markdown. Its main strength is its extensibility: plugins can be written in Python to improve or add pretty much any features. There are thousands of plugins providing better support for specific languages, formatting capabilities, etc. It also has built-in support for language-specific and context-aware snippets, which come-in very handy. Navigation between and within source files is extremely efficient using the "command palette", which allows jumping to files, methods, definitions, etc. Fuzzy matching means that file & method names can be typed very partially, while still finding the right thing. Finally, there's recently been the addition of Git and Sublime Merge integration, so that changes are now highlighted and diff can be visualized in place.
ConsCompared to full-fledged IDEs, or even Visual Studio Code, Sublime Text lacks advanced code intelligence features (e.g. method autocompletion). The autocomplete feature only suggests words that have been written in the current file. I've never found this to be an issue in practice though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“A great and lightweight tool to edit the code and text with amazing features.”

OverallSublime Text is great for code editing and formatting , but not ideal for a full on project development. This has some powerful features and does a great job for what its meant to be.
ProsSublime text is an easy to use editor which I use almost everyday. It is also fast compared to other editors and it can manage large files without loading the computer and making it stuck. Since. I mainly use this to edit and format my text files, I find the search feature to be very efficient and fast compared to note pad or note++.It is also easily customization where we can have multiple themes, font sizes, fonts etc. as per we like.
ConsIt is not a free software that it has pricing. Its hard to use it for a full project development, but good for simple development works due to lack of features for development.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2019

“The best lightweight text editor”

OverallIt has been fantastic to use Sublime. The best part being, it is so lightweight that it works flawlessly even on machines with lesser power
ProsIt provides numerous shortcuts to help drastically increase your productivity and speeds up the time to get the job done. You can install support for various languages and it will help you autocomplete. Along with that it also provides beautiful syntax highlighting (with changeable color schemes). If you spend some time customizing it, you can make it just the way you like it. It also supports a cursor to be placed at multiple places, so that you can write/edit at multiple locations. You should definitely check out the keyboard shortcuts that sublime provides, to help use it better
ConsIt is comparatively difficult to integrate a terminal within sublime and in general not very straightforward to compile code
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2019
David R.
Site Reliability Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2019

“Lightweight, simple, sleek code editor with lots of plugins available and the best thing its free!”

OverallGreat simple, sleek, lightweight code editor. I use it on a Mac with a few plugins installed which include a plugin to help format CSV documents, as well as another to help prettify JS,CSS,HTML code.
ProsProduct doesn't appear to use a lot of cpu or memory, is lightweight and does a great job as a simple code editor. It has all of the basics like Syntax highlighting for multiple programming languages, has the ability to install additional plugins for extra functionality (ie. like re-formatting code / pretty print code, Vim shortcuts, etc) and my favourite advanced functionality is the ability to multi-select text/edit/add/remove text in a document (ie. select the last word on a number of lines in your document, remove that word and add some new text).
ConsSmall learning curve to get to know some of the shortcuts - but definitely worth the while and will help speed your code editing. Please learn how to use the multi-select functionality as it is super powerful - Here is how Sublime pitches that functionality on their site - "Make ten changes at the same time, not one change ten times. Multiple selections allow you to interactively change many lines at once, rename variables with ease, and manipulate files faster than ever."
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Román Josué d.
Data Science Team Lead
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“A great text editor for Data Scientists!”

OverallGreat experience with Sublime text, and highly recommend it if you are working in Data Science or Machine Learning.
ProsWhen I entered the world of Data Science, I had a hard time trying to find a good text editor for my purpose: edit code, and explore CSV files with the same tool. Sublime text was the answer to my personal request. It allows me to open huge CSV or plain text files and explore them in no time, I can search through them, replace text, and much more. In addition, I can edit both R and Python code with ease thanks to Sublime Text.
ConsI don't like that Visual Basic is not recognized yet. I use it a lot also as Excel is a vital tool for my data analytics task.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Bhavin S.
Full Stack Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2018

“Code your thoughts into Sublime”

