VideoScribe Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About VideoScribe

Storytelling tool that gives you the tools to engage your audience by producing and publishing whiteboard animated videos. Learn more about VideoScribe

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Danny V.
Business administrator
Internet, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Excellent software to make animations that attract attention”

OverallThanks to Videoscribe I have made a number of whiteboard videos. They are very funny and people get attention. I have made videos to explain how something works in the company, also to demonstrate a new product and many times a dedication to my parents or a relative. It is too easy to use and its features are very good. Without a doubt VideoScribe is one of the best softwares I have used.
ProsFrom the first moment I downloaded VideoScribe I liked it a lot. I started with the trial version and immediately bought the annual membership. There are many things that I like about VideoScribe, for example, it is very easy to use, in a few minutes I had already created my first video. I like your image library, it contains many cartoons, they are quite colorful and very well designed. The music library is also excellent, as it has songs of various genres and rhythms. I love the fact that I can export the video already created in high quality Full HD 1080p and in various video formats.
ConsAlthough VideoScribe is quite good, over the years I have realized that essential features are missing. First, I would like you to have the option to record the video in mp4 format, it would also be good if you could create a video with Instagram frame measurements, since today that social network is very popular. Second, it would be ideal that from time to time they added more cartoons to the image library, that way we would have more variety when making the videos.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Randy Y.
Senior Training and Development Professional
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019

“"Gets the job done", but needs more features and better UI.”

OverallThis tool does what it honestly advertises to do. However, it needs a better UI (user interface) and more features to stay competitive in today's multimedia platform market.
ProsIt does what it says at face value: build a whiteboard drawing video. Its linear "timeline bar" at the bottom reminds me of Camtasia. Therefore, for Camtasia users (or other popular video editing software users) we'd immediately understand what its interface intends to do. It comes with some built-in cliparts and media assets. It also has some custom options for hands, easels, etc. if you want some variety in your whiteboard video.
ConsSimply put, it has poor UI. If you want to examine my geeky-sounding rationale, read on. Rationale: Although its "camtasia-like" interface makes it quick to pick up for video-editing veterans, it's also what makes this software hard to use. This is because for whiteboard cartoons, there are just way too many moving parts. Adopting this UI makes navigating through the different parts very awkward and vulnerable to system/RAM lags. You can try to drag one small part. Moreover, compared to most software tools out there today, VideoScribe has paled in comparison in terms of # of features, media assets, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019
Aminul H.
HR Officer
Consumer Goods, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Best Whiteboard Animation software”

OverallMy overall experience with Vedioscribe was beyond excellent. I am a freelancer and i am making whiteboard animations. The only software which is enough for my needs is videoscribe.
ProsSparkool made videoscribe the icon in whiteboars animations. I learned whiteboard animation through videoscribe. Easy to use. Beautiful collection of SVG images for almost everything. It is gift for freelancers. Now i can make cool white board animations with just few clicks whick was not possible before.
ConsTo be true untill now i am 100% satisfied with sparkool videoscribe.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Sarah C.
The Ideas Girl
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Brilliant video creator!”

ProsI love that with VideoScribe you're not restricted by anything. It's like having the power of a moving mind map in that you can create your video by drawing on a canvas and choosing how you want it to appear, flow and zoom in and out so you can be really creative and emphasise different points. People have gone out of their way to ask what I've created my videos in as a result.
ConsThere really isn't anything I don't like about VideoScribe.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
E-Learning, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019

“Whiteboard into with ease”

ProsI enjoy seeing my ideas come to life in videoscribes. There are many images in the library and you can use your own images, too. I like that you can add variety to how the images are drawn onscreen--use pens, markers, hands, or just have the images slide in or get 'drawn' on their own.
ConsThe learning curve may be higher than other tools but the results are worth the effort.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019
Margaret M.
ceo
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“Versatile animation scribe tool”

OverallHave used it as the opening on presentations, to present complex information and has always been well received. Looks impressive.
ProsOffers an easy way to provide instructional or informational data in a very engaging way.
ConsHas quite a few limitations, such as tricky copy and pasting and poor info . If you have left off using it for a while, easy to forget processes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019
Mariela Q.
Business Performance Coach
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2019

