Seascape for Notes Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Seascape for Notes

Seascape for Notes helps you preserve historical data outside of IBM Lotus Notes and Domino. It exports Lotus Notes databases as stand-alone PDF/XML/JSON archives, retaining documents, views, links, and metadata. Plus, Seascape enables the easy uploading of archived documents to Microsoft SharePoint or Office 365. Learn more about Seascape for Notes

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
David O.
Application Analyst
Government Administration, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2019

“SWING SeaScape makes archiving Notes databases super simple”

OverallWe needed to maintain the data stored in legacy Notes applications while trying to move away from the Notes/Domino environment. We have used SWING SeaScape to archive over 100 Notes applications with a wide range of sizes and complexities. The product worked exceptionally well and made the archival process far easier than what other service providers had initially suggested. The SeaScape product makes good use of SWINGs experience in pdf generation and takes all of the complexity out of exporting records to pdf format. Having a consistent interface for the resultant archives made the transition for end users seamless and we experienced very little problems when we provided the archives for final review/testing. Processing millions of records does take time, but with SeaScape we were able to setup export jobs and just let them run. When we did find issues such as the formatting or layout of the exported records, it was simple enough to run exports to correct just the specific records in the archive you need to rather than having to re-run full extracts again. The primary issues we experienced were due to the design of the Notes applications, things such as table formatting or hide-when conditions that used some creative coding, these issues were able to be rectified in-house easily with just some basic Notes development skills. We found the responsiveness and support for the product to be fantastic.
ProsThe extraction user interface and data extraction process is very intuitive and can be performed without requiring intimate knowledge of the Notes database. The SeaScape product allows a great amount of flexibility in its configuration, but out of the box, it just works. The interface to the archived data is fantastic, it imitates the navigation aspects of the Notes interface amazingly well considering the variety and varying degree of complexity in Notes applications. The ability to access an archive directly from the file system (via a web browser), or store the data into SharePoint which can provide advanced searching and security controls. This product is as near as you can get to a one solution fits all for archival/export of Notes data.
ConsThe file naming convention of exported records is the Notes Universal ID (UNID), this makes sense from a technical perspective, but requires end user guidance for those that expect to download/transfer/share records. Users may miss some of the custom functionality from Notes such as exporting view data to a table/Excel.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019

“Seascape one year utilization review”

OverallSince my company is in process to migrate from Lotus Notes to Office 365 this is a good tool for the archiving old data and will allow us to access it without the need of a Notes Client.
ProsThe possibility to export not only notes databases but also mailboxes. Friendly user interface. Catalog organization and facility to navigate between them.
ConsExport log file that in my opinion should be more complete, mainly including some statistics like amount of documents extracted, number of errors. The application (nsf) should include a way to configure the export layout (some css features). What I mean is, before extracting, there would be a configuration screen to define the color of web screens, letter font and color, possibility to include company logo, among other features.

Vendor Response

By SWING Software on April 18, 2019
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Seascape tool. Fyi we have since both improved the export log feature (which now shows much more useful information) and added the ability to manage CSS customization (after multiple archives are generated, the archive colors and other style elements can be modified from a central CSS file).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2019
Todd D.
ERP Technical Manager
Railroad Manufacture, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Essential tool for our migration.”

OverallMade the archival process for our migration off of Notes extremely simple.
ProsThe ability to archive our Notes databases and upload to Sharepoint, with all the metadata has been incredible. It is so easy to use, and much of our Notes data is even easier to access and search now that all the properties are column in a Sharepoint doc library. Such an easy product to use and has just the right amount of customization in the archival. The default web format of the archives is brilliant if you are not uploading to Sharepoint. If you need a usable archive of your Notes db, this is the #1 tool.
ConsWould be nice if there was a batch process or scheduling feature. We worked around by running it on a VM.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Paul S.
Solution Architect
Information Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“Extreme value for money”

OverallFor us the ability to host the HTML export on SharePoint online was a massive bonus. Seascape has a great feature for importing an export into SharePoint but due to the large number of databases and complexity and amount of metadata we needed to keep, this would have extended our project for archive data considerably and would also require a SharePoint developer. With the ability to convert the export to run an a web server that allowed us to host the content on SharePoint giving us the ability to utilise the SharePoint online search capability and present the data to the user in a user friendly manner. Support and feature updates were quick and very responsive. Fantastic value for money....
ProsVery simple to learn and use out of the box. Dealt with complex notes templates. Capability to be hosted on SharePoint. Configurable settings for attachments sizes. PDF export contains links to attachements.
ConsOnly works on converting data from Lotus Notes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
jake f.
IT Consultant
Commercial Real Estate, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019

“Seascape for Notes”

OverallAs part of the decommission of Lotus Notes in the company the data needs to be exported and accessible. There's 30+ databases and around 2 million documents across all the databases. Seascape for Notes provides a user friendly front-end to access the exported data.
ProsEase of use Attachment handling (access via sidebar and embedded in the PDFs) Easy and simple configuration Export of view categories
ConsMetadata not sorted "Document has too many paragraphs" error when exporting large views No email notifications on completion of an archive or if there are errors

Vendor Response

By SWING Software on April 30, 2019
Thank you for review. We have recently added both the ability to sort the metadata and send out an email notification on job completion. As for the issue with exporting large views, we are not aware of any such problems in the product so feel free to contact our support team for further assistance.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019
Anwar Hussain M.
Lead Administratrator
Banking, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“Wonderful Product”

OverallSuperb product, Really a great one
ProsLook and feel. Ease of use. functionality of the product
ConsIt is Support better only in Mozilla Firefox browser

Vendor Response

By SWING Software on April 18, 2019
Thank you for your review. Using Mozilla Firefox is recommended when viewing Seascape archives saved on a local workstation. Other browsers will also work, but with some minor limitations. On the other hand if the archives are deployed from a web server, then any browser can be used without any limitations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Sandy M.
Developer - Enterprise App.
Printing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2019

“Great Product”

OverallReally, really great product. I am impressed with and we in IT are thrilled with the results. The users find it really easy to use and it maintains all the links, attachments and such. Great useable archive tool for us.
ProsIt takes a Lotus Notes database and transitions it to a browser based archive that we can publish to the server for secure access.
ConsThe original set up was confusing, basically because we wanted to run it on the server. Once I switched to using a lotus notes client we didn't have any issues.

Vendor Response

By SWING Software on April 18, 2019
Thanks for your review. We did have some teething issues with server side exports early on but those have been resolved fully since then.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2019
Suresh L.
IT Analyst
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“Feedback on Seascape Tool”

OverallIt is a Good tool for LN Migration
ProsThe UI is really good and PDF generation is very good and simple for configutation
ConsWhen there are attachments in the form it is taking more time for PDF conversion
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019
Marc J.
Senior Consultant
Information Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019

“Transform Lotus Notes DB into full HTML content”

OverallWe searched a product to keep an archive of Lotus Notes databases data in companies moving from Lotus Notes to other produts. For regulatory reasons the companies need to keep the data for 10 years. Seascape allows a full transformation of the Notes DB in a new HTML based environment which makes the read of the data possible for the next 10 years without Notes client installed.
ProsThe generate transformation of the Lotus Notes DB was a very easy to use set of HTML files with an integrated navigation very close to the Notes Client experience. The PDF conversion of the LN document, including all the attachments (active) and all the document links is really fantastic!
Consnothing. It's top. We haven't found problems at any side of the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019