AutoCAD Electrical Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About AutoCAD Electrical

CAD tool with industyry specific library for documenting electrical control systems. Learn more about AutoCAD Electrical

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 27 of 27 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 27 of 27 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2019

“Plus and Minus of AutoCAD”

OverallAutoCAD Electrical is very much supportive software to all the people who are engage with in electrical field. When they are designing Single Line Diagrams and Lightning Protection Systems this is the best one.
ProsWe can draw 2D and 3D designs much easier using AutoCAD. Actually there is a layer method and therefore we can draw our design very smart way. And if any body has to continue the same design, then he wont be in a big trouble because all the things are in separate layers. So, as an electrical engineer, AutuCAD electrical is very much useful when they want to design a SLD (Single Line Diagram) and as well as LPS (Lightning Protection System).
ConsThe bad thing of this software is we can't snap some lines easier when we designing 3D drawings. Actually it happens because of the dimensions and we can't find the suitable angle. So, at that time it's like not user friendly but most of the time it is a good software. Because of this not snapping well we can't group, join or patch the lines together.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2019
Mehmetali K.
Electrical Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019

“Ideal for CAD Users, especially Electrical Engineers”

OverallIt makes my project easy with customized material library for Electrical systems.
ProsThis variant of AutoCAD is designed for especially Electrical Engineers. It makes my project easy with customized material library for Electrical systems. I use lisp programs in AutoCAD and AutoCAD Electrical supports lisp. I recommend AutoCAD Electrical if you are project Electrical Engineer. Do not hesitate of its specifications difference. It is worth.
ConsIt wants more powerfull hardware. CPU and GPU
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019
Shanaya M.
Electrical engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019

“AutoCAD Electrical review”

OverallThis software is the best choice for anyone who is looking to make a electrical circuit and drawing other electrical items.
ProsThis software allows to draw 2D and 3D drawings in much easier way. It has most powerful drawing tools which makes your work more easier. Their customer service has been also very helpful to me.
ConsFor a new user here, it can be a bit difficult here to understand what's going on. But at the same time it has online support feature which helps you in any way.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019
Thomas M.
Teacher
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019

“The best way to create electronic schematics”

OverallI use this software to teach students in a digital electronics class. AutoCAD Electrical is extremely intuitive to students.
ProsComing from a similar but less feature rich software, it was amazing to see the depth of features that came built in here. The mouseover tutorials were also very nice.
ConsPeople who are not already comfortable with electronics could find this software overwhelming at first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019
charith r.
Electrical engineer
Shipbuilding, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Best CAD software for Electrical engineers”

OverallFor my carrier, it's an essential part to design electrical design with a more effective and reliable design. I designed an electrical lighting system to replace the existing system in many buildings of Colombo Dockyard. For this type of task, it is very easy to use this software otherwise I have wast many hours design a proper design.
ProsThis software has a very user-friendly interface and there are many tools to design a very effective and creative design. Also because of these tools, it is very easy to design a very complex design very easily and without wasting time.
ConsSometimes for very complex design software get slowdown and for new users it difficult to understand about some tools at the beginning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Matheesvaran V.
Quantity Surveyor
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“Save your time with this AutoCAD software”

ProsEvery day i am using this software for taking off quantity for the estimation and its user friendly. All the required electrical detail design along with schematic diagram done through this software
ConsIts required well configured PC for smooth running. Hope this will solve in near future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
Naveed A.
Student
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2019

“As a user”

ProsBeing a an electrical engineer, I have to deal with electrical drawing on daily basis and for this purpose I always use this tool. In this tool 2D and 3D drawing are very easy as compared to other tools.It has powerful component library.
ConsTo run this tool smoothly you need a well configure system. Difficult to understand for new comers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019

“Electrical drawings”

OverallDrawings
ProsCan create complex complete drawings in the industty
ConsLearning curve,takes alot of time to setup
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019

“Autocad Electrical”

OverallIt afforded me the ease of one line diagram creation. It is very easy to use, same as Autocad 2D
ProsIntegration of circuit symbols and ability to quickly create single line diagrams
ConsThe interface features are much like Autocad 2d with no extra
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Upendra D.
Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Best software for designing electrical installations”

OverallIn my business, I use AutoCad electrical for designing installations in the buildings. I use it most of the times to design electrical installations in industrial systems. The tools are very efficient and useful. A less time is required to practice the tools. I recommend this software to those who are still using manual methods in the industry.
ProsGraphical user interface Tools Ease of use
ConsNothing. This the best software for electrical planning
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Sergio A.
Project Manager
Industrial Automation, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019

“A must have in engineering projects”

ProsI have used this software almost all my professional career. I have worked in engineering companies that use this software for all the electrical designs in the projects. It brings you all the tools and flexibility to create and view the drawings that you need.
ConsThis is not a software easy to use, you need an engineering background and agility with the PC and AutoCAD commands.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019
Malvin G.
Electrical Project Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“AutoCAD user for 3 years now. ”