OverallThe overall experience with Sublime Text is very nice. Majority of the tasks to write , manage and deploy the code get completed with the help of Sublime Text. If you are familiar with Sublime Text 2 then Sublime Text 3 is not unknown and hard to use.
ProsThe best thing which I like about Sublime Text is , light weight and easy to install. Apart from that It is super fast in terms of coding and syntax error. The second thing is, you can integrate your git setup with Sublime Text using command palette and a package name "git savvy". Every developer has his/her own way to code the project. For that Sublime Text provides UI tweakability which helps developer to be in thier desired environment. Sublime Text has enough support for buffer completion where you don't need to remember word or syntax for your code. You just write the starting characters of the word and if your word or syntax appears then select that element and hit Enter and there you go !
ConsIt is not a full IDE(Integrated Development Environment). It has poor language inadequete support for Linux. Though it starts withing 2 seconds but it takes time to load bigger files in windows. It has not toolbar. A prompt box of "purchasing" appears while you write the code and save the file. Sometimes it get crashed due to poor quality plugins. For Scripting languages like Typescript, Javascript , Sublime is not a good choice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Alex Danilo M.
Software Developer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019

“Subime Text”

ProsSublime text is a great tool for a software developer, having a friendly interface, that you can customize, easy to use for new users. Also, has convenient features, that allow you to split the screen on Layouts (columns and rows) for maximize the space on your screen and make easy work on two or more files at the same time. Furthermore, Sublime-Text is lightweight, fast, and has updates periodically, that assert the constant improvement of this tool. Moreover, it is very flexible, you can install several plugins e.g. Semantic highlights, code's beautifiers, and format tools. This helps you to have a nice, clear, and clean code. Also, Sublime takes care of your code, it saves the last version your changes even if you have forgotten to save properly or if you PC turn-off suddenly.
ConsSublime is a good choice for software developers, but you will be forced to use plugins to improve its functionality. The clean Sublime is very basic for developers daily actions; so for integration with external repositories(Git) allowing you to compare code version, pull, and put your commits, you need to use Sublime Merge.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Muhammad S.
Front End Developer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“This is the best software that people do in the developer”

OverallIf I have my experience, do the lion express with almost almost what I have with Rhinestabout Thread, and I'm very happy if they're comfortable, they're freelancer and instead of other software like Notepad Plus Plus. And if the software is a bit smaller if we see it, it is slightly higher, but instead of seeing the editor of the toe, it is the best thing in the light that I have to say that this molecular And so advanced editor, however, is not yet seen so I would tell everyone that whatever is a developer who also has programming field If they belong to them, they are saying that same person as saying. Thanks
ProsThis is a very good software that people programming, whose life is available, with timed relays, I will try to lie to this software, stand out the same editor as a very great platform because it's how Its interface is very easy Joseph is fondly and is quite useful. For them, I would say that you are all doing this and I have a single program on their own, so I decided to marry was lying and I am quite a friendly lot and read this.
ConsI should be that the bus taking him to death a little advance Let the rest, including almost all point to the possible fine and in my view if it is left to be made this editor made another death for the user that will see if it is really great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“Sublime For Me”

OverallUsing sublime made it easy for me to scale my HTML and CSS learning from beginner to intermediate .When I wanted to begin with python ,it had all the necessary resources I required .
ProsIt is so versatile and has a lot of plugins that can fit your various needs as a developer . Switching between projects and using the maintaining your preference settings on various machine makes it resistable.
ConsIt lacks an inbuilt terminal . The default interface is not so impressive ,so one needs to use a preferred theme which might cost money in some cases .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Dave W.
Owner
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019

“Highly-Customizable, Lightweight Code Editor for All Languages”

