Powertech Antivirus Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Powertech Antivirus

Powertech Antivirus is enterprise level malware protection that's built to work seamlessly with your AIX, Linux and IBM Power servers, providing significant security and performance advantages over software that is not built for your systems. It boasts one of the most comprehensive sets of virus signatures available and keeps itself up to date by automatically downloading the latest virus definitions. You'll have peace of mind knowing that your scan engine is backed by battle-tested technology. Learn more about Powertech Antivirus

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 25 of 25 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 25 of 25 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Information Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“PowerTech Antivirus has value”

OverallPowertech Antivirus has identified objects containing viruses on our servers, that were quarantined to prevent access and allow source identification and removal.
ProsPowertech Antivirus is straight forward to install. Virus definition updates can be obtained directly from HelpSystems for each server or loaded to a central server for testing and distribution to enterprise systems 'in network', reducing exposure to outside connections. Scanning settings allow custom choices including types of objects to scan and whether before and/or after is required.
ConsIt would be nice if there was a choice on how many versions of the log to retain. Currently the log is replaced each time the scan is run. I would like to see retention of 3-5 copies.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 15, 2019
What a fantastically thorough review! We're so glad that you've found such success with Powertech Antivirus. We are grateful for our long term customers -- your feedback is what helps us make our solutions great! Your request for longer retention policies is certainly part of our roadmap -- stay tuned for future releases! Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Suzanne F.
System Admin
Wholesale, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“Easy solution to a powerful threat”

OverallIt's been all good. The sales support staff and technical support have been very easy to talk to. They ensured that I knew the capabilities of the software as well as what it was not capable of doing. Whenever I need help Help Systems tech support is always available. (Best technical support in the industry!)
ProsBest: Ease of use. I am not the most technical person so ease of use was very important. I did a work through/demo and decided to buy the software. The re-install was easy, needed no help to do it. Also, software PTFs and antivirus table can be set to automatically update.
ConsI wish that the antivirus software covered the whole system and not just the IFS.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
What a terrific review! "Easy solution to a powerful threat" -- you may have come up with our new tagline! Usability is a top priority for Powertech Antivirus, and first rate technical support is the highest priority for HelpSystems, so we're thrilled that these efforts have paid off for you. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Andrew A.
I.T. Manager
Automotive, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Powertech Antivirus IBMi Review”

OverallI have a piece of mind that the IFS is not infected, and the shared drives are not being used to proliferate viruses throughout my network.
ProsI have a small staff and could not afford a bunch of extra time managing an antivirus. After initial setup PowerTech Antivirus is pretty much hands off. It will pull in updates when you scheduled it and it will scan the IFS when you scheduled it.
ConsAfter initial setup PowerTech Antivirus is pretty much hands off. I have to go see if it is active. Would be nice if it proactively told me what it finds and if it is active.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 15, 2019
This is exactly the type of scenario that we aim to help -- a usable solution that saves time while maintaining security. Our customers needs are incredibly important to us, and a key part of how we shape our roadmap. Your comments on having an activity alert will go straight to the developers. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Kevin S.
ISeries Systems Programmer
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Powertech Antivirus”

OverallSoftware does what we want, but would not choose the software if I knew it was a re buy on a license transfer.
ProsThe software is great. Does what we need it to do.
ConsThe cost. We purchased this software for an iSeries and than transferred the software license to a different iSeries because the original iSeries needed an upgrade. We basically had to re-buy the software. I deal with a number of third party software products and this is the only one where I had to re-buy the software. Some others had a fee to transfer the license which I understand but a total re-buy seems exsessive.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 25, 2019
We're happy to hear that Powertech Antivirus has been such a useful tool for you! We aim to keep our prices competitive, and always reinvest in our solutions to keep making them as effective as possible. We have made some changes to our pricing structure that we think provides more flexibility for the different needs of our customers. We¿re always eager to discuss any concerns, so feel free to reach out if you have any questions. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Jay J.
IBM i System Administrator
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Powertech Standguard AV on my IBM i”

ProsPowertech Antivirus works very well on my IBM i Power 7+. Auto-Updates, scheduled system scans and real-time object AV works without any issues at all. It's also very handy to use System i Navigator to access all Standguard functions, logs and settings.
ConsVery little cons if any. Can't think of any at the moment.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
All of this is so great to hear! We're always working to improve Powertech Antivirus (formerly Stand Guard Antivirus), and having longtime customers like you let us know we're on the right track. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Chamara W.
Head of IT
Banking, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Keep your server out of viruses ”