OverallMy livelihood depends on AutoCAD and it is easily to learn and offers wide range of utilities, but it falls short on utilizing the hardware at full extent.
ProsAutoCAD allows you to add extension designed by you or the team you worked for. That is a huge bonus for me, I do a lot of same things on daily basis and by creating my own automation extension helps me finish my job faster.
ConsSlow to load drawings due to being single core application. It crashes often on me. I have 32GB RAM on my system, Intel core i7 processor with SSD and Nvidia GPU. I think Autodesk can improve the experience by using multi-core/multi threaded that Intel has to offer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Gregory W.
DBA
Government Administration, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2018

“Best Electrical software”

ProsAutoCAD Electric is the industry-standard for designing electrical systems, large or small. Whether wiring a house or a large apartment complex, this is the software you need to get the job done right. Almost nothing you can't do with this software.
ConsThere is so much that this software can do that it is difficult to find and master it all. But over time, you will learn how to use it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2018

“Powerful Schematic Software”

ProsComponents library is powerful with the ability to have a primary and secondary library. The ability to flag items as a favorite makes finding again later quick.
ConsCan be a bit to set up for multiple users if not familiar with the process. Takes a few steps to set supported search paths and customizing .wdp file.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2018
Jose Wilson Oliveira F.
Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2018

“AutoCAD Electrical”

OverallEasy to create systems and electrical circuits
ProsControls circuits and electrical systems easily
ConsThe software is no longer available on CD only signature
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2018
Jose Antonio D.
Engineer
Industrial Automation, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“Great if you will use it daily”

OverallI found myself a little overwhelmed at first with the menus. I prefer a cleaner, more intuitive interface but you will get used to it. If you won't use it often you won't be able to memorize the menus and won't be very productive with this program.
ProsYou can make electrical diagrams fast and clean. Most of the IEC symbols are already in the libraries so you can start right away. If you make use of templates and save synchronize configurations in all your machines all of your diagrams will have the same format and design style. Tags can be helpful to organize the project but takes a lot of discipline to implement correctly.
ConsNavigating the menus is not easy at first. To access many of the options/features you have to navigate several menus and is hard to remember the path to some useful but not very recurrent tools.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Experience Sharing”

OverallNowadays, I am working on some research projects, and I am using this tool as designing for my objective circuits.
ProsWhen I was in my undergrad Electrical Engineering, I used this tool for most of my circuit and layout designing, and it was really helpful, we can get real touch of things.
ConsI think, this software should be more user friendly, like begineers face difficulty while using this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Tenyo P.
Electrical Engineer
Consumer Electronics, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“AutoCAD Electrical Review”

OverallIf you invest time in learning the features and take advantages of them, it is a powerful tool for industrial drawings.
ProsOne of the features that many other drawing tools are missing is the 3D view of the schematic which is helpful when you share the design with other people.
ConsThe one thing I don't like is the amount of time that it requires to get used to the software. For simple schematics (< 100 components), there are other tools you can use for quick drawing (LTspice, Multisim, etc.).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2019

“Really handy for electricians and engineers”

OverallI have used this version of AutoCAD specially for drawing electrical diagrams, and got good results.
ProsIs an advantage for electrical engineers because you dont get some functions that you would never use in the full version of AutoCAD.
ConsAs all the AutoCAD versions, is hard to make the text size and scales.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Renewables & Environment, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 22, 2018

“good”

Overallgood
Prosit is good to use. easy to use. very useful
Consno bad no hard to use it is very useful
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 22, 2018
Simo O.
Civil Engineering
Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Good for engineering”

ProsGood for electrical engineering on architectural drawings also made in autocad. Genius way to recover files saved in Windows appdata folder.
ConsSometimes program kind of stuck, because other businesses send older file types.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Edward A.
Tecnico Automatizacion
Food & Beverages, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“AutoCAD electrical review”

OverallIs a good software besides the lack of information
ProsThe lot of components for make your drawings and is so easy to make electrical panels
ConsThe lack of information for the software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Overflowing with features”

ProsThere is little to nothing which can't be done with AutoCAD Electrical
ConsSo many features, is difficult to find specific things at times
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Tamir S.
MEP Project Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“ AutoCAD Electrical Review”

Overall8years 2D
Proseasy for operation help to short the time
Cons electrical HVAC Plumbing Fire ELV Arch
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“A very helpful software in designing electrical schematics”

ProsThe software provides almost all the electrical components needed in designing. User friendly. Easy to learn and can be learnt by your own self. Can be used to draw electrical single line diagrams.
ConsSometimes, to run the software smoothly you need a well configured PC. Does not support Mac OS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Jerom J.
Instructor
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019

“Great for Electrical Engineers”

OverallBest software
ProsEasy to draw electrical related drawing such as wire diagram, conduit diagram. Best for 3D drawings.
ConsNeed basic knowledge of the AutoCad to use this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Marlyn R.
Quality Engineer
Architecture & Planning, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018

“Planning a House Using Autocad”

ProsBeneficial for easy reference when planning to build your own house.
ConsWould be a time consuming since you need to allot a lot of time to finish building your dream house.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018