OverallI've been a user of Sublime Text for 4-5 years now, and love it. It is the only hardcore code editor I've used consistently, so I can't compare it to some of the other popular ones, like Atom, Coda, Visual Studio Code. But I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to try out a new environment.
ProsOut-of-the-box, Sublime Text provides a beautifully designed code editor with all the standard features you'd expect from a code editor. They also provide a config file (simple JSON format) with TONS of options so you can tailor the editor to your exact specifications. Line numbers, spacing, themes/colors, code completion, and about 100 more options. There's also a ton of additional packages you can install that extend Sublime Text even further (https://packagecontrol.io/). Code helpers for all kinds of languages & popular software, linting, and so much more. And all of this is free (but you will be asked to upgrade every so often).
ConsHonestly, I've probably only used it for about 25% of what it's capable of. But every feature that I've wanted to add to it, I've been able to easily. So I really haven't found any downsides yet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Versatile Text Editor”

OverallI mainly use Sublime Text as an alternative for IDE-s (such as Visual Studio or Eclipse) at work as well as for my college-related work. I mainly work with large files (which usually take a while to load in other text editors, but not in Sublime) and need to clean up data a lot so Sublime text significantly lowers the time I would otherwise spend on cleaning up the data manually. I recommend it to everyone and even got my previous company to pay for the license.
ProsThe main thing I like about Sublime Text Editor is its intuitive and simple interface which is not clogged with unnecessary shortcuts and irrelevant features. Moreover, UI is fully customizable as one can change themes, macros and key bindings. It supports a whole variety of languages with syntax highlighting. My most used features in Sublime Text Editor are multiple cursors and column editing, which significantly affect the time I spend on editing. The application is very lightweight and fast, compared to traditional IDEs which take a while to load.
ConsSo far I don't have any complains regarding the software as it perfectly suits my needs and is a great text editor all around.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Shaun R.
Computing Science Student
Computer & Network Security, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019

“Best text editor”

ProsIt is very comfortable to work with and is easy on the eyes, especially since it can be switched from day mode (bright) to night (darker). It also provides a mind map to the side of the editor to show you what file you are on and where it is located. The formatting is consistent when using on different platforms such as, iOS or windows.
ConsWhen loading certain sized files, mostly larger ones, it can cause the program to load slowly. It also has the tendency to crash if loaded with poorly added add-ons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“THE text editor”

OverallUsing Sublime in conjunction with plugins and templating languages has streamlined email production massively. Without it, we'd be manually typing out, lines and lines of code.
ProsI need to use a text editor on a daily basis for editing custom templates for email marketing and Sublime is just perfect for the task. With the extensive range of plugins, you can pretty much do what you need to in this editor. Some of the ones I use are Emmet and Colour Highlighter. And not to mention Sublime's own snippet system which allows for easy insertion of code that gets used over and over. Sass plugins allow CSS to be highlighted accordingly so it's easy to read. The multi-select editing function makes editing a dream. A must for anyone writing code for sure!
ConsI don't really have any qualms with Sublime, probably the only criticism would be the lack of a GUI settings interface. All the settings are in 'code' form if you take enough time you can work it out, but some it could be a bit complicated whereas a simple checkbox or dropdown would make options easier to change.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Fernando L.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2019

“Sublime Text: Easy and comfortable to work with”

OverallAlmost all developers in the company uses Sublime for development. It is very customizable so I can make it adapt to any project I'm working on. Also due to its lightweight I can run it on computers with few resources so anyone on the team may use it.
ProsI love how lightweight Sublime text is in comparison to some of its competition, it literally does not affect my computer performance at all. Working with sublime text back then as a beginner was amazing as it gives you advanced functionalities in such an user friendly way that anyone can understand them. For example, multiple cursors and column selection. I have worked with Sublime on OS X and Windows and I have to admit that it is pretty consistent on both platforms, it literally looks the same, something I truly appreciate.
ConsIt focuses way too much on keyboard users and I would really love to have a toolbar to do things faster in case I don't remember one particular command. It's plugins sometimes make sublime crash. And I've found that loading big projects on sublime might take a little longer than doing it on another software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Shaurya A.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2019

“Best editor in the ever.”