ProsSolution for viruses in IFS and keep you with peace of mind Solution for virus hosting in IBM i
ConsUpdates need to be done manually which need a automation.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
Your peace of mind gives us peace of mind! Powertech Antivirus actually does have auto-update capabilities. Customer satisfaction is invaluable to us, so our support team would be more than happy to get you more information and assist you in setting up this feature. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Ken E.
Proddution Support Analyst
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Power tech Anti-virus”

OverallHave been using it for 9 yrs. now and have no issues.
ProsThe software is easy to use and navigate.
ConsThe error logos are sometimes hard to read.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
Wow! Almost 10 years together -- how should we celebrate? Customer happiness is our number one goal, so we're thrilled and grateful that you've been such a loyal user! Your feedback is so important to us, and we will pass on the readibility issue straight to the developers.  Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
David V.
IT Technical Support Specialist 3
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Powertech Antivirus has great support!”

OverallGood Experience...: I was in the middle of a PTF / HIPER fix install for my IBM i when an error requiring an update to AntiVirus came up. I created a support ticket and they immediately gave me instructions on how to remedy the situation. After applying required updates and a few tweaks I was able to continue my install without anymore issues! The even better deal..this all occurred on a Saturday morning!!
ProsSupport is fantastic and very quick to respond to requests.
ConsI don't have any cons to list for Powertech Antivirus.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 25, 2019
Hearing such nice things about support is music to our ears! Thanks for sharing that story -- we believe that  providing stellar, 24/7 service is vitally important to ensuring our customers and their systems are happy and secure. We're so pleased to have gotten you back on track so quickly. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
james w.
pgm manager
Consumer Goods, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Great product and customer support”

ProsSetup was easy. Product updates itself so only the output has to be reviewed.
ConsHaving to update license codes every year

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 25, 2019
We love to hear that Powertech Antivirus is efficient and easy to use! We also appreciate the shoutout to support -- providing first rate support is incredibly important to us and we'll always strive to make your experience great! Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Albert R.
VP / Technical Support Manager
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019

“Powertech Antivirus gets the job done!”

OverallWe are keeping our IFS systems clear of any viruses with little to no effort.
ProsSet it once and it works. Updates download automatically.
ConsThere is nothing so far that would be considered a Con.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 15, 2019
We're thrilled that you've put Powertech Antivirus to work! We believe that streamlined, usable security solutions is the best way to keep organizations safe. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Great Product great price”

OverallFeel more protected from virus attacks through the IFS. It's not perfect but works great.
ProsEase of use . Reliability of software. The low cost of initial purchase and continuing maintenance.
ConsLack of reporting ability about what attacks have happened if any

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 15, 2019
Thanks so much for the great review -- reliable, straightforward, reasonably priced security solutions are what we aim for! Additional reporting capabilities are a key part of our roadmap. Keep an eye out for future releases! Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Review of Powertech Antivirus”

ProsIt just works. No issues or concerns. That's it
ConsHas never found a virus. Been running for many years on the iseries.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 15, 2019
We're always so grateful to our longtime customers -- meeting your expectations is always our top goal. We're happy you've been able to stay virus free--impressive! Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Charles E.
IBMi System Admin
Warehousing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“IBMi System Administrator”

ProsThis software is very straight forward and very easy to use.
ConsThe only cons I would say about this software is the cost is a bit high but other than that it is fine.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
Ease of use is what we strive for, so your feedback is great to hear! We aim to keep our prices competitive, and to reinvest in our solutions to continue making them the best that they can be. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Mauro D.
Senior Analyst IT Administration
Dairy, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Powertech Antivirus assessment”

OverallPeace of mind not having to worry about any viruses that would compromise system data and security.
ProsExcellent protection. Installation is straightforward. Ease of use.
ConsNothing really stands out. It does what we expected it to do.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
This is the exact reason we offer free trials -- we're so excited you were able to see the value of Powertech Antivirus right away! We would love to provide you with peace of mind long-term and make you a part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Nicolle O.
Mediation Underwriter
Banking, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Powertech”

OverallHelps make me feel safe with my information
ProsGreat program. I feel my information is now safe
ConsNo cons. The program works great and nothing negative to say

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 25, 2019
Providing that feeling of safety is something we strive for -- we want you to have that comfort of knowing your information is secure. It's great to hear you got such value out of our trial! Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
ryan e.
software supervisor.
Insurance, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Easy to set up, seems to be serving us well”

