JIRA Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About JIRA

Jira is the #1 software development tool used by agile teams. Millions choose Jira to plan and build great products. Jira helps teams deliver value to customers by releasing earlier, more often, and more iteratively. Teams use Jira to turn feedback into new features and higher customer satisfaction. With Jira, teams get visibility into long term goals, the status of work, and real-time release information. As teams adapt to market changes, Jira helps ensure processes evolve at the same speed. Learn more about JIRA

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 7538 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 7538 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Aaron R.
CTO
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“Powerful, enterprise software that might be more than you need”

OverallWe use Jira as a kanban/agile project management tool in software development. The workflow is well understood by most developers and onboarding new team members into our system is a breeze. It is good at tracking projects and managing sprints.
ProsAs an SDLC management tool it excels. It's designed from the ground up for tracking user stories, tasks, epics, sprints, etc. in large organizations. It is excellent for cross functional team collaboration and really shines in a mature environment that doesn't change frequently or quickly. It is continuously improving and it is obvious that the JIRA team is very proactive and dedicated to staying ahead of the competition in features and services.
ConsIt is overkill for smaller teams or products that are very early in their life. When projects and teams are very dynamic, Jira projects become bloated, cumbersome, and fragmented. This product really is suited for larger, mature organizations that already have strong procedural discipline and rather monolithic approval/decision making. I know it's supporting agile methodology but really it's rigidness is more aligned with waterfall type management.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Ajesh G.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019

“Finest application for the Agile software lifecycle”

OverallI use JIRA in all the Agile software development for classification and bug tracking for every user with Dashboards. I am satisfied with the JIRA features but I think JIRA needs to provide more integration towards CICD tools so that user can get more idea about the bug tracking.
ProsEasy to create Agile dashboards to track bugs in different development life cycle. We can also extract informations regarding the user specific tickets created and worked for any period of time. Also we can attache documents to gives an entire idea about the the bugs and time tracker in comment section provides how much time it takes to fix the bugs. In the software industry JIRA is one of the widely used Bug tracking platform. The idea of classification of tickets like EPIC,Task are very useful to identify the work load needed for that ticket.
ConsNeed exact date and time of the ticket creation and comments when the ticket gets older, right now it describes like the ticket is "created more two weeks ago". JIRA also needs to integration with CICD tools for more information regarding the bug tracking and fixing. JIRA should provide a dashboard for each user how much time he worked on a ticket to track the overall work time and also it will be very easy for the Administrator also.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2019
Youness M.
Business Solutions Specialist ( Developer and Consultant )
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019

“Jira is the Best Project Management Software ”

OverallTHe best software for project management ever. It's paid, but even for our size of projects, we still love to spend some money on it and enjoy the good project management.
ProsEverything ! the software is very powerful, it has a lot of options and features: - Scrum, Agility and flexibility of changing flows. - Security setup for every type of users. - A lot of features ( no way to compare it with any other software i know ) - Very simple to use - Sprints support.. - High Availability. - Awesome Designs ( old and new ). And so many other things i love about JIRA
ConsI wish the cost was a little more less for small sized companies.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Cristian B.
Sr Software Development Manager
Semiconductors, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Jira for bug tracking and project management”

OverallI highly recommend Jira for a bug tracking tool and especially for Agile software teams. For us it has really made a difference in terms of: team collaboration, Agile methodology adoption, decreased time to market of new projects/new features and on the overall teams' spirit. We have seen a wide adoption for the other departments as well, non software development.
ProsWe used several bug tracking tools in the past but Jira is by far the best one. What I like most: - user friendly interface, provides a nice user experience - Agile SCRUM/Kanban support out of the box - extremely configurable on almost everything - extendable through custom scripting, either built-in or via addons - very collaborative - there are thousands of addons in the marketplace; you can even write your own
ConsBeing so flexible to be configured, the learning curve for admins is a little steep. The price is based on the number of users and if you experience wide user adoption in a big company, you end up in paying more for upgrading to the next tier, than if you would pay for that tier first time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Adam S.
Product Manager
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“Great for Backlogs and Organizing Software Releases - Bad For Agility”

OverallGreat software, but I couldn't believe there was no native chat support for assisting with issues. Really Atlassian? Are you that proud of the UI? You shouldn't be... you probably bought Trello because enough people were having a hard time figuring out all of Jira's quirks. Trello is so much easier and faster to get up and running for projects, so that was a good buy. Take notes.
ProsThe backlog and features for managing the backlog with different methodologies such as Kanban, Scrum, or Kanban + Scrum hybrid are very flexible. Planning sprints, releasing sprints, and looking at history of what was done is very organized.
ConsCumbersome to setup. Workflows for issues and UI/UX for creating them is not easy to understand. Sure you can figure it out, but it will require a lot of facepalms. It's good for larger organizations with several cross-functional teams, but if you are a smaller organization stick with Trello and checklists for the cards if sub-tasks are needed. The sub-tasks in Jira are just plain awful to work with, and will end up wasting a lot of time for your team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Perfect Combination of Customizable, Detail-Oriented, and Easy to Use”

ProsI love JIRA. I use it professionally and personally. Even though it is primarily a task manager for software development, I have found that it is flexible enough to be used for all sorts of projects. It is amazing how customizable it is; you can configure your project settings to your already existing workflow, whatever it may be. While the initial setup can be time consuming, once you have your settings configured, using the tool is a breeze. It takes seconds to create tasks, start springs, evaluate progress, etc. I find that this makes JIRA standout from other task managers. In most cases, if the software allows for detail-oriented task management the process of inputting and tracking the tasks themselves is cumbersome. Entering and tracking tasks should not have to be another time-consuming task! The JIRA web application is also excellent, making it easy to enter or track tasks on-the-go.
ConsI think there is a lot of potential with Jira's NextGen projects, however, the software rollout has been uneven and often not well documented. I wish this process would have been better thought out to make transitioning to NextGen projects smoother.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Luis Daniel R.
Lead Application Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“Great tool to improve your workflow and project organization”

OverallJIRA has honestly made my project management life easier. I can keep track of everything and since everything is so well organized, I can either look into the future weeks and see or organize how my work load will be and in case I don't recall how an issue was solved or who fixed such issue, I can easily travel back and look at the old tickets and archived content.
ProsI like JIRA thanks to the versatility it offers. The type of boards and features whether it's for AGILE or SCRUM project development or for it's tickets organization and how easily I can assign tasks to myself or other coworkers. Also I like their support desk system since with the portal I created, My customers can report issues through the system, I'll get a notification and get on it as soon as I can, or it'll be created as a ticket/issue and I'll get to it when I'm available. Also I can assign this task to someone else for them to take care of, or if it is related to another department.
ConsI would say they have improved with the time, but one of the minor things I disliked about JIRA is how slow it felt sometimes. Like if you have a project or board with a lot of issue/tickets, it's takes a lot of times to load, or performing actions on it can feel sluggish, not work or just bug itself. Another thing, that they have greatly improved with the recent re-designs, it's how hidden some features were under a menu (...) menu, when before there was a dedicated button for such important features (moving issues, closing etc). Now, they've changed it but I don't know why they made the change to begin with.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Patrick B.
Business Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“JIRA is a Great Tool - for the Right Teams”

ProsThe best part about JIRA is how visual the UI is. It is incredibly easy to track down and track through different tasks and sprints without having the hassle of digging through a 90s-style ticket system. My other absolute favorite thing about JIRA is the simple ability to tag individual users basically anywhere. This saves an incredible amount of time due to the way in which notifications are handled in and outside of the system. Collaboration is beyond easy with JIRA.
ConsMany of the most important features are being deprecated over time, and the customer service component of the software seems ineffective at best. Some of the best features have been removed and the highest priorities on their roadmap aren't those that would severely increase users' quality of life. I think this is part of a growing process that the company is going through, but it does cause some heartache on the regular to think that our business desires aren't being met - even through months of users requesting the simplest of features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019

“JIRA- Easy to Plan, Track & Release Project.”