Overall1. Being a software developer and competitive coder, sublime has been a great support to my work. 2. It allows me to edit my code, run my programs and debug/edit them with high handiness. 3. I use it to edit Django files, PHP files, C++ files and basic text files.
Pros1. It's simplicity, flexibility and versatile functionality makes it the best text editor in the world. 2. It is light software, run on almost every configuration. 3. It allows coding in different programming languages, like java, c++,c, python, java script and many more. 4. It's default theme is soothing to eyes. 5. It's theme can be edited as per requirement. Functionality can be extended through plugins(if required). 6. Shortcuts and handiness(such as find and replace) make is an excellent time saving editor. 7. Coding as well as development seems less hectic when implemented on sublime. 8. It has proper documentation for it's different tools which make is easy to learn, adapt and use.
Cons1. It has nothing much to hate. 2. Just it's continuous pop ups for buying the subscription causes irritation. 3. If pop up dialogue box is opened, shortcuts such as tab spacing does'not work. 4. Installing some plugin are complex and difficult to implement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2019
Avatar Image
Christian K.
CEO & Founder
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“The best coding tool I've ever used”

OverallSublime is the best coding tool I've ever used. Once a replacement for Notepad++ on Mac after I have switched, Sublime is now my favorite because of the supporting features and the interface. I don't want to miss it.
ProsThe interface is definitely cool and individual as every user can change it to the own taste. Coding tools are supportive and will suggest you code you want to enter and it automatically adds elements which can save you time. The whole bunch of possible file formats is perfect for those who are working on many different tasks alone or in a team. Sublime offers a vast variety in shortcuts to work with your code or to make it better readable which is important in larger projects to not get lost.
ConsSometimes Sublime is adding elements to the code which I don't need. So it costs me time and can interrupt my thoughts. When launching the software from time to time I get an alert about an error but it doesn't affect my opened files. Also do I miss a sorting function for my files. Often I have ten or more files opened and want to sort them to find something.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Pradeep K.
Data Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2019

“Sublime Editor”

OverallSublime is overall the best editor tool available in the market for free which is based on the plugin availability and ease of use
ProsAvailability of plugins and file searching is really awesome and access to definitions and methods across different class is better than other editors.
ConsSome time indexer fails when the editor is open for long time or if the system wakes up from sleep mode. definition search is not available at those times. And also the file search functionality will become very slow when the code base is little extensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Stiffani R.
Consultor de Servicio y Soporte
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“The best text editor I've used!”

OverallSo far I have used Sublime text to write code for the development of systems and websites, and I thought it was an excellent application because it has greatly facilitated this task.
ProsWhat I like most is that it is super light, particularly I have worked with other editors or development environments which are heavy and take a considerable time to open the files but sublime Text is very agile and fast. Additionally, it has excellent options for structuring and organizing the code in a neat and efficient manner, facilitating in turn the realization of processes for debugging, modifying and optimizing the code. Another aspect that fascinates me is the options offered to customize the editor adapting the same to the needs of each user providing useful options such as the configuration of commands by combining different keys for the realization of different tasks, allowing to create shortcuts and access to multiple functions in quicker and simpler ways. In general it is an excellent tool for the creation and editing of text.
ConsUnlike other text editors, you must acquire a license for its use that although it is consistent with all the features and facilities offered, can be expensive for many people. However, it has a free trial version, in which you can evaluate the program and then determine if it is worth the investment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Jonathan S.
Designer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019

“Sublime Text is a Powerful and Fast Native Text Editor”

OverallSublime Text is 100% reliable. It is native and fast. Not buggy. It is the most dependable tool in my pocket for working on website and code. Nothing beats it on the Mac.
ProsSublime Text is incredibly powerful for text editing, web development, and lightning-fast authoring of any kind of text. After years of fiddling with Atom and VS Code, I've landed back with Sublime. It works so incredibly well and has gotten slimmer and faster over time, something many types of software can't say.
ConsThe one shortcoming of Sublime Text has been in the historic lack of quality, beautiful UI themes. With Ayu and other modern themes, this has gotten better. Atom still has everyone beat in offering the most beautiful built-in theme but Sublime is growing in this and native Git integration.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Christopher B.
Freelance Web and Software Developer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019

“I prefer it over IDEs”