“A must have if you are in marketing”

OverallI tried it out of curiosity and decided to stick with it because it keeps getting easier to use it, the features more friendly and it's 2 apps in one (StoryPix is also a cool app to have around).
ProsThe whiteboard effect is great for intro and outro videos, as well as for explanatory videos that are so popular for marketing purposes. However, I have managed to create other nice things like dynamic signatures for me and my team.
ConsIt doesn't always respect your wishes and you have to play around with the framing, which can get a little annoying. I doesn't come with enough high-quality SVG images so you have to go outside to find them and that's not always easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2019
IBAD R.
BE STUDENT
Civil Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“VideoScribe Review”

ProsVideoScribe is one of the best software for making whiteboard animation. It is easy to use and we can access it both on mobile and desktop
ConsIt is a paid software but it only give seven days free trial. Althrough it is easy to use but a begineer would take atleast two weeks to make a good whiteboard animation but its trial limit is only seven days
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Karen F.
Owner
Animation, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“Great software if you're starting out or for basic whiteboards”

ProsThis software works very well and easily and creates very nice whiteboards. I moved onto more advanced software though, as I wanted more features. Videoscribe is brilliant for anyone starting out or who wants to create fairly basic whiteboards. That said, you can actually do some cool stuff with it (that doesn't look basic, I mean) if you know what you're doing.
ConsIf you don't prep files correctly it makes a thin outline of your lines and only afterwards the lines fill in/appear fully. I really don't like how that looks, but a lot of peoples use it that way or seem to like it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Saranga D.
Associate Technical Lead
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2019

“Innovative software that leads the market”

OverallDuring the trial period I was able to play around with the tool and created small content videos. But not sure whether to buy the paid version as it cost a bit for a monthly subscription.
ProsMakes it easy to create super cool high quality white board animations. Has the ability to import svg files.
ConsNeeds more hands on experience to create interactive content.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 3, 2019
Abel R.
Teacher
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019

“The most easy animation THERE IS!”

OverallGreat experience. I used it only once and now I am using it for everything little thing I do
ProsI found videoscribe as I was looking to make one of our official videos attractive and videoscribe did just that. It allowed me to explain my concepts in a trendy way and helped me to take my concept to the viewer easier. We can optimize everything, from the duration of each pic to recording our voice and making it a part of the show. The preferences for which hand, brush or pencil, painting or placing is really amazing
ConsWhen we import pictures from outside their database, they find it difficult to understand it and they do not draw it properly. Also their picture database is very small and only has a few pictures.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019
Chinwe Taiwo O.
Designer
Graphic Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019

“White board animator.”

OverallI used it for a quick presentation and it was worth it, it made white board animation easy.
ProsVery easy to use. Makes presentation sweet and interesting. Very light in size. online library.
ConsNot flexible in editing and functions. Limited functions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019
Mandy J.
Managing Partner
Publishing, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“Simple, but limited”

ProsThis makes it quite easy and affordable to create basic whiteboard videos with little technical or graphics experience.
ConsCreating more elaborate videos takes a bit more effort, practice, and experience. There doesn't seem to be a simple way of changing the font and color for a single word in a sentence without creating an additional element.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Brian Møller J.
CEO & Mind trainer
Professional Training & Coaching, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2019

“Teaching with VideoScribe got to a new level!”

OverallVideo Scribe helps to catch my audience attention with few seconds and deliver valuable message and knowledge within minutes. All my work on youtube and marketing on LinkedIn works like a charm with this tool.
ProsI love the drag and drop features in Sparkol. The pre-set elements help to setup the first videos. I mainly enjoy how I can create a whole message within a few minutes with visuals through their drag and drop functions.
ConsIt is hard to maintain an overlook through the process also guidance to set up videos and make them. Also, there seems to be hard to find out the way to create new pages, so even though main functions are intuitively set up, there can be some extra ease to the process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 7, 2019
Avatar Image
khadeza begum m.
Youtuber
Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019

“Animation Video Software ”

OverallI made my youtube slide video with this
ProsIt is basically a slide show making software. One can use it to make youtube videos with this software. You can make 1080 video with music.Upgraded version is also available here.
ConsNothing much.One can use free version of it.For better result you have to upgrade it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2019