OverallOverall, experience with JIRA is just awesome. Simple tool to maintain the team's effort and Project's status on a single page, Project boards. Would blindly recommend JIRA for simple and complex Agile projects. Happy Project Tracking :)
ProsI have been working on an Agile Project and I would say this is the best tool for the below reasons, * Better visualization of the project roadmap for the team. *Customizable options, Kanban and Scrum boards that can be modified as per the project and fields to be displayed, columns on board for the flow of tickets, etc.. * Easy task allocation and tracking, from both Manger's and team members view. * Allows the user to create/edit respective items, for example making file and screenshot attachments just a click away. * Integration with other apps used by the project is simple. Namely apps like TestRail & Confluence. * Best part is the backlog, which helps to create/track ticket then and there when required and work on it in future. * Viewing logs is easy as every action is tracked. * Easy filtering options and report generation for project statuses. * Filter out tickets release-wise, helpful for regression.
ConsFor the simplicity of the application, I could hardly think of any major negative points. I faced this situation so just sharing it. If the team member is released from a project he/she has no option to request via.JIRA to dissociate from the Project Board/unsubscribe from getting emails related to the ex-project. Inbox gets loaded with all the comments and action performed by the ex-team members.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2019
Joshua M.
Process Optimization Analyst
Printing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019

“Jira: An Essential Task Management Application”

OverallMy experience with Jira has been fantastic. Overall, once a team gets used to the 'ticketing' structure, there are a lot of organizational efficiencies that can be gained. The standardization of ticketing can help teams navigate through areas of need and allocate resources from other projects if ahead of schedule. Jira works phenomenally as a tool to help manage projects both large and small. I have helped test and implement projects that have utilized Jira as the primary project management tool and believe that it is a state-of-the-art solution. Overall, I cannot recommend this service enough!
ProsI use Jira for Project Management in my occupation. As a worker in a large enterprise, Jira does a phenomenal job of creating a fantastic user experience for both desktop and mobile. I think mobile project management is especially intuitive with this service. Where Jira stands apart from other standard project management tools is in its ability to track issues throughout an entire development lifecycle. Tickets are an essential component to keeping work organized and teams moving forward. The ability to collaborate via comments is unparalleled. Jira also offers extensive add-ons and pre-created templates for those just learning the service. When tracking projects, I never felt overly-encumbered by high learning curves or a clunky interface. Jira allowed me to work with many of the tools I am comfortable with and expand my potential.
ConsFrom my experience, the largest pain-point / decision point between my team is on the issue of creating 'tickets'. While Jira is a very detail oriented application, this detail can sometimes become quite cumbersome. For example, the process of creating and resolving tickets can sometimes feel even longer than completing the task itself. Furthermore, it is difficult, if not impossible to close a ticket if you are not the creator. Therefore, project managers need to carry significant oversight as task statuses change. Therefore, tickets are very controversial but also an essential component to completing work successfully on this platform.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Philanthropy, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“The "Ticket or No Ticket" Debate”

OverallIt took time to get buy-in from the entire IT department to fully utilize JIRA. However, now that the whole department is all-in, JIRA has truly made our work effort much easier. We now have internal business partners who utilize JIRA to review work status, set priorities, and create new tickets when issues/upgrades present themselves. With an organization our size, I can't imagine not utilizing something like JIRA...not sure how we did it all in the past.
ProsThe best part about JIRA is the ability to keep track of all work being done via tickets. I love that JIRA works for all kinds of styles of work. We work within an Agile environment, with some teams using Scrum and other teams using Kanban. No matter how the team is structured, they utilize JIRA tickets. This is great because there is a single repository for all work being done and we can easily search for tickets across all the different teams. The use of Epics vs. Stories is very easy too. We can keep track of what tickets belong to which effort with ease and show the progress of work through the tickets. We can also easily maintain a backlog of tickets. If two separate people submit a similar ticket (or at least two tickets that reference the same work effort), we can combine those tickets easily so that we aren't feeling overwhelmed with more tickets than actual work.
ConsThe biggest debate among our team members is when it is necessary to create a ticket. JIRA has created a culture of needing to log every little thing, even if it takes just a moment to complete the work. Sometimes, it takes longer to create the ticket than to complete the task at hand. That tells me there is too much reliance on JIRA to report work completed. It causes some in management to show that their department is succeeding simply by the number of tickets completed. But the tickets don't tell the whole story, especially because there isn't a time component to those tickets being completed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Anita R.
Project Manager
Internet, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 5, 2019

“A project manager's dream”

OverallA very strong tool for development projects, which covers so much more than just project management. Thanks to Jira, you can track issues over the whole development life cycle. Entire project layout is possible with infinite iterations, including planning and backlogs. The variety of collaboration tools involved (like comments) is unmatched by all other tools I've used. The project progress is easily tracked, plus you can track then across releases. Jira offers full reports on both progress and performance.
ProsOne of the best features I've found in Jira is the Workflow editor - I've never seen anything like it despite my extensive experience. Some people would say it's not even that important, however, for growing businesses it's something you can't do without. Lots of task tracking is needed all at once, as you can never predict what necessities will arise in a growing company. Jira provides great help with all these issues. Sprints can be structured across multiple tandem-working teams, taking into account their wishes and preferences - either for traditional setups or for newer ones.
ConsHonestly, one thing that was really off-putting for me was the impressively complex layout. The project list is simply huge, and you have to take some time to grasp the navigation and search features. Perhaps, in the next update the developer needs to add the possibility to tag or somehow categorize or classify projects more clearly to make them easily searchable. Otherwise, it takes a bit too much time. The dashboard is simple, but I don't much like the visualization for reports. You also can't assign tickets to several people at the same time. Only the person who created the ticket has the authorization to close it, which is quite bothersome. You can't create columns or tables, and notes exist only for text input. I would also like to see a feature where you can generate turnaround time for ticket closure in an automatic way using reports. Plus if you have a bad Internet connection, there are issues with loading contents (sometimes the loading even stops altogether).
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Gabriel C.
Operational Manager
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“Expensive but extremely effective for project management”

OverallIn a few words JIRA is a task tracking software that makes life easier when working on a project. Once the initial setup is in place (easy to do for common scenarios ) all is left for an administrator is to manage the list of projects and user accounts. Note that parts of the process (e.g.: customizing workflows) need to be done up-front, since this will become more complex once one or more projects are configured and in-use As for usability, it is one of the best tracking systems I've ever used: as a developer/QA you can easily update the status of your work in a user-friendly way. As a manager, you can always get the overview you need by just opening a screen or a report (most of what you need is in place by default) What's best about it is that as long as it is installed on-premises, it can be used as a central point of information for everyone involved with a project. The fact that it can be integrated with other common software industry tools adds further benefit from this. In the end, I should probably add that I've been using all kinds of bug tracking systems for about 15 years (starting with ancient tools like redmine going through PivotalTracker or VersionOne or JIRA) and almost all of them were either missing features that I deemed important or "spartan" usage/layouts that constraint the usage. JIRA just provides everything that's needed in completing a project out-of-the-box (whether it's Agile, Waterfall or Kanban or whatnot)
Pros- Overviews & quick access to information - Possibility to integrate with most commonly used systems (it integrates with pretty much all mainstream tools, nut just the ones from Atlassian) - you can integrate it even with continuous integration tools or test management tools (e.g. TestRails) - Security control (everything is fine grained, tools to configure fine-grain access are already integrated - Comes out of the box with the most common work scenarios (client onside/offsite, development only/development + product management, etc) - Reporting (easy to extract the things that matter (whether this is worked hours or development velocity) - Version management (easy to manage what features are grouped in a release, or what fixtures were done for which version) - Workflows can be customized to match just about any real-life usage scenario - Allows for both on-premises (self-hosted) installation and cloud usage. - Configurable dashboards
Cons- Pricing - it is prohibitively expensive for small companies, although they are making steps to minimize this with the new pricing models (e.g.: a few years ago they started allowing up to 5 accounts per project and unlimited projects, for a fixed yearly fee).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Defense & Space, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018