ProsI'm primarily a web developer, working in back-end languages like PHP and Python. I know there are IDEs out there for both, and for some jobs and other languages, I use them, but I like Sublime for being so incredibly light weight, fast, extendable with plugins, and consistently stable. The updates are far and few between, but I consider that a good thing. Why add a bunch of nice-to-haves when I don't have to worry about whether or not a feature will even work that I REALLY need?
ConsSublime is a lot like GitHub's Atom in that it's meant to be barebones and extended with plugins. Because of that, there are a lot of plugins that have been abandoned, never really worked, or don't exist for things that in other text editors or IDEs exist. I routinely have to open Visual Studio Code to double-check things related to my differences with my SVN repository, and the Visual Studio Intellisense is just really nice having also come from a C# background in standard Visual Studio.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019
Adam B.
Technical Operations
Media Production, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Out of the box - An easy to use code editor.”

ProsI work as a Technical Operations Specialist. It's my job to make sure our media-tech company is running smoothly from a technical perspective. I have used Sublime Text for everything from writing and creating scripts and tools to deploy at our workplace to writing and editing full websites. I am not a software engineer and text editors that deploy tons of highly specialized features tend to scare me away. Sublime is great in that it keeps all of that stuff under the hood so it's there if you need it but its not right in your face when you launch the app. I appreciate Sublime Text supports many languages. It also has a generous licensing policy, you can try it for free indefinitely (nag ware) which is great if you need it in a pinch on an unfamiliar machine. That said, if you like the software, I highly encourage you to buy the non-nag ware version, it speeds up your development quite a bit.
ConsAs a Swiss Army knife utility code editing application it's great! If you are looking for something highly specialized like you plan to write ruby or python all day, every day. I would suggest a specialized editor...but even still keep this in your back pocked when you invariably need to write that lone BASH script.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Sarath S.
Android Developer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2019

“A Really Good Code Editor”

OverallMy Overall experience with Sublime Text is great , I have been using sublime texts to edit APIs and create websites.It is very easy to use and fast. And the codes will look so great in the editor .
ProsI really like sublime Text its easy to install and setup and it only takes less than 5 mins. And I really like its autocomplete functions its really useful while coding. And It will highlight the syntax of the code for all programming languages. And I really like the plugins that i can install to the editor and there are so many plugins .And if the file don't have any extension then we can just manually change to the code to its actual coding language. And by using some plugins like emmet we can create boilerplate code in HTML too.
ConsThe main thing I don't like about Sublime Text is its not free, but we can use the trial one doesnt expire after some days so that is okay. we need to buy it to use all the features. And there are other free editors that support plugins and free.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Yash C.
Data Scientist
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2018

“Sublime: Smart and reliable ”

OverallOverall, it is very nice to use. Being a data-scientist I recommend to fellow ones also. Many say that auto-completion is needed in the software, but I think due to that your coding skills deteriorate so I dont need anyways. Its speed is amazing. Anyone can just try to replace a word in 1 gb file(too large for an IDE). Apart from the github integrations and file comparison tool facility, it perforrms far better than any other IDE.
Pros1) It is very efficient: I put all my work folder into the sublime and still its loading time is very fast. 2) It quickly opens up the large csv files (~500 mb) in seconds which was amazing experience. 3) You can you sftp plugin to quickly connect to your ec2 instance. 4) Various key combinations to help developers do their work faster. 5) Very light-weight, occupies only approx 10mb RAM. 6) Unique themes and shades.
Cons1) Git integration is very weak. 2) No tool for file comparison. 3) In free version, annoying pop up to upgrade. 4) Mostly python related tool. 5) Less support for other languages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Handiest 'notepad' editor I've come across so far”

OverallI enjoy using this software over Notepad++, and have switched over to it for everything I reasonably can. Overall, it has exceeded my expectations, and become a staple of my work setup.
ProsI love how clean and streamlined the appearance is, and how quickly and easily you can create and edit text and code. There is great syntax highlighting available, and the search feature is great for filtering through large log or output files.
ConsI dislike the annoying popup asking you to buy the full version, as I have yet to purchase a license. I expect that this will eventually become enough of a nuisance that I'll drop the cash on it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Research, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Best IDE ever”

