Checkmate Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Checkmate

Checkmate is a fully automated online reference checking software that collects comprehensive employee reference information. It is an enjoyable and effortless user experience and designed to ensure a seamless journey from start to finish. Checkmate starts with just a few clicks, the candidate nominates the appropriate referees via our mobile link and the system automatically contacts the referee and from there the referee completes the check from the comfort of any device. Learn more about Checkmate

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Cost-Effective, Easy and Fast!”

OverallWe hire high volume roles and we have seasonal variance so this is a great tool to assist with streamlining the process for everybody, it's easy for the candidate and referees which is important to us.
ProsI really liked how easy it was to get set up and start using the system, we had urgent roles we were hiring and we could get these references completed within a few hours. The ability to control our brand was a really unique cool feature, and being able to design our questionnaires allowed me to tailor them to the unique roles we often hire. Being able to do everything via SMS and on mobile is also an awesome feature! The service was really helpful, and always available to answer any questions I had.
ConsThe only con was that the system didn't integrate with our recruiting system, however, this is currently being built and expected in the coming months.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Ethan S.
Project Manager
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019

“Best Addition to our Process Since We Started!”

ProsSince using Checkmate, we've been able to hire more candidates, take on more clients, and most importantly spend time in more pressing areas. To date we've turned 26 referee's into candidates that we've now placed - through them showing interest and openness for new roles within the questionnaire!
ConsBest addition to our process since we started!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019

“Intuitive, Flexible, and Effective”

ProsI really enjoyed how intuitive and efficient the software is to use throughout the entire process. I work in a very fast-paced environment where time is money, and Checkmate's simplicity and ease of use is a game-changer. Being able to easily and quickly create checks, and then monitor everything in a simple dashboard is great.
ConsI have nothing negative to say about the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019
Sam B.
Principle Product Designer
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019

“Great online tool for automating reference checking”

ProsThe overall experience using Checkmate was extremely positive. From their easy-to-use platform to their extensive range of features; including a custom form builder, industry-specific questionnaires, mobile notification and live sharing, to their extensive report generated at the end of the process. Checkmate takes care of the entire process. All I did was enter a few details to begin with and their system did the rest.
ConsTo be honest, there wasn't really anything to fault about this product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Design, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2019

“Save time, money and effort for everyone involved in the reference checking process”

ProsWe found Checkmate to be super efficient and cost-effective solution for streamlining the reference checking process. By using this product, we've managed to save an incredible amount of time wasted chasing both candidates and potential referees. Every aspect of the product was designed with the hiring managers, candidates and referees best interests at heart.
ConsThe only minor downside was that the product didn't integrate with Talent App Store, but that is a feature they are going to be rolling out later this year.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2019
Manuel D.
HR Director
Human Resources, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019

“Referencing made easy!”

ProsSaved our team a lot of time chasing referees, we recruit a lot from overseas so the ability to SMS and email them anywhere was a great help.
ConsDoesn't integrate with our ATS right now, but hopefully will in future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019
Anthony D.
Adviser
Insurance, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Review”

ProsCheckmate has really helped our hiring strategy, we've started conducting the checks earlier in our recruiting process, allowing us to use the checks in support of our final decision, rather than when we only reference checks upon offer. By doing so we've been able to use the insight from the check alongside other assessment tools to make more informed hiring decisions
Cons We weren't able to have multiple users, however, I was told this is being developed in the coming months.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Staffing and Recruiting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Great product!”

ProsWe recruit in a high volume and high turnover workforce and Checkmate has really helped to streamline an important part of the process. It's reduced our talent teams workload and turn around time considerably. Also, being mobile our candidates and referees can do everything from their phone which is a huge help.
ConsWe'd like to be able to automate follow up questions if/when needed, which I believe is a feature they're looking into building
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019