“A very powerful task tracking system”

OverallJIRA is easy to use and great for managing work tasks on a project, however customization options are often only available to admins.
ProsOur company uses JIRA to manage work tasks. It has all the important features for assigning work to team members, tracking how long each task takes, notifications, capturing comments and hours worked. The tools allows for the flexibility to create your own JIRA ticket types or categories, with any kind of number of input fields. Data fields may be dropdown boxes, tags, values, or free text. Fields inherently have the ability to recognize hyperlinks and add those in once you type out a link, and it also recognizes JIRA links, such that if you enter a JIRA ID tag, it automatically creates a hyperlink to that JIRA entry. JIRA supports Agile development schemes and tickets could be easily tracked through a JIRA Dashboard. JIRA filters are also easy to use. You may use the basic query that provides you with simple dropdown fields for common elements, or you can create more advanced queries using JQL.
ConsBeing a JIRA user can be limiting as you only have the ability to enter data for the fields that are currently configured. You have to go through IT or the admins for any form of customization such as adding/removing/hiding fields, setting what kind of text format is in each field (e.g. plain text vs rich text) and modifying which fields are required vs optional. When you have rich text formatting, sometimes it can be frustrating getting the text to show up the way you want. The workaround for this would be to use the Text tab instead of the Visual tab so that you can modify the formatting tags.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Janosch F.
Human Resources Consultant
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 24, 2018

“Flexible, powerful, simple to use and grows as you go”

OverallJira surprised me as coming across simple yet being incredibly powerful and versatile. It is a full blown Ticket and workflow management tool and it might be too much for small or personal projects. However, not being required to change the ticket system when the company or the team scales or are faced with types of tasks you did not expect is simply fantastic. Keeping software simple, easy to use yet increase its versatility and power is a virtue and Jira is build upon this virtue with care and vision
ProsJira is clean and it is simple yet powerful. You can use it for your basic ticket workflows from the get go and expand as you grow or the tasks you wisch to cover branch out. It is easy to customize the ticket views to contain the information you want to use and avoid cluttering. The Workflow editor is one of the most powerful I came across in all my professional career. It might not seem so much of an importance but believe me, when your business grows unexpected necessities will arise and you will suddenly be required to track tasks you never though about. Jira will have you covered and allow you to add different task types which traverse task-type specific phases and have corresponding stati. Also you have all the world of notification and responsibility tracking ping-pong covered as you go. Two further things are woth mentioning: First the Atlassian World (the Wiki Confluence and build system Bamboo and many other products) integrate flawlessly and it actually really makes using them fun. Jira is one of the tools, that make you smile when you are required to use it no matter the task to track, its jus smooth, convenient and above and beyond provides a rich ecosystem for free and commercial plugins even for rather exotic use cases. Also, the license Model behind it scales fantastically. When we introduced it we were a small company with 8 people (we are now going strong towards the 200) and it was critical to keep cost for our tools reasonable. Jira got us covered.
ConsWhen we scaled, the License was not as flexible in higher user tiers as it was in the lower ones. Also once upon a time an update went wrong and we had to invest a bucketload of time and brain power to get everything back up to speed. We did run jira on premise and hat some custom plugins so there might be some of the tripwires: In case you use plugins they must be available in the version you wish to upgrade to and this might require some research prior to updates. Also, you can make a science out of the workflow and notification configuration. In case it is not documented well when you do it it might get you into trouble.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 24, 2018
Miguel G.
Owner
Graphic Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 19, 2018

“Managin Technical Projects The Right Way”

OverallJIRA has lots of features and functionalities than can take time to master. From most project management applications' perspective, JIRA is one of the most complex to master. But it truly is the most complete in terms of offering development teams all the tools they need. This means that trying to run a fairly large and complex enterprise environment on JIRA might need the addition of a JIRA administrator to keep things organized.
ProsJIRA offers true Agile support for managing technical projects. Initially developed by developers for developers, JIRA is a powerful tool that captures more than just the project management aspect of any development project. JIRA offers a complete suite of issue tracking throughout the development life cycle. Starting with the backlog and planning, JIRA lets you layout your entire project across as many iterations (Sprints) as necessary. It provides ease of tracking the project progress and offers a host of tools for collaboration such as commenting threads. Projects and their projects can also be tracked across releases, with its release management capabilities, and provide comprehensive reports on performance and progress. JIRA is extremely flexible and offers pre-set templates across all functionalities, and allows you to modify them as neededto fit your team and organization's needs. Unlike some products with rigidity built into them, JIRA allows you to define how your team works. JIRA has a vast number of integrations and add-ons to further enhance its capabilities.
ConsJIRA is very powerful and very detailed. So much so, that some users often find it quite cumbersome if their development environments are not complex. Essentially, JIRA fits beautifully in any environment, but is extremely robust for enterprise environments, making it perceptively complex in small simple projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 19, 2018
Brian J.
Crew Member
Restaurants, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2018

“Collaboration Platform”

OverallWe are able to use JIRA to create, collaborate, test and deploy promos and emails for my company. I am able to see conversations and other notes from people I don't normally interact with, which can be really helpful in understanding issues that arise or other notes that may have been left out of conversation elsewhere. It's a great tool for us.
ProsI work for a large clothing retailer that often runs promotional coupons and sends out emails to customers. JIRA houses all of the collaboration for our company in creating and testing these promos and emails. What I like is that everyone, from the communications team to the Quality Assurance Team to the IT troubleshooting team can be in one place to resolve issues quickly. I love that there is the ability to tag other users and quickly get attention to issues that need a fast turnaround (emails and promos are often made within 48 hours from creation to launch). I also really like attaching 'sub-tasks' to a main project; This keeps organization a priority without having to search for every related task associated with a project. Related to this is the ability to attach documents right to any project/task for easy download. You can save searches and filters to your home page. For example, I have a filter for viewing only email projects, and another for promotional information. Once you get results, you can sort by title, date updated and a few other categories.
ConsAt first glance, the layout is a bit overwhelming. You have a giant list of projects, and the search doesn't always bring up what you are looking for. It takes a bit of time to learn how to navigate. I would probably like to see 'tags,' or additional ways to categorize a project so that you can search for it through a few more parameters. For my needs, this isn't too important because of the short lifespan of emails and promos. But I could see other applications needing something like that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018

“JIRA usage for Agile projects”

OverallCurrently, my organization is moving from waterfall model to Agile model (hybrid), JIRA has helped a lot to standardize the reporting of granular project details to be reported as a consolidated approach as to how the sprints within a project are moving forward. JIRA has given the transparent view of how the projects/sprints for a product is moving forward and managing the interdependencies within a project.
Pros- Manage multiple projects under one project in JIRA and works well for a complete program - Email notification when any changes made in JIRA makes collaboration efficient - JIRA board (Scrum Board) in JIRA and defining specific project JQL to filter the issues in JIRA makes it more user friendly for scrum masters who are managing multiple scrum teams in a program - Automated dashboard creation and ability to create different charts makes it very easy for showing management rpeorting on different scrum teams progress in a sprint - Sprint and version reports (out of the box) which provides burn down charts and which issues are lying in one state for more than a specific period of time helps scrum team to move forward and resolves impending issues - Ability to link issues for dependency and flexibility to define SDLC life cycle for an issue on a board makes it very handy on any type of project
Cons- No single view is available to see clearly how dependencies are moving forward - There are times when single issue has to be given to multiple people like in pair programming one way is to create sub task but that is not an approach that was liked by scrum teams - There macros / gadgets that comes with the JIRA product are very minimum they should add more gadgest for reporting purpose. - Yes, there are different third party gadgets but sometimes those are not JIRA / atlassian recognized and for enterprise application and corporates using JIRA does not go ahead to deploy those third part gadgets on the server model.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018
Avatar Image
Rahul Y.
Business Analyst L1
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018