OverallI'm very satisfied with its usage. Its a simple editor with ton of features
ProsI'm really grateful for the developers who made this awesome editor. Its very simple to use and it became my favorite because of it. Also it has a huge support for many programming languages.
ConsThere is nothing much to say on this. you get most of the features of other advanced IDE's in a small application and might miss few add-on's of those IDE's
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Matt D.
Sr. Director of Engineering
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Great option for code and text file editing”

OverallLove using it and will continue to use it for the foreseeable future.
ProsIt's very fast and simple to use at the basic level, great feature set. I paid for a license shortly after trying it and have been glad to see that I can use Sublime Text on multiple devices without having to buy additional licenses. It also has a rich set of add-on libraries that add features specific to various languages and other useful utilities. It's free to try, so you can't lose anything by giving it a go and reasonably priced if it turns out you love it as I do.
ConsI can't think of anything worth mentioning as a con.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Amit G.
Owner
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Best code editor”

OverallOverall sublime text is best text editor for programming. It fulfills all basic to intermediate requirements so we are continuously using this from a long and my experience is overall good.
ProsSublime text is one of the best code editor in industry. The code editor is visually very nice, lightweight, easy to use. Its opensource hence free of cost. I user its dark mode which makes me very comfortable while using it. From dveloper perspective It supports various programming languages like Java, PHP, CSS, Javascript and code folding is also very easy. it made me and my life easy while we dont have to remember that which file is opened or closed, whenever we open system, we find files in same manner as it was left.
ConsSublime text is good editor with having good UI. Sometime we felt that for code debugging purposes it is not perfect and we need to add on like sublime merge. Testing integration tools also not available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Carl H.
Software Developer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019

“Daily text editor”

ProsFirstly, Sublime Text is a really lightweight and speedy text editor that I use every single day to edit any text documents or simple scripts. Sublime Text has an incredible community behind it with there being plugins available for every programming/scripting language under the sun. It is great not only for developers but also for every day users who just need to edit a text file. It has a range of themes available so that you can customise it to your liking.
ConsUnfortunately, like all things, Sublime Text costs money. You can use it for free indefinitely which is very generous. However after every 20 saves it will popup a message asking if you would like to buy the software. Personally, this would be fine if Sublime Text were a little bit cheaper, or had a deal, however, it is a little pricey in my opinion. Thankfully, it is a buy-once model as opposed to a subscription.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Frank R.
Co-Founder, CTO and Product Lead
Hospitality, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019

“Blazing fast editor with loads of customization options and plugins”

OverallOverall, Sublime Text is a very reliable editor with more plugins than you can ever use. Just a short time learning a few shortcuts and you'll be cutting your workflow time considerably. And you can be confident that there's no document that will cause the editor to hang. Hard to recommend another editor unless you have a reason to go elsewhere.
ProsIf speed and ease of use are what you value most, then you can't go wrong with Sublime Text. There's nearly no lag, even with really large documents. Learning just a few key shortcuts also makes using the editor a breeze. Finally, a large family of plugins and customizable options make it so you can pretty much make it into whatever experience is best for you.
ConsI think Sublime text is a great option for users that what the speed of VIM and eMACs, but in a more easy to use package. Sublime text's shortcomings come into view with some of the newer editor features like smart completions of function definitions, which it lacks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Sourav K.
Administrator
Higher Education, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2018

“The best cross platform text editor”

OverallIt has been a glorious run with Sublime Text. There are several Websites and Applications I have built with this but nowadays I am slowly shifting to better options just because of the sheer lethargy if the ST team to add some good solid new features to their software.
ProsSublime text is my default text editor no matter I am on which operating system. Its light and feels so good to use. The best thing about this that while the barebones of the software might not impress you, there is no limit to how much you can customize it using thousands of free (and sometimes paid) plugins. You can build your own plugins yourself even, if you have a little programming skills like me.
ConsWith the rise of other editors like Atom and VSCode, the use of Sublime is steading on the decline because we, as software developers want newer features to be built in right into the editor and Sublime Text has shown no signs of improving in the past several years.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 9, 2019