OverallSecurity. It's all about security.
ProsIt's been a really easy process. A team member who is not super experienced in IBM i ops has been owning this software almost entirely. PT support is great.
ConsVirus scan is becoming a core operating system concern, not an add-on. Every v7r3 install should include this - not be an add-on.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 15, 2019
Customers. It's all about our customers. We're so thrilled that you've had such an easy introduction to Powertech Antivirus and such positive interactions with HelpSystems support. We're here whenever you need us! Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Mike S.
Developer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Does what it says on the tin”

ProsKeeps itself up to date -easy to install and run.
ConsNo gui front end - no alerts - no error handling.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 15, 2019
No false advertising here -- we'll always do what it says on the tin! The Powertech Antivirus Team is always hard at work on new releases, and a front end GUI is certainly on the roadmap -- be on lookout for an announcement soon! We'd love to hear more about the alerts and errors to get a better idea of what you're looking for. Let us know if you're interested in talking further! Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Goods, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Great Product!!! Must have for your IFS”

OverallAdded security and piece of mind that our IFS is protected.
ProsAfter the your initial setup, all you need to do is check your logs. Doesn't get much easier than that.
ConsI haven't found anything that I would consider to be an issue.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 15, 2019
Three exclamation marks -- we'll count that as a win! Making security simple and usable is so important to us, so we're happy to see that Powertech Antivirus is achieving this goal. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
chris j.
Team Leader
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“IFS Antivirus - covers all the bases”

OverallEasy to use and has the required functionality. Auto updates the latest virus definitions - essentially you can set it up and just let it run.
ProsVery easy to use and set up to run regularly
ConsNo alerts process for error or found viruses

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
Thanks so much for your review! We take customer feedback very seriously, so your thoughts on the alerts process will go directly to the developers. We want to not only continue to cover all the bases, but hit a home run! Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Curtis W.
Infrastructure specialist
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Curtis Winter”

OverallOverall a good product
ProsThis software was easy to install and use.
ConsLack of features. I felt there could be additional functionality built in

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
Ease of use is so important to us, so we're glad it's been so usable! The Powertech Antivirus team is hard at work on the next release with new features that we're excited to debut. Customer feedback is crucial to us when developing our roadmap, so please feel free to reach out if there is something in particular you are looking for. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Robert A.
Operations
Retail, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“Powertech = A+”

OverallHaving a safe business environment is of upmost importance. Powertech enables that.
ProsReliability, strength, customization, thoughtful interface
ConsEverything is good so far, I have not thought of anything else this product needs.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
Some may say that grades aren't everything, but after getting an A+ from you, we beg to differ! We completely agree that security should be at the top of mind for every organization, and we're so grateful that you've let us help you keep your organization safe. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Josh B.
DIr of Tech
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019

“great tool”

Overallreal time knowledge has been a huge plus.
ProsIt is easy to use, and support has been very prompt and courteous.
ConsIt is not the cheapest software, but it is a good value

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 15, 2019
We're so glad to hear that real time knowledge has been such an asset -- it's a feature we're very proud of. We do aim to be competitive in terms of price, and prioritize reinvesting in the product to continue to add more value. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Antivirus for AIX and IBM i”

ProsSimple product and lots of information on the web
ConsI lacks of a central management console. It will be ideal to configure in a central consola and apply it to all the agents. Instead you need to configure server by server.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 25, 2019
 Thanks for your review! We're glad your experience with Powertech Antivirus so far has been so straightforward -- we have worked hard to provide top tier documentations to give you all the information you need. Streamlining configuration with a GUI interface is actually a planned new feature we're currently working on. Stay tuned for our next release in March, and be sure to contact support for any assistance you may need with that upgrade! Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Dani B.
Analyst
Insurance, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Review”

ProsEasy to use, seems to work well with little problems
ConsNothing in particular, I haven't had any issues.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
We're so happy to hear it's getting the job done! Ease of use is a top priority for us, so we're glad to see Powertech Antivirus has been straightforward from the start. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Power Tech Software”

OverallIt helps keep computer viruses at bay. It's not a total solution however.
ProsThe overall quality and service is fairly decent.
ConsFeatures are not robust enough. The company should test and expand features to improve it.

Vendor Response

By HelpSystems on February 14, 2019
Thanks so much for your review! We're always working to improve Powertech Antivirus, and our roadmap includes many exciting new features. Customer feedback is an important part of creating that roadmap, so we hope you reach out if there's something in particular you'd like to see in a new release. Thanks for being part of the HelpSystems family!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019