“Business analyst - Awesome tool - Software administration”

OverallIt's been a great experience using this tool for me
ProsAs a business analyst, I have been using Jira for last 3 years and I think it's the best software management tool around. I have found it really helpful when it comes to providing upgrades to the projector to administer a project in development stages. It's all in one package. It has the board where you can re-protize your user stories in backlog by shuffling through pick and drop feature for the development team through tasks as well as can prioritize issues reported by the customer. You can write the user stories and just need to manage on the board. You just need to monitor the board to track the progress of the critical item and estimate overall progress. Workflow templates are available that can be selected to select the process a team wishes to follow or a path to take to address the release or apply patches on customer system. You can add the workflow by create one in the system and add the additional steps like unit testing, system testing etc as per the team. Another helpful feature that I love about this tool is that I allows integration with multiple other tools that makes it even better. Overall I think it's a remarkable tool that is making the software handling experience easy and simple.
ConsThe only thing that I hate about this tool from atlastian is that it have a lot of the patches applied and part of constant changes. We need to scratch for sometime when configuration have to be modified or any existing thing changed. It takes for a while to get your hand adjusted on the system but when are down it's always good experience using it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018
Muhammad Z.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 2, 2018

“Jira is a project management software”

ProsJira is a task administration programming that is very mainstream among numerous organizations. With an extremely high score of 9.4/10 and client fulfillment at 99% it is as of now one of the best 3 best task administration arrangements looked into on our site. The primary spot in this class is held by Wrike which has an aggregate score of 9.8/10 and is the champ of our Best Project Management Software Award for 2017. You can experiment with Wrike for nothing here. You can likewise contrast Jira and Wrike and see which one is better for your organization. Jira is intended to enable clients to catch, dole out, and set needs to their work. It enables you to deal with the entire procedure of use improvement ensuring that everything is secured, from idea to dispatch. Its straightforward, natural interface empowers joint effort with partners and enables you to take care of business in a viable way. Jira tailors itself to fit to the necessities of the business and gives fantastic help to finish everything. The level of customization enables the product to properly fit distinctive business needs. This product can be utilized by an organization. I have designed JIRA to be utilized by distributing organization, by law office, and obviously, IT organizations. What's more, it was conceivable to make everybody content with what JIRA gives. Despite the fact that occasionally it was difficult to encourage individuals how to utilize it, following multi month or two they couldn't recollect how they lived without it.
ConsJira is an amazing programming, however with a lot of capacities comes a large group of devices and assignments to learn, especially for new clients. As of late JIRA refreshed its outline. My clients whine about new outline, I get insane when I can't discover things. Furthermore, JIRA wouldn't like to stop at that and is refreshing its plan further and further. I would truly incline toward that they glance through bugs that were raised on comunity entryway and accomplish something in regards to new highlights as opposed to doing configuration refreshes. It is imperative to realize that Jira gives us awesome help to the client, and their consideration is a need, however ordinarily they don't figure the issue. It is a component to survey in Atlassian. - The prologue to Jira's reality is required to be as mysterious as its interface and execution. Actually it is intricate to fabricate channels and move around in the application when the client is new. - You need to run a right download of the reports toward the finish of the month or toward the finish of the week, the reports are conveyed in spreadsheets, however with an introduction that fails to impress anyone, thusly, when setting the dates they ought to have pretty much days so you can play out the download effectively.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 2, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Market Research, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018

“Powerful tool once you know how to configure it”

OverallThis software helps us to follow the process the team agreed to, and see the progress on issue and sprint level. We manage several projects there. JIRA by itself is a perfect solution for IT teams when it comes to managing projects. Not only you can create issues there, but also you can build workflow this issue goes through. It is perfect to see the bottlenecks of your process. Scrum and Kanban are supported. In case you need some enhancements, there is an add-on market available, where you can find a big amount of third part addons available, either paid or free. Paid once have a trial period during which you can see if this is really what you need for your business. Along with JIRA we use other Atlassian products, such as Service Desk and Confluence. Easy integration with these, makes our daily job much easier. I advice my customers to use JIRA for their business. There are several types available: Cloud and Server. Each one have their own payments depending on the size of the users. However, in some cases price might become an obstackle. In my opinion, this application can become really helpful if it gets into right hands.
ProsThis software can be used by any type of company. I have configured JIRA to be used by publishing company, by law firm, and of course, IT companies. And it was possible to make everyone happy with what JIRA provides. Even though sometimes it was hard to teach people how to use it, after a month or two they could not remember how they lived without it.
ConsRecently JIRA started to update its design. My users complain about new design, I get crazy when I can't find things. And JIRA doesn't want to stop at that and is updating its design further and further. I would really prefer that they look through bugs that were raised on comunity portal and do something regarding new features instead of doing design updates.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2018
Kristin L.
Technical Writer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018

“Thoughts on JIRA from a non-programmer: Still easy to use”

OverallTracking, organization
ProsI am a technical writer who used JIRA as my first introduction into working in a close-knit, agile programming environment. I really appreciated the clean design, multiple ways to accomplish tasks, and logical visual representations of concepts. Is something assigned to you? It has your face on it. We had several development teams working in tandem and JIRA allowed for each team to structure their sprints according to their own preferences (some had more traditional set up and others used kanban). As time went on we were able to add more projects to JIRA, after transitioning off of ClearQuest for our baseline fixes, and while there is certainly a learning curve getting established programmers who have used one system of tracking for 10+ years converted to using JIRA, most everyone was able to transition and feel comfortable within a few weeks. Speaking as a non-programmer, I found JIRA to be incredibly useful and easy. Tracking writing and editing projects through development didn't require any specific setup or features and it was all around a great tool.
ConsWhile it was great that every project could be tracked from our one JIRA site for my relatively small (30ish people) development team, any time fields needed to be added for one specific team to track something for stories or bugs, it was there for everyone. This led to having rather cluttered add screens that meant for a good deal of scrolling. I know some of this was surely user error, but having a bit more control would be nice. Also, the search function occasionally would just... not work. At all. As adorable as the sad faced little magnifying glass was when this happened, it would be very frustrating to lose functionality without warning. Being browser-based always makes for risk and some days would just be constant checking of if JIRA was up again so untracked progress didn't fall through the cracks.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Josemaria G.
Vice Director for External Affairs
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018

“PM. Agile. Cloud. It works for me!”

OverallA powerful, mature, and highly customizable Project Management software that works in any scenario. Best suited to match the dynamic nature of Agile projects.
ProsAs a Project Manager, we have a lot of things to do and think about. Good thing I stumbled upon JIRA. It is a very powerful and collaborative PM tool which supported my PM role in an Agile context. (I was on a standard/waterfall project methodology for years... Agile is rather new to me) It is highly configurable, meant to suit any niche, industry, or user scenario by combining the powers of Kanban and Scrum. You can set up just about any of your workflows, project states, fields, action/issue items, etc, via the default settings (that surprisingly some have worked out of the box), or by easy customization on demand. Data analysis is easy as well. JIRA collects from all data points you set up into a single data hub that is extractable, searchable, and comprehensive (with all your historical data). The core program and its APIs are pretty mature and with proper documentation. Our devs didn't really have a hard time since they were provided with a rich toolkit to begin with. JIRA also comes with its mobile app so that you can manage your projects on-the-go. It is cloud-based via subscription which relieves the admins from the difficult part of infra and server setup. I have not experienced any downtime as of my 1 year use of this service.
ConsIt is cloud-based so you have to make sure you have enough bandwidth provisions to support this (rather challenging for bigger teams working on the same location at the same time). The usual loading times may take longer with poor connectivity. A rather steep price for small businesses to use. Self-hosting JIRA will also make things more expensive (and risky) as the number of users grow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018
Sreekumar J.
Co-Founder
Information Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 10, 2018