“Sublime Text lives up to its name”

OverallSublime Text has been my text editor for going on 5 years now. It's fully customizable and light-weight. It works on both Mac and Windows. In fact, it's always open on my computer, even when I'm not coding. It's the app where I write quick notes and draft important emails, too. I love that if my computer reboots itself, it saves the session I had open before (including the files that hadn't even been saved yet). The dark color scheme was (and still is) my favorite part. Multiple cursors, tabs, regex searches, and add-ons enhance make it really powerful. There are plenty of new editors on the market, and many devs like to try out every new thing that comes out. But I choose to stick with Sublime Text for its overall experience.
ProsSublime was the first editor to get it all right, imo. The dark color schemes won me over. The optional environment settings, themes, and addons mean you can tailor it to pretty much whatever you need.
ConsThe settings can be a little difficult to work with. And I wish that there were feature updates over time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Irina D.
Marketing email coordinator (part time contract project)
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2019

“Free powerful editor for text and code”

OverallI primarily use Sublime text as a plain text editor or for hand-coding with html and css. It does not have all the features of more sophisticated software like Dreamweaver, but it makes interface much cleaner and simpler without extra menus and panels. I also used some of the add-on modules and I love how I can control what features are available for me.
ProsIt is a great free software with customizable skin, code coloring capacity and a variety of shortcuts to make programming quicker. It can be used as a plain text editor or for working on the programming code such as, for example, html or css. It also has a lot of available plug-in modules that allow to expand its functionality: to preview the webpage, etc. And it is free. I consider this tool a must have for any coder.
ConsIt can take time to play around with various themes and additional modules to create a perfect environment, but it totally worth it in the end.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2019
steven w.
Software engineer
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Great text editor”

OverallWriting and reading textual documents and source code. great for scripting
Prosthe text editor is sublimely awesome. it is clean, fast, snappy and it has tons of great plugins to choose from. i also like how it supports a wide range of languages. good for scripting especially
ConsIt is a text editor so it does not have as much functionality as an IDE but it gets the job done.... hard to really put a con to it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Héctor A.
CEO / Lead Architect
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019

“The standard for WEB IDEs”

OverallIs an awesome IDE is the selection for most of web developers due to it's easy UI, ton of features out of the box, lightweight, multi-platform, great fonts, colorizing and auto completion, the package manager experience could be better but once you get through that you can install what you need without much hassle.
ProsThe fonts are awesome and have things like emmet to autocomplete html out of the box, it supports ruby on rails especially the .html.erb files it correctly autocomplete and colorized the ruby and html parts perfectly, light on system resources, easy to use.
ConsThe extension store is missing if it was not for a friend that introduced me to https://packagecontrol.io/ I would be using it without it, once you install it, there's a great selection of packages and themes, is a liitle bit more harder to use than Atom and VSCode, the last one has the best package manager experience from all IDEs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“I use this tool even to write down my personal things”

OverallAt first I started using it to learn to write code (web layout) but I liked its versatility so much that today I use it even as a normal text editor, to take note or write pending lists.
ProsAbsolutely everything. It has features that make editing code much simpler. From the find and replace, to any type of plugins (there are thousands of them). It supports any programming language and saves everything you write in it at all times. The free version includes almost 100% of the features and plugins available and is completely stable.
ConsReally nothing of the tool itself. Be careful because sometimes the plugins do not behave as we expect, but it is a problem of the plugin and not of the tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019

“The Best IDE That's Not an IDE”

OverallI have been using Sublime text as my primary text editor for writing web applications and python code for the last 6 years. I really enjoy the sleek dark design and the IDE like features that it offers. Syntax highlighting and autocomplete are great features that make coding a lot easier. Another feature I enjoy is the "zoomed out" view of the document on the right hand side that lets you click to a location in the document based on the way it looks -- this really speeds up navigating the document.
Pros-Lightweight -Powerful IDE like features (syntax highlighting, autocomplete) for a wide variety of languages -Sleek dark theme -High degree of customization -Able to refactor quickly and efficiently -Free
Cons-Is copyrighted and not open source -Often has problems with indentation -No printing -Doesn't quite have the features for full project management (i.e hierarchy organization) -Development and updates are slow to come out
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Dilraj S.
Sr. Software Developer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019

“Coding made easy with Sublime!!”

OverallOverall experience is very great since its very simple to use and write software code in it.
ProsSublime is an awesome text editor to be used for all the purposes of coding software and editing text files. It supports different coding languages and there are many plugins available, which can be installed easily for making the life easier for the coders and software developers. Its extremely lightweight and can open huge text files with relative ease.
ConsSublime editor is extremely lightweight, so it lacks some of the cool features which other text editors have. But these features can be installed very easily with different plugins available for Sublime.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2019
Timo K.
Webdeveloper
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“Solid editor which I can't get rid of”

OverallPure love, highly recommendable for small projects and as an additional editor to any IDE
ProsI fell in love with the shortcuts aswell as the possibilty to create complex snippets with ease quite quickly. It took me about 2 days and a couple of tutorials to really enjoy working with it. Very extendable / customizable. I switched to Visual Studio about 6 months ago, but I still use Sublime for small changes and working on single files because of the overhead of VS Code compared to ST3.
ConsIf you want to work on a bigger project, theres just some features missing that are nice to have. Especially if it comes to debugging. Maybe it is possible to use extensions to achieve a similar experience to VS Code, I'm not sure. Also, I had a lot of struggle setting up linters for different languages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Nadusha V.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2018

“One of the best text editors out there !”

Overallas a programmer I gotta tell that having sublime text is a must. because it's so simple , doesn't take forever to load, just like plug and play. would recommend to every programmer out there.
ProsI've been using sublime text for more that 2 years now and I have to tell you that it hasn't let me down ever since. I've been using sublime for react and angular development. It's so easy to use. Interface is very user friendly and anyone can use it without any confusion. and it has so many plugins that you can install with the package manager to help you code in most of the programming languages out there. And with those packages installed, programming becomes very easy with code prediction and so on.
ConsTo be honest there aren't many cons. Sometimes the plugins won't install properly . Sometimes you have to mess around.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Best text editor in town!”

OverallSmooth
Pros1. Extremely comfortable to work with 2. Strong community 3. easy to extend functionality and customize 4. lightweight 5. cross platform
Cons1. Proprietary 2. Crashes sometimes due to low quality plugins 3. whitespace management could be improved
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Chris T.
CEO
Entertainment, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019

“Definitely a 10 in the world of text editors”

OverallFantastic - I love Sublime Text!
ProsSublime Text is such a versatile and easy to use text editor. It allows such a deep level of customization that I cannot imagine writing without it. While I do use it for some code development (Python), I used it regularly to write the content I use for books, screenplays, and other written content. For a distraction-free experience, Sublime Text offers a simple yet feature-rich experience that makes it indispensable for this writer.
ConsSome of the module add-ons can be a bit buggy, especially if you're using several at once. It can sometimes require uninstalling modules to figure out the culprit. But other than that, there's honestly nothing wrong with this editor. It is a gold standard in text editors!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Artem L.
DevOps
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019

“The best text editor for everything”

OverallI can't say that you should buy Sublime Text right now. However, I've never seen other program that works as great as this one. You definitely should give it a try.
ProsSublime Text works extremely fast -- even with gigabyte files. I can open any text file with Sublime Text and I know that it will handle that file. Another great feature that I use almost every time are multiple selections. I just select some part of text, press Ctrl+D many times to select every occurrence of this part in text, and can edit all of them simultaneously. Or I just select all text, press Ctrl+Shift+L, and now cursors set on every line, so I can edit them all. This saves me a lot of time.
ConsIt costs A LOT. Really -- 80 US dollars is a huge price. And... there is no other cons. Really.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019