“The best way to synchronise requirements, roadmap, agile roadmap, scrum, reporting and much more in a single solution”

ProsI have been working in information technology field for more than twelve years. For a long period, I was a big fan of Bugzilla. However in my previous company, when we have migrated to Atlassian Jira, it was a very difference experience. When the entire organization moved more in to agile, the product also changed priorities around understanding customers' problems. The migration was tough as we were not in a position to ignore the requirements from our users. The import functionality helped us a lot and thanks to our engineering team to put huge effort in doing research on Jira. I love the way information is organized across, projects, boards with decent agile reporting capabilities. Being in product management, I have enjoyed the flow of user stories, backlog review, estimation, roadmap and Atlassian Jira's functionality to customize workflow. The transparency which Jira brings to the product management team is a big plus. What we are working on, what is going to come next and when, what is in the pipeline are a big relief to any customer facing product development organization. Another beauty is the categorization of user stories and epics, which helps the product owners to start filtration of issues at the entry level itself. The knowledge handover from product team to other teams collaborating for product success ( Eg:- CS, Marketing) became seamless with Jira. The dashboards are great for monitoring purpose. Finding Jira, an effective and comprehensive solution to ensure that every action in a user story is accounted and traceable across the product life cycle without loosing the goal of delivering iterative and incremental value to customers, as fast as possible.
ConsI like learning new things. Jira require good learning and is not a very light tool. The user interface act a bit confusing sometime. Setup, project/workflow creation, user management etc. are tough tasks and require brains from Dev ops with good knowledge of agile practices.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“I have used Jira both as part of a team of developers and also as a Project Manager managing a team.”

OverallJira helped us to more easily manage multiple teams of software developers and gather feedback from end users for several large applications that we were developing which were at various stages of completion and usability. We were able to use our available resources in a much more optimal and seamless manner, which helped us to complete projects and resolve issues more quickly, easily track the status of specific tasks across multiple projects/teams and monitor productivity at various levels. Ultimately, this allowed us to both reduce development costs and complete our projects more quickly which in-turn increased our business revenue.
ProsJira is a very powerful tool for managing teams of software developers working on one, or even multiple projects simultaneously. It is very robust and feature-rich, with features such as setting up/managing individual tasks, coordinating development efforts across tasks/developers to maximize team productivity, managing/tracking issues & bugs, gathering feedback from non-technical users via Jira user stories and managing project backlogs. There in also embedded support for Scrum & Kanban boards, although I haven't personally worked with those features. The custom workflows allow users to setup and manage their projects & teams according to the needs of their business and their preferred software development framework and management style. Jira is a very comprehensive, all-in-one tool for managing smaller teams of only a few people, all the way up to very large teams of 100+ stakeholders.
ConsGiven the robust features and functions that Jira supports, there's a lot of depth and breadth to the software, so it can be somewhat complex and confusing to newer users, especially those who haven't worked much with project management tools previously. For project managers who are leading multiple teams simultaneously, things can get a bit overwhelming because the email notifications and project alerts can quickly start to become excessive, and there's no way to consolidate notifications across projects/teams.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Vijayakanth M.
Senior Manager - Legal
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018

“Its really a good tool for managing the internal approvals with ease. It is user friendly tool.”

OverallWe are able to manage our internal approvals effectively. It is really helping to track the status and for expediting the approvals. It works even we are not connected to office network. You can simply connect if there is internet connection available. It helps us to complete cross border approvals easily and reduced manual work and hard copy print outs. It also reduces time for internal approvals and helps to manage even huge volume of internal approvals by the stakeholders. The resources need not run from one desk to the other desk.
ProsThis tool works on a hosted model and can be accessed from anywhere in the world by using internet connection. The web version and even the mobile version (which i guess has been recently launched) is good and can be accessed through click of a button while it is assigned to you. It is has various options like assigning to different users, obtaining their comments, attaching supporting documents, printing the ticket, reports and dashboards which can be customised by the users, option to download, link the ticket with other tickets, etc., The tool has the option to create various workflows as per the requirements of the users. It has the option to alert the users with email alerts and also reminder mails. There is option to close the ticket, clone the ticket, revoke the ticket. The users can customize the reports and dashboards as per their requirement and download the ticket in various formats from the JIRA tool.
ConsThe reports and dashboards does not provide for reports in a graphical way. The tickets can not be simultaneously assigned two or more users. The tickets can only be closed by the creator which is a set back if the creator does not close the ticket once its gets over. The note which is created allows only text inputs. It does not allow for creation of table or column. Turn around time for closure (at each specific user level) of the ticket can not be generated from the reports automatically. This is a big drawback. Also, it takes so much time for loading the contents and if the internet is slow then it does not get loaded at all.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2018
Avatar Image
Max P.
Manager, Professional Services & IT
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“A Good Jack of all Trades Project Management Software”

OverallJIRA was originally and still mainly used as our software development tracking system. We integrated it with Slack, BitBucket, Confluence, and TestRail (The last three are all run and owned by Atlassian). We use JIRA as the default master record for events, issues, tasks, etc. It makes planning work for a team easy to do and allows individual contributors to see what needs to get done as well as managers to see what is being worked on.
ProsJIRA was originally and still mainly used as our software development tracking system. However, it can be tweaked and used by a wide range of teams in the company, not just software development. Finance, Marketing, HR, etc. can all use JIRA for tracking internal projects, tasks and goals.
ConsIf you don't use the out of the box workflows and fields, there is a learning curve to know how to create fields, templates and workflows that work best for you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Mohd N.
Technical Support
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 2, 2019

“Jira Software for Agile Team to Track and improve”

OverallI have been using Jira for the past 3 years both as an administrator where I manage and optimize its performance and on the other hand I have also creating projects, workflows, screens and users. Jira is very helpful for those organizations also who wants to track their releases whether its small or big, or short term or long term. Jira provides facilities through which users can log in the timeline of their work and invites other developers in the team to provide their inputs. This will make your project to be connected at one place and moreover this connection in now not only limited to companies site Atlassian also offers cloud based solutions too. The best part of Atlassian Jira is they always ahead in the race which gives you more options to expand your creation, I have implmented few projects in Jira where I have implemented full automation of logging the task and reporting it through Jira, and then assigning to right person. This whole process works very easily in the JIRA
ProsSupports integration to most of the developer's tools Complete freedom to design your own workflow and screens An automated ticketing system can also be generated with its Command line interface and workflow Customer Support is one of the best in the corporate industry Multiple tools have given at user end to make admin changes easily like, Restarting tomcat, re-indexing or integration with SVN, git.
ConsExpensive for businesses who are medium size Upgradation of the software from one version to another requires real IT skills If you want to keep Jira running smoothly it has the indexing feature to make it faster but sometimes those index gets corrupted and no one can help in restoring those data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Zach S.
Senior Software Engineer - Ecommerce
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“The best at what it does”

OverallJIRA has helped us to organize our projects and keep them organized. Combined with the other atlassian products, we've streamlined how we document our work and stay organized. It's allowed us to do a variety of projects with different project management methodologies and workflows all within one software platform. It's also allowed a great deal of transparency into the development process for management which has greatly reduced the workload on project managers by automating some of the report generation necessary to show progress. JIRA isn't perfect, but it's by far the best project management software I've worked with.
ProsJIRA is ticketing and workflow management software. The things I like most about JIRA are how customizable workflows are, the availability of additional third party plugins, and how well it integrates with other atlassian products. The integration with other atlassian products improves our workflow significantly in IT and development, it allows us to link git commits through FishEye and documentation pages through Confluence to every JIRA issue. JIRA's customized workflows also help us stay accountable to eachother. Because the workflows have specific permissions and assignees built into steps in what we do they help insure that the right person does the right thing at the right time. I don't think we could work without JIRA or something similar.
ConsThe software has gotten progressively slower over the last few revisions. That's my only complaint. The first load of JIRA in the mornings especially seems slow (About 20 seconds in the browser).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Stever Jose G.
PMO
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018

“Control of hours management for services and projects”

OverallHave a better control of the hours of each project to measure profitability Have a clear picture of the hours executed by the collaborators, facilitating decision making when mapping a person in other activities. Facilitate the online client that can see the progress of their requests The power of the reports is very good It has an integration with Power BI that we have not exploited yet but it will be the next steps.
ProsHave an organization in the projects and services provided by the company to measure the profitability of them. The reports modules to measure the speed of the work teams. Have a detailed control by activity for the consumption of project hours For cases of customer service, the power to share the information online and live consumption of hours and progress of the tickets generated to solve events. The customization of fields to adapt them to the functionalities and requirements of the company. The ease of creating reports based on the declared queries. Make a general dashboard for the whole team and that the management line can edit, customize and share specific dashboards with different metrics. The integration that you have with Project Server and Project Server Online of 365 facilitates the administration of projects and the record of hours per activity is reflected in both platforms by the time sheet
ConsThe addon to integrate project Server Online asks to deactivate the module of hours and in my current case is basically the corde of use. so we were willing to sacrifice integration hoping to have a response from the manufacturer that we can do to integrate Project Server Online. If there are several admins and use different languages when one of them creates the types, subtypes or queries, the other user gets complicated when palicarlo because they are created in another language. example task - tarea
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Mariana F.
Quality Assurance Engineer
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“Not so easy to use but it has all that my team needs to keep track of work in an agile team”

OverallKeeping track of a Sprint, a project, a quarter or a year of work is easy. Working on an Agile team, JIRA makes my life better. It has all an Agile team needs to work together on the same or different features.
ProsThat they are constantly improving and releasing new features that make my life easier as a QA working on an Agile team. My team relies on this software of keep track of what we are doing. It has lots of nice features that we use such as to link issues to one another, link tickets, put labels of versions to be released, link to pull requests on Git Hub and scale priority and story points. My team also uses a lot the Stories, creating Tasks under them. It's also nice that I receive emails whenever I am watching a ticket in specific to keep track of it. My entire company uses JIRA across different boards and when you want to contact a team in specific it's easy to just open a ticket or link it to another. As a QA I also use the filters a lot to find issues that are assigned to me or have been reported by me. My team also creates boards separating them by Sprints. Which is a very easy feature to use, it considers the back log and it's pretty simple to have a Planning or Retrospective section looking at it. We're happy with the features that JIRA offers.
ConsThe person that organizes the board and tickets need to know a lot about the software to be able not to let it look messy. It's easy to create unnecessary tickets and put them on different places and end up losing track of it. Also, it's not easy to configure the boards to fill in correctly the burn down or any kind of chart.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019

“Best and Must have tool for Agile methodology ”

OverallIf you're into agile development then think no further, JIRA is the tool for you. It's ease of use and implementation makes it the best tool for tracking everything related to your project, It's a must have tool for agile methodology.
ProsIt has every Scheme to work with, may it be different Issue types, Workflows, Field configuration, Permission, Notification, Screens, Custom fields etc. It can be easily configured. JIRA and Agile methodology goes hand in hand. I believe Agile methodology brings out the best from JIRA and completely utilizes it to it's best potential, From flexible and rapid Issue creation and updation to have easily traceable developing environment, It does all with ease. Managers and Scrum Masters can not have a single meeting without JIRA Kanban Board. Every issue, every story is traced with in-depth details. from it's creation, execution till it's completion, Even after completion the history of every issue is maintained and can be over viewed with ease.
ConsFrom feature perspective there are no such feature to dislike about JIRA. They're simple and easy to accomplish, Operations like Creating or Editing Issue(s) are easy and can be done by anyone. There lies the problem of such operations performed by any one. Rather they should have some access level of control with which they can initialize on individual issue to individual member involved with that issue. Even if someone does edit an issue on accident, they should atleast be prompt about the changes they're about to make, or save. and only after successful confirmation from the user, JIRA should allow those changes to be saved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Christopher B.
Freelance Web and Software Developer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019

“Great for users, hard on administrators”

ProsI use Jira products both as a user and as an administrator. As a user, I find it very straightforward. I like how easy it is to do things like update my tasks, see the team's work, add files to items and connect between the various tools like Stride and Confluence. As an admin, there is a lot of customization I can do regarding workflow. My team has changed as we've grown and fleshed out both our development and QA process, so having that flexibility to modify the Jira workflow has been incredibly helpful. I also like the fact that Jira integrates with virtually every other major piece of software, such as Slack.
ConsMost of my complaints with Jira software comes from the admin side. Because it has so much customization, it's often hard to know where something is or how you need to modify it in order to customize it. The documentation leaves a lot to be desired, and searching the web usually takes you to outdated documentation or a community forum post. Between the two, I usually can find what I need. Generally, the biggest gap between documentation and what I'm doing is that the UI has been updated and things moved around. The actual information is solid, but entire menu items have disappeared or been renamed. Oftentimes, I think I have found what I need and roll the dice and check this box or press that button, and it works. I've never run into anything that couldn't be immediately undone.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Kent B.
Developer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“A developers perspective of Jira”

OverallI have enjoyed using Jira at work. It helps keep our team on the same page and gives insight into what everyone else is doing. My opinion is that they have hit the mark in a big way and they just have some cleanup/maintenance issues to take care of.
Pros1) Jira is performing well in the industry which results in lots of people integrating with them. The most impactful for us was the integration done with Zenddesk our ticketing system. Our support engineers are able tie Zenddesk tickets to our Jira issues and when issues are updated, so is the Zenddesk ticket. Very Cool! 2) Notifications were very well done in Jira. There is an in-app notification system (A bell in the bottom corner) but they can also be sent via email. They also are very smart about sending you only updates that involve you so that you are not notified too much. 3) Smart task ordering and prioritizing that work well in a development environment.
ConsMost of the cons that I noticed are rather nit-picky however I believe there is room for lots of improvement. 1) Give for example the sprint page. There is a little star in the upper right corner. If I hover over the star I get a description that says 'Star'. That is not a great description of what that button will do for me. Users are dumb and won't figure things like that out on their own. 2) I think the UI is a tiny bit clunky. I see lots of wasted space here and there. Often times there are things that do not seem that important that seem to take up a lot of space. Also I'm not a big fan of huge collapsable side menus. 3) The many features that are offered in Jira make for a steep learning curve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Mark B.
Proposal Manager
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 12, 2018

“Powerful project management, SDLC and bug management software for agile teams”

ProsI've used JIRA a few times, along with Confluence when I was on contract with a few large enterprise digital teams. I found JIRA to be excellent as a tool to share files, track project conversation streams, and manage multiple versions of files through the project lifecycle. Though I only ever used JIRA from an end user perspective, I always heard great things about the customizability (it seems to be a word) of the app to different business processes. Digital teams, such as UX design, development and copywriting are an ideal use case for this app provided stories and projects are set up properly. It's a great way to give stakeholders and PMs and other managers visibility into how projects are trending against milestones.
ConsThere were a few outages when I used JIRA, but it was generally reliable. JIRA seems to be one of those business applications where you're only using a fraction of its capability. Administration access should really be restricted to a qualified few, as you don't want to have conflicting stories tracking the same project, telling different information. The success of a JIRA implementation/adoption really relies on the quality of the data users, PMs, and development managers put into it. I found that I was writing a lot of updates and @ing people all over the place on one contract, yet certain PMs were still asking me for updates. That was less a JIRA problem, and more a condition of the people I was working with though, so I won't name names. :) - Moral of the story, you get out of JIRA what your teams put in, like many enterprise apps.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018

“In big development teams the custom workflow of JIRA allows you to build a solid agile process”

OverallScalability of our development teams was the biggest benefit, this product enabled us to grow and not lose productivity in the process. We were able to maintain good line of sight to what teams were producing and which ones were on track and which teams were off track. This invariably reduced the cost of our development, enabling us to grow faster and get product to market quicker in a highly competitive space.
ProsJIRA gives you the essential tools to manage your development projects and comes into its own when you scale up managing larger teams and 100+ developers. User stories, epics, issue management, backlog management, task assignment, tracking charts for scrum, kanban boards etc give you the visibility you need when operating in an multi-team Agile development structure. The visibility of the state of your project(s) and workflow is the key benefit for using this software in an enterprise environment. Another key benefit is you can extend to use Atlassian's suite of products where there is great integration such as Service Desk, Confluence & Stride - although most of our teams eventually developed a preference for Slack.
ConsJIRA can be a little complex at the outset to the uninitiated, some tasks require searching for in the menu system. Customization does have an overhead attached, for example adding attributes with logic etc. Email notifications can be overwhelming if you are attached to multiple teams, a digest option would probably be better than one email per update.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018
Gus S.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019

“JIRA Revioew”

OverallGreat tool. Integrates into our tech stack and allows us to move through our development process quicker.
ProsManages all of our tasks and makes it easy for our members to view.
ConsWould like to see a bit better UI and design. Seems dated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Gokul K.
Senior Consultant
Information Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Atlassian JIRA Software Review”

OverallMy Overall experience in JIRA is 3 years at this point and we started using it from the Year 2016. This is used in an project called recovery with the count of 25 developers from India/USA/Canada and several business end users on the same. The stiry was easily created and went thruough several phases till deployment. I would say JIRA ease my works in managing the stories since I am the PO for whole board and connecting developers/business end users for moving the stories and completing the same.
ProsBasically there are lot of likes about this software: 1. Clear Tracking of what is going on in the project along with version needs to be deployed. 2. Ability to Use Kanban, Scrum and other Agile methodologies in JIRA Software. 3. Ability to flag the stories which is in impediment which will show to everyone on when it was started and when it was impended. 4. Easily keep tracking of Backlog for future works and deployments that needs to be made. 5. Ability to bulk update the stories for certain categories like version, points or any others. 6. Easy in terms of reporting to generate using JQL (JIRA query language).
ConsSome of the cons in JIRA are: 1. Some times it was ended with deadlock leads to slowness. This happens when certain users running the report across the JIRA. 2. Security is less since we can see any ones board and get to know the statuses across the enterprise. 3. JIRA is costly since it per user licenses and whole organisation have to pay according to the usages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 6, 2019

“Scrum aligned project management solution”

OverallAmazing experience and seamless implementation of the platform, Jira software help us correctly defined our work processes as the whole platform is aligned with Scrum agile methodology; it also has integration with Slack that helps us keep the team informed with any change on the Kanban board, we also identify trends and now we define accurately the sprints total user stories according to our team velocity, which we wouldn't be without Jira analytic section.
ProsHow the whole platform is aligned with the Scrum methodology and the seamless implementation not only for the on cloud solution but the actual usage with the developers, managers and stakeholders, as it has a nice interface and everything is well segregated according to the user roles. Jira also comes with a vast variety of built-in reports to analyze your team velocity, burndown, burnup and more key primary indicators to support decisions of the project directory.
ConsCan't said there is something that I don't like, but if there is something worth mentioning is that some custom widget/components that you add as options for your user stories details are extra and not included with the platform licencing price, however, some components are totally worth it and deserved to be bought.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Gordon W H.
Digital Project Manager
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Jira is a gold standard in software development, but beware the complexity.”

OverallAt a basic level, the product is fantastic. It allows for the collection and organization of information that Product and Project Managers, QA folks and developers can all leverage and understand very easily and collaborate one.
ProsHaving worked with several QA and development teams, Jira is a fantastic tool which can be tailored to fit just about any software development project. I enjoy that the standard feature set is powerful and easy to setup, but it can also be expanded upon using custom programming or third-party extensions. Given the product's prominence in the marketplace, it's easy to get started with a new project and quickly get the entire team on the same page in capturing bugs, tasks and feedback and moving work through a process.
ConsAs flexible as the system is, there are times where Jira simply isn't able to accomplish a task in the most straightforward way. As a project planner, the number of organizational levels (Epics, Stories, Tasks and Bugs) can seem like an appropriate amount, but each of these levels need to be customized in order for the system to meet the fundamental requirements jira has in place out-of-the-box. What I least about Jira is that is seems to have an "attitude" about how work/tasks should be organized. As soon as you encounter something that is not in line with that attitude, you end up needing to tweak a lot of little things in order to get the result you want.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Yaruby M.
Desarrollador Java Junior
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018

“It allows the organization of activities in a dynamic way, it also facilitates the estimation of time”

OverallGreater organization in the planning of activities and approximation in the execution times of the development of each of them, together with the application of the agile methodologies implemented for the development of the project.
ProsThe dynamic structure to organize the activities and the income of the estimation of the execution times of each task, since it facilitates the application of agile methodologies in software development projects. Jira also allows the inclusion of those responsible for the development of each activity, in addition to notifying the person in charge of supervising it, facilitating an early detection of impediments and / or progress during the course of the tasks that are carried out. Also, the integration of Git provides valuable help when verifying changes in the development of the source code. It also has the possibility of sharing information through files of different length (.txt, .pdf, word, .mp4, among others) in order to provide greater ease of understanding to the person responsible for carrying out the informed task. In addition, this tool offers precise search filters, saving time in the handling of the interface to focus on what the user wants to obtain.
Cons1- The synchronization time of Git with Jira slows down with some internet connections, limiting the use of the benefits of this tool in some users. 2- The user has a lot of freedom to make changes in all the modules of the tasks. Although notification of the change should be a hierarchy of charges to perform them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Richard S.
Software Engineer
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“Great for large organizations, incredibly flexible, but not often difficult to use.”

OverallIt helps my team and my company keep track of all the features and bugs we are working on, and is a powerful project planning and organizational tool. The integrations with GitHub, Zendesk, and Power BI are incredibly valuable, and help automate much of our issue management.
ProsJira works incredibly well for large organizations, allowing each team to have their own workspace for projects, epics, user stories, and bug tracking. It is incredibly flexible, allowing each team to customize the fields that appear on each issue. This lets the teams customize their workflows, and makes it possible to manage very diverse teams such as art, development, and marketing all within the same system. It has very powerful integrations with tools like GitHub, ZenDesk, and Power BI, which helps automate issue tracking and provide organization-wide statistics and analysis. Flat-fee pricing for small teams is very competitive for the amount of power it provides.
ConsWay too much overhead to actually get started. Jira is so flexible that you have to invest a lot of time to get it working the way you want. The layout of the interface isn't very intuitive and can take a lot of time to learn. They sacrifice usability for flexibility, which is a blessing and a curse. This tool is far too complex for a small company or team, although it may be a good choice if the company is growing quickly or manages very diverse teams.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Jeff V.
President/Founder
Airlines/Aviation, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019

“It does it all - then they add more for free”

OverallThe tool has always done what I needed it to do and is very easy to use. It is clear and concise and helps my team focus on what needs to be done, provides the visibility to me and our customer where things stand and allows us to be transparent with the customer. First rate tool that is a must for any software team or entire project team.
ProsI have been using the cloud version of JIRA for over 9 years. One of its best features is they keep expanding its capabilities and don't change the cost. Don't get me wrong the tool has always done what I expected it to do and done it well, but with each release the generally add some features and capabilities it did not have before. I love that they allow Kanban boards and sprints on the same project - if that's how you want to work. Super flexible, fast and easy to use, even when I'm doing Admin work that I don't do everyday and can't remember exactly how to do it. Additionally the tool has lots of add-ons - we use Tempo for time keeping and have used Gliffy in the past for diagramming. I'm not sure if
ConsMy least favorite thing is that they have changed the interface several times while I have been using it. However each time after I spend time getting used to it I find their redesign to be significantly better. I really find this when I use locally hosted older versions and see what I used to do - I really realize how they improved it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019
Ashish A.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“Best agile project management tool i have used so far”

OverallWe are using JIRA to manage our complex institution management system where we are following agile process. JIRA helps in managing and tracking task. If one has got good grasp of usinf this software It is a powerful tool. We use a feature Log Work of JIRA to lof our daily work on tasks and sub-tasks. JIRA is able to generate time sheets based on work logs. JIRA cab be customized based on one's particular need but It is bit harder to understand this feature. JIRA is not costly if the team size is less then or equal to 10.
ProsJIRA is popular issue tracking and project management tool developed by Atlassian. JIRA has all advanced features a agile project management tool provide like scrum tracking, Sprint burndown chart, Agile reports, velocity charts. JIRA supports estimation of tasks in points as well as hours and does also rack the actual time spent on task. We have customized JIRA based on our project workflow like a sequence PO Review, Start Progress, Unit Testing, Code review, QA Testing, Done. JIRA Supports estimation and lifecycle of sub-tasks also.
ConsAlthough JIRA supports all advanced features of agile project development but still there are some area of improvement in it. User has to make 2-3 click to edit task details. It is bit hard to understand the features of JIRA for beginners and for administrators. It can be very complex to customize to the way you need it. I found JIRA bit hard when i wanted to move multiple tickets from current sprint to next sprint. If you stuck somewhere defining the workflow scheme in JIRA you would have to contact your senior or search for help on internet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Diego A.
Freelancer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017

“Managing ticket in a software team is what it does best. Hard to picture using it for other purposes”

OverallEasy way to manage software-tickets, to communicate about them with co-workers and to customize our own workflow. It takes a lot of the steps of managing a bug or a problem of your mind.
ProsA big advantage for me is that the software is centered and focused on teams that write software. This results in some nice features that you really appreciate when writing documentation and when you are quickly looking for information and old documentation yourself. Specifically, it supports markdown but at the same time it has a basic but useful interface for editing text so that no matter how different everybody structures their text, the end document has a minimum standard of formatting and readability. Everything is searchable and easy to index/link, features which I often use. The standard functions for 'Scrum' or similar programming styles/paradigms are all there (kanban view, ticket priority, roles, versioning, etc.). At least while we used it, the application was always reliable and quick. The ability to create your own workflow for tickets was also useful. Indeed JIRA helps to keep a standard of transparency and documentation. Of course this is not enough and depends on each team, but I think it is quite helpful in helping you get there. Support for markdown is key.
ConsAs mentioned above, I do not think that the program would coupe well for other type of ticket or content management that is not software, but I cannot really attest to that myself. The constant email notifications were bothersome, though you can change them on your settings. Even though everything is searchable, I found it sometimes difficult to navigate and find content. If the team is not disciplined with the ticket organisation, it can become somewhat unorganized. I did not set up JIRA, but I recall hearing that it was not an easy job. I was missing a mind-map view.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Easy To Use”

OverallWe use Jira on daily basis at our work. All projects are first created on jira and respective team(Developer, tester, lead) is assigned. Estimate of the project is added. During course of project all tasks/issues for this project are raised with this project id and hours worked are logged under it. On the whole I find Jira very convenient and easy to use.
ProsIts very simple and efficient tool to track, manage projects and capture efforts . It gives very clear idea of status of project (in-progress, ready to test, ready for release etc) , items being worked on in the project and team working on it under one tab. A tester can raise defects with severity under project tab and assigns to developer which automatically informs developer through email. Developer fixes defects and assigns it back to tester. It arranges the work assigned to user on the basis of priority shows it on the very first dashboard page after login. It has capability to log hours along with description of work done. The hours logged can exported to report format and verified for every member working in project.
ConsNot big cons as such. The only con I see is it does not support peer programming. Any issue can be assigned only to one person. If multiple people are working on a single issue or multiple leads are reviewing code jira does not really have capability to support this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“Vital task tracking tool for cross disciplinary teams”

ProsManaging tickets for multiple engineers across several disciplines is no easy task. Jira sets the bar high in tackling this issue and tracking all work being done across each sprint and before/after. It's crucial to have everybody on the same page and to know what's being done or what needs extra help from certain people. Without Jira, our productivity would be very low.
ConsIt's difficult to get up to speed on using all the available tools and functionalities. With the new look they just integrated, it was even more difficult as our team was already accustomed to the legacy version. Thankfully they had a toggle for the legacy view. The functionalities are great - it's just a bit hard to navigate and find what I'm looking for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Harun J.
Product Owner
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019

“Versatility and functionality in one place, if you work in agile”

OverallI have used it to manage projects that involve the creation of a financial product, from its conception to its testing and implementation, which also involves assigning tasks, reports and monitoring progress. With Jira, this has saved me time in the management and development of that product.
ProsWhat I like most about Jira is the fact that it is a project management software that adapts better to the agile philosophy. It is highly configurable and can also work under the Kanban scheme. Its interface is clean and allows collaboration with teammates and does the work in an effective way. With Jira you can configure almost any of your workflows, their states and their fields, action and issue items by means of your default configuration or by customizing on demand. Another feature that I like about Jira is that it allows a clear communication with the work team, since it sends instant notifications in each update of the areas of interest, allows interaction with the team, to share ideas and attach documents.
ConsJira is an incredible program. However, it has several edges that make it not so attractive. The first thing is the complexity, it is so wide and robust, that to configure and implement it, you must spend a lot of time, to achieve an adequate personalization according to the needs of your organization. Second, you must spend time learning to use it. Some functions, depending on the organization where you work, must be customized with a direct request from the manufacturer, which makes it more expensive. Many of its functionalities fall directly on the administrator of the program, which makes the volume of work is not equitable between the team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2019
Connie V.
IT Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“JIRA - Great for tracking projects and issues”

OverallThis product overall relies heavily on user customization that is specific to your business, and requires a server installation/license if you aren't using their cloud licensing. It can be costly to maintain and license.
ProsJIRA is a feature rich product that is highly customizable. Most businesses will likely have a difficult time using it out of the box, but you can create custom projects, screens, fields, and workflows, all of which are easy to manage. Most of the UI is user friendly and intuitive to use, whether you are an admin or an end user. There is also a lot of online documentation you can refer to if you are looking for particular customizations.
ConsThe biggest issues with this product are that some features you think the product should have inherently, are only obtainable through paid add-ons. There is an add-on store fortunately, but some of the additional features are very costly, and are subscription services. The other issue I commonly see is that in order to effectively use the product, your admins should follow procedures and naming conventions when creating customizations. If you don't follow any sort of procedures or policies when creating new customizations, the back end turns into a jumbled mess that can be hard to discern down the road when you want to make edits or modifications to things already in place.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Ryan G.
Implementation Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“JIRA is the industry standard development management system, streamlining process in all projects.”

OverallStreamlining the development process and saving serious time while working on complex projects involving many different departments and interests. JIRA is a one-stop tool for optimization of the development process and will immediately be felt across any business taking advantage of the platform.
ProsThe ticket management system is easy to use, intuitive, and logical. The Epic / Story / Ticket format allows for easy management of different tasks in projects, and allows project managers and developers to interface seamlessly and easily. JIRA has many pre-built templates for projects and includes functionality for building ticket templates of your own, further optimizing a time-consuming process. The editing and tagging of different tickets allows for incredible amounts of accountability when working, especially between different departments.
ConsThe JIRA interface can be bland, though it is functional. While JIRA does have many capabilities that go beyond basic ticket management, without a full hands-on tutorial it can be very difficult to find extra features and take advantage of them. While JIRA is versatile and can integrate with many platforms, there are some issues with those integrations and troubleshooting them can become quite cumbersome. Our business used Aha! and stopped with the project management program due to issues with our JIRA, as